

2009

OREGON BOARD OF MASSAGE THERAPISTS

CANDIDATE HANDBOOK & APPLICATION

Revised 8/25/2009

Oregon Board of Massage Therapists

748 Hawthorne Ave. NE
Salem, OR 97301
Phone 503-365-8657 Fax 503-385-4465
www.oregon.gov/OBMT

The Board of Massage Therapists protects the public by regulating the practice of massage to balance the safety and interest of the public and the needs of the massage therapists and reflect the standards set within the massage profession.

This page left blank intentionally

Licensure Requirements

License by Examination

To qualify to become a Licensed Massage Therapist in Oregon, an applicant must meet the educational requirements, pass the current Oregon practical exam, Oregon jurisprudence exam (laws), and pass a Board approved written exam. Applicants may take the written and practical exams in any order. All exams must be passed prior to becoming licensed.

Oregon requires a minimum of 500 hours of education which must be comprised of 200 hours of health sciences consisting of Anatomy & Physiology, Pathology and Kinesiology; and 300 hours of Massage Theory and Practical Application, Clinical Practice, Business Development, Communication, Ethics, Sanitation and Hydrotherapy. Applicants lacking any hours or subject matter must obtain that education before being approved for the Oregon Practical Exam.

License by State Endorsement

State Endorsement applications are reviewed on an individual basis. The Board may grant a license by State Endorsement without further examination to applicants who are currently licensed to practice massage in another state. The state's licensing requirements, including written and practical examination, <u>must be equivalent to or exceed Oregon's.</u> Verification from the licensing agency and a copy of the current license must be submitted with the application. The following is a list of the jurisdictions that **may** qualify for State Endorsement:

United States

- New Hampshire, if you passed the state-administered practical exam
- Washington State, if you passed the state-administered practical exam

Canada

- Newfoundland & Labrador
- Ontario
- British Columbia

License by Health Endorsement

The Board may grant a license by Health Endorsement, after successful completion of examinations, to applicants who currently hold an Oregon license in an approved health related field. The applicant must provide transcripts for 300 hours of Massage Theory and Practical Application, Clinical Practice, Business Development, Communication, Ethics, Sanitation and Hydrotherapy. A copy of the current license and verification from the licensing agency must be submitted with the application. The following is a list of the professions that qualify:

MD

OT

ND

RN

DC

LPN

PT

LAC

Assistants to these professions **DO NOT** qualify for Health Endorsement. (E.g. CCA, PTA, CNA)

Board Approved Written Examinations

The Board will accept one of the following approved written exams; the Massage & Bodywork Licensing Exam (MBLEx) administered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB), **OR** either the Therapeutic Massage (TM) or the Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (TMB) exams administered by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB).

The MBLEx

There are two ways to apply for the MBLEx either by completing the form accompanying your Oregon Exam Application or online at http://fsmtb.org. If you have further questions, please contact the FSMTB at 866-9-MBEXAM (866-962-3926).

The NCBTMB

The National Certification Exam is administered by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork. The NCBTMB can be contacted by phone at 800-296-0664 or through their Web Site at www.ncbtmb.org Applications can be downloaded from the website. The OBMT does not require you to obtain or maintain National Certification for the purpose of licensure.

You may take the written before or after your practical exam; however, proof of passing the written exam must be submitted before a license can be issued. It is not necessary to send the Official Score Report. A copy of the passing notification issued the day of the exam is acceptable.

Application Process

Fees

All applications must include a \$50 non-refundable application fee. Applicants applying for the practical exam or by Health Endorsement should also include a \$150 practical exam fee. Fees may be paid by credit card, cashiers check, money order, or personal check and should be included with your application. Applications submitted without the application fee will not be processed. Failure to include the practical examination fee will result in a delay in approval and scheduling.

Applicants who require accommodations under ADA (Americans with Disabilities Act)

OBMT complies with the Americans With Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA), and will accommodate requests from qualified applicants with a diagnosed disability if the request is reasonable and properly documented and does not fundamentally alter the exam or jeopardize exam security.

A request for ADA accommodations must be submitted to the Board in writing and include a recent diagnosis from a qualified professional explaining the nature of the disability. Documentation must be provided prior to being scheduled for the Oregon practical exam. For additional information or assistance with applying for ADA accommodations, please contact the Board office.

Arrest Record/Sanctions

An applicant must state on the application whether he/she has ever been arrested for or convicted of a crime excluding minor traffic violations, or if an applicant has been sanctioned by any other licensing agency in any state or jurisdiction. Those who have been arrested or sanctioned must provide a copy of the police report, a copy of the judgment, a copy of the settlement of the judgment and/or a copy of the final order. An applicant must also provide, in his or her own words, a written summary of each event which must include a description of the event, what let up to the event, what was learned from the event and what the applicant is doing to prevent further events. An arrest record and/or conviction does not automatically result in a denial of licensure.

Transcripts

Applicants must provide official transcripts in sealed envelopes from each school. Transcripts must be stated in clock hours or a credit hour to clock hour conversion explanation from the school must be included. Applicants from schools/programs not certified by the Oregon Board of Massage must also provide course descriptions or syllabi sufficient to determine equivalency.

If a program or institution is no longer in business, the Board will accept for review a copy of a certificate of completion, transcript or diploma indicating both subject matter and hours. Unofficial documentation must be accompanied by a letter of verification from the Department of Education or accrediting body indicating the school closure date. The Board may require additional information to verify the authenticity of such documents.

Other Documents

All applications must also include a passport photograph no larger than 2" X 2" that has been taken within the last 12 months, a copy of a current CPR certification card (must include both the front and back), and a copy of a valid government issued picture ID, such as a driver's license, passport or military ID.

Health and State Endorsement applicants must include a copy of their current license and a license verification form completed by the issuing licensing agency.

Massage & Bodywork Demonstration Choice

As part of the practical exam process, applicants must choose their preferred modality. They will demonstrate their competency in this modality during the exam. If no modality is chosen, Swedish massage will automatically be assigned. Because the Board is unable to provide an all-inclusive list of modalities for demonstration, applicants should choose from the following modalities:

Acupressure Lomilomi Reflexology Structural Integration

Body Talk Myofascial Release® Rolfing® Swedish

Bowen Neuromuscular Therapy Rosen Method® Trager® Approach
Cranial Sacral Therapy Polarity Russian Massage Trigger Point

Deep Tissue Postural Integration® Shiatsu

<u>DISCLAIMER</u>: The options provided above are not all-inclusive of modalities that fall within the definition of massage in Oregon. The Board recognizes that there are specialties not listed. For the purpose of the exam and licensing process, the Board may include a particular modality in a similar "family" of practice. Applicants may petition the Board for acceptance of a modality not listed.

***The 10-minute demonstration of the exam must include hands-on application. Energetic modalities that traditionally use no touch or only static touch will not be acceptable for demonstration of a massage & bodywork session.

Notification

Once an application is approved, the applicant will be scheduled for the next available exam date and time. Notification will be mailed to the candidate at least 14 days prior to the scheduled exam appointment. Applicants may request to be placed on a cancellation list by filling out the cancellation form and mailing it in with their application. If an earlier date becomes available, the applicant waives the right to 14-day written notice and will be contacted via telephone regarding their availability. Signing the cancellation form does not guarantee an early test date. Exams are held weekly on Tuesdays and Wednesdays but are subject to change. Requests for specific exam dates can be included with the application, and will be accommodated when possible. Applications should not be submitted until the applicant is fully prepared to take the Practical Exam.

The twenty-five question Law (Jurisprudence) Exam will be included with the exam appointment notification. This open book Law Exam can be completed at home and returned by mail, at the Practical Exam, or at the time of initial license. If the Law Exam is failed, it must be retaken and passed in order to be licensed.

Refund of Examination Fee

A refund of the examination fee may be granted upon written request should the applicant not qualify for the exam. Refunds may also be granted for individuals who have a documented and verifiable emergency and are unable to sit for the exam provided the written request and documents substantiating the emergency are received by the board at least 7 days prior to the scheduled exam appointment. The \$50 application fee is non-refundable.

Rescheduling of Examination Date (Fees Forward)

Rescheduling of your exam date may be granted for individuals who have a <u>documented and verifiable</u> <u>emergency</u>. You must provide a written request and appropriate documentation substantiating the emergency. Only one extension shall be permitted. Please submit your request as soon as the emergency presents itself.

The Day of the Exam

Admission to the Exam

Be sure to arrive on time for your exam. Be prepared for traffic delays or other unexpected incidents. Candidates arriving late to the exam may forfeit their exam appointment and fee. Candidates may not report to the exam site more than 10 minutes before their scheduled exam. At the time of check-in candidates must present their admittance letter and a valid government issued picture ID, such as a passport, military ID or driver's license. Candidates will not be admitted without these documents. Expect to spend up to one and a half hours at the exam site.

Apparel

Please dress in clean, comfortable and professional clothing for the exam. Shoes are required. Do not wear clothing marked with a school logo. <u>Please arrive FREE OF ODORS. If you arrive with ANY noticeable odor (e.g. body odor, smoke, perfume, cologne, essential oils, etc), you will NOT be admitted to the Practical Exam and you will forfeit the \$150 exam fee.</u>

Supplies

The Board will provide **all** supplies, including a holster. The Holster provided is a standard size, if you are concerned this may not meet your needs, please feel free to bring your own.

Conduct during the Exam

According to Oregon Administrative Rules 334-010-0010 (7) An examinee, whose conduct interferes with the testing process or whose behavior violates ethical practices or jeopardizes the safety of the examiners or staff, may be dismissed and disqualified from examination. Such conduct includes but is not limited to the following behaviors:

- (a) Giving or receiving exam data, either directly or indirectly; during the examination process
- (b) Failure to follow written or oral instructions relative to conducting the exam, including termination times and procedures:
- (c) Endangering the life or health of other examinees or exam staff;
- (d) Introducing unauthorized materials during any portion of the exam:
- (e) Attempting to remove examination materials or notations from the testing site; or
- (f) Violating the credentialing process such as falsifying or misrepresenting educational credentials or other information required for admission to the examination, impersonating an examinee, or having an impersonator take the licensing examination on one's behalf.

The Examination

Content Outline

The exam is scored in three content areas:

<u>Communication and Assessment</u> – Communication with the client examiner will be evaluated throughout the exam and includes initial assessment and exit interview skills. It is important to note that the client examiner may not be able to respond to your questions.

<u>Massage & Bodywork</u> – Candidate will perform a 10-minute demonstration of their chosen modality. Sanitation, client safety, client interaction, body mechanics, draping, application of technique and professionalism will be evaluated throughout the exam. (Please see the Draping Policy). Remember, this is meant to represent only a portion of a typical session, not a full session.

<u>Kinesiology</u> – Candidate will outline muscles, locating all attachments, and name and demonstrate the actions of the muscles. Please note that, with the exception of Pectoralis Major, all outlining of muscles must be done on undraped skin. Outlining of Pectoralis Major may be done just above the drape. (Please see the Draping Policy)

Candidates will randomly draw five muscles for outlining including the muscle attachments and naming and demonstrating the actions AND two muscles for demonstration of a stretched or shortened position. The muscles will be drawn from the following list:

Abductor pollicis longusGemellus superior and inferiorRectus femorisAdductor brevisGluteus maximusRhomboidsAdductor longusGluteus mediusSartorius

Adductor magnus Gluteus minimus Scalenes (anterior, medius, posterior)

Anconeus Gracilis Semimembranosus
Biceps brachii Iliacus Semitendinosus
Biceps femoris Infraspinatus Serratus anterior

Brachialis Intercostals Soleus

Brachioradialis Internal obliques Splenius capitis
Coracobrachialis Latissimus dorsi Splenius cervicis
Deltoid Levator scapula Sternocleidomastoid

DiaphragmMasseterSuboccipitalsErector spinaeObturator internus and externusSubscapularisExtensor carpi radialis brevisOccipitofrontalisSupinatorExtensor carpi radialis longusPalmaris longusSupraspinatusExtensor carpi ulnarisPectineusTemporalis

Extensor digitorum (communis) Pectoralis major Tensor fascia latae

Extensor digitorum longusPectoralis minorTeres majorExtensor hallucis longusPeroneus longusTeres minorExtensor pollicis brevisPeroneus BrevisTibialis anteriorExtensor pollicis longusPiriformisTibialis posterior

External obliques Plantaris Transversus abdominis

Flexor carpi radialis **Popliteus Trapezius** Flexor carpi ulnaris Pronator quadratus Triceps brachii Flexor digitorum longus Pronator teres Vastus intermedius Flexor digitorum superficialis (sublimes) **Psoas** Vastus lateralis Flexor hallucis longus Quadratus femoris Vastus medialis Flexor pollicis longus Quadratus lumborum Zygomaticus major

Gastrocnemius Rectus abdominis

NOTE: Muscles that attach on the pubic bone will <u>NOT</u> be eligible for outlining. They will still be eligible as demonstration of a stretch or shortening.

R082509KW

7

Suggested Reference Text

The Oregon practical exam assesses skills essential to safe and competent practice. In reviewing for the examination you may find the following references helpful:

Manual of Structural Kinesiology - Thompson (15th edition)

Trail Guide to the Body – Biel (3rd edition)

Mosby's Basic Essential Sciences for Therapeutic Massage – Fritz & Grosenbach (2nd edition)

The Massage Connection: Anatomy, Physiology & Pathology – Premkumar (2nd edition)

The Muscular System Manual – Muscolino (2nd edition)

Pathology A to Z – Premkumar (2nd edition)

Practical Examination Procedure

This is a 50-minute exam that is video and audio taped. It is not meant to represent a one-hour massage & bodywork session. **Many aspects of a massage & bodywork session may not be part of the exam procedure.** There will be three examiners; a client examiner, a reading examiner and an observing examiner. The exam is videotaped for integrity only and will not be used in scoring.

When the candidate arrives, no more than 10 minutes early, they will check-in at the front desk and present their admittance letter and a valid government issued picture ID, such as a passport, military ID or driver's license. After checking in, the candidate will make a random selection of muscles to be tested on. The candidate will be given an outline of the exam and some informational materials to read prior to the exam.

Next, the client examiner will greet the candidate and direct them to the exam room, familiarize the candidate with the room and instruct the candidate to make necessary preparations. In order to prevent bias in the exam, candidates are known only by a candidate number and examiners are instructed not to visit with candidates. The candidate will be asked if they read and understood the exam instructions they received in the waiting area. This is for the exam record.

Once the exam begins, the timer will count down the minutes remaining in the exam. During the exam the reading examiner will read instructions to the candidate and may repeat them as often as requested. Instructions cannot be explained or rephrased. The order of the exam cannot be changed. Once a task has been completed it cannot be revisited. You may choose to skip a task and, time permitting, return to it at the end of the exam. You may not skip a task once the task has been started. You may not return to tasks partially completed.

The candidate will be asked to explain considerations, techniques and contraindications for a specified pathology. This pathology applies only to this portion of the exam. It is not a factor in any other area of the exam nor does the client examiner actually have this pathology. The pathology will be assigned from the following list:

Acute Bronchitis Frozen Shoulder Postural Deviations

Anemia Gout Pregnancy

Anorexia Nervosa Headaches Raynaud's Syndrome Asthma Hernia Rheumatoid Arthritis

Bell's Palsy Herniated Disc Sciatica
Breast Cancer HIV/AIDS Scoliosis

Bulimia Hypertension Seizure Disorders

Bursitis Irritable Bowel Syndrome Shin Splints
Carpal Tunnel Syndrome Low Back Pain Sinusitis
Chemical Dependency Lupus Skin Cancer
Chronic Fatigue Syndrome Lymphoma Sleep Disorders

Common ColdMultiple SclerosisSprainsCrohn's DiseaseMuscular DystrophyStrainsDegenerative DiscMyofascial Pain SyndromeStroke

Depression Myositis Ossificans Temporomandibular Joint Disorder

Diabetes Mellitus Osteoarthritis Tendinitis

Dislocations Osteoporosis Thoracic Outlet Syndrome

Edema Patellofemoral Syndrome Thrombophlebitis, Deep Vein Thrombosis

Embolism, Thrombus Pelvis Inflammatory Disease Thyroid Disease

Endometriosis Peripheral Neuropathy Torticollis

Fatigue Plantar Fasciitis Urinary Tract Infection

Fibromyalgia Post Polio Syndrome Varicose Veins

Fractures Postoperative Situations Whiplash

The candidate will be asked to demonstrate either an active or passive range of motion assessment on a particular area of the body. The area to be assessed will be chosen by the Board office.

The candidate will instruct the client examiner to prepare for the massage & bodywork session. If the client is to undress, the candidate and 2 remaining examiners will leave the room to allow the client examiner to disrobe and get on the massage table.

After returning to the room the candidate will perform a 10-minute demonstration of their preferred modality. They will demonstrate proficiency in the areas of sanitation, client safety, client interaction, body mechanics, application of technique and professionalism.

The candidate will demonstrate appropriate use of a breast drape. If the client has not undressed, the candidate and 2 remaining examiners will leave the room to allow the client examiner to disrobe and get on the massage table.

The candidate will demonstrate their muscle knowledge, including muscle attachments and location, muscle actions and safe movement. For this portion, all muscle outlining must be done on the client's undraped skin with the exception of Pectoralis Major which may be outlined just above the sheet. During the outlining, verbalization will not be scored. During the demonstration of actions, the candidate will be required to name and demonstrate the actions of the muscle. Actions must be demonstrated on the client's body, unless instructed differently.

NOTE:

At any time during the exam process if an examiner observes behavior that is a danger to the client examiner they may "pause" the exam. Areas of client endangerment may include, but are not limited to: poor hygiene or sanitation; unclear, non-existent or inappropriate communication; unprofessional language; belligerent conduct; improper draping or exposure; inappropriate touch; unassisted or otherwise unsafe turns; insufficient warming of tissue; improper range of motion; jerking joints in a manner likely to cause injury; inappropriate depth of pressure and/or persistent failure to respond to client's verbal and nonverbal clues. Under some circumstances this may result in termination of the exam.

Once the exam is complete, the candidate will retrieve belongings checked-in at the front desk and leave the exam site.

Results

Notification of exam results will be sent by mail within 30 days. Typically this time line is much shorter. Exams with a failing score are automatically reviewed a second time. Please do not call the Board office for your results. Your results cannot be given by phone.

<u>Practical Exam</u>: A **minimum score of 70% in each individual section** is necessary to pass the Practical Exam. If a candidate scores less than 70% on **any part** of the Practical Exam, they will be required to re-take the **entire** exam. The candidate is responsible for paying the \$150 exam fee for all re-takes.

Examination Appeals

A request for appeal of a failed exam must be made by the candidate in writing and received in the Board office within thirty days of the date on the letter of notification of exam results. The appeal must identify the specific errors of content, procedure, bias, prejudice or discrimination that the candidate believes applicable. The Board will not consider oral arguments from the candidate regarding an exam appeal unless the Board determines that further information is required directly from the applicant. **Exam results will not be modified unless clear and convincing evidence of an error in the exam is presented.**

Re-examination Information

Candidates must submit an application for re-examination form, the \$150 examination fee, and proof of current CPR certification to re-take the exam. If the CPR certification on file is current, there is no need to resubmit proof. The rescheduled exam will be a minimum of thirty (30) days from the date of the failed Practical Exam. Candidates must pass the practical exam within 24 months of the first attempt. If the candidate fails to pass in 3 attempts, they must re-establish eligibility as determined by the Board.

Initial Licensure

When a candidate receives notice of passing the practical exam, they will receive an application for Initial Licensure. The candidate must submit the application for initial license, along with the initial license fee within one year of the passed exam date. A massage license will not be issued unless you have provided verification of having passed a Board Approved written exam (or in the case of Endorsement, verification of your license), passed the law exam, provided proof of current CPR certification and satisfaction of any other outstanding issues.

YOU CANNOT ADVERTISE OR PRACTICE MASSAGE UNTIL YOU ARE LICENSED!

Instructions for Completing the Application Form

- Section 1 Applicant Information: Provide information for all boxes. Use N/A for fields where you have no response. Previous names must include maiden name, previous married name(s) or any alias used. If you have lived at your current address for less than five years you must list all residences for the past five years on a separate piece of paper. Include your name and signature.
- **Section 2** Application: Circle what you are applying for.
- Special Accommodations: OBMT complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA) and applicants requiring accommodations under ADA must submit to the Board in writing their request for accommodations. Documentation of a recent diagnosis from a qualified professional (e.g. licensed physician, optometrist, social worker, or psychologist) explaining the nature of the disability and the reason special testing arrangements are necessary must be received with the written request. The information provided by the healthcare professional must be written on their letterhead and include their title, address, telephone number, and an original signature. Official documentation must be provided before you can be scheduled for the Practical Exam.
- Section 4 Voluntary Affirmative Action Information: This information is voluntary. You need only mark one box. If you are from more than one ethnic background you may choose "Other".
- <u>Section 5</u> Physical Description: Please list your height, weight, hair and eye color. You must include a front-view photograph that is no larger than 2" X 2", taken within the last 12 months. In addition you must provide a copy of a valid government issued picture ID, such as a driver's license, passport or military ID.
- **Section 6** Occupational Licenses: If you are licensed to practice in another field, in any state, please list.
- Section 7 Arrests, Convictions and Sanctions: If you have ever been arrested and/or convicted of any crime, other than a minor traffic violation, or if you have been sanctioned by another licensing agency in any state or jurisdiction you must provide the following documents: a written explanation in your own words describing the incident(s), including what occurred, when it occurred, how it was resolved and the steps taken to prevent future reoccurrences. You must also include all related official documentation, including copies of the arrest/police report(s), a copy of the judgment, a copy of the settlement of the judgment, a copy of the Board/Agency orders, treating physician documentation, etc. Any false claims may result in denial or revocation of licensure. Prior arrests and/or convictions will not automatically result in a denied application. The Board has the right to request additional information and/or an informal meeting to discuss the matter.
- <u>Section 8</u> Education: A list of any colleges, universities, specialty schools, vocational schools and/or professional schools attended for massage training.
- <u>Section 9</u> Option to release practical exam date, pass/fail information and score details to primary school to assist in their program evaluation and feedback.
- <u>Section 10</u>Personal References: A list of three persons, not relatives, you have known for at least three years.
 Please include a complete address and phone number for the three persons. Include your printed name and signature.
- **Section 11** Certification: Your signature and the date are necessary to complete the application.
- <u>Section 12</u> Payment Information: Indicate the method and information of payment.

Completed applications must include the following:

☐ Signed application form	
☐ Appropriate fees	
☐ Transcripts in a sealed envelope from each school	
☐ Front-view photograph no larger than 2" X 2"	
☐ Copy of a valid government issued photo ID, such as a passport, military ID or driver's license	
Copy of current CPR certification card (front and back)	
Copy of passing notice for an OBMT approved written exam, if already completed (see candidate handbo	ok)
License verification form from licensing agency, if applying for Endorsement	

This page left blank intentionally

Oregon Board of Massage Therapists Application

1. Applicant Information – please print or type.

Last Name		First		Middle Initial	Date of Birth		
Address		City		State	Zip Code		
Home Phone		Work Phone		Social Security Number			
					· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		
Mailing Address (if different)		City		State	Zip Code		
ist all previous names used (include	es maiden & previous married names)	E-mail		Driver's Licer	nse Number / State		
Massage Therapists, you are re for this requirement is ORS 25.7 be a basis to refuse to issue or support and tax administration	eation for an initial or renewed occupation quired to provide your Social Security N 785, ORS 305.385, 42 USC § 405 (c)(2 renew the license, certification, or regulpurposes (including identification) only, is on the face of the licenses issued by assage Therapists.	lumber to the Oregon Board of Massa)(C)(i), and 42 USC § 666 (a)(13). Fa istration you seek. This record of you unless you authorize other uses of the	ge Therapists. illure to provide ur Social Secur ne number. Alt	This is mand your Social ity Number v hough a nun	latory. The autho Security Number vill be used for conber other than y		
2. Application What are you applying for	· (Circle One): Practical Ex	am OR Endorsement					
Please circle the modalit Swedish will automatically	y you will demonstrate during be assigned.	the 10-minute portion of your	exam. If no	modality	is selected,		
Acupressure	Lomilomi	Reflexology	xology Structur				
Body Talk	Myofascial Release®	Rolfing®	Swed				
Bowen	Neuromuscular Therapy	Rosen Method®	•	er® Approach			
Cranial sacral Therapy Deep Tissue	Postural Integration®	Russian Massage Shiatsu	rigge	ger Point			
Other:	•	must contact the OBMT office	in advance t	to obtain n	armission)		
Other.	(100	must contact the Obin office	iii advance	to obtain p	GITIII33IOI1.)		
3. Special Accommoda Are you requesting specia Yes * No	ations al accommodations under the A	DA (Americans with Disabilities	s Act)?				
	u will need to include current verifica orm for how to qualify for special ac		care profession	onal. See ir	nstructions for		
 Voluntary Affirmativ Ethnic Background (check 			Attach	EDON	T VIEW		
□ Asian or Pacific Islander □ African American □ Hispanic □ Caucasian □ Native American or Alaskan Native □ Other □ Other □ African American □ Hispanic □ Caucasian □ Photograph □ Native American □ African American □ Hispanic □ Caucasian □ Photograph □ Native American □ Native □ Other							
5. Physical Description					this area.		
Height	Weight	Gender (Circle One)	The photo must have				
Hair Color	Eye Color	Male Female	been taken within the last				
			12 mont	ns.			
6. Do you hold a licens	se to practice in another field?	? ☐ Yes ☐ No					
, ,	,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,						
Occupation(s)							
Occupation(s)							

You mu	ıst also inclu	ude all relate	ed official docu		ng copies of the a	rrest/police	report(s),	a copy of the j	udgment, a copy of
1.			_ Have you sing agency?		ed, disciplined	or denied	licensure	e by this age	ncy or any other
2.	Yes	_ No	_ Have you	surrendered any	professional lic	ense in ar	ny state, t	erritory or jur	isdiction?
3.		demeanors	and felonies		or traffic violation	ons, in an y	y state, te		the law, including sdiction? Note: A
4.	Yes	_ No	_ Have you	abused or been	treated for the a	buse of al	cohol or	a controlled s	ubstance(s)?
5.	Yes_ condition			suffered from a our ability to safe			nt for a i	mental, physi	ical or emotional
		Information		ools related to yo	our massage tra	aining. Inc	lude your	name and si	gnature
I autho	rize the O	BMT to rel				mation an	d score o	details to my	primary school of
On a s		heet of pa		complete addres al references. In				rsons, not re	latives, you have
By my (ORS) best o	and Adm f my know	e below, l inistrative	Rules (OAF understand th	R) governing ma	assage; all info	rmation i	s true, a	ccurate and	Revised Statutes complete to the enial, suspension,
Applic	cant's Sign	nature			_	Date			_
*To rece	ive a current	copy of the R	ules and Statute	es, please visit our w	ebsite – <u>www.orego</u>	n.gov/OBMT	or contact	the office at 503	-365-8657.
12. Pa	yment Ty	ре							
Fees:	\$50 Non-	-refundable	Application	fee plus \$150 Pr	actical Exam fe	e.			
Check (Make or		\$200 payable	to OBMT)	Please circle	-		isa /	MasterCar	
Check	_				(for) (in o			Exp Da	ate:
` .		vrite cash on (Check # line)		(for Visa	•	_	e of card)	
Amou	nt: _	\$			mount to Char	_	\$		
			l		ss of Card: Str pple: Write 748 for 7			Zip Code: Do not write the	e entire address.)

If you check yes to any question below, you must provide the following documents: a written explanation in your own words describing

7. Arrests, Convictions and Sanctions

For each question below, indicate YES or NO in the space provided.

Mail application to: OBMT, 748 Hawthorne Ave NE, Salem, OR 97301

Please note: Sending your application by certified mail may delay the processing time.



748 Hawthorne Ave NE Salem, OR 97301 Phone: (503) 365-8657 Fax: (503) 385-4465 www.oregon.gov/OBMT

CANCELLATION LIST Revised 2/2/2009

Per OAR 334-010-0010 2) The applicant shall be notified by mail, postmarked at least two weeks before the scheduled exam, unless otherwise waived by the applicant, of the time and place.

If you wish to waive your 14-day notice and be placed on a cancellation list, please complete this form and submit it with your application for examination.

You will automatically be scheduled for the next available exam date and written notification of that date will be mailed. If a date prior to your scheduled exam date should become available you will receive a telephone call asking about your availability and confirming your acceptance or denial of the new date and time. **Please do not call our office to check on availability.**

(Print Name)	_, waive my right to 14-day notice and wish to be placed on the Practical Exam Cancellation List.					
Applicant's Signature		Date				
Diago noto:						
Please note:						
Signing this waiver does <u>not</u> guarantee a	n earlier exam date.					

This page left blank intentionally



Salem OR 97301

Board of Massage Therapists

748 Hawthorne Ave NE Salem, OR 97301 Phone: (503) 365-8657 Fax: (503) 385-4465 www.oregon.gov/OBMT

Verification of Licensure

	Name of Licensee							
E	Business Address of Licensee							
	City, State, Zip							
<u>Licensure Status</u> (To be completed by licensing board)								
Licensee's state license/certificate number		State _						
Type of License (title):								
Date of initial Licensure:; Current the	hrough	If expired, date of expira	ation					
Reciprocity/Er National Certif MBLEx	mination * ndorsement fication	from which state:						
* Please provide an outline of the exam con qualifying examiners Has this license ever lapsed? [] No [] Yes	•							
That this hourse <u>ever</u> lapsed: [] No [] Tes	, wiicii							
Has the above named applicant had any discip [] No [] Yes, please explain	•	aken against them? Any curr	<u> </u>					
COMMENTS:			[] More info on back					
	I acknowle	edge the above information	is correct and current.					
	Signed							
Affix State Seal Here	Title _							
	Agency _							
D 4	Printed N	Name						
Return to: Oregon Board of Massage Therapists 748 Hawthorne Ave. NE	ъ.							

This page left blank intentionally



748 Hawthorne Ave NE Salem, OR 97301 Phone: (503) 365-8657 Fax: (503) 385-4465 www.oregon.gov/OBMT

Coverage/Draping Policy* Adopted July 19, 2005

The purpose of coverage/draping is to establish boundaries, protect privacy, and to give safe access to areas being addressed. The Oregon Board of Massage Therapists expects LMTs to use safe and functional coverage/ draping practices on their client during the practice of massage.

Safe coverage/draping means:

- client gives informed consent
- LMT maintains and respects coverage/draping boundaries
- · genitals and gluteal cleft are not exposed
- breast tissue is covered except when massaging area

Functional coverage/draping means:

· massage or movement of body doesn't expose genitals, gluteal cleft or breast tissue

Exceptions to this policy may be made for advanced Licensed Massage Therapists who can document training in specific modalities that require variations in coverage/draping.

^{*} The OBMT has adopted various policies/guidelines to provide additional clarification and information for both licensees and the general public. This policy is supplemental to the Oregon Revised Statutes and Oregon Administrative Rules and as such does not supersede or replace information contained in the Statutes or Rules that govern massage. Should you have any questions regarding this policy please contact the Board office.



748 Hawthorne Ave NE Salem, OR 97301 Phone: (503) 365-8657 Fax: (503) 385-4465 www.oregon.gov/OBMT

Breast Massage Policy* Adopted June 12, 1998

The Oregon Board of Massage Therapists has never stated breast massage is beyond the scope of practice. We have taken a position on sexual abuse, sexual violation, and sexual impropriety outlined in the Administrative Rules 334-030-0025.

There are times when massage of the anterior chest is appropriate. For example, massage of the chest used to aid in pulmonary drainage consisting of proper positioning, vibration and percussion is a valuable technique. Some authors suggest strong percussion should not be used over the entire chest. Massage of the breast to aid in the flow of milk of the nursing mother can be of benefit and there are other indications for massage of the anterior chest including the breast tissue.

What is not appropriate is massage of the breast for self gratification of the therapists, unnecessary exposure, massage of the nipple without reason, breast massage without explanation or consent of the client. Most of the complaints received by the board are around issues of sexual impropriety, lack of communication or improper draping practices.

The therapist must have reason, consent and knowledge before proceeding to perform massage of the breast. Cooperation with other Health Care Practitioners in the management of a client in need of such a treatment is recommended. The client must be fully informed of the treatment procedure, expected outcomes and possible adverse reactions and give consent. Most of these special procedures will require advanced training beyond the basic massage course. The therapist should be able to present evidence of the completion of such training. Having someone else present for questionable procedures is advisable for the protection of the therapist.

^{*} The OBMT has adopted various policies/guidelines to provide additional clarification and information for both licensees and the general public. This policy is supplemental to the Oregon Revised Statutes and Oregon Administrative Rules and as such does not supersede or replace information contained in the Statutes or Rules that govern massage. Should you have any questions regarding this policy please contact the Board office.



748 Hawthorne Ave NE Salem, OR 97301 Phone: (503) 365-8657 Fax: (503) 385-4465 www.oregon.gov/OBMT

Communicable Disease Guidelines*

Adopted June 12, 1998 (updated 2/2009)

There are a number of infectious agents causing disease, which can be transmitted in person-to-person contact. Massage therapists work in close physical contact with their clients and thus are potentially at risk for both contacting and transmitting disease-causing organisms. Transmission routes are numerous and an organism can be conveyed from one person to another by more than one route. The examples listed below describe common disease entities and modes of transmission. The examples do not represent an all-inclusive list.

ROUTE OF TRANSMISSION	DISEASE
Skin to skin contact	Staphylococcal infection; Streptococcal infection; Lice; Scabies; Herpes
Skin contact with object contaminated with infectious agents (i.e. clothing, handles on faucets, doorknobs, etc.)	Lice (clothing); Measles; Upper respiratory; Viruses (i.e. cold); Conjunctivitis
Skin contact with infected secretions (i.e. runny noses, rubbing eyes or skin when an infectious agent is present)	Upper respiratory; Viruses (i.e. cold); Conjunctivitis; Streptococcal infection
Fecal contamination of food/fluids followed by oral ingestion (i.e. failure to wash hands after using the toilet followed by food handling)	Hepatitis A; Candida (yeast)
Inhalation of airborne organisms	Many bacteria and viruses (i.e. cold, whooping cough)
Impaired skin integrity or mucosal skin exposure to infected body fluids (i.e. contact with infected body fluids allow organisms to enter the body through a break in the skin such as a cut or through mucous membranes such as found in the mouth and genitalia)	Hepatitis B (saliva, semen, blood, vaginal fluids); Human immunodeficiency virus (H.I.V.) (blood, semen, vaginal fluids); Herpes

In the vast majority of instances transmission is preventable with the use of basic hygienic practices available to anyone. The following guidelines were developed to address such concerns:

General Recommendations

- A. Give rigorous attention to hand-washing practices. Washing is the primary protection against acquiring and transmitting infectious organisms. Wash fingertips to elbows prior to and after every massage activity. Use warm water with single use soap and paper towels or a personal cloth towel that no one else uses.
- B. Provide single use soap and paper towels for client use in the restrooms.
- C. Encourage client hand-washing after use of the toilet via signs in the restrooms.
- D. Practice hand-washing after personal use of the toilet

- E. Practice, and encourage client practice, of turning off water taps with a paper towel after washing and drying hands.
- F. Follow guidelines detailed in administrative rules regarding proper care and cleaning of equipment and linen.
- G. Seek health care attention for diagnosis and treatment of symptoms that indicate an infectious process in the L.M.T.
- H. Encourage client to seek health care attention for diagnosis treatment of symptoms that indicate an infectious process.
- Conduct verbal and/or written assessments of client's health and presence of symptoms of possible infectious conditions that are transmissible through ordinary massage activities, especially respiratory or skin conditions (i.e. coughing, sneezing, severe itching of scalp or other area, rashes, wounds, skin lesions). Ask the client if he/she has a known communicable disease.
- J. If in doubt about potential for transmission, refrain from massage and request client to obtain evaluation of health from a licensed health-care provider. Do not risk infecting yourself or transmitting infection to another client. Use good judgment based on principles of healthful living, sanitation, and disease control.

Specific Recommendations

- A. If an L.M.T. is displaying symptoms of an upper respiratory infection (fever, coughing, sneezing, green or yellow nasal discharge), refrain from massage until the symptoms are controlled. Wash your hands frequently, especially after blowing your nose or covering you mouth with your hand.
- B. If an L.M.T. has an infectious skin rash, lesions, or an open wound of any kind on the hands or arms, do not massage until skin integrity is restored.
- C. If an L.M.T. has an infectious body rash, do not massage until the infection is absent.
- D. If an L.M.T. has an infectious lesion or wound present on body areas other than hands and forearms, adequately bandage the area so no infective secretions come into contact with clothes or hands. Be thorough about hand washing after bandaging and before massaging.
- E. Individual L.M.T.s who are carriers of Hepatitis B, H.I.V., or any other infectious organisms transmitted by body fluids must refrain from giving massages if there are any areas of the hands or forearms which, for any reason, are subject to bleeding or have open and/or draining areas in the skin. The practice of massage may be resumed once skin integrity is restored to the hands and arms.

^{*} The OBMT has adopted various policies/guidelines to provide additional clarification and information for both licensees and the general public. This policy is supplemental to the Oregon Revised Statutes and Oregon Administrative Rules and as such does not supersede or replace information contained in the Statutes or Rules that govern massage. Should you have any questions regarding this policy please contact the Board office.



748 Hawthorne Ave NE Salem, OR 97301 Phone: (503) 365-8657 Fax: (503) 385-4465 www.oregon.gov/OBMT

Topical Preparations Policy* Adopted March 9, 2006

Topical preparations may be used for the purposes of massage as defined in ORS 687.011 (5). Topical preparations are used for but not limited to:

- · lubricating and minimizing friction,
- · warming or cooling an area,
- minimizing pain,
- · addressing inflammation,
- promoting the healthy function of organs and systems of the body.

The Oregon Board of Massage Therapists expects that any LMT using a topical preparation understand the safe application, indications, and contraindications as they apply to each client. Informed consent protocol must be followed.

LMTs are reminded that they need appropriate knowledge and education that may be beyond their initial training when utilizing topical preparations.

^{*} The OBMT has adopted various policies/guidelines to provide additional clarification and information for both licensees and the general public. This policy is supplemental to the Oregon Revised Statutes and Oregon Administrative Rules and as such does not supersede or replace information contained in the Statutes or Rules that govern massage. Should you have any questions regarding this policy please contact the Board office.



Massage & Bodywork Licensing Examination Application Form

				APF	LICA	NT II	NFORMA	TIOI	N				
NAME	FIRST				M.I.		LAST						
PREVIOU NAME	S/MAIDEN	I	SS #										
DATE OF	BIRTH	MN	1	DD		YYY	Y		GENI	DER		М	F
MAILING	ADDRESS	STI	REET									APT.#	
CITY							STATE		ZI	Р		•	
EMAIL AD	DRESS			_		•			,				
HOME PHONE				WOR PHO	NΕ				CEI PH	LL ONE			
					E	DUC	ATION						
(Write in fo	SCHOOL ull – no acr	onym	s please)										
LOCATIO	N OF SCH	OOL .	ATTENDE	D	CITY						ST	ATE	
				SPEC			MMODA						
DO YOU I	REQUIRE ACCOMM						Please composial Accomm				Requ	est	NO
					L	ICEN	SURE						
LIST ONE	STATE TO		ICH YOU	WOUL	O YOU	LIKE	YOUR						
	HOLD A LI						YES In Whic	h State	e/Juriso	liction(s)?		[NO
						FE	ES						
TOTAL PAYMENT DUE \$195. Please provide payment information on the next page. Payment information will be destroyed after processing.													
			STA	ГЕМЕ	NT O	F AC	KNOWL	<u>EDG</u>	EME	NT			
I hereby certify that the information I provided on this application and in any supporting documents is accurate, true, and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief. I acknowledge and agree to abide by and with the policies and procedures promulgated by FSMTB, including all policies regarding examination irregularities, cheating, and cancellation of scores. I acknowledge that I have reviewed the Examination Content Outline and that I have education and training in the content subject areas. I acknowledge and agree that I am prohibited from transmitting information about FSMTB examination questions or content in any form to any person or entity and that my failure to comply with this prohibition, or my failure to report any information about suspected violations of such prohibitions or otherwise about any possible cheating by myself or others may result in my scores being cancelled in accordance with FSMTB policies and procedures and/or legal action, up to and including criminal prosecution. I acknowledge that the fee is non-refundable and non-transferable.													
SIGNATU	RE		DATE										

Send this application form and supporting materials to: FSMTB

FSMTB Massage & Bodywork Licensing Examination Payment Information and Application Form Instructions

FEES
(Make payable to FSMTB. Standard personal checks are not accepted. All fees payable in US\$ dollars.)
Amount Enclosed/Please charge: application(s) @ \$195 each = \$
PAYMENT TYPE: Certified Check/Money Order School/Institution Check Visa MasterCard
CREDIT CARD NUMBEREXP. DATE
NAME ON CREDIT CARD
CARDHOLDER SIGNATURE

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE MBLEX APPLICATION FORM

All information must be typed or printed. Illegible applications will not be processed.

Personal Information

- Indicate first name, middle initial, and last name (family/surname). Note that the identification that you present at the
 test site must bear the same name that appears on your application.
- Indicate other names you are or have been known by.
- Indicate your Social Security number.
- Indicate your date of birth (month, day, year).
- Indicate your gender.

Official Mailing Address/Contact Information

- Indicate your mailing address and daytime phone numbers at which you can be reached.
- Indicate your Email address. FSMTB will use this Email address to notify you when you are approved to register for the licensing examination so that you may promptly schedule your test date and time.
- To ensure prompt and accurate correspondence, it is important that you notify FSMTB immediately if any of your contact information changes. Contact us at www.fsmtb.org.

Education

- In signing the application, you are required to verify that you have read the Examination Content Outline and that you have education and training in the content subject areas.
- Indicate your school name in full (do not use acronyms).
- Indicate the location of the school you attended.

Special Accommodations

• If you require special accommodations, please complete the Special Accommodations Request Form and furnish the additional required information with this application.

Licensure Information

- You may select ONE State to which you may have your exam results sent, free of charge.
- Please indicate if you currently hold a massage therapy/bodywork license in any state(s) or jurisdiction(s).

Fees

- Total payment of \$195 is due with application.
- Payment information above will be destroyed after processing.
- You must first receive notification from FSMTB via email that you are approved to test before you will be allowed to schedule an exam.

Statement of Acknowledgement

Review the statement of acknowledgement. Sign and date the application form.

Submit the completed application form and fee to:

FSMTB

P.O. Box 198748, Nashville, TN 37219 (U.S. Postal Service) 150 Fourth Avenue North, Suite 800, Nashville, TN 37219 (for courier delivery)

Questions? Call 1.866.9.MB.EXAM (1.866.962.3926) or Email mblex@fsmtb.org