Oregon State Employee Information Center

You are here: Home > Research Tools > Subjects

A service of the Oregon State Library

Research Tools: By Subject

Education Databases


Academic Search Premier

Full Text & Citations

 
Database: Academic Search Premier
Coverage: 1990 -
Content: Full Text & Citations
Description: Covers a wide range of academic areas including business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural with Academic Search Elite. This comprehensive database features full text for over 1,200 journals with many dating back to 1990, abstracts and indexing for over 3,000 scholarly journals, and coverage of The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times and The Christian Science Monitor. It also includes coverage of over 1,700 peer-reviewed journals.
Help/Info: Using Advanced Search
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Educators Reference Complete
Coverage: 1980-current
Content: Full text
Description: Educator's Reference Complete is a selection of more than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources. Included content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education. Majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database. The database is updated daily and provides 24-hour access from school or home.
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

ERIC

Citations

 
Database: ERIC
Coverage: Sample: July 1, 2004 - current
Content: Citations
Description: Provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: General OneFile
Coverage: 2001 - present
Content: Full text
Description: More than 8000 titles including some reference, audio, and newspaper content to complement this robust magazine and journal collection.
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Infotrac OneFile
Coverage: 1980-current
Content: Full text
Description: A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
Help/Info: 
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

JSTOR

Full text

 
Database: JSTOR
Coverage: Archived publications, currency varies, end dates >= 5 years
Content: Full text
Description: Two JSTOR archived publication libraries: Arts and Sciences IV and Life Sciences Arts & Sciences: strong focus on the professions of business, education, and law, and also includes titles in psychology and public policy and administration Life Sciences: Life Sciences comprises the largest collection of journals in the field sciences, and broad coverage of the health sciences - more than 160 journals.
Help/Info: Title Lists: Arts_Sciences_IV and Life Sciences
User Limit: unlimited

Hide

 
Database: LearningExpress Library
Coverage: Current
Content: Full text
Description: LearningExpress Library offers access to targeted skill-building interactive courses for both students and adult learners. Adult learning inclues MS applications, writing and grammar. Each Learning Centers offers the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information needed to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life.
Help/Info: Guides and tutorials
User Limit: unlimited

Hide

 
Database: OneFile - Academic
Coverage: 1980-current
Content: Full text
Description: Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Proceedings First
Coverage: 1993 -
Content: Citations
Description:  Index of worldwide conference proceedings. Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre. Contains in each record a list of the papers presented at each conference. Over 192,000 records
Help/Info: Quick Start Reference Card
User Limit: unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Professional Development Collection
Coverage: 1965 -
Content: Full text
Description: Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of more than 750 full text journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Vocational and Career Collection (Ebsco)
Coverage: 1985 -
Content: Full Text & Citations
Description: Vocational & Career collection provides full text coverage for 450 trade and industry related periodicals. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for 650 journals.
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

Additional sources

Electronic journals

Applied Measurement in Education
Child Development
Chronicle of Higher Education
Education Week
Journal of Learning Disabilities
Journal of School Health

Web sites

Educators Reference Desk - Created by the Information Institute of Syracuse, this site contains resource guides, lesson plans, policy examples and more in the area of education.

Oregon Education Investment Board - OEIB was created in 2011 to oversee an effort to build a unified system for investing in and delivering public education from birth to college & career. We envision a system that links all segments of the educational experience together to ensure each student is poised for a promising future.

Oregon School Directory - Use this directory to find phone numbers, addresses and staff in Oregon schools and districts. Also contains information on professional organizations, colleges and universities, and other educational institutions. Provides some statistics on the number and composition of Oregon schools.

Oregon Statewide Assessment Results - Get detailed or summary assessment reports for Oregon schools. Select school district from pull-down menu, then search for school information.

Need assistance?

Talk to a Librarian

503-378-8800

Contact a Specialist

503-378-5008

spacer
Facebook icon Twitter icon Pinterest icon YouTube icon Tumblr icon