
CashAdvantage Home Loan RateAdvantage Home Loan
Hard-to-beat below-market rates
Maximize purchasing power
Lower monthly payments
Long-term interest savings
No prepayment penalty 
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With a CashAdvantage Home Loan, you  
will get a low, fixed-interest rate on your  
home loan along with cash assistance 
equal to 4% of the Note amount. This 
option helps you come up with the cash 
you may need to close the loan.

With a RateAdvantage Home Loan, you  
will get a low fixed rate to maximize your 
home purchasing power. 

Oregon State Bond

Whether the place you want to call home is urban or rural, the Residential Loan Program can help you 
buy your first house. This brochure doesn’t include all program requirements, but it will give you an idea 
of what  Oregon Housing and Community Services (OHCS) has to offer. 
We have two interest rate options you can choose between:

Residential Loan Program 

Call 503-986-2015 (toll free 1-877-ST8-BOND) 
or visit our website at www.oregonbond.us  
for more information, including current  
interest rates! 

How does the Program work? 

Oregon Housing and Community Services 
(OHCS) is the state’s housing finance agency.  
We periodically issue mortgage revenue bonds  
to fund lower-than-market interest rate  
mortgage loans for below-median income 
Oregon homebuyers. Lower interest rates help 
eligible first-time homebuyers increase their 
purchasing power.  

What’s my first step? 

Your first step towards homeownership is to 
contact one of our Friendly Lenders (the list is on 
our website at www.oregonbond.us). Your lender 
will help you pre-qualify—then you can begin 
looking for that dream home!
When you have found your house and have 
signed an earnest money agreement, your lender 
will call us to reserve loan funds for you.
Your lender will process your loan according 
to underwriting procedures established by 
the US Department of Housing and Urban 
Development, Rural Development, or another 
qualified mortgage insurer and OHCS. 
After the mortgage is approved and closed, 
OHCS purchases the mortgage to hold as a long-
term investment. 

Regardless of which pricing option you choose, 
the eligibility and program requirements are the 
same. For current rates, please visit our website 
at www.oregonbond.us or call 503-986-2015. 
To qualify, eligible borrowers must meet all 
applicable program and lender requirements. 
Call one of the “Friendly Lenders” from the  
list on our website at www.oregonbond.us 
to help you get started.

Still a very good rate 
4% cash assistance 
Lower your cash-to-close 
Cash assistance is like a grant 
No prepayment penalty
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Your eligibility requirements 

A qualified homebuyer cannot have an annual 
gross household income exceeding the following 
income limits. Statewide: $58,900; Benton 
County: $68,100; Deschutes County: $65,274; 
Jackson County: $63,480; Clackamas, Columbia, 
Multnomah, Washington, or Yamhill counties: 
$72,892 (effective 04/07/06). To qualify, you 
must also be a first-time homebuyer, which 
means you have not owned and occupied a 
primary residence at any time during the three-
year period prior to the date you sign your 
mortgage and Note. (This requirement is waived 
if the property being purchased is located in a 
“Targeted Area” and you have transferred any 
residential property previously owned prior to 
closing the loan.) 
Targeted Areas include all of Baker, Clatsop, 
Coos, Crook, Harney, Jefferson, Josephine, 
Klamath, Lake, Malheur, Union, Wallowa and 
Wheeler counties; cities (within the city limits) 
of Ashland, Milton-Freewater, Myrtle Creek, 
Port Orford, Silverton, Turner and Vernonia; 
and portions of Albany, Eugene, Medford and 
Portland. Your Friendly Lender or OHCS can 
tell you for sure if the property you want is in a 
Targeted Area.
Only Oregon residents, or potential residents, are 
eligible. You must agree to occupy the home you 
are purchasing as your primary residence. 
Note: If you’ve been discharged from bankruptcy  
within the past two years, you are not eligible for 
the program. 

Property requirements 

Houses that qualify for a Residential Program 
Loan can be newly built or previously owned, 
site-built homes, manufactured homes 
(permanently affixed to acceptable foundations), 
condominiums, or units in a Planned Unit 
Development. They can be situated anywhere  
in Oregon. 
In most areas of the state, the maximum homes 
can cost to qualify is $237,031, but the purchase 
price limit can vary by county or by location, if 
the house is located in a Targeted Area. 

Current purchase price limits are posted on 
our website at www.oregonbond.us, or you 
can call us toll free at 1-877-ST8-BOND. 

Types of loans available 

All Residential Program Loans must be insured 
under the Federal Housing Administration 
(FHA), guaranteed by Rural Development, 
or a conventional loan insured by a qualified 
mortgage insurer approved by OHCS. 
The maximum loan amount will be based on the 
appraised value of the property or purchase price, 
whichever is less. Conventional loans that close 
with a loan-to-value of 80 percent or less do not 
require mortgage insurance. The funds may not 
be used to refinance an existing home loan. 
The mortgage loan term for a site-built house is 
15 to 30 years. It’s the same for a manufactured 
home, as long as it is permanently located on a  

lot owned by the borrower if the respective 
mortgage insurer insures the home to 30 years. 
A manufactured home must also meet the 
appropriate insurers’ requirements, which 
includes a manufacture date after June 14, 1976 
and a living area of at least 400 square feet.
Standard downpayments and qualifying ratios  
are acceptable. As applicable, the mortgage 
insurance premium and allowable closing costs 
may be added to the loan amount as long as the 
loan is insurable. 
The loan origination fee and discount will vary 
with each loan, but in all cases the combined loan 
origination fee and discount points can’t exceed 
1.75 percent of the amount of the Note.

Oregon Housing and 
Community Services

PO Box 14508
Salem, OR 97309-0409
Phone: 503-986-2000 
Fax: 503-986-2020 
TTY: 503-986-2100
Website: www.ohcs.oregon.gov


