Oregon Board of Radiologic Technology

Frequently Asked Questions

"Who and what is the Oregon Board of Radiologic Technology (OBRT) and why do they exist?"

The OBRT is a regulatory board established in 1977 to ensure the quality of radiation therapy, fluoroscopy, CT scans, mammography, bone densitometry and other means of medical imaging by assuring the quality of radiologic technology operators. There are nine members of the Board appointed by the Governor.

ORS 688.405 to 688.605 gives the board the authority to adopt additional <u>Rules and Regulations</u> to provide interpretation and define the administration and implementation of the state statutes. These rules and regulations are also to be considered "law".

"Do I have to have a license to operate x-ray equipment in Oregon? I am an ARRT certified tech and that should override any licensing requirements, right?"

Wrong, it does not. You have to be licensed in Oregon by OBRT in order to practice ionizing radiation on humans.

"I work in MRI, ultrasound or nuclear medicine. I'm not exactly an x-ray tech. Do I have to have a state license?"

The law says those persons applying **"ionizing radiation"** to humans for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes must be licensed. Currently nuclear medicine, MRI, and ultrasound technologists do not need a license if they are strictly limited to their specialty. This means that these people cannot take an x-ray under any circumstances without proper licensure.

"If I take x-rays in Oregon without a license, what are the possible penalties?"

OAR 337-010-0060(3)(a-b) provides for a maximum \$1,000 Civil Penalty for practicing radiologic technology without a current Oregon license or permit, not related to nonpayment of fee.

"Can my employer be in any trouble if I am taking x-rays without a license?"

If an employer knowingly employees an individual to practice radiologic technology when the individual does not have a current, valid Oregon License or permit a \$1,000 Civil Penalty may be imposed. The hospital also may possibly face penalties with the Joint Commission (JCAHO), the state Medicare Fraud and Abuse agency or several other groups that seek to penalize hospitals and clinics for violations. <u>Do not practice radiography in Oregon without a license</u>.

"What do they do with the money that they collect from our license fees?"

Specifically, the money goes to the state treasury and is credited to an account to help with the cost of administration of the laws concerning licensing.

"Does the Board of Radiologic Technology have an office somewhere?"

Yes, there is an administrative office in Portland that issues licensure, sends out renewal notices, maintains a roster of licensees and collects fees. You can find the address at the end of this page.

"My dental hygienist obviously isn't an x-ray technologist but she takes xrays of my teeth. Is that legal?"

The state statutes governing radiologic technologists do not apply to properly certified and licensed physicians, physician assistants or dental health professionals or dental assistants.

"My license has expired! It's not my fault because I never got a notice from the Board that my fees were due, so now what? Why didn't the OBRT send out a second notice to me?"

Before the expiration date of a licensure, the Board **as a courtesy** will, mail a notice of renewal to the last mailing address on file. OAR 337-020-0010 **Timely Renewal**: An OBRT license renewal application must be received by OBRT 30 days before a licensure expires. Contact information must be updated within 30 days on an <u>"Updated Information Form"</u>. If they do not have your current address you may not receive it. Most government agencies and bureaus do not mail out second notices. **The licensee has the responsibility to keep their current valid license to practice radiologic technology.**

"I don't understand the different types of licenses. What are they?"

The first is a **Diagnostic Radiologic Technologist** license, which is issued to radiologic technologists who have passed the ARRT certification examination. Currently, this means that you have graduated from formal training in a collegebased program and then passed the "registry". The second license is a Radiation Therapy license, which is issued to radiation therapists technologists who have passed the ARRT certification examination. Currently, this means that you have graduated from formal training in a college-based program and then passed the "registry". The third is a Combination Diagnostic Radiologic Technologist and Radiation Therapy meeting the requirements already listed. The fourth is a Limited Permit Holder which is issued to persons who have limited training in radiographic procedures, many are medical assistants. The fifth is the **Temporary** license, generally issued to student technologists who are finishing or just graduated their formal training and need to start employment in the clinical setting and certification from the ARRT. This license is only available to students attending a program in the state of Oregon. The sixth is a Temporary Limited Permit issued for students who have just completed an OBRT approved Oregon limited X-ray course, need to start employment in the clinical setting, and pass limited scope examination for permanent licensure. This permit is issued for 6 months from the date of course completion.

"I am not working as a limited x-ray tech and do not have a supervising physician? I want to keep my licensure active, so I can look for work what do I need to do?"

Contact the Board's Licensing Specialist at 971-673-0217. An agreement letter will be sent to you stating that you will fax an <u>"Updated Information Form"</u> with your new supervising physician signature prior to taking any images.

"I have worked as a limited x-ray tech for the last 20 years can I move to Oregon and get a license?"

In Oregon we do not offer reciprocity for limited scope licensure. An individual will need to complete the educational curriculum at an OBRT approved <u>limited</u> <u>permit school</u>, complete the OBRT practical experience, and successful pass the limited scope examination.

"I have worked as a Radiologic Technologist for over 15 years can I move to Oregon and get a license?"

Yes, if you have a current registration with ARRT in good standing (not on CE probation). You will need to fill out the <u>Permanent Initial Radiologic</u> <u>Technologist Application</u> attach a copy of your ARRT registration card with the appropriate fee. The <u>Fee Calculator</u> can help you figure out what the licensing fee will be.

"I used to have a license or permit in Oregon. What do I need to do to work again?"

Radiologic technologist and radiation therapist may <u>reinstate</u> their license within five years. After five years you must re-apply using the <u>Permanent Initial</u> <u>Radiologic Technologist Application</u>. Limited permit holders may reinstate their permit and currently do not have a time frame. Radiologic technologists, radiation therapists and limited permit holders must complete a <u>Reinstatement</u> <u>CE Worksheet</u>. There is a \$25.00 Reinstatement fee in addition to the licensure fee. Fee Calculator

"I have graduated from school and passed the ARRT examination. Can I still use my temporary license until it expires?"

You may use your temporary license as a radiologic technologist or radiation therapist until its expiration date. Although many facilities attach an increase in salary when a permanent licensure is obtained, The OBRT strongly encourages you apply for your permanent "professional" licensure as soon as you are eligible.

"Do I need to complete the OBRT CE worksheet and send a copy of my current ARRT registration card with my signed renewal?"

If you are a licensed radiologic technologist or radiation therapist and hold a valid registration card with ARRT (not on CE probation) you <u>do not need to</u> <u>complete the CE worksheet</u>. Photocopy your ARRT registration card send it with your signed renewal application and license fee, 30 days in advance of your license expiration. Limited permit holders and grandfathered radiologic technologists must complete the OBRT CE worksheet. *All licensees must complete the OBRT CE worksheet and provide copies of supporting documents if you are audited* (X).

"The Board has notified me that I am in some kind of trouble and they are suspending my license. Can they do that?"

You may have your license suspended or revoked for several different reasons. They include being convicted of a felony or high misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, for letting anyone else use your license, for using illegal drugs, for being negligent in the administration of ionizing radiation or for violating the rules and regulations of the Board. The Board cannot revoke or suspend your license without giving you the right of a hearing, however in extreme cases involving immediate danger to the public health, safety or welfare the Board may temporarily suspend your license before you are granted a hearing.

"I am going forward with a hearing but I am unsure of what to do? Can the OBRT help me?"

The Oregon Board of Radiologic Technology promotes its licensees and profession however; we are not attorneys and cannot offer any legal advice to you. We would suggest that if you are at all unsure of what to do that you

contact an attorney. We also strongly encourage you to let your employer know exactly what has happened as well. Perhaps they may even assist you with an attorney if they feel your case is justified. We suggest locating all of the documentation that you can to help clear the matter up.

Disclaimer: The information contained in this document in no manner represents an official interpretation of Oregon Revised Statutes nor of the Oregon Administrative Rules. Further information will be published as soon as it can be verified, however any questions should be directed to:

Oregon Board of Radiologic Technology 800 NE Oregon St., Suite 1160A

Portland, OR 97232

Telephone 971-673-0215