Oregon State Employee Information Center

You are here: Home > Research Tools > Subjects

A service of the Oregon State Library

Research Tools: By Subject

Newspapers Databases


 
Database: America's Newspapers
Coverage: Current year plus backfiles that vary by newspaper
Content: Full text
Description: 811 fulltext Local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers. Each paper provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community.
Help/Info: How to search America's Newspapers, Newsbank tutorial
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Bend Bulletin
Coverage: January 2005 - current
Content: Full text
Description: The Bulletin is the source for news, sports, information and advertising for Deschutes, Crook and Jefferson Counties.
Help/Info: How to search America's newspapers
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Blue Mountain Eagle
Coverage: 8-1-2002 - current
Content: Full text
Description: John Day, Oregon newspaper. The Blue Mountain Eagle has served the people of Grant County, Oregon since 1868.
Help/Info: How to search America's Newspapers
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Capitol Press
Coverage: 8-7- 2002 - current
Content: Full text
Description: Capital Press is an independent farm and ranch newspaper that serves California, Idaho, Oregon, Washington and other western states. It is published every Friday by Press Publishing Company in Salem, Oregon.
Help/Info: How to search America's Newspapers
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Coos Bay World
Coverage: 3/22/04 - current
Content: Full text
Description: The World newspaper is the daily newspaper serving Oregon's Southern Coast. The World newspaper remains the South Coast's #1 single source of local, regional and national news and information.
Help/Info: How to search America's Newspapers
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Daily Astorian
Coverage: 12/30/05 - current
Content: Full text
Description: Since 1873 the Daily Astorian has served the residents of Astoria, Washington and Clatsop County.
Help/Info: How to search Aemrica's Newspapers
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Daily Journal of Commerce
Coverage: 03/01/2001-Current
Content: Full text
Description: Portland Oregon newspaper - focus is business news
Help/Info: See style guide for help descrition guidelines
User Limit: 

Hide

 
Database: Dalles Chronicle, The
Coverage: 04/01/2005-Current
Content: Full text
Description: The Dalles Chronicle - serving Oregon's Wasco, Sherman, Gilliam & Hood River counties and Klickitat County, Washington
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: 

Hide

 
Database: East Oregonian
Coverage: 7-29-2002-current
Content: Citations
Description: Pendleton Oregon newspaper.
Help/Info: How to search America's Newspapers
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Eugene Register Guard
Coverage: 11/14/2001-current
Content: Full text
Description: Provides access to issues of the Eugene, Oregon Register Guard.
Help/Info: How to search America's Newspapers
User Limit: unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Herald and News - Klamath Falls
Coverage: Sample: July 12, 2006 - current
Content: Full text
Description: The Herald and News offers old-fashioned news coverage for Klamath and Lake Counties of Oregon
Help/Info: How to search America's Newspapers
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Historical Oregonian
Coverage: Feb 4, 1861- Dec 31, 1987
Content: Full text
Description: Search the full text of The Oregonian from 1861 to 1987. Includes photographs, illustrations, advertisements and articles from local and international news. View scanned pages of the original newspaper Note: Issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: 

Hide

 
Database: InfoTrac Newsstand
Coverage: Content coverage varies
Content: Full text
Description: InfoTrac Newsstand is an innovative Web-based full-text newspaper database which allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields. Finally, a one-stop source for the day's news and searchable archives. You can customize your online newspaper database features including search options. With InfoTrac Newsstand, you can search a collection of more than 1,000 newspapers, then select your own screen appearance, search options and results format.
Help/Info: 
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

Mail Tribune, Medford

Full Text & Citations

 
Database: Mail Tribune, Medford
Coverage: 12/10/2006-Current
Content: Full Text & Citations
Description: A major newspaper in Southern Oregon
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: 

Hide

 
Database: Newspaper Source
Coverage: Current
Content: Full text
Description:  Selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers. Updated daily.
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Newswire
Coverage: varies
Content: Full text
Description: The Associated Press Newswire (formerly AP NewsMonitor collection) is a full-text database that contains harvested news from the Associated Press. When a link to a news story is clicked, you are brought to the Detailed Record and HTML Full Text of the story.
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Observer, The
Coverage: 02/12/2008-Current
Content: Full text
Description: La Grande, Oregon newspaper
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: 

Hide

 
Database: Oregonian
Coverage: 1988 -
Content: Full text
Description: The Portland Oregonian from 1988 to present.
Help/Info: How to search America's Newspapers
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Regional Business News
Coverage: Current
Content: Full text
Description: This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States
Help/Info: See style guide for help descrition guidelines
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Salem Statesman Journal (Proquest)
Coverage:  January 1, 2002 - current
Content: Full text
Description: Newspaper - Salem, Oregon
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: unlimited

Hide

 
Database: San Francisco Chronicle
Coverage: 2000 -
Content: Full text
Description: Search the San Francisco Chronicle newspaper.
Help/Info: How to search America's Newspapers
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Seattle Times
Coverage: 1985 - current
Content: Full text
Description: Search the Seattle Times newspaper.
Help/Info: How to search America's Newspapers
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Wallowa County Chieftain
Coverage: 6-12-2002 - current
Content: Full text
Description: Enterprise Oregon Newspaper.
Help/Info: How to search America's Newspapers
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

Additional sources

Electronic journals

There are no journals applicable for this topic.

Web sites

Need assistance?

Talk to a Librarian

503-378-8800

Contact a Specialist

503-378-5008

Media Outlet Tweets

spacer
Facebook icon Twitter icon Pinterest icon YouTube icon Tumblr icon