

Board of Naturopathic Examiners

Common Questions: Naturopathic Physicians

About Us

Contact Us

New Licensees

Find a Physician (ND)

About the Board & **Formulary Council**

CE - Currently Approved, Rules, Resources

CE / PDP Applications and Guidelines

Employment Opportunity

Concern/Complaint

FAQ

Forms

Formulary, Alphabetical

Formulary Classification

Laws and Rules -Chapters 685 and 850

About Naturopathic Medicine

Related Sites

Home

License Questions

GETTING AN OREGON LICENSE:

Q: How do I receive Oregon licensure if I hold a license in good standing in another licensing jurisdiction?

A: If you have not done so in the two years prior to applying for licensure in Oregon, you will need to take the Oregon Jurisprudence and Formulary exams. These exams are given four times a year, in February and in August for applicants who are taking the NPLEX exams during those same months. The Jurisprudence and Formulary exams are also given in May and November for Applicants who have

already passed the NPLEX exams. Call the Oregon Board of Naturopathic Examiners



Text Only Site

(OBNE) at least 2 months before the exam to receive the application form. The office number is 971.673.0193. In the meantime, you can order transcripts from your undergraduate and naturopathic schools to be sent to OBNE and request that your jurisdiction's licensing board send a letter of good standing. You can also request NABNE send scores from your NPLEX Basic Science and Clinical Science exams. These things are required to take the Oregon exams. If you pass the Oregon exams, we will send you the initial application form.

Q: How do I receive Oregon licensure if I do not hold an active license inanother jurisdiction, but have graduated from an accredited Naturopathic medical school? A: If you have not done so in the last year before your application for licensure in Oregon, you will need to take the Oregon Jurisprudence and Formulary exams. These exams are given four times a year, in February and in August. The Jurisprudence and Formulary exams are also given in May and November for Applicants who have already passed the NPLEX exams. Call OBNE at least 2 months before the exam to receive the application form. In the meantime, you can order transcripts from your undergraduate and naturopathic school sent to OBNE. You can also request NABNE send scores from your NPLEX Basic Science and Clinical Science exams. These things are required to take the Oregon exams. If you pass the Oregon exams, we will send you the initial application form.

Q: How do I sign up to take the Oregon Jurisprudence and Formulary examinations? A: You can download an application from our website or you can contact the OBNE office and request an application be sent to you. The application will be made available online at leaset two weeks prior to the application deadline. Exams are administered four times a year, in February and August for those applicants who have not previously passed the NPLEX exams. Exam dates will be scheduled in May and November for applicants who have previously passed the NPLEX exams. Completed applications must be returned by the deadline on the application. Verification of graduation and transcripts must be in the file to be eligible for a license application once you have passed the Board exams.

Q: Can you sign me up for NPLEX exams? Can you send my NPLEX scores somewhere? A: The North American Board of Naturopathic Examiners (NABNE) administers NPLEX. You need to contact them for questions relating to taking the NPLEX exams. You can call them at (503) 778-7990 or go to their web site<u>www.nabne.org</u>. The OBNE cannot forward NPLEX exams scores, only NABNE can do that for you. You must sign up for the Oregon Jurisprudence and Formulary examinations through the OBNE office. State licensure examinations are offered separate from the national examinations.

Q: I have a certificate in Naturopathic medicine that I received from a correspondence course. Will this suffice for licensure?



Accessibility

Find

A: No, you must have attended a four year residency program at a school of Naturopathic medicine accredited by the Council on Naturopathic Medicine (CNME) and approve by the Board. <u>Accredited Naturopathic Schools</u>

CHANGE OF ADDRESS:

Q: Do I have to notify the Board if I change my practice location, home address, or mailing address other than on my renewal at the end of theyear?

A: Yes, you must notify the Board in writing within 30 days of any change in home or practice location or mailing address per <u>OAR 850-050-0130</u>.

Q: My address/contact information has changed. How do I update the board?

A: You need to send the update in writing. We cannot accept changes over the phone. This can be emailed, faxed or mailed to OBNE. Remember: it is your responsibility to provide the board with correct address information per <u>OAR 850-050-0130</u>. You will be held to any late fees that result from the renewal application being sent to an old address.

LICENSE RENEWAL:

Q: When do I need to renew my license?

A: Every licensee must renew his or her license by December 15 every year. A renewal form, which must be completed and returned with the appropriate fees and documentation each year, is mailed to the most current address in the database by November 1. See <u>OAR 850-030-0195</u> for renewal requirements.

Q: Do I have to do continuing education every year for my renewal?

A: Yes, with exception, every licensee must submit a signed affidavit of 25 hours of CE, with at least five hours in pharmacology. Exceptions are held for initial year of licensure, inactive and retired. See <u>OAR 850-030-0195</u>.

Q: Do I have to pay a license fee every year?

A: No, renewal fees are payable on a biennial cycle. In the initial year of renewal, the fee is prorated to include the licensee on the regular biennial fee appropriate for his/her license. See <u>OAR 850-030-0090</u>.

Q: What if my renewal is late?

A: If your license renewal is submitted later than December 15, you must pay a \$75 late fee; if it is submitted after December 31, you need to pay a \$150 restoration fee.

Q: What if my renewal is not completed by December 31? Can I still practice?

A: Every license expires December 31, of every year. You can not practice as a ND in Oregon without a license. You can not practice until you have met the renewal requirements set forth in law.

LICENSE VERIFICATION:

Q: How much does it cost for you to send verification of my license to another jurisdiction/agency/business?

A: OBNE does not currently charge for this service. However, you need to send the request to the board in writing and include a stamped envelope addressed to the recipient jurisdiction/agency/business. Send a verification request to OBNE, 800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 407, Portland, OR 97232. Please allow one day for us to turnaround a request once received in the office.

Q: Can I obtain a list of all Oregon licensed Naturopathic physicians?

A: Yes, you must complete the application, which can be found online or by contacting the Board office, and send it with the appropriate fee to the OBNE. It can take up to ten days to process this request.

Q: If my license has been formally disciplined by the Board, will this be provided to anyone requesting license verification?

A: Yes, Board discipline is part of your permanent record and if requested a copy will be sent to anyone asking for a copy of the action.

Page updated: April 03, 2009

Text Only | State Directories | Agencies A to Z | Site Map | About Oregon.gov | Oregon.gov

File Formats | Oregon Administrative Rules | Oregon Revised Statutes | Privacy Policy | Web Site Feedback



Adobe Reader is required to view PDF files. Click the "Get Adobe Reader" image to get a free download of the reader from Adobe.