Oregon State Employee Information Center

You are here: Home > Research Tools > Subjects

A service of the Oregon State Library

Research Tools: By Subject

General Reference Databases


Academic Search Premier

Full Text & Citations

 
Database: Academic Search Premier
Coverage: 1990 -
Content: Full Text & Citations
Description: Covers a wide range of academic areas including business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural with Academic Search Elite. This comprehensive database features full text for over 1,200 journals with many dating back to 1990, abstracts and indexing for over 3,000 scholarly journals, and coverage of The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times and The Christian Science Monitor. It also includes coverage of over 1,700 peer-reviewed journals.
Help/Info: Using Advanced Search
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: All in One EBSCO database search
Coverage: 
Content: Full Text & Citations
Description: Search any or all EBSCO databases including fulltext article and news databases as well as specialized indexes. Check boxes next to the databases you wish to search simultaneously then proceed to search interface.
Help/Info: Ebsco User Guide
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Article First
Coverage: 1990 -
Content: Citations
Description:  Includes bibliographic citations from over 16,000 sources, covering science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities and popular culture. Features online full text and full image.
Help/Info: Summary information
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Fuente Academica
Coverage: Sample: July 1, 2004 - current
Content: Full text
Description: Fuente Academica is a unique collection of scholarly academic journals from renowned Latin American, South American and Spanish publishers. This database provides full text coverage (including PDF) for more than 200 scholarly Spanish language journals. Content is provided in Spanish from respected publishers worldwide.
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Coverage: 
Content: Full text
Description: General encyclopedia.
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Gale Virtual Reference Library
Coverage: Current publication
Content: Full text
Description: Selected publications from the Gale Virtual Reference Library. This is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: General OneFile
Coverage: 2001 - present
Content: Full text
Description: More than 8000 titles including some reference, audio, and newspaper content to complement this robust magazine and journal collection.
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: unlimited

Hide

 
Database: GPO Monthly Catalog
Coverage: 1976 -
Content: Full text
Description: An index of U.S. government publications. Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.).
Help/Info: See style guide for help descrition guidelines
User Limit: 3

Hide

Informe

Full text

 
Database: Informe
Coverage: 1994-current
Content: Full text
Description: Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias. Multidisciplinary database with full-text -business, health, technology, culture and more.
Help/Info: 
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Infotrac OneFile
Coverage: 1980-current
Content: Full text
Description: A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
Help/Info: 
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Coverage: 1965 - current
Content: Citations
Description: LISTA indexes nearly 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
Help/Info: See style guide for help descrition guidelines
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Masterfile Premier
Coverage: 1975 -
Content: Full text
Description: A multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 2,050 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also includes more than 350 full text reference books, 82,968 biographies, 90,915 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 107,135 photos, maps and flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: OneFile - Academic
Coverage: 1980-current
Content: Full text
Description: Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: PapersFirst
Coverage: 1993 -
Content: Citations
Description: Index of papers presented at conferences worldwide. Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre. Over 6.2 million records.
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: unlimited

Hide

 
Database: ReferenceUSA/Business Data
Coverage: Current
Content: Full text
Description: The ReferenceUSA database contains, in module format, detailed information on more than 12 million U.S. businesses; 102 million U.S. residents.
Help/Info: Tutorials
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Statistical Ready Reference (Data-Planet)
Coverage: varies by data set
Content: Full text
Description: Easy access to US and international statistics.
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: unlimited

Hide

 
Database: TOPICsearch
Coverage: Current
Content: Citations
Description: This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms. TOPICsearch contains full text for over 78,000 articles from more than 3,000 diverse sources, including more than 1,550 full text periodicals
Help/Info: See style guide for help descrition guidelines
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

Additional sources

Electronic journals

The Economist
Harvard Business Review
Journal of Accountancy
Marketing Research

Web sites

Need assistance?

Talk to a Librarian

503-378-8800

Contact a Specialist

503-378-5010

spacer
Facebook icon Twitter icon Pinterest icon YouTube icon Tumblr icon