Oregon State Employee Information Center

You are here: Home > Research Tools > Subjects

A service of the Oregon State Library

Research Tools: By Subject

Oregon History and Culture Databases


 
Database: Bend Bulletin
Coverage: January 2005 - current
Content: Full text
Description: The Bulletin is the source for news, sports, information and advertising for Deschutes, Crook and Jefferson Counties.
Help/Info: How to search America's newspapers
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Coos Bay World
Coverage: 3/22/04 - current
Content: Full text
Description: The World newspaper is the daily newspaper serving Oregon's Southern Coast. The World newspaper remains the South Coast's #1 single source of local, regional and national news and information.
Help/Info: How to search America's Newspapers
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Daily Astorian
Coverage: 12/30/05 - current
Content: Full text
Description: Since 1873 the Daily Astorian has served the residents of Astoria, Washington and Clatsop County.
Help/Info: How to search Aemrica's Newspapers
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Eugene Register Guard
Coverage: 11/14/2001-current
Content: Full text
Description: Provides access to issues of the Eugene, Oregon Register Guard.
Help/Info: How to search America's Newspapers
User Limit: unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Herald and News - Klamath Falls
Coverage: Sample: July 12, 2006 - current
Content: Full text
Description: The Herald and News offers old-fashioned news coverage for Klamath and Lake Counties of Oregon
Help/Info: How to search America's Newspapers
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

 
Database: Historical Oregonian
Coverage: Feb 4, 1861- Dec 31, 1987
Content: Full text
Description: Search the full text of The Oregonian from 1861 to 1987. Includes photographs, illustrations, advertisements and articles from local and international news. View scanned pages of the original newspaper Note: Issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.
Help/Info: See style guide for help description guidelines
User Limit: 

Hide

 
Database: Oregonian
Coverage: 1988 -
Content: Full text
Description: The Portland Oregonian from 1988 to present.
Help/Info: How to search America's Newspapers
User Limit: Unlimited

Hide

Additional sources

Library collections

Oregon State Library Photograph Collection
Oregon Government Publications
Oregon History and Culture Collection

Electronic journals

Oregon Historical Quarterly (Login required)

Web sites

Oregon Center for the Book - An affiliate of the Center for the Book in the Library of Congress. Seeks to stimulate public interest in books, reading and libraries.

Oregon Encyclopedia - Browse biographical and topical articles from Oregon history and culture.

Oregon Historical Society - Includes an extensive artifacts collection and a research library dedicated to the history of Oregon. Also publishes the Oregon Historical Quarterly.

Oregon History Project - An online resource for learning about Oregon's past. Links to Oregon history, biography, and historical records as well as digitized lesson plans.

Oregon resources from Multnomah County Library website - Internet resources on a wide variety of Oregon-related topics.

Oregon State Archives - The Archives Division houses and provides access to the permanently valuable records of Oregon government. Includes documents from the provisional and territorial governments.

Researching Your Agency's History - Resources for researching State Agency history

Need assistance?

Talk to a Librarian

503-378-8800

Contact a Specialist

503-378-5006

spacer
Facebook icon Twitter icon Pinterest icon YouTube icon Tumblr icon