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Dealers, car buyers turn
to Internet to connect

Much has been written about Internet
auto sales.

In the 1990s dot-com companies were
saying that traditional vehicle dealers
would be going out of business. As we
all know, this did not happen, and it is
not likely to happen.
Nevertheless, the
Internet has had a dra-
matic effect on how a
dealer does business to-
day.

Qualified vehicle buy-
ers are researching ve-
hicles before they set
foot on your lot. They
want the highest pos-
sible trade value and
lowest possible price on
the vehicle they are pur-
chasing. A typical buyer
will have been to the
Kelley Blue Book Web site to find the
value of their trade and the price of the
vehicle they are interested in before they
go to a dealer.

Consumers also are willing to buy
online to get the best deal on a vehicle.
If they can’t get the deal they want from
a local dealer, some are willing to buy
online.

Every month hundreds of vehicles are
sold over the Web, many from vehicle
dealers. An example of this is a Staten
Island real estate entrepreneur who
bought a Chevrolet Suburban from a
Dallas dealership that advertised on the
EBay Internet auction site.

He bought the vehicle for $4,000 less
than the market price at the time. He
paid an $800 shipping fee and felt the

vehicle was well worth the effort of
buying online ⎯ despite not actually see-
ing and driving the vehicle before the
purchase. When asked if he was satis-
fied, he said, “It was a great transac-
tion. There’s no doubt in my mind this is

the way I’ll buy my
next car.”

The first thing I no-
ticed when I read the
newspaper article
about buying online
was that the vehicle
was purchased from a
dealer, not a private
party. Even for online
purchases, consumer
comfort level is higher
when they know they
are buying from a
dealer. The Texas
dealer was a fran-

chised store that had, and still has, sev-
eral of their “aged” vehicles up for bid.
They have been using Web-based auc-
tions to sell off “over-age” inventory.

Vehicle dealers have discovered the
Internet is an effective advertising tool.
Dealers who use the Internet also gen-
erate additional foot traffic at their lots.

Buyers see the vehicle dealer’s inven-
tory, then go to see a vehicle they are
interested in purchasing. Reluctance by
many shoppers to buy before kicking the
tires is the major reason most will not
buy sight unseen.
There are drawbacks to selling online,
but the benefits are starting to outweigh
the problems of online sales.

⎯ Chris Ratliff,
Business Regulation
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Dealers are likely to see new title
brands as Oregon changes its branding
policy and process.

In the past, Oregon issued a title with
a “previous damage” brand when DMV
received a title application and a vehicle
title from outside Oregon that was
branded as “damaged,” “salvaged” or
otherwise indicated damage in the
vehicle’s history.

New Oregon title brands will no longer
use “previous damage” but instead will
issue a title with one of these notations:

• Glider kit
• Glider kit (jurisdiction name)
• Lemon law  (jurisdiction name)
• Flood  (jurisdiction name)
• Replica (jurisdiction name)
• Branded (jurisdiction name)
If there is not an Oregon brand equiva-

lent to the out-of-state brand, Oregon
will issue a title with the “branded” no-
tation and the name of the previous ju-
risdiction.

Oregon will not issue a title on a ve-
hicle that has a title with a “junk” brand
or certificate, or other notation indicat-
ing that the vehicle has been damaged
so severely that it cannot be made safe

to drive again.
EVR impacts

Dealers who use DMV’s Electronic
Vehicle Registration system will find a
box to check that indicates whether the
vehicle bears a damage brand from an
out-of-state title.

CVR intends to upgrade the Dealer
PC to include the new brands in the
drop-down menu.
Revised Certificate of Title
and Registration Card

DMV is issuing a revised Certificate
of Title and Salvage Title. It includes a
bold red outlined “Title Brands” box that
takes the place of the previous black-
outlined brand box.

The backs of the certificates also have
been revised so that there is only one
reassignment area. There now is addi-
tional space for instructions and infor-
mation regarding seller notice require-
ments and title brands.

A blue-shaded “Title Brands” box has
been added to the registration card. If
there is a brand on the title, it also will
be printed in the blue-shaded area on
the registration card.

– Ron Kramer, Vehicle Programs

New brands start to appear
on Oregon’s vehicle titles

Some of the larger pickups and
sport-utility vehicles normally consid-
ered passenger vehicles might need
to be registered by weight in Oregon.

Many vehicles with a combined
weight over 8,000 pounds must be
registered by weight. Examples in-
clude: motor trucks, truck tractors,
armored cars, wreckers, tow ve-
hicles, hearses, ambulances, self-
propelled cranes and any motor ve-
hicle registered as a farm vehicle.

Motor vehicles that pull trailers that
have a loaded weight over 8,000
pounds must register as trucks with
a T plate.

Some vehicles typically considered
passenger vehicles also fall under
this category, even if they are pur-
chased for personal use rather than
business use. If an SUV, pickup or
other passenger vehicle has a com-
bined weight over 8,000 pounds, then
it must be registered by weight.

However, when calculating com-
bined weight, campers are excluded.
Also excluded from the calculation
of combined weight are:

• Trailers with a loaded weight of
8,000 pounds or less.

• Special-use trailers.
• Travel trailers.
• Manufactured structures.
• Fixed-load vehicles.
• Towed motor vehicles.
In addition, some vehicles that

weigh over 8,000 pounds are ex-
empted from registration by weight.
Motor homes, for example, are reg-
istered by length rather than weight.

⎯ Margaret Stephens,
Vehicle Programs

Some SUVs
need to be
registered
by weight

Look for these updates in the online
version of the Oregon Dealer Handbook
at www.OregonDMV.com. The online
handbook is updated quarterly. Here is
a summary of the most recent updates:

• Chapter G (Ownership Docu-
ments): An example of the 5/04
Oregon title is shown. The April 2004
version of the handbook shows a title
with a revision date of 1/04, but that
date is incorrect. DMV never issued a

version of the title in 1/04.
• Chapter L (Registration): Clarifica-

tion on plate transfers and registration
of vehicles by weight. See related
article in this issue.

• Chapter N (Fees): Clarification on
plate transfers.

• Cover Page: July 2004 revision
date.

⎯ Margaret Stephens,
Vehicle Programs

Oregon Dealer Handbook updates
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Many motorized scooters
and bikes not street-legal

After more than 17  years of DMV
service, Dealer Details editor Clyde
Carrick has moved into the Oregon
Department of Transportation’s
Highway Division.

As of July 6, Clyde is a Program
Technician 2 in the Alternative De-
livery Unit in Salem. Everyone in
DMV Business Regulation will miss
Clyde and wish him the best in his
new position.

A new Dealer Details editor is ex-
pected to be in place for the Fall
2004 issue.

Staff notes

Dealer Details editor
moves to ODOT job

Certificates of Origin or standardized 17-
digit Vehicle Identification Numbers.

Unless the manufacturer provides
proof that a vehicle meets U.S. Depart-
ment of Transportation equipment and
safety standards, it cannot be titled and
registered in Oregon and is not intended
to be driven on public roads or highways.

Many vendors of these vehicles are
not licensed automobile dealers, and
some have given inaccurate information
to customers.

Law enforcement has begun to cite
operators using these on roads, bike
lanes, parks and sidewalks.

DMV Business Regulation is telling
retailers that if they are selling vehicles
other than motor-assisted scooters then
the vendor must be licensed as a motor-
cycle dealer.

In addition, consumers are receiving
conflicting information about legal mo-
tor-assisted scooters.

Motor-assisted scooters are subject to
the same traffic laws as other motor ve-
hicles, such as signaling stops and turns.
However, there are exceptions, not only
in state law but also in local laws. These
are a few examples of laws that apply
to the use of a motor-assisted scooter
on a public roadway:

• The rider must be at least 16 years
old, although a driver license is not
required.

• The scooter must not be driven
faster than 15 mph, even though it is
capable of going faster.

• The scooter must use a bicycle
lane, unless local ordinance prohibits it.

• Scooters may be restricted in
Oregon State Parks.

• The rider must wear protective
headgear.

(ORS 814.510 through 814.536)

⎯ Lana Cully, Vehicle Programs

They can go places sport-utility ve-
hicles can’t go. They get better fuel
economy than any hybrid car on the
market.

And they are
selling like crazy.

But many of the
motorized scoot-
ers, mini-choppers,
pocket bikes and
similar toys never
will compete for
customers against
cars.

Why? Because
they cannot be
driven legally on
public roads or highways.

Still, automobile dealers are likely to
hear more questions about them from
customers.

Many vehicles that look like “motor-
assisted scooters” are not manufactured
to operate on public roads.

In order to fit the Oregon definition of
a motor-assisted scooter, the vehicle
must meet this description in Oregon
law:

• It is designed to be operated on the
ground with no more than three
wheels.

• It has handlebars and a foot
support or seat.

• It can be propelled by human
power.

• It has a power source that can
propel the vehicle no faster than 24
mph on level ground.

• Its power source is no larger than
35 cubic centimeters if a combustion
engine, or no more powerful than
1,000 watts if an electric motor.

(ORS 801.348)
In addition, many of these vehicles also

do not fit the definition of motorcycle.
Makers do not provide Manufacturer’s

Chief investigator’s
position will change
hands in August

Rick Parsons

Rollie Husen

Rick Parsons
will become act-
ing chief investi-
gator starting
Aug. 9, 2004.

Rick is the Eu-
gene investigator
and has been
with the Busi-
ness Regulation
Section for six
years.

He will replace
Rollie Husen,
who has ac-
cepted a position
with the ODOT
Right of Way
unit.

Rollie was
chief of investi-
gations for seven

years and has been with Business
Regulation for eight years.
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Location suspensions
The following dealers were suspended

for moving their places of business with-
out obtaining a corrected dealer certifi-
cate and/or violating dealer location
regulations:

None for the second quarter of 2004.

Unlicensed dealers
investigated

David Earl Johnson, Portland,
$7,500.

Jose Wilson Rangel, DBA J&W
Auto Towing, Salem, $25,000.

Yacht Spot, Portland, $12,500.
Penalty amounts and sanctions

may not reflect negotiated settle-
ments.

Licensed dealer
penalties, sanctions

USA Auto Wholesale, Portland, fail-
ure to supply ownership documents to
purchaser within 25 days, 3 offenses, 1
count, $500.

Car Truck Sales, Portland, failure to
obtain a supplemental certificate, 1 of-
fense, 2 counts, $1,000; suspended 3
years for failure to pay civil penalty.

Better Cars & Trucks LLC, Bend,
failure to submit fees and application to
DMV within 30 days, 2 offenses, 3
counts, $750.

Friendly Motors, Grants Pass, fail-
ure to furnish title within 90 days, 2 of-
fenses, 1 count, $250.

The RV Corral, Eugene, failure to
follow proper consignment laws by not
providing purchaser with required con-

signment disclosure, 2 offenses, 4
counts, $1,000.

Kev Auto Sales Inc., Portland, fail-
ure to supply ownership documents to
purchaser within 25 days of date of sale,
2 offenses, 1 count, $250.

RPM Motors, Canby, failure to have
a complete consignment agreement in
writing, 2 offenses, 1 count, $250; fail-
ure to pay consignor within 10 days of
date of sale, 1 offense, 1 count, $500.

Cottage Grove Chevrolet Inc.,
Cottage Grove, failure to pay consignor
within 10 days of date of sale, 1 offense,
1 count, $500.

Lot 181 Inc., Portland, failure to ob-
tain a corrected dealer certificate, 1 of-
fense, 1 count, $500.

Lancaster Motors, Salem, failure to
supply ownership documents to pur-
chaser within 25 days, 3 offenses, 1
count, $500; failure to maintain proper
records, 2 offenses, 1 count, $250; fail-
ure to notify DMV of a vehicle trans-
ferred to the dealer, 2 offenses, 1 count,
$50.

Superior Performance, Portland,
failure to obtain a supplemental location,
1 offense, 1 count, $500; failure to main-
tain records of title delivery, submission
or document delays, 2 offenses, 5 counts,
$1,250.

Volvos and More, Newberg, failure
to submit fees and application to DMV
within 30 days, 1 offense, 2 counts,
$2,000; selling a vehicle with a removed
or altered vehicle identification number
to conceal identity of vehicle, 1 offense,
9 counts, $1,000; 1 year probation from
June 23, 2004, through June 23, 2005.

Florence RV Consignments, Flo-
rence, failure to pay consignor within 10

days, 2 offenses, 14 counts, $14,000;
failure to submit fees and application to
DMV within 30 days, 2 offenses, 10
counts, $2,500; failure to supply owner-
ship documents to purchaser within 25
days, 3 offenses, 2 counts, $1,000; fail-
ure to maintain proper records of title
delivery, 2 offenses, 15 counts, $3,750;
making false statement of material fact,
1 offense, 2 counts, $2,000; 1 year pro-
bation from April 16, 2004, through April
16, 2005.

Tualatin Valley Chevrolet, Forest
Grove, failure to submit fees and appli-
cation to DMV within 30 days, 2 of-
fenses, 20 counts, $5,000; failure to sat-
isfy interest in a vehicle within 15 days,
1 offense, 8 counts, $8,000; 6 months
probation from May 28, 2004, through
Nov. 28, 2004.

Grant & Haynes Community
Chevrolet, Portland, failure to satisfy
interest in a vehicle within 15 days, 4
offenses, 11 counts, $11,000.

Tony’s Auto World, Portland, charg-
ing a title and registration processing fee
without submitting title and/or registra-
tion documents to DMV, 1 offense, 4
counts, $1,000.

Harley Davidson of Portland,
Gladstone, failure to obtain a corrected
dealer certificate, 1 offense, 1 count,
$500.

First Rate Auto Inc., Portland, fail-
ure to submit fees and application to
DMV within 30 days, 4 offenses, 1
count, $1,000; failure to satisfy interest
in a vehicle within 15 days, 1 offense, 2
counts, $2,000.

Penalty amounts and sanctions
may not reflect negotiated settle-
ments.

Sanctions

The meeting dates for the rest of 2004
are: Thursday, Aug. 26; Thursday, Oct.
21; and Thursday, Dec. 2. All meetings

are held from 9 a.m. to noon in Confer-
ence Room 382, DMV Headquarters,
1905 Lana Ave. NE, Salem.

Oregon Dealer Advisory Committee (ODAC)

www.OregonDMV.com


