OREGON MOPED, MOTORIZED SCOOTER, POCKET BIKE GUIDE															
Description	Min. Age	License	Registration	Insurance	Helmet	Passenger	Lights	Max Capable Speed	Max Allowed Speed	Ride on Sidewalk	Ride on Bike Path/Lane	Ride in crosswalk	Possible DUII	Oregon Vehicle Code	
Electric Scooter Gas Scooter	16	No	No	No	Yes Bicycle	No	Yes	24 Mph	15 Mph	No	Yes	No	Yes	801.348 814.510 814.512	814.518 814.524 814.520
	Gas – Maximum cc=35 Electric – Maximum output=1000 watts Approved lighting must be used when operating under limited visibility. Not capable of going faster than 24 mph on level ground. Use may be restricted by local jurisdictions.														
Pocket Bike Mini Motorcycle													Yes	801.360 814.200 814.260	814.269 814.310 814.320
Can operate only on private property with owner's permission. No regulations are listed as these are not legal to operate on highways or premises open to the public. Since they are considered a motor vehicle you will be subject to any number of violations if you operate on public roadways or premises open to the public. These are not motor assisted scooters because the engine is more than 35 cc and can go faster than 24 mph on level ground. They do not meet federal safety standards so they can not be a motorcycle or moped. <u>No regulations are listed as they can not be a motorcycle or moped.</u> <u>Only</u> <u>801.345</u> 814.269															lic. 814.269
Moped 🏄	16	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes DOT	No	Yes	30 Mph	30 Mph	No	under human power	No	Yes	814.200 814.260	814.209 814.310 814.320
Must be unable to travel more than 30 mph on a level road surface. Must not require clutching or shifting by the operator after the power drive system is engaged. Requires a driver license to operate (<i>but not a motorcycle endorsement</i>). Requires registration and insurance to operate on public roadways and premises open to the public. If a moped exceeds <u>either maximum capable speed or engine size it is a motorcycle.</u> 801.259 814.552															
Segway	16	No	No	No	No	No	Yes	15 Mph		Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	814.550	814.554
Is an electric personal assistive mobility device. Can operate in bicycle lanes and paths, sidewalks and highways with speed limits of 35 mph or less, unless local laws limit uses. (Subject to any applicable provisions.) Maximum speed is 15 mph. Approved lighting must be used when operating under limited visibility.															le
Electric Assisted Bicycle	16	No	No	No	Yes Bicycle	Restricted	Yes	20 Mph		No	Yes	Yes	Yes	801.258 814.400	814.405 814.410
Is considered a bicycle, rather Has fully operative pedals for	Is considered a bicycle, rather than a motor vehicle, for purposes of the Oregon Vehicle Code, except when otherwise specifically provided by statute. Has fully operative pedals for human propulsion and an electric motor with power output not more than 1,000 watts. Not capable of going faster than 20mph on level ground. Approved lighting must be used when operating under limited visibility.														
Bicycle)	No	No	No	Under	Restricted				Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	801.150 814.400 814.405	814.600 814.410
concerning operating on high	Every person riding a bicycle upon a public way is subject to the provisions applicable to and has the same rights and duties as the driver of any other vehicle concerning operating on highways, vehicle equipment and abandoned vehicles-with limited exceptions.													ehicle	

For questions regarding traffic violations and operating one of these types of vehicles with a suspended driving privilege, contact law enforcement.