Oregon State Employee Information Center

You are here: Home > Research Tools > Subjects

A service of the Oregon State Library

Research Tools: By Subject

Government & Law Databases


 
Database: Criminal Justice Collection
Coverage: Content varies
Content: Full text
Description: Whether studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland Security, this collection rises to the challenge. Users will have access to 150 journals.
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
Coverage: 
Content: Full text
Description: Statistical Datasets enables researchers to build statistical tables and charts from multiple sources in a single interface. This online interactive statistical solution aggregates over 590 licensed and public domain datasets provided by over 50 sources. The Datasets product makes 14.0 billion data points accessible within a single interface.
Help/Info: Help Guide
User Limit: unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Environmental Studies and Policy Collection
Coverage: Content coverage varies
Content: Full Text & Citations
Description: Providing robust coverage of the field of environmental issues and policy, this collection, which includes nearly 700 journals, provides instant access to the multiple viewpoints of this volatile field of study, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

JSTOR

Full text

 
Database: JSTOR
Coverage: Archived publications, currency varies, end dates >= 5 years
Content: Full text
Description: Two JSTOR archived publication libraries: Arts and Sciences IV and Life Sciences Arts & Sciences: strong focus on the professions of business, education, and law, and also includes titles in psychology and public policy and administration Life Sciences: Life Sciences comprises the largest collection of journals in the field sciences, and broad coverage of the health sciences - more than 160 journals.
Help/Info: Title Lists: Arts_Sciences_IV and Life Sciences
User Limit: unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Legal Collection
Coverage: 1965 -
Content: Citations
Description: This database contains full text for more than 260 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. The Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world
Help/Info: See style guide for help descrition guidelines
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Legal Information Reference Center
Coverage: Current
Content: Full text
Description: Providing exclusive online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books, This resource contains more than 225 full-text publications and thousands of legal form. A majority of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo Press, Coverage focus is legal information for consumers and small businesses.
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

LegalTrac

Full Text & Citations

 
Database: LegalTrac
Coverage: 1980-current
Content: Full Text & Citations
Description: Students, law school faculty and legal researchers will all find the legal publications they need in LegalTrac®. Drawing on a wide variety of the most highly regarded legal publications, LegalTrac® provides indexing for more than 1,400 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. Each title included in LegalTrac® is selected on the basis of criteria provided by a special advisory committee of the American Association of Law Libraries. LegalTrac® also contains law-related articles from over 1,000 additional business and general interest titles.
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: LexisNexis State Capital
Coverage: 
Content: Full text
Description: State bills and laws, constitutions, proposed and enacted regulations, legislature membership, newspapers of record.
Help/Info: State Capitol User Guide
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Loislaw Libraries on Fastcase
Coverage: Current
Content: Full text
Description: Requires GovNet login. Web based collection of federal and state statutes, and administrative regulations and cases, obtained directly from the courts and other resources.
Help/Info: Accessing LoisLaw
User Limit: 11

Hide

 
Database: Military & Government Collection
Coverage: varies by source
Content: Full text
Description: Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 400 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 500 titles
Help/Info: See style guide for help descrition guidelines
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

Proquest Congressional

Full Text & Citations

 
Database: Proquest Congressional
Coverage: 
Content: Full Text & Citations
Description: Comprehensive information and publications by and about the United States Congress.
Help/Info: User Guide
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Zip Code Boundary Maps - Oregon
Coverage: Current
Content: Citations
Description: These are 5-digit ZIP code boundary maps in PDF format. The maps show ZIP code boundaries, ZIP code boundary names, ZIP code number, city or community names plus county lines and large bodies of water. Each map contains a complete listing of ZIP codes for the counties covered by the map including grid location on the map or explanation of why the ZIP is not shown (e.g. PO Box or unique ZIP).
Help/Info: 
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

Additional sources

Library collections

Oregon Government Publications

Electronic journals

American City and County
Campaigns & Elections
Government Executive
Government Procurement
Journal of State Taxation
State Legislatures

Web sites

Council of State Governments - The Council of State Governments promotes the exchange of insights and ideas to help state officials shape public policy.

Ebsco Legal Information Reference Service - Available statewide courtesy of the State of Oregon Law Library (SOLL). Provides online full-text for many of the top consumer legal reference books, including NOLO Press. Legal content from hundreds of publications and thousands of multi-state legal forms. PatronID: marion PW: oregon

Fastcase - Available statewide courtesy of the State of Oregon Law Library (SOLL). Contents include case law, ORS & Oregon session law backfile, Oregon AG opinions, and court rules. Also, provides access to Federal & other Western state content. Quick reference guide: http://www.fastcase.com/Resources/Public/Quick-Reference-2014.pdf

Local and Regional Documents Archives - LaRDA is a service of the Univ of Oregon Libraries. This collection is a central repository and archive of significant documents produced by local governments and regional offices of United States federal government agencies within Oregon: all counties, cities and United State Forest Service (National Forests in Oregon; Pacific Northwest Research Station); Bureau of Land Management (BLM Districts in Oregon)

National Conference of State Legislatures - NCSL serves the legislators and staffs of the nation's 50 states, its commonwealths and territories. NCSL provides research, technical assistance and opportunities for policymakers to exchange ideas on the most pressing state issues.

Oregon Administrative Rules - The Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation is an annual publication containing agency rules at the time of publication. ORS 183.310(9) defines “rule” as “any agency directive, standard, regulation or statement of general applicability that implements, interprets or prescribes law or policy, or describes the procedure or practice requirements of any agency.”

Oregon Bills and Laws - A gateway to the Oregon Legislature including access to bills past & present pending in the legislature, fiscal impact statements, the Oregon Constitution, Oregon Laws, and the Oregon Revised Statutes.

Oregon Bulletin - The Oregon Bulletin is a monthly publication which updates administrative rule text found in the annual compilation and provides notice of intended rule action, Executive Orders of the Governor, Opinions of the Attorney General, and orders issued by the Director of the Department of Revenue.

Oregon Public Legal Information - The Oregon State Bar is a large public corporation with diverse program responsibilities for the benefit of the public, lawyers, government and the courts. This is a gateway site set-up to assist the public with legal questions.

Oregon Revised Statutes - Electronic access to the the multi-volume Oregon Revised Statutes. The ORS is the codified body of statutory law governing the State of Oregon, as enacted by the Oregon Legislative Assembly, and occasionally by citizen initiative. The statutes are subordinate to the Oregon Constitution.

Oregon.gov - The official Web page for the state of Oregon. Contains access to a search engine that can provide you with an easier way to find what you need from Oregon state government.

Reports to the Oregon State Legislature - This site provides access to reports that are required by statute to be submitted to Oregon State Legislature.

Thomas - This Library of Congress resource provides access to: congressional bills & resolutions, member roll call votes, congressional record, committees and schedules and public laws.

US Code 1925-1988 - The United States Code is the codification, by subject matter, of the laws of the United States. It is divided by broad subjects into 51 titles.

US Code 1994 - 2013 - The United States Code is the codification, by subject matter, of the laws of the United States. It is divided by broad subjects into 50 titles and published by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives.

US Federal Court Links - Links to Federal Court information and decisions.

US Federal Register 1936-1993 - The Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations.

US Federal Register 1994 - Current - The Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.

US Government Web Portal - The U.S. government's official web portal offering access to official information and services from the U.S. government.

US Serial Set - The Serial Set contains House and Senate Documents and Reports. This online collection includes records up to 1875.

Need assistance?

Talk to a Librarian

503-378-8800

Contact a Specialist

503-378-5008

State Agency Tweets

spacer
Facebook icon Twitter icon Pinterest icon YouTube icon Tumblr icon