Oregon State Employee Information Center

You are here: Home > Research Tools > Subjects

A service of the Oregon State Library

Research Tools: By Subject

Social Sciences Databases


Academic Search Premier

Full Text & Citations

 
Database: Academic Search Premier
Coverage: 1990 -
Content: Full Text & Citations
Description: Covers a wide range of academic areas including business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural with Academic Search Elite. This comprehensive database features full text for over 1,200 journals with many dating back to 1990, abstracts and indexing for over 3,000 scholarly journals, and coverage of The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times and The Christian Science Monitor. It also includes coverage of over 1,700 peer-reviewed journals.
Help/Info: Using Advanced Search
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Criminal Justice Collection
Coverage: Content varies
Content: Full text
Description: Whether studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland Security, this collection rises to the challenge. Users will have access to 150 journals.
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
Coverage: 
Content: Full text
Description: Statistical Datasets enables researchers to build statistical tables and charts from multiple sources in a single interface. This online interactive statistical solution aggregates over 590 licensed and public domain datasets provided by over 50 sources. The Datasets product makes 14.0 billion data points accessible within a single interface.
Help/Info: Help Guide
User Limit: unlimited

Hide

 
Database: General OneFile
Coverage: 2001 - present
Content: Full text
Description: More than 8000 titles including some reference, audio, and newspaper content to complement this robust magazine and journal collection.
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Infotrac OneFile
Coverage: 1980-current
Content: Full text
Description: A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
Help/Info: 
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

JSTOR

Full text

 
Database: JSTOR
Coverage: Archived publications, currency varies, end dates >= 5 years
Content: Full text
Description: Two JSTOR archived publication libraries: Arts and Sciences IV and Life Sciences Arts & Sciences: strong focus on the professions of business, education, and law, and also includes titles in psychology and public policy and administration Life Sciences: Life Sciences comprises the largest collection of journals in the field sciences, and broad coverage of the health sciences - more than 160 journals.
Help/Info: Title Lists: Arts_Sciences_IV and Life Sciences
User Limit: unlimited

Hide

 
Database: OneFile - Academic
Coverage: 1980-current
Content: Full text
Description: Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

PILOTS

Citations

 
Database: PILOTS
Coverage: 1871 - present
Content: Citations
Description: This bibliographic database, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Proceedings First
Coverage: 1993 -
Content: Citations
Description:  Index of worldwide conference proceedings. Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre. Contains in each record a list of the papers presented at each conference. Over 192,000 records
Help/Info: Quick Start Reference Card
User Limit: unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Coverage: 1965-
Content: Full text
Description: The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database providing nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals. The database covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection.
Help/Info: See style guide for help descrition guidelines
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

Scopus

Citations

 
Database: Scopus
Coverage: 1966 - current
Content: Citations
Description: A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature including journals, proceedings, and quality web sources. Search over 15000 journals and 27 million references from more than 4000 publishers.
Help/Info: Getting Started
User Limit: unlimited

Hide

Additional sources

Library collections

Diversity Library

Electronic journals

Addiction
Child Welfare
Corrections Today
Journal of Sociology and Social Welfare
Social Work

Web sites

Center for Law and Social Policy - Use the State-by-State Policy Data link to compare issues across states.

Oregon Helps - Use this online form to determine eligibility for various services.

Social Security Online - Access forms and publications for any program administered by the Social Security Administration.

Need assistance?

Talk to a Librarian

503-378-8800

Contact a Specialist

503-378-5008

spacer
Facebook icon Twitter icon Pinterest icon YouTube icon Tumblr icon