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ODOT begins massive
project management job

The Oregon Transportation
Investment Act of 2003 provided
funding for a total of $2.5 billion in
projects, which represents Oregon’s
largest public works investment since
World War II. Over the next 10 years,
the Oregon Department of
Transportation (ODOT) will oversee
consultants and contractors hired to
repair or replace more than 400 bridges
and complete $500 million worth of
highway modernization work.

ODOT has started assessing the work
needed for bridges on state highways.
It’s collecting environmental and
engineering data and determining
whether bridges need to be repaired
or replaced.
Meanwhile,
local
officials
are
deciding
how to
best
spend
$300
million
that is available for bridges on
county and city roads. The selection
process is focusing on freight routes that
lead to state highways from industrial
sites, distribution centers, forests, or
farms. Area Commissions on
Transportation, the Oregon Freight
Advisory Committee, and the trucking
industry are among those actively
involved in selecting the local bridges.

ODOT’s Bridge Delivery Program
Web site — www.ODOTbridgesEE.org
— has more project details. Visitors can
register for e-mail updates and check a
schedule of community workshops.

Bridges under study in ODOT’s
Assessment Program

Oregon weight-mile taxes and
other truck fees increase January 1

Trucking company bookkeepers will save a lot of time and trouble
for themselves and their bosses if they remember to throw out old
Oregon weight-mile tax tables after they’ve filed all 2003 tax reports.
Beginning January 1, 2004, Oregon truck taxes and fees increase as
part of a major transportation funding package passed by legislators in
2003. The revenue raised will repay $2.5 billion in highway user tax
bonds, with most bond proceeds going to repair and replace bridges
(see sidebar). Here’s a summary of truck tax and fee changes, all
effective on January 1, 2004:

Oregon weight-mile taxes increase 9.9 percent. Under the new
taxes, for example, an 80,000 lb. truck will pay 13.16 cents per mile.
Download the new Weight-Mile Tax Tables A and B at this Internet
address:

http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/motcarr/reg/9225new.pdf

Flat fees increase 9.9 percent. In lieu of weight-mile taxes,
certain carriers may pay a flat fee for each 100 pounds of declared
combined weight. Under new fees, log haulers may pay $6.10 per
100 pounds, sand and gravel haulers $6.05 per 100 pounds, wood
chip haulers $24.62 per 100 pounds, and for-hire farm carriers in
trucks under 46,000 pounds combined weight $5.00 per 100
pounds.

Road use assessment fees increase to 5.7 cents per equivalent
single-axle load mile traveled. This applies to trucks operating
under single-trip, nondivisible load permits at gross weights over
98,000 lbs. Download the new fees at this Internet address:
http://www.odot.state.or.us/trucking/od/RUAF_98,001+_2004.pdf

Oregon truck registration fees increase 53 percent. Under the new
fees, for example, an 80,000 lb. truck will pay $490 per year. Also
starting in 2004, an Oregon company operating under the
International Registration Plan can make quarterly payments of
Oregon registration fees if the Oregon apportioned fees exceed
$1,000. There is a $4 processing fee. Download the new registration
fees at this Internet address:

http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/motcarr/reg/9903.pdf

The Oregon Weight Receipt and Tax Identifier credential fee
increases from $5 to $8.

Many Oregon DMV fees also go up in January, including
Commercial Driver License fees and car registration and titling fees.

http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/motcarr/reg/9225new.pdf
http://www.odot.state.or.us/trucking/od/RUAF_98,001+_2004.pdf
http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/motcarr/reg/9903.pdf
http://www.ODOTbridgesEE.org
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Oregon truck registration
and credential renewal
goes online

Trucking Online has a new Internet-based transaction
service that lets an Oregon-based company go online to
renew registration for commercial-plated trucks. The
program also lets an out-of-state-based company renew
an Oregon Weight Receipt and Tax Identifier.

The new service comes too late for most
companies that had to renew registration

or credentials for trucks that will
operate in Oregon next year.

The annual renewal process
started in September and

two-thirds of all
companies have
already completed
their paperwork the

conventional way. But the
program can help many
of the others who wait
until the last minute to
renew. And next year
a large number are

expected to do it all online from their home or office
computer. According to Laurie Hall, Registration
Services Manager for the Motor Carrier Transportation
Division (MCTD), this revolutionizes the annual renewal
process. “Companies will be glad to have an alternative
to all that paperwork,” she said.

MCTD opened for business on the Internet in January
2003 and about 1,100 trucking companies now go online
for everything from obtaining a trip permit and
temporary pass to changing an address. In 2003, the
companies will use Trucking Online to complete well
over 25,000 transactions. About one of every five Weight
Receipts is now issued online. The system allows for
payment by Visa or MasterCard, or by charging to a
company account.

Companies interested in using Trucking Online need
a password (PIN) to access their accounts. The PIN
Request Form is online at the Trucking Online Web site:
www.odot.state.or.us/trucking/online

Oregon Services Now Available Online

● Renew Commercial Plates and Tax Credentials
● Obtain an Oregon Weight Receipt and Tax

Identifier, Amend or Cancel a Receipt
● Obtain a Heavy Vehicle Trip Permit
● Obtain a Temporary Pass (established carriers only)
● Vehicle Look-Up
● Insurance Look-Up
● Highway-Use Tax Report Look-Up
● Surety Bond Look-Up

Q&A — Credentials grace period
Is there a grace period for out-of-state carriers who still
don’t have a new Oregon Weight Receipt and Tax
Identifier? Yes, a grace period is available to the carriers,
but only if they submitted renewal forms with payment
by December 31, 2003. They have until March 15, 2004,
to put a new Weight Receipt and Tax Identifier in each
truck if they carry the 2003 receipt in each truck.

What’s the deadline for Oregon-based carriers
to renew their Commercial and Apportioned license
plates?  Oregon carriers need to submit payment by
December 31, 2003. The Motor Carrier Transportation
Division started renewing credentials in September 2003
and most carriers have already completed the process
and received new 2004 stickers for their plates.

Word to the wise:  Avoid the last minute crunch!

Is there an enforcement grace period for Oregon-based
carriers who are late renewing Commercial and
Apportioned plates? No. Beginning January 1, 2004,
any Oregon carrier who hasn’t submitted forms with
payment and continues to operate in Oregon is subject
to a $421 citation and possible civil complaint action.

Is there a grace period for carriers who completed
forms and sent payment, but still haven’t received 2004
stickers for their plates? Yes, a sticker display grace
period is available to carriers who submit renewal forms
with payment by December 31, 2003. They have until
March 15, 2004, to put the new 2004 stickers on their
Commercial and Apportioned plates if they carry the
2003 Weight Receipt in each truck.

Is there a grace period for Oregon carriers who
participate in the International Fuel Tax Agreement
(IFTA)? Yes, carriers renewing their participation in IFTA
have until March 1 to display the 2004 license and decal.

What does an IFTA carrier need to travel through states
and provinces in the first two months of 2004? Carriers
who haven’t yet received their 2004 IFTA license and
IFTA decals can travel through other states and provinces
in the first two months of 2004 if they have either a valid
2003 IFTA license and decals or a valid trip permit issued
by the jurisdiction in which they’re operating.

Note to Oregon IFTA carriers:  Carriers who are not
renewing their Oregon IFTA license for 2004 must
cancel their license in writing by December 31, 2003.
Otherwise, they must file a 1st Quarter 2004 IFTA Tax
Return to show there were no operations during the
grace period. To cancel the license, check the
appropriate box on the IFTA renewal form, enter the
effective date, and return the form by mail or fax.

http://www.odot.state.or.us/trucking/online
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Security agency delays implemention of CDL Hazmat rules
The U.S. Transportation Security Administration (TSA)

has postponed implementation of new rules requiring that
truck drivers be fingerprinted and obtain a security clearance
before a Commercial Driver License that includes a
hazardous materials endorsement is issued, renewed,
upgraded, or transferred. State DMVs are now expected to
implement the new rules by April 1, 2004.

If a state will not be ready to collect fingerprints and
process applications for criminal history background checks
of these drivers, it may request an extension to further delay
implementation until December 2004. The Oregon DMV has
not yet determined if it will be one of the states requesting
such an extension.

Approximately 3.5 million commercial drivers currently
have a hazardous material (Hazmat) endorsement, including
about 24,000 in Oregon. The drivers are all subject to a TSA
check of criminal, immigration, and FBI records to see if
anyone poses a security threat. States have been directed to
cancel or revoke the Hazmat endorsement of
drivers who fail this background check.

In an amendment to its interim final rule
issued November 7, 2003, the TSA
emphasized that it is not changing the
requirement that CDL holders with a
Hazmat endorsement must surrender that
endorsement if they cannot pass the
background check. In Oregon, drivers can
surrender the endorsement at any DMV
field office.

The background check seeks to confirm
that a driver has not been convicted or
found not guilty by reason of insanity of
certain felonies, such as murder, arson, and
robbery, in the past seven years, was not
incarcerated for such crimes in the past five
years, is not wanted or under indictment for
such crimes, or has not been found to be
mentally defective (as defined by the
Transportation Security Administration).
Also, although a Hazmat endorsement can
only be issued to a U.S. citizen or lawful
permanent resident, and federal rules
require drivers to submit proof of status
when applying for the endorsement, the
background check will verify driver status.

Drivers failing a background check will
not be able to obtain, retain, transfer, or
renew a CDL Hazmat endorsement.
However, the Transportation Security
Administration may grant a waiver, when
requested and when circumstances
associated with the crime lead it to believe
the driver does not pose a security threat
that warrants denial of the endorsement.

Although an Oregon CDL may be valid
for up to eight years, in the future drivers

with Hazmat endorsements will be required to submit
fingerprints and undergo a background check every four
years. Oregon’s DMV plans to notify drivers 54 months
before the CDL expiration date, and again six months before
expiration, that a background check must be completed
within six months. If the security clearance is not received
within six months of the notice, all CDL driving privileges
will be canceled. The driver can avoid cancellation of all
CDL privileges if he or she appears at a DMV Field Office
and voluntarily surrenders the Hazmat endorsement before
the cancellation date.

The Hazmat endorsement rules arise from the USA
PATRIOT Act (Uniting and Strengthening America by
Providing Appropriate Tools Required to Intercept and
Obstruct Terrorism Act) enacted by Congress in October
2001. Drivers with questions should contact the
Transportation Security Administration at 571-227-2829
or Oregon DMV Customer Service at 503-945-5400.

Hours-of-Service Rules for Drivers
in Interstate Commerce

When in interstate commerce and transporting property, COMMERCIAL
VEHICLE DRIVERS MAY NOT:

✓ Exceed 11 hours driving after 10 consecutive hours off duty.
✓ Drive beyond the 14th hour after coming on duty following

10 consecutive hours off duty.
✓ Drive following 60 hours on duty in any 7 consecutive days.*
✓ Drive following 70 hours on duty in any 8 consecutive days.*

* The period may be restarted after a driver takes 34 or more consecutive hours off-duty.

Drivers may extend the 14-hour on-duty period by 2 additional hours IF THEY:
Are released from duty at the normal work reporting location for the previous 5 duty tours, AND
Return to the normal work reporting location and are released from duty within 16 hours, AND
Have not used this exception in the previous 6 days, except following a 34-hour restart
of a 7 or 8 consecutive day period. Rules effective January 4, 2004

Oregon Hours-of-Service
Rules for Intrastate Drivers

When in intrastate commerce and transporting passengers or
property, other than hazardous materials, DRIVERS MAY NOT:
✓ Exceed 12 hours driving after 8 consecutive hours off duty.
✓ Drive beyond the 16th hour after coming on duty following

8 consecutive hours off duty.
✓ Drive following 70 hours on duty in any 7 consecutive days.*
✓ Drive following 80 hours on duty in any 8 consecutive days.*

*Exception for carriers conducting intrastate transportation of property
other than hazardous materials: Any period of 7 or 8 consecutive days
may end with the beginning of any off duty period of 34 or more
consecutive hours.

Rules effective January 4, 2004
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Restriction Legend

D/N -
Restricted to Divisible &
Non-Divisible Load Limits

Divisible Loads
Single Axle 20,000 lbs.
Tandem Axle   34,000 lbs.
Maximum Wgt. 105,500 lbs.

Non-Divisible Heavy Haul
Single Axle   21,500 lbs.
Tandem Axle   43,000 lbs.
Maximum Wgt.   98,000 lbs.

D -
Restricted to Divisible Load
Limits (no heavy haul)

Divisible Loads
Single Axle   20,000 lbs.
Tandem Axle   34,000 lbs.
Maximum Wgt. 105,500 lbs.

SR = Special Restrictions

SR1 -
Single Axle   20,000 lbs.
Tandem Axle   34,000 lbs.
Maximum Wgt.   80,000 lbs.

SR2 -
No truck combinations,
Maximum Wgt.   50,000 lbs.

SR3 -
Single Axle   20,000 lbs.
Tandem Axle   40,000 lbs.
Gross Wgt. - Weight Table 3

SR4 -
Single Axle   11,000 lbs.
Tandem Axle   18,000 lbs.

SR5 -
21 Tons Type 3
32 Tons Type 3S2
35 Tons Type 3-3

SR6 -
Single Axle   20,000 lbs.
Tandem Axle   34,000 lbs.
Maximum Wgt.   80,000 lbs.
One-Way Trucks Only

SR7 - 30 Tons Gross Wgt.

SR8 -
Divisible / Non-Divisible Loads
under Annual Permits, Single
Trip Permits up to Weight
Table 4 Limits

SR9 - 5 Tons Gross Wgt.

SR10 -
Single Axle   18,000 lbs.
Tandem Axle   30,000 lbs.

SR11 - Single Trip Permits above
Continuous Trip Permits allowed,
center of bridge, permit vehicle
only, certified flaggers, rolling stops.

Weight-Restricted Oregon Bridges
on Lesser Routes
Page 1 of 2. See also Bridge Restrictions on Major Routes.  Weight restrictions
shown here do not supersede restrictions posted on signs at each bridge location.

  Highway Restriction Bridge & Location

 NORTHERN OREGON COAST

US 101 Business D Lewis & Clark River, 2.5 miles SE of Astoria, MP4.78
US 26 D/N Volmer Creek, 2 miles SE of Cannon Beach Junction, MP2.24
US 26 D/N Johnson Creek. 3 miles SE of Cannon Beach Junction, MP3.26
OR 53 SR3 North Fork Necanicun River, 0.11 miles S of US 26, MP0.11
OR 53 SR3 Jack Horner Creek, 5.98 miles S of US 26, MP5.98

 CENTRAL COAST

Little Nestucca Hwy #130 D Panther Creek, Kellow Creek, 3.23 miles E of US101, MP3.23
Little Nestucca Hwy #130 D Squaw Creek, 3.60 miles E of US101, MP3.60
Little Nestucca Hwy #130 D Austin Creek, 3.82 miles E of US101, MP3.82
Little Nestucca Hwy #130 D Little Nestucca River, 4.15 miles E of US101, MP4.15
Little Nestucca Hwy #130 D Bear Creek, 4.76 miles E of US101, MP4.76
US395 Right of Way SR4 Canyon Creek, Canyon City, Hwy 48, MP4.30
US395 Right of Way SR5 Canyon Creek, Canyon City, Hwy 48, MP4.81
OR 22 D/N Louie Creek, S of Hebo, MP10.49
OR 22 D/N Louie Creek, S of Hebo at Dolph, MP10.66
US 20 D/N Hayes Creek, E of Newport, MP21.01
US 101, Otter Crest Loop Rd SR1 Rocky Creek, Ben Jones Bridge, 1.5 miles S of Depoe Bay, MP130
OR 34 D/N Maltby Creek, 5 miles W of Alsea, MP35.61
OR 36 SR8 Steinhauer Creek, 1.48 miles E of Greenleaf, MP19.69

 WILLAMETTE VALLEY

Bellevue-Hopewell Hwy D/N Salt Creek (Ash Swale), Hwy 153 near Amity, MP5.88
Corvallis-Lebanon Hwy #210 SR1 Willamette River, Van Buren Street, Corvallis, MP0.13

 SOUTHERN OREGON

Old OR99W SR6 N Umpqua River (Old Winchester), Roseburg, Hwy 234,
MP12.21

Midland Hwy #420 D/N Lost River Diversion Channel, 5 miles S of K-Falls, MP3.66

 COLUMBIA RIVER GORGE

Historic Columbia River Hwy SR7 Sandy River, Troutdale, MP0.03
Historic Columbia River Hwy D Youngs Creek, Hwy 100 (Shepperds Dell), MP13.14
Historic Columbia River Hwy D Horsetail Creek, Hwy 100, MP20.39
OR/WA Border SR1 Bridge of the Gods, Columbia River, Hwy 100, MP30.42
OR/WA Border SR1 White Salmon Bridge, Columbia River, Hwy 2, MP64.62

 CENTRAL OREGON

OR 242 SR3 Creek, 25 miles W of Sisters, MP66.70
OR 242 SR3 Creek, 21 miles W of Sisters, MP68.36
OR 27 SR8 Three Irrigation Canal Bridges, S of Prineville, MP1.90, 2.88, 4.59
OR 27 D Bear Creek, 27 miles S of Prineville, MP27.23
OR 19 SR11 John Day River Bridge, near Goose Rock, 5 miles N of US26
OR 7 D/N Powder River Bridges, Rancheria and Salisbury, MP41.19, 42.31
Antelope Highway #293 SR8 Antelope Creek, 12 miles SW of Antelope, MP0.99
Antelope Highway #293 SR8 Indian Creek, 4 miles SW of Antelope, MP8.86
 NORTHEASTERN OREGON

Umatilla Mission Hwy #331 D Umatilla River Bridge, near Mission, 2.02 miles S of OR11
US395 SR11 McKay Creek Bridge, 2.5 miles S of Pendleton
I-84 Frontage SR9 Hamilton Creek, Grande Ronde R & UPRR, Hwy 6, (Perry Arch)
I-84 Overcrossing D/N Upper Perry Interchange, connector over Hwy 6
OR 207 D/N Hinkle Bridge, Umatilla River, MP11.86
OR82 SR11 Indian Creek, Grande Ronde R & UPRR, 2 miles S of OR204
Freewater Hwy #339 SR8 West Crockett, S of OR/WA border, MP2.76
Freewater Hwy #339 SR8 E & W Fork, Little Walla Walla, WA border, MP3.16, MP3.31

 EASTERN OREGON

OR 86, Powder River Hwy D/N Love Bridge, MP20.76
OR 86, Hole in the Wall Rd SR10 Maiden Gulch, 10.56 miles W of Richland OR, MP30.80
Old US 30 SR1 Lime Bridge and UPRR & Burnt River Bridge, MP0.46, 2.75
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Weight-Restricted Bridges
on Major Routes in Oregon
As of December 1, 2003, bridge inspectors had set
weight restrictions on 41 bridges on major Oregon
routes. There are also many restricted bridges on
lesser routes throughout the state. Questions?
Contact the Motor Carrier Transportation Division
at 503-373-0000.

Highway Restriction Bridge & Location

  1. OR99E SB SR2 Martin Luther King Jr. Viaduct, Portland

  2. OR206 D Deschutes River Bridge, MP 2.92
  3. US97 D Sam Hill Bridge, Biggs Junction, over the Columbia River

  4. I-84 EB D/N Umatilla River, MP188.43, near Umatilla
  5-6. I-84 EB / WB D/N Grande Ronde River, MP258.89, west of La Grande
  7. OR11 D/N Weston Interchange, MP20.31, over OR204 and Blue Mtn. RR

  8. US20 / US26 D/N Snake River, MP266.82, Nyssa
  9. US20 D N. Fork Malheur River, MP190.84
10. US20 D Gwynn Crossing Bridge, MP195.13
11. US20 D Sperry Bridge, MP205.58

12. US26 D/N Bridge Creek, MP62.54
13-14. US26 D/N Two Bridge Creek Bridges, MP65.63 and MP65.85
15. Off US26 D/N Bridge Creek, R/W Route, Mitchell Access

16. US97 D/N Klamath Falls bridge over Green Springs Drive, MP275.74
17. US199 D/N Applegate River, MP7, southwest of Grants Pass

18-19. I-5 Overpasses SR1 Riddle Road, MP103.95, Chadwick Lane, MP104.85
20. I-5 NB D/N Booth Ranch, MP112.57, between Myrtle Creek and Roseburg
21. OR42 D/N I-5 Overpass, MP119.51, four miles south of Roseburg
22. I-5 NB D/N Shady Bridge, MP120.57, between Myrtle Creek and Roseburg
23. I-5 NB D/N Umpqua River, MP128.92, Roseburg

24. Coos River Hwy. SR1 Isthmus Slough Bridge, Coos Bay, MP0.51, 1/2 mile off US101
25. US 101 D/N Siuslaw River, MP190.98, Florence
26. US 101 D/N Spencer Creek, MP133.86, ten miles south of Depoe Bay

27. I-5 SB D/N Coast Fork Willamette River, MP179.99, north of Cottage Grove
28. I-5 SB D/N Row River, MP175.40, north of Cottage Grove
29. OR126 Bus. WB D/N Willamette River, MP1.34, one mile east of I-5 in Springfield
30. I-5 D Willamette River, MP192.75, at Eugene-Springfield Exits
31-32. I-5 NB and SB D McKenzie River, MP197.38, two bridges north of Eugene

33. Off OR22 D First Avenue Bridge in Mill City, over Santiam River
34. OR22 D/N Deer Park Rd. Crossing, MP4.03, east of Salem
35. OR22 D/N Whitewater Creek, MP60.80, east of Salem
36. OR22 D/N Pamelia Creek, MP62.78, east of Salem
37. OR22 D/N Marion Creek, MP66.42, east of Salem
38. OR22 D/N North Santiam River, MP75.65, east of Salem

39. OR18 D/N Yamhill River, MP51.57, near Dayton
40. OR219 D/N Willamette River, MP23.46, south of Newberg
41. OR99W S D Tualatin River Bridge, MP12.18, Tualatin

Restriction Legend

D/N = Restricted to Divisible and
Non-Divisible Load Limits

Divisible Loads
Single Axle  20,000 lbs.
Tandem Axle 34,000 lbs.
Maximum Wt. 105,500 lbs.

Non-Divisible
(Heavy Haul) Loads

Single Axle 21,500 lbs.
Tandem Axle 43,000 lbs.
Maximum Wt. 98,000 lbs.

D = Restricted to
Divisible Load Limits
(no heavy haul loads)

Divisible Loads
Single Axle 20,000 lbs.
Tandem Axle 34,000 lbs.
Maximum Wt. 105,500 lbs.

SR1 = Special Restriction -
Single Axle - 20,000 lbs.
Tandem Axle - 34,000 lbs.
Max. Wgt. - 80,000 lbs.

SR2 = Special Restriction -
No truck combinations,
Max. Wgt. - 50,000 lbs.

Weight restrictions shown here do not
supersede restrictions posted on signs at
each bridge location. All bridges listed
here are being closely watched by bridge
inspectors. Restrictions may change on a
daily basis, and other bridges may become
similarly restricted, as conditions warrant.

*SPECIAL NOTE: The Lewis & Clark Bridge
in Washington, off US30, is restricted to
19,500 pounds per axle, with no limit on
gross vehicle weight.

*
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Oregon Commission
to consider increasing
interstate speed limits

The Oregon Department of Trans-
portation (ODOT) has started a
process for studying and determining
whether to increase interstate speed
limits to 70 mph for cars and 65 mph
for trucks and buses. Legislation
passed late in the 2003 Session
(House Bill 2661) gave ODOT the
authority to conduct engineering and
traffic investigations, take public
comments, and then let the Oregon
Transportation Commission decide if
speed limits should be increased.

At its December 11 meeting, the
Oregon Transportation Commission
will consider whether to endorse a
plan to conduct two rulemakings and
reach a final decision by August 2004.

The first rulemaking would estab-
lish procedures to follow and evalua-
tion criteria to consider for increasing
speeds. From mid-January until
March 11, the public would be
invited to submit comments to the
Speed Zone Review Panel, a five-
member panel formed in 1994 to
conduct hearings and rule on the
state’s contested speed zone cases.
Public comments would also be taken
by a law judge presiding at a March
public hearing.

In this period, ODOT staff would
examine all segments of the interstate
system to gather data regarding speed,
accidents, and vehicle mix. Among
other things, it would note the
location of safety corridors and
problem bridges, the road geometry
and pavement condition, and the
availability of law enforcement
resources.

A second rulemaking would then
get underway in mid-May to start the
process of actually proposing to
change speed limits. The Speed Zone
Review Panel would again receive
public comments and then make
recommendations to the Commission,
which could act to adopt any speed

limit changes at an August 19 meet-
ing. According to the plan, the
Commission could take action on all
segments of the entire interstate
system, rather than segment by
segment. Under the enabling legisla-
tion, the Commission can treat urban
and rural areas the same when it
comes to setting speed limits. Specifi-
cally, it can decide if it’s necessary to
set interstate speed limits at 55 mph
in the urban areas of Portland, Salem,
Eugene, and Medford.

The National Highway System
Designation Act of 1995 repealed the
federal maximum speed limit and
allowed states to set their own limits.
Oregon was the only western state,
other than Hawaii and Alaska, to keep
its 65 mph speed limit on rural
interstates.

●   ●   ●   ●

Accident reporting
requirements change

Oregon accident reporting require-
ments are changing on January 1,
2004, as a result of legislation passed
in the 2003 Session (House Bill 2933).
Now a driver must file an Oregon
Traffic Accident and Insurance
Report with the Driver and Motor
Vehicle Services Division (DMV)
when there is a death or injury, more
than $1,500 damage to the driver’s
vehicle, more than $1,500 damage to
any person’s property (non-vehicle),
or any vehicle involved in the acci-
dent is towed from the scene as a
result of damages, regardless of cost.

The change has no effect on an
Oregon accident reporting require-
ment for trucks. Motor carriers must
continue to also file an accident
report with the Oregon Department of
Transportation Crash Analysis and
Reporting Unit when they’re involved
in a federal-recordable accident —
one involving a death, injury, or
disabling damage requiring a vehicle
be towed away.

Drivers with questions about the
new accident reporting requirements
should contact DMV at 503-945-5098.

●   ●   ●   ●

Rule sets safety
inspector certification

requirements

The Motor Carrier Transportation
Division is completing a rulemaking
requested by the Oregon Forest
Products Transportation Association
that seeks to make all Oregon safety
inspectors subject to the same
requirements for getting certified and
retaining certification. Under the
rules, inspectors must annually
perform a minimum number of
acceptable inspections. Certification
may be revoked if an inspector fails
to maintain vehicle or driver out-of-
service rates reasonably consistent
with Oregon averages, or fails to
follow the state’s Safety Plan.

In inspections conducted in
Oregon in the first ten months of this
year, 19.1% of vehicles and 8.3% of
drivers were placed out-of-service for
a critical safety violation. The
current national rate for vehicles and
drivers placed out-of-service is
22.9% and 7.21%, respectively.

●   ●   ●   ●

Oregon chain law has
no start or stop date

In Oregon, chains or traction
tires are required whenever winter
conditions exist and signs are posted
advising drivers to carry or use them.
State law mentions no dates for
when chain and traction tire require-
ments start and end. That’s because
no one knows for sure when winter
conditions will start and end for the
varied climates throughout the state.
The chain laws are posted on the
Internet under Winter Travel Info
at ODOT’s TripCheck Web site:
www.tripcheck.com

News in brief

http://www.TripCheck.com
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Enforcement
3rd Quarter 2003
During the third quarter, July
through September 2003, the Motor
Carrier Transportation Division
finalized 186 civil enforcement
actions. The number following
each name indicates violations
confirmed in the process.

• Denotes failure to produce
safety-related records.

** Denotes second complaint
within five years.

*** Denotes third complaint
within one year of second.

Safety Violations

A total of 91 enforcement actions
established violations related to
failure to produce safety-related
records or violations discovered
during safety compliance reviews at
carriers’ terminals.

American Excavation  6
J L Arndt Construction  15
Avila Farms
     Trucking LLC  15***
Jennifer D Beatty  1
Blue & White Trucking
     (Clackamas OR)  24
Brittania Enterprises, Inc.  4
Builder Supply Co.  10
Calkins Transport Co.
     (Salem OR)  10
Carter & Company, Inc.  9
Castner Trucking, Inc.  9
Clackamas Enterprises, Inc.  21
Coffer Excavation  5
Connie’s, Inc.  8**
Covey Run Trucking LLC  13
Crystal Ship  1**
Crystal Springs Water Co.  3
D & M Grading, Inc.  5
Desert Rose Charter Bus Co.  3
Elder Demolition, Inc.  16**

Future Con LLC  21
Vern Garrett  21***
Gilbertson Transport
     (Portland OR)  10**
Gordon Trucking, Inc.
     (Pacific WA)  10
William Guenther  4
Hal’s Construction, Inc.  20
Chad Michael Hansen  10
J M Harder Plumbing &
     Heating  13
Leslie Leonard Harris Jr.  7
L S Henricksen  6
Hilton Trucking &
     Supply Co.  5**
Hopkins Trucking, Inc.  15**
Horecny Logging Co.  3
John Howard Trucking  34**
Hunter Excavations  13
Huwa Trucking, Inc.  21
J C Landclearing, Inc.  6
Janz Berryland  90***
Jefferson State
     Rock Products, Inc.  8***
Chet Jobe  23
Morgan Jones  5
K L M Excavating, Inc.  10
Keta Log LLC  5
C L Large, Inc.  12**
Madden Siding Co.  6**
Maller Brothers
     Trucking, Inc.  21**
J G Martinez Trucking  9**
William Mayfield  6
McDaniel Oil
     Distributors, Inc.  21
M E R Trucking  29
Milestone Trucking, Inc.  3
Chester L Mills Jr.  1
Richard D Mintun  2
M E Moore Construction  8
Moore Underground, Inc.  16
Jason Moore  10
Ray Mott Trucking  10
Bob Mullins Trucking  10
Newton Trucking  5
Northwest Total Transport  11
Jack Nutting  19
ODS Transport  3
Owens Freight Lines, Inc.  2
Pacific Freight Express, Inc.  5
Gary L Peterson
     Excavating Contractor  13
Scott Peterson
     Excavating, Inc.  10
Plumley Contracting Co., Inc.  11
Professional Pavers &
     Construction Co.  6**
Jerry Dewayne Rajnus  10
Rock N Ready Mix, Inc.  7**
S J Rose Trucking  10
Rose Trucking
     (Central Point OR)  16
S C Paving Co.  12
R L Schaefer Builder, Inc.  13
H J Shaffer  29
Richard A Sippes  1
Site Works, Inc.  7

Theodore A Skuzeski  1
Thomas N Snair  5
Southwinds  17***
Stan Pedersen
     Trucking, Inc.  14**
Stayton Construction  6
Robert B Steinmentz  1
Swan Excavation  2
David A Swartz  22***
T & T Truckers, Inc.  10
Russell D Thompson  1
Transtech Carriers  5**
Treasured Auto  8
Mel Woods & Son Trucking  11
Wurdinger Recycling, Inc.  22***
O L Yawn Trucking  2

Other Violations

A total of 19 enforcement actions
established violations related to
operating without valid registra-
tion credentials, operating in
excess of size and/or weight limits,
or operating in violation of farm
registration laws and rules.

• Denotes cancellation of farm
registration

Atlas Van Lines, Inc.  7
Dale Bouma Trucking  2
Covenant Transport, Inc.  2***
Cox Motor Express, Inc.  1
Evergreen Utility
     Contractors, Inc.  5**
Express Way S T S  3
Gainey Transportation Services  1
Griffith Ranches  1•
J L N Trucking, Inc.  7
Del R Krall  2
Kropf CHS LLC  2
Landstar Ranger, Inc.  4**
Marten Transport LTD  1
Maverick Transportation, Inc.  1
Navajo Express, Inc.  2**
Dick Nelson LLC  1
Chris White Stair  1•
Valley View Farms, Inc.  1•
Werner Enterprises, Inc.  5***
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Other Enforcement

Following is a summary of
enforcement by Motor
Carrier Enforcement
Officers at weigh stations
in the 3rd Quarter 2003:

Trucks Weighed
on Static Scales

581,606

Trucks Precleared to
Pass Green Light Weigh

Stations
278,056

Warnings Issued
6,267

Weight-Related Citations
4,264

Size-Related Citations
552

Trucks Required to
“Legalize” (Correct)
Size and/or Weight

1,491

Other Citations Issued
1,587

Citations for Operating
Without Oregon Weight
Receipt & Tax Identifier

2,028

Totals do not include
enforcement by Oregon
State Police or city and
county officers.

Other Safety Violations

A total of 65 cease and desist orders and 11 penalty orders
established a company’s failure to return a Driver or Equipment
Compliance Check Form after an inspection. Following every
safety inspection performed by state transportation officials or law
enforcement officers, the driver receives a copy of the inspection
form. If the inspection found violations, the motor carrier involved
is required to sign and return that form to the state where the
inspection occurred and confirm that the violations were ad-
dressed (Federal Safety Regulations, Part 396.9). When the
inspection occurs in Oregon, the inspection form given to the
driver must be signed by a company official and returned to the
Oregon Department of Transportation within 15 days. The
company must certify that any vehicle-related problems were
repaired and/or driver-related problems were addressed through
action that ensures future compliance with regulations.
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In this December 2003 issue:
Oregon truck taxes and fees increase in January.................... 1
Weight-mile taxes, flat fees, registration fees, road use assessment
fees, and the Weight Receipt credential fee all go up beginning
January 1, 2004.

Trucking Online adds capabilities ............................................ 2
Companies can now go online to conduct more truck-related business
with Oregon from their home or office computer.

Q&A about truck credentials grace periods ..........................    2
Late renewing Oregon truck registration or tax credentials?
Read this Q&A.

CDL Hazmat rules implementation delayed ............................. 3
State DMVs have more time to implement new rules affecting truck
drivers with CDLs with a hazardous materials endorsement.

Oregon weight-restricted bridges......................................... 4-5
Inspectors have currently set weight restrictions on 41 bridges on major
routes in Oregon. There are 51 other restricted bridges on lesser routes.

News in brief.........................................................................  6
The Oregon Transportation Commission will decide whether or not to
increase interstate speed limits, Oregon accident reporting requirements
are changing, new safety inspector certification requirements are being
set in rules, and Oregon’s chain law has no start or stop date.
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