Oregon State Employee Information Center

You are here: Home > Research Tools > Subjects

A service of the Oregon State Library

Research Tools: By Subject

Medicine & Health Databases


 
Database: Alt HealthWatch
Coverage: 1990 -
Content: Full text
Description: This alternative health database provides full text for more than 140 publications in the collection, including full text for many peer-reviewed journals. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine dating back to 1990.
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

GREENR

Full Text & Citations

 
Database: GREENR
Coverage: varies
Content: Full Text & Citations
Description:  GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources) is a new, authoritative online resource that focuses on the academic study of sustainability and the environment.
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Health & Wellness Resource Center
Coverage: 1980-current
Content: Full text
Description: Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes Alternative Health topics. Search nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference book titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Health Reference Center Academic
Coverage: 1980-current
Content: Full text
Description: Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center. All in a single, easy-to-use database, the material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Health Source: Consumer Edition
Coverage: 1985 -
Content: Full text
Description: This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source - Consumer Edition features searchable full text for nearly 300 journals. This database is updated on a daily basis.
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Health Source: Nursing & Academic Edition
Coverage: 1975 -
Content: Full text
Description: Medical, nursing, and allied health information for professionals. Provides nearly 540 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, and abstracts and indexing for over 570 journals.
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Journal for Nurse Practitioners
Coverage: January 1995-present
Content: Full text
Description: Contens offers high-quality, peer-reviewed clinical articles, original research, continuing education, and departments that help practitioners excel as providers of primary and acute care across the lifespa. JNP supports advocacy by demonstrating the role that policy plays in shaping practice and delivering outcomes. The journal is an official publication of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners and also is affiliated with the Australian College of Nurse Practitioners
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: 5

Hide

JSTOR

Full text

 
Database: JSTOR
Coverage: Archived publications, currency varies, end dates >= 5 years
Content: Full text
Description: Two JSTOR archived publication libraries: Arts and Sciences IV and Life Sciences Arts & Sciences: strong focus on the professions of business, education, and law, and also includes titles in psychology and public policy and administration Life Sciences: Life Sciences comprises the largest collection of journals in the field sciences, and broad coverage of the health sciences - more than 160 journals.
Help/Info: Title Lists: Arts_Sciences_IV and Life Sciences
User Limit: unlimited

Hide

 
Database: MedicLatina
Coverage: 
Content: Full text
Description: MedicLatina is a Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers. This unique database provides access to full text for more than 140 peer-reviewed medical journals.
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: MEDLINE Complete
Coverage: coverage back to 1857 and some full-text back to 1865
Content: Full text
Description: MEDLINE Complete is the largest companion to the MEDLINE index and provides full text for over 2,500 medical journals, many available with no embargo allowing access to the most current information. This resource provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Nursing and Allied Health Collection
Coverage: Current content
Content: Full Text & Citations
Description: All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered in this collection. Including nearly 400 titles, this collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Help/Info: 
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

Nursing Resource Center

Full Text & Citations

 
Database: Nursing Resource Center
Coverage: 1980-current
Content: Full Text & Citations
Description: Designed for nursing students, the Nursing Resource Center brings together in an easy-to-use interface disease and drug overviews, care plans, relevant journal results and animated anatomy and physiology diagrams to complement the core encyclopedia texts. The information is written in accessible language for students completing class assignments and preparing for clinicals as they learn how to care for and treat patients. Search results are returned in tabs that correspond to steps in the nursing process.
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

PILOTS

Citations

 
Database: PILOTS
Coverage: 1871 - present
Content: Citations
Description: This bibliographic database, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Proceedings First
Coverage: 1993 -
Content: Citations
Description:  Index of worldwide conference proceedings. Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre. Contains in each record a list of the papers presented at each conference. Over 192,000 records
Help/Info: Quick Start Reference Card
User Limit: unlimited

Hide

 
Database: PsycARTICLES
Coverage: 1894 - present
Content: Full text
Description: American Psychological Association (APA) publishes this definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Coverage: 1965-
Content: Full text
Description: The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database providing nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals. The database covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection.
Help/Info: See style guide for help descrition guidelines
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Psychology Collection
Coverage: Content coverage varies
Content: Full text
Description: This set explores what makes people "tick" from childhood to death. This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops -- and diminishes -- over time. Your library's users will have instant access to 200 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals
Help/Info: 
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

Scopus

Citations

 
Database: Scopus
Coverage: 1966 - current
Content: Citations
Description: A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature including journals, proceedings, and quality web sources. Search over 15000 journals and 27 million references from more than 4000 publishers.
Help/Info: Getting Started
User Limit: unlimited

Hide

Additional sources

Electronic journals

AIDS Care
American Journal of Public Health
British Medical Journal
Health Affairs
Lancet
Pediatrics

Web sites

Need assistance?

Talk to a Librarian

503-378-8800

Contact a Specialist

503-378-5008

spacer
Facebook icon Twitter icon Pinterest icon YouTube icon Tumblr icon