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The purpose of this manual is to provide the reader with general 

references and to familiarize drivers and companies with the 

applicable Federal and State laws and regulations pertaining to 

the motor carrier industry. 

 

The contents of this manual are NOT intended to serve as a 

precise statement of the Oregon Revised Statutes, Oregon 

Administrative Rules, or the Federal Motor Carrier Safety 

Regulations.  The proper legal reference should be consulted for 

exact requirements of law. 

 

This manual is for you, the Motor Carrier and Professional Truck 

Driver.  It is important for you to keep up to date on State and 

Federal laws affecting your safety.  In addition, you need to be 

familiar with the safety of commercial motor vehicles, the size and 

weight of loads that may be carried, and the permits required to 

operate on our state highways. 
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THE MISSION OF THE 

MOTOR CARRIER TRANSPORTATION 

DIVISION… 

 

 

is to promote a safe, efficient and responsible 

commercial transportation industry by simplifying 

compliance, reducing regulatory requirements, wherever 

appropriate, preserving the infrastructure, enhancing 

the private/public partnership, fostering effective two-

way communication and delivering superior customer 

service, while recognizing the vital economic interests 

of the commercial transportation industry. 
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MOTOR CARRIER TRANSPORTATION DIVISION – Telephone Numbers  
 

ODOT/MCTD office hours (except the 24-hour Service Center) are Monday through Friday,  
8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Pacific Time.  

Registration Salem 
Services  Additional Report Forms ....................................... (503) 378-5849 

Collection Inquiries ............................................... (800) 535-8018  
Oregon IFTA ......................................................... (503) 373-1634  
Insurance .............................................................. (503) 378-6699  
Intrastate Authority ................................................ (503) 378-6691  
Mileage Accounts ................................................. (503) 378-6699  
Over Dimensional Permits .................................... (503) 373-0000  
OR DOT Plates, Temp. Passes, & Trip Permits ... (503) 378-6699  
Oregon IRP ........................................................... (503) 378-6699  
Reinstatement of Authority .................................... (503) 378-6699  
Service Center (24-hour, 7-days) ....................... (503) 378-6699  
Surety Bonds ........................................................ (503) 378-6699  
Drug Consortium/3rd Party Questions .................. (503) 378-6166  
Tax Reports .......................................................... (503) 378-6699  

Field Registration Services  
Ashland Port of Entry ............................................ (541) 776-6117 
Farewell Bend Port of Entry .................................. (541) 869-2293  
Portland Bridge Permit Office ............................... (971) 673-5900  
Umatilla Port of Entry ............................................ (541) 922-3761  
 

Motor Carrier Audit Inquiry .......................................................... (503) 378-6658  
Audit Audit Reassessments ........................................... (503) 378-6656  

Audit Field Offices 
Springfield ............................................................. (541) 736-2300  
Pendleton .............................................................. (541) 276-7823  
Portland ................................................................. (971) 673-1511  
Salem .................................................................... (503) 378-6007  
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MOTOR CARRIER TRANSPORTATION DIVISION – Telephone Numbers  
 

Motor Carrier Field Manager, HazMat, Research & Analysis ..... (503) 378-5983 
Safety  

Safety Field Offices 
Bend ...................................................................... (541) 388-6171  
Springfield ............................................................. (541) 736-2303/02/01  
La Grande ............................................................. (541) 963-1389  
Medford ................................................................. (541) 776-6221  
Portland ................................................................ (971) 673-5885  
Salem .................................................................... (503) 378-6168 
Umatilla ................................................................. (541) 922-2534  

Motor Carrier Ashland Port of Entry ............................................ (541) 776-6004 
Enforcement  Bend ...................................................................... (541) 388-6217 
 Offices Burns .................................................................... (541) 573-2261  

 Cascade Locks Port of Entry ................................ (541) 374-8980  
 Springfield ............................................................ (541) 736-2314 
 Farewell Bend Port of Entry .................................. (541) 869-2474  

Klamath Falls Port of Entry ................................... (541) 883-5701  
La Grande ............................................................. (541) 963-3170 
Portland ................................................................ (503) 731-3238 
Roseburg .............................................................. (541) 957-3605 
Umatilla Port of Entry ........................................... (541) 922-5183 
Woodburn Port of Entry ........................................ (503) 982-0804 

Additional telephone numbers may be obtained by visiting our website at:  

http://egov.oregon.gov/ODOT/MCT/  
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MOTOR CARRIER TRANSPORTATION DIVISION – Fax Numbers  
 

 
Registration  Salem 

Services Bond/Insurance Tax Help ..................................... (503) 378-3736  
 Collections ............................................................ (503) 378-3060  
 Oregon IFTA ......................................................... (503) 378-8815  
 Insurance .............................................................. (503) 378-3736  

 Over Dimensional Permits .................................... (503) 378-2873 or  
............................................................................... (503) 378-2876  

 Oregon IRP ........................................................... (503) 378-5765  
 Tax Permits and Registration ................................ (503) 378-6880  

Field Registration Services  
Ashland Port of Entry ............................................ (541) 776-6018  
Farewell Bend Port of Entry .................................. (541) 869-2021  
Portland Bridge Permit Office ............................... (971) 673-5893  
Umatilla Port of Entry ............................................ (541) 922-2979  
 

Motor Carrier Audit Reassessments or Waiver Requests .......... (503) 373-1940  
Audit 

  Audit Field Offices 

Springfield ............................................................. (541) 736-2319  
Pendleton .............................................................. (541) 276-0634  
Portland ................................................................ (971) 673-1525  
Salem .................................................................... (503) 378-3012  
 

 Motor Carrier Salem Office ......................................................... (503) 378-3567  
 Safety 
  Safety Field Offices 

Bend ..................................................................... (541) 388-6320  
Springfield ............................................................. (541) 736-2319  
La Grande ............................................................ (541) 962-7674  
Medford ................................................................ (541) 776-6064  
Portland ................................................................ (971) 673-5890  
Umatilla ................................................................ (541) 922-2705  
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OREGON DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
 
 

MOTOR CARRIER EDUCATION MANUAL 
 
 
 

 
 

Trucking companies must have knowledge in all areas of 
regulations in order to fulfill their regulatory requirements.  
This material provides concise and relevant information to your 
business and is provided to you by the Oregon Department of 
Transportation, Motor Carrier Transportation Division.   
 
This section describes Trucking Online. 
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OREGON TRUCKING ONLINE   
www.oregontruckingonline.com 
 
 
What can all motor carriers do online? 
 

 File weight-mile tax reports and pay taxes  
 Verify that weight mile tax reports are filed 
 Obtain temporary passes/trip permits  
 Look up temporary pass/trip permits 
 Pay statements of account 
 Report and pay road use assessment fees 
 Look up over-dimension permits 
 Analyze weights of certain combinations to see what’s allowable 
 Save calculations and analysis of weights of combinations 
 Verify insurance status 
 Verify bond status  
 Verify account status 
 Check renewal status 
 Get weigh station scale crossing reports 
 View driver/vehicle inspection reports  
 Look up a vehicle 
 Change mailing/location address 
 Authorize rental agencies to issue temporary passes for trucks the carrier rents or leases 
 Apply for transponders for Green Light weigh station preclearance 
 View a list of size and weight restrictions on roads and bridges 
 File truck crash reports 

 
 
What can Oregon-based Apportioned (IRP) carriers do online? 
In addition to the above functions, Oregon Apportioned (IRP) carriers can: 
 

 Pay IRP supplements online 
 Add (including through fee transfer), cancel or amend an apportioned vehicle 
 Obtain replacement IRP credentials 
 Renew your IRP (apportioned) vehicles  
 Check renewal status 
 File IFTA tax returns  
 View IFTA return status/detail 
 Renew IFTA license 
 Obtain copy of IFTA license 
 Obtain replacement / additional IFTA decals 
 Verify IFTA account status 
 Inquire Mileage Schedule B, fleet and weight group 
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What can Oregon-based Commercial carriers do online? 
In addition to the above functions, Oregon commercial carriers can: 
 

 Add, cancel or amend a commercial vehicle 
 Add quarterly registration to vehicles  
 Renew Commercial vehicles  
 Check renewal status 

 
 
What can carriers based outside Oregon do online? 
In addition to the above functions, carriers based outside Oregon can: 
 

 Issue an Oregon Weight Receipt and Tax Identifier 
 Amend or cancel an Oregon Weight Receipt and Tax Identifier 
 Obtain replacement credentials 
 Renew an Oregon Weight Receipt and Tax Identifier  
 Check renewal status 

 
 
What can rental agencies do online? 
 

 Issue temporary passes when motor carriers rent or lease heavy trucks 
 Settle temporary passes for billing motor carriers 

 
 
New functions are added regularly to the Trucking Online program. Go to the Trucking Online 
Web site to obtain a PIN and start enjoying the 24 hour a day, 7 day a week convenience of 
doing business online. 
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OREGON DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
 
 

MOTOR CARRIER EDUCATION MANUAL 
 
 
 
 

 
 

Trucking companies must have knowledge in all areas of regulations in 
order to fulfill their regulatory requirements.  This material provides 
concise and relevant information to your business and is provided to you 
by the Oregon Department of Transportation, Motor Carrier 
Transportation Division.   
 

This section describes Weight-Mile Tax. 
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Who Must Pay 
Weight-Mile Tax 

The Oregon Department of Transportation (ODOT) requires motor 
carriers operating vehicles in commercial operations on public 
roads within Oregon, and with a gross weight over 26,000 pounds, 
to report and pay highway-use taxes.  ODOT requires that you file 
reports if you have Oregon DOT plates or Oregon Weight Receipt 
and Tax Identifiers, even if you do not owe tax.  ODOT may 
suspend your account if you fail to file the required reports.  If you 
will not be operating in Oregon, cancel your Oregon Weight 
Receipt and Tax Identifiers. 
 

Exemptions Oregon operations exempt from weight-mile tax include: 
government, charitable, private or off-road, and some farm 
operations.  However, exempt operations are very limited and may 
be subject to state fuels tax.  Call the Motor Carrier Transportation 
Division (MCTD) at (503) 378-6699 if you feel your vehicle is 
exempt from weight-mile tax. 
 

Oregon Weight 
Receipt and Tax 
Identifier (Receipt) 

The tax credential MCTD issues is the Weight Receipt  
and Tax Identifier, otherwise known as a “Receipt.”  This  
credential is required in addition to registration plates and over-
dimensional permits.  MCTD prints each vehicle’s tax declared 
weights on the receipt.  The receipt must be carried in the power 
unit.  You are responsible for all vehicles holding credentials under 
your account, including leased or rented vehicles.  You cannot 
allow someone else to use or assume liability of your account.  
There is an $8.00 charge for replacing a lost receipt.  All carriers 
need to send written notification to MCTD to discontinue the tax 
liability and cancel the receipt. 
 

Leased Equipment Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) 740-045-0100 through  
740-045-0170 identify the requirements of leased vehicles.  The 
motor carrier (lessee) assumes full responsibility for payment of all 
Oregon highway-use taxes, fees, and penalties arising from 
operation of a leased vehicle.  Vehicles operated under lease shall 
at all times be externally identified with the lessee’s name in the 
manner prescribed by Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations, 
Part 390.21.  Vehicles operated under lease shall be credentialed, 
either permanently or temporarily, under the lessee’s account.  A 
copy of the lease must be carried in the vehicle during operation 
under lease and must be maintained at the carrier’s principal place 
of business for a period of three years after the termination of the 
lease.  Only written notification to ODOT/MCTD to indicate 
termination of a lease relieves the motor carrier’s (lessee’s) 
highway-use tax responsibility. 

 
The lessee may enter into a fee pay agreement authorizing the owner 
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(lessor) to report and pay mileage fees for vehicles credentialed under the 
lessor’s account.  Such agreement must be submitted on ODOT Form 
735-9458, and approved in advance by MCTD.  Such agreement shall not 
relieve the lessee of its obligation for payment of mileage fees accruing 
during the term of the lease and prior to written notification of the 
termination of the lease. 
 

Agents and 
Reporting Services 

You must file a power of attorney with MCTD if you hire an  
agent, reporting service, or another person who is not an employee 
of your company to: 

 
(a) Complete and submit applications and fees 
to establish an MCTD account or intrastate 
authority; 
 
(b) Complete and submit applications for 
registration, highway-use tax passes, markers, or 
plates (original and renewals); 
 
(c) Prepare, sign, and submit documents and 
payments that may be necessary for filing highway-
use tax reports; 
 
(d) Sign highway-use tax bonds; or 
 
(e) Direct correspondence and plates to another 
address.  

 
You may request a form from MCTD for this purpose.  MCTD 
does not regulate agents.  The motor carrier is ultimately 
responsible for ensuring tax reporting is accurate and timely. 
 

Name and 
Ownership Changes 

If you use an assumed business name and you are based in Oregon 
or have Oregon-certificated authority, you must file your business 
name with the Oregon Secretary of State, Corporation Division.   

 
To add an assumed business name, or to change your existing assumed 
business name, you must notify MCTD.  Complete ODOT Form 735-
9075.  Additionally, you must contact the Corporation Division to file or 
change the name.   
 
Contact the Corporation Division at 503-986-2200. 
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Address Changes You must keep your current address and telephone number on  

file with ODOT until your account is officially closed.  If you have 
an address change, notify ODOT in writing.  You can notify 
MCTD of the address change by marking the change on your tax 
report form, or you may complete ODOT Form 735-9075.  
Official notices, such as audit billings, will be mailed to you at 
your last official address of record.  If you are a Trucking Online 
customer, you may change your address of record online. 
 

Insurance 
Requirements 

Interstate motor carriers are not required to file proof of insurance with the 
state.  They are however required to be in compliance with federal 
requirements regarding financial responsibility.  
 
For information regarding the federal Unified Carrier Registration 
Agreement (UCRA) visit www.ucr.in.gov. 
 
A permit is required for intrastate haul for-hire operations and proof of 
cargo insurance (Form H) may be required for those operations.  The 
minimum limit of coverage for cargo insurance is $10,000. 
 
Oregon-based intrastate motor carriers may be required to provide proof 
of liability insurance coverage (Form E).  The coverage requirement is a 
combined single limit liability insurance coverage in the amount of at least 
$750,000. 
 

Bond  
Requirements 

Oregon state law requires that carriers file a bond with the  
Department of Transportation as a guarantee of payment of fees 
and taxes.  MCTD will send notification of the bond requirement 
giving instructions on how to post the bond. 
 
This bond may be in the form of: 
 

• Money (cash deposit), 
• Savings Assignment, or 
• Surety Bond. 

 
Surety bonds are the most common, and can be obtained from 
most insurance companies. 
 
If you choose to deposit cash with the agency, interest will be paid.  
The full amount of the bond must be deposited in order to avoid 
suspension. 
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ODOT will waive the deposit required of a new carrier with a Dun 
& Bradstreet rating of 3A2 or higher, or of an established carrier if 
the scheduled annual review by the Department finds that in the 
previous 12 months the motor carrier meets the following criteria: 

 
1. No Suspensions with the Department; 
2. No revocation of IFTA tax license; 
3. No more than one weight-mile tax report filed 

late; 
4. Fees timely paid; 
5. No more than two estimated weight-mile tax 

reports filed; 
6. No more than one estimated weight-mile tax 

report filed without an actual report filed within a 
30-day period; 

7. No non-sufficient fund checks; and 
8. No outstanding billings for over-dimensional variance 

permits. 
 

An established carrier will not qualify for a waiver of deposit if 
within the previous 36 months the carrier had a weight-mile tax 
audit resulting in an assessment that exceeded by more than 15% 
the amount of the weight-mile taxes and fees reported and paid 
during the audit period. 
 
If a motor carrier no longer meets the above criteria, the bond 
required of a motor carrier may be increased, or a previously 
waived bond may be required. 

 
 

Bonds for New 
Carriers 
 

For new motor carriers who have not previously received a  
permit or certificate of authority from ODOT, the security deposit 
schedule is as follows: 

 
• One vehicle -- $2,000; 
• Plus $375 for each additional vehicle from 2-5 

vehicles; 
• Plus $250 for each additional vehicle from 6-10 

vehicles; 
• Plus $125 for each additional vehicle above 10 

vehicles; 
• Maximum deposit required -- $10,000. 
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Different requirements exist for private carriers, farmers, and 
vehicles using gasoline for which Oregon state fuel tax is paid.   
 
For more information about bond requirements, contact the Bond 
Unit at (503) 378-4823. 
 
 

Suspension of 
Account 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Suspension may be caused by one of the following: 
• Reports not filed or reports filed with no payment, when 

payment is owed. 
• Taxes or fees not paid. 
• Insurance not filed timely or notice of cancellation 

received from insurance company. 
• Balances not paid timely. 
• Bond not filed timely. 
• Noncompliance with Rules/Statutes. 

 
MCTD will provide written notification prior to suspension of your 
account.  For insurance cancellations, a letter will be mailed at least 20 
days prior to the proposed suspension date.  For all other deficiencies, a 
letter will be mailed 10 days prior to the proposed suspension date.  The 
letter will provide the reasons for the proposed suspension along with 
directions for correcting the deficiency.   
 
When the deficiencies are corrected before the proposed 
suspension date, MCTD will cancel the suspension action. 
 
When the deficiencies are not corrected by the suspension date, 
another letter will be sent notifying you that your account has been 
suspended.  Suspension of your account will invalidate all your 
OR DOT plates and receipts.  Operating in Oregon while 
suspended is illegal and cause for citation, fines, and penalties. 
 

Reinstatement of 
Account 

Once you have satisfied all of the conditions needed to correct the 
deficiency (filed insurance, paid fees, etc.), you may reinstate your 
account.  Call the Salem office during normal business hours, or 
visit the Salem office or a Port-of-Entry with registration services.  
Bring any necessary documents to satisfy the suspension.  There is 
a reinstatement fee of $25, and a $5 fee for each OR DOT plate or 
receipt active at time of suspension.  If you reinstate within 30 
days from the suspension date, you may return your plates or 
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receipts for cancellation and you will not be charged the $5 fee for 
those vehicles.  Your account will be reinstated once all 
requirements have been met. 
 
For more information about reinstatement, please call (503) 378-
6699. 
 

Canceling 
Authority/ Closing 
Your Account 

If you are no longer going to operate in Oregon and wish to close 
your account (and cancel Oregon authority, if applicable), you  
must: 

 
a) Cancel all Oregon Weight Receipt and Tax Identifiers (Receipts). 
 
b) Oregon-based carriers must return all Registration Plates and 

Cab Cards in addition to all Receipts. 
 
c) File tax reports through the date the Receipts are cancelled or 

through the date the Registration Plates and Cab Cards are 
returned. 
Note: Until you receive notification from MCTD that all 
Receipts and/or Oregon Registration Plates and Cab Cards have 
been cancelled, you must continue to file weight-mile tax reports. 

 
d) Send a letter to MCTD’s Salem Registration office requesting 

closure of your account.  If you have a cash bond deposit on file 
with ODOT, ask to have it refunded.  Once your account has 
been audited, closed, and all tax liabilities have been satisfied, 
MCTD will refund any remaining money to you.   

 
e) Keep MCTD informed of any address changes until your account 

has been audited.  You may continue to receive correspondence 
until the closure process is completed. 

 
Note: If you have a change in ownership (entity), a new account must be 
established, and you must obtain new Receipts under the new entity.  Oregon-
based carriers need to apply for new Registration Plates and Cab Cards in 
addition to new Receipts.  Carriers with intrastate for-hire operations must also 
obtain Permit or Certificate Authority prior to operating in Oregon.  You must 
request closure of your old account following the instructions provided above.   
 
Keep your records for at least three years.   
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WEIGHT-MILE TAX STRUCTURE 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 

Vehicles Operating 
At a Loaded Weight 
Of 26,000 Pounds or 
Less 

Commercial vehicles with a weight of 26,000 pounds or less are exempt 
from weight-mile tax.  They meet their Oregon tax obligation by paying 
tax on all fuel purchases at the pump.  A company may register with the 
ODOT/MCTD Fuels Tax Group to file periodic reports of miles and pay 
fuels tax rather than pay the fuel tax at the pump.  Carriers with operations 
at both 26,000 pounds and less, and more than 26,000 pounds may be 
subject to weight-mile tax and fuels tax.   
 
ODOT Fuels Tax Group Telephone: 503-378-8150 
 
Once a vehicle operates above 26,000 pounds, the vehicle is subject to 
weight-mile tax.  A weight-mile tax credential must be obtained and the 
tax must be paid at the heaviest weight the vehicle will operate. 
 

Vehicle Weight 
Between 26,001 and 
80,000 Pounds 

The tax declared weight determines the tax rate to be used.  The declared 
weight must be the heaviest weight at which the vehicle will operate.  You 
may declare different tax weights for different vehicle configurations.  
The tax rate is the same whether you operate the vehicle fully loaded, 
partially loaded, or empty.  Use Tax Table A rates for declared tax 
weights between 26,001 and 80,000 pounds. 
 

         0 
 
 
 
 

26,000 lbs. 
 
 
 
 

80,000 lbs. 
 
 
 
 

105,500 lbs.

 
 

0 to 26,000 lbs. 
Exempt from Weight-Mile Tax 

Pay Fuel Tax and Registration Fees

 
 

 
26,001 to 80,000 lbs. 
Pay Weight-Mile Tax using Tax Table A 
Based on Tax Declared Weight 

 
 

 
80,001 to 105,500 lbs. 
Pay Weight-Mile Tax using Tax Table B* 
Based on Tax Declared Weight 
*Except non-divisible loads over 98,000 lbs. 
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Vehicle Weight 
80,001-105,5000 
Pounds – Divisible 
Loads 

When transporting a divisible load and the vehicle’s combined weight is 
more than 80,000 pounds, you must obtain a Variance Permit from MCTD 
Over-Dimensional Permit Unit (OD Permit Unit).  This type of Variance 
Permit is called an Extended Weight Permit and is valid for one year from 
the date of purchase.   
 
You must have a tax declared weight on your Oregon Weight Receipt and 
Tax Identifier (Receipt) sufficient to cover your maximum operations over 
80,000 pounds.  The tax declared weight of the vehicle and the number of 
axles will determine the mileage tax rate you will use.  You may declare 
multiple tax declared weights when you operate with different vehicle 
configurations.  Use Tax Table B rates for operations over 80,000 up to 
105,500 pounds when transporting loads that are divisible.  You cannot 
transport divisible loads over 105,500 pounds.  Additionally, you must 
have a valid registration up to 105,500 pounds. 
 
• Examples of divisible loads: lumber, carrots, milk, groceries, etc. 
 
Once a load is transported at a weight that exceeds 80,000 pounds, the 
vehicle’s weight-mile tax rate must be reported at that the tax declared 
weight for that configuration, using Tax Table B, until there is a change in 
vehicle configuration or a change in operation.  An empty return trip is not 
a change of operation and must be reported at the same weight as when 
the vehicle was loaded.   
 
Changes in configuration: drop or deck a trailer and the weight is 80,000 
pounds or under, use Tax Table A rates.   
 
Changes in operation: drop part of a load, or drop the whole load and 
reload, resulting in a weight of 80,000 pounds or less, use Tax Table A 
rates.  
 

Between 80,001 and 
98,000 Pounds - 
Non-Divisible Loads 
 

When transporting a non-divisible load and the vehicle’s combined weight 
is between 80,001 pounds and 98,000 pounds, you must obtain a Variance 
Permit from the OD Permit Unit.  This type of Variance Permit is called a 
Heavy Haul Permit.  This permit can be valid for a year from the date of 
purchase when the vehicle/load dimensions qualify.   
 
Additionally, you must have a tax declared weight on your Oregon 
Weight Receipt and Tax Identifier (Receipt) equivalent to your maximum 
operations over 80,000 pounds up to 98,000 pounds.  The tax declared 
weight of the vehicle and the number of axles will determine the mileage 
tax rate you will use.  You may declare multiple tax declared weights 
when you operate with different vehicle configurations.   
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Use Tax Table B rates for operations over 80,000 up to 98,000 pounds, 
when transporting loads that are non-divisible. 
 
• Examples of a non-divisible load: bulldozer, a steel beam, crane, etc. 
 
Once a load is transported at a weight that exceeds 80,000 pounds, up to 
98,000 pounds, the vehicle’s weight-mile tax rate must be reported at the 
tax declared weight for that configuration, using Tax Table B, until there 
is a change in vehicle configuration or a change in operation.  An empty 
return trip is not a change of operation and must be reported at the same 
weight as when the vehicle was loaded.   
 
Changes in configuration:  drop or deck a trailer and the weight is 80,000 
pounds or under. Use Tax Table A rates.   
 
Changes in operation:  drop part of a load, or drop the whole load and 
reload, resulting in a weight of 80,000 pounds or less. Use Tax Table A 
rates.  

Self Propelled  
Vehicles Only 

Occasionally, carriers operate self-propelled vehicles that qualify for an 
OD heavy haul permit but do not have a rate on Table B.  Use the Table B 
rate for the next higher number of axles when reporting weight-mile tax to 
MCTD. 
 
Example:  A four-axle self-propelled crane weighing 84,000 pounds 
would qualify for an OD heavy haul permit but Table B rates start at five 
axles.  Use the Table B rate for 84,000 pounds, five axles when assessing 
these operations. 
 
When a self-propelled vehicle exceeds 98,000 pounds, contact OD Permit 
Unit to determine if vehicle qualifies for variance permit.  If so, pay 
RUAF on Single Trip Permit.  Also you will need an Oregon temporary 
pass or an Oregon Weight Receipt and Tax Identifier and valid 
registration to match the operation. 
 

Weight over 98,000 
pounds – Non-
Divisible Loads 

When transporting a non-divisible load and the vehicle’s combined weight 
is more than 98,000 pounds, you must obtain a Variance Permit from the 
OD Permit Unit.  This type of Variance Permit is called a Single Trip 
Permit (STP) and is valid for one trip within a 10-day period.   
 
Miles operated in this configuration are exempt from weight-mile tax 
because the miles are subject to a Road Use Assessment Fee (RUAF).  
The number of axles and the combined weight of the vehicle determines 
the RUAF rate.  The rate is multiplied by the number of loaded miles.  
The fees are reported and paid to the OD Permit Unit rather than on your 
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weight-mile tax report.  Make a note of these trips on your weight-mile 
trip record as “paid on STP#______.”  Use Table A and the 80,000-pound 
rate for any empty miles traveled in conjunction with RUAF operations.  
 
Additionally, you must have a temporary pass or tax declared weight on 
your Oregon Weight Receipt and Tax Identifier (Receipt) at 80,000 
pounds.  When you also have operations over 80,000 pounds up to 98,000 
pounds, you must have a tax declared weight for that operation, and valid 
Oregon registration up to 105,500 pounds.  Refer to the section above 
titled Vehicle Weights Between 80,001 and 98,000 Pounds Non-Divisible 
Loads.   
 

Tax Rates Tax rates change periodically.  Please ensure you are using current tax rate 
tables.  Tax tables are available at the MCTD Web site: 

www.oregon.gov/ODOT/MCT/FORMS.shtml 
 

If you report your taxes on a QUARTERLY basis, the reporting period is 
each calendar quarter. 

If you report your taxes on a MONTHLY basis, the reporting period is 
each calendar month. 
 

Tax Declared 
Weight Definition 

Weight-mile tax is paid on a declared weight basis. The TAX 
DECLARED WEIGHT is the weight of the vehicle and the load that 
represents the heaviest weight the vehicle will actually carry in a given 
configuration for the reporting period. Your tax declared weights are 
subject to audit and approval by the Department.  The vehicle’s 
registration weight may be higher than its declared weight, but the 
vehicle’s declared weight cannot be higher than its registration weight.  
Vehicle weight declarations must be filed with the Department before 
commencing operation at that weight.   
 
Exception:  Tow vehicles and mobile home haulers may register the 
actual weight of the vehicle.  A tow vehicle used in combination with a 
semi-trailer may be registered at the actual weight of the empty 
combination. 
 

Solo Weight A solo weight is the maximum loaded weight of a single power unit.  A 
solo weight can also be the weight ODOT allows for a power unit 
operating with the trailer carried (decked) or not pulling a trailer at all 
(bobtail).  You must declare a solo weight to report operations at that 
weight.  
 
Note:  The solo weight declaration is not the actual weight of the power 
unit.  The solo weight is the total declared weight, less the weight the 
trailer alone can carry.  For example, an 80,000 pound vehicle  
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combination with a tandem axle trailer usually has a solo weight of 46,000 
pounds.  You must keep detailed records of these solo/decked miles or 
MCTD may deny them at the time of audit.  We recommend you contact 
an MCTD representative if you have any questions regarding your 
specific situation. 
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TAX DECLARED WEIGHTS:  SOLO WEIGHT 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

 Above are three examples of solo weight declarations: 
 
(a) In the first example, the vehicle is declared at 80,000 pounds when in 
combination.  When the trailer is dropped, the solo weight (bobtail) 
would be 46,000 pounds.  (80,000 pounds less 34,000 pounds allowable 
on the trailer axles) 
 
(b) A log truck declared at 80,000 pounds in combination would be 
declared at 46,000 pounds when the trailer is decked.  Again, removing 
34,000 pounds allowable on the trailer axles from the 80,000 pound 
declaration leaves a solo weight of 46,000 pounds. 
 
(c) A solo truck capable of carrying a load. 
 

 
Loaded from yard to Portland - 80,000 lbs. 

 
 
Drops (or decks) trailer in Portland, returns to yard - 46,000 lbs. 
 
OR Truck only with load, 44,000 lbs. 
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Combination Weight 

 
A combination weight is the weight of the vehicle (power unit  
and trailer) plus the weight of the maximum load the vehicle will carry.  
It is to your advantage to declare more than one combination weight if 
you operate with different vehicle configurations.  However, you may 
only declare one weight per configuration.  If you operate at more than 
80,000 pounds, you must declare your highest weight in addition to an 
80,000-pound declaration.  Records must be maintained to support 
operations reported at each declared weight. 
 

 
 
 
Example 1: 
A five-axle combination may be capable of weighing 80,000 pounds, but 
the carrier hauls potato chips and the heaviest weight that unit will 
operate is 72,000 pounds. 
 

♦ May register at 72,000 pounds for the year (or higher if there is a 
possibility that operations may change). 

♦ May declare and report solo operations at 38,000 pounds (must 
maintain records supporting solo operations). 

♦ May declare and report combined operations at 72,000 pounds 
(empty and loaded). 

 
Example 2: 
However, if this same vehicle hauls both potato chips AND potatoes, 
operating at 80,000 pounds: 
 

♦ Must register the vehicle at 80,000 pounds. 
♦ May declare and report solo operations at 46,000 pounds 

(must maintain records supporting solo operations). 
♦ May declare and report combined operations at 80,000 pounds 

(empty and loaded).  It cannot have a declaration of 72,000 
pounds for the potato chip hauls and a declaration of 80,000 
pounds for the potato hauls. 
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More Than One 
Configuration 

You may have one declared weight for each vehicle configuration 
during a reporting period.  It may be to your advantage to declare more 
than one combination weight if you operate with different vehicle 
configurations.  If you operate at more than 80,000 pounds, you must 
declare your highest weight in addition to an 80,000-pound declaration.  
Records must be maintained to support operations reported at each 
declared weight. 

  

DECLARED WEIGHTS 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 In this example, two trailers are pulled to the first stop.  The declared 

weight for this configuration is 78,000 pounds. 
 
The second trailer is dropped at this stop, and the vehicle continues on 
pulling only the single trailer.  The declared weight for this configuration 
is 48,000 pounds. 
 
Dropping a trailer changed the configuration, allowing the carrier to 
report the miles operated at a different weight declaration. 
 
NOTE:  Raising a lift-axle is not considered a change in configuration. 
 
 

Change in Configuration 
 

Loaded from yard to Portland - 78,000 lbs. 

 
 
48,000      30,000 

Drops trailer in Portland, continues to Vancouver - 48,000 lbs. 

 
 
          48,000 
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Weights Over 80,000 
Pounds 

To operate over 80,000 pounds, you must also obtain either an  
Extended Weight or Annual Heavy Haul highway variance permit. Call 
the Over-Dimensional Permit Unit at (503) 373-0000 to obtain the 
appropriate permit. You may have ONE declared weight for each vehicle 
configuration during a reporting period.  You must also have a weight 
declaration at 80,000 pounds for operations that may occur at 80,000 
pounds or under.  Use Tax Table B for reporting operations of divisible 
loads over 80,000 pounds and non-divisible loads up to 98,000 pounds. 

 

DECLARED WEIGHTS 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 A change in configuration occurs when trailers are added or dropped 

from the combination.  A change in operation occurs either when part of 
a load is dropped, or when the whole load is dropped and a new load 
acquired AND the weight drops to 80,000 pounds or less.  Use Table A 
declared rates when a change of operation occurs.  An empty return trip 
is not a change of operation and should be reported at the same weight as 
when loaded. 
 
Non-divisible loads over 98,000 pounds do not use Tax Table B rates.  
Tax is based on the Road Use Assessment Fee and is included in the 
price of the special variance permit.  Use Table A for reporting the miles 
on a return trip if the empty weight is 80,000 pounds or less.  Do not pay 
the Road Use Assessment Fees on your weight-mile tax report. 
 
Records must be maintained to support operations reported at each 
declared weight. 
 

When Operating Over 80,000 lbs. 
 

 
 
          105,500 
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Change in 
Configuration Over 
80,000 Pounds 

If a vehicle is operating over 80,000 pounds, and changes configuration 
(drops one or more trailers) resulting in a change in loaded weight to 
80,000 pounds or less, reporting shifts from Tax Table B to Tax Table A. 
 
When the configuration is changed again by adding a trailer(s), if the 
loaded weight of the vehicle again exceeds 80,000 pounds, the reporting 
shifts back to the declared weight on Tax Table B. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 In this example, the combined vehicle loaded at the dock and traveled to 

Bend at the declared weight of 105,500 pounds.  It then dropped two 
trailers (change of configuration) and continued to Eugene at the declared 
weight for a single trailer at 50,000 pounds. 
 

 
 

Change in Configuration (over 80,000 lbs.) 
 
Loaded from dock to Bend 

 
 
          105,500 

Drops trailer in Bend, continues to Eugene 

 
 
          50,000 
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Change in Operation 
Over 80,000 Pounds 

A change in operation from a loaded weight over 80,000 poundsto a 
loaded weight of 80,000 pounds or less, will shift reporting from Tax 
Table B rates to Tax Table A rates. 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 

 In this example, the vehicle arrives at the first stop in Eugene and some 
part of the cargo is unloaded (change in operation), bringing the loaded 
weight to 80,000 pounds or less.  The vehicle continues on the second leg 
of the trip to Roseburg to unload the remaining cargo.  The declared 
weight for this second leg is 80,000 pounds (actual weight 78,000 
pounds).  The miles operated for this leg of the trip would be paid at the 
Tax Table A, 80,000-pound rate.  Continue reporting at the Tax Table A, 
80,000-pound rate until either a change of configuration occurs or a new 
load is acquired that causes the combined weight to exceed 80,000 
pounds.  Then report at the Tax Table B weight declaration. 
 

 
 

 

Change in Operation (over 80,000 lbs.) 
 
Loaded from dock to Eugene 

 
 
          105,500 

Unloads some cargo in Eugene, continues to Roseburg 

 
 
          80,000 
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REGISTRATION WEIGHT RULE / DECLARED WEIGHT 
 

The registration weight may be higher  
than the declared weight. 

 
Registration weight 105,500 lbs. 
Declared weight    80,000 lbs. 
 
 
The declared weight may NOT be higher 
than the registration weight. 
 
Registration weight   80,000 lbs. 
Declared weight  105,500 lbs. 
 

 
 
Registration Weight 
Declared Tax Weight 
Review 

The registration weight is the highest weight a vehicle will operate during
the registration reporting period, January 1 through December 31.  The 
registration weight for a vehicle may be the same or higher then the 
declared weight, depending on the type of operations conducted during 
the year. 
 
The declared weight is the highest weight a vehicle or configuration will 
operate during the tax reporting period, either monthly or quarterly.  The 
declared weight may be the same as the registration weight, but it may 
not be higher.  Exception:  Tow trucks and mobile home toters may 
operate with declared weights higher than registration weights. 
 
If you operate in excess of either your registration weight or declared 
weight, you must contact MCTD to increase these weights.  You must 
also contact MCTD to change registration or declared tax weights in 
advance of operations. 
 

Amending a Declared 
Tax Weight 

If you wish to report a vehicle at something other than its currently 
declared weight, you must amend the declared weight prior to the 
operations.  To amend a declared weight, inform ODOT/MCTD 
Registration in Salem at (503) 378-6699.  If you have an account on 
MCTD’s Trucking Online, you may also amend vehicle weight 
declarations over the Internet at OregonTruckingOnline.com.  You may 
also visit an ODOT Field Registration office or Motor Vehicles Division 
office to amend a declared weight.  You may not change declared 
weights on a tax report.  There is an $8 charge for amending your 
declared tax weight. 
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Adding Equipment Equipment may be added to your account using Trucking Online (once 
you have obtained a PIN), or by completing an Oregon Weight Receipt 
and Tax Identifier (Receipt) Application Form 735-9076. Mail the 
application, with payment, to 550 Capitol Street NE, Salem, Oregon 
97301-2530. 
 

Discontinuing 
Equipment 

You cannot transfer an OR DOT plate or Receipt from one vehicle to 
another.  If you sell a vehicle, permanently lease a vehicle to another 
carrier, or put a vehicle out of service, you must immediately return the 
Receipt or temporary pass. 
 
If you are Oregon-based and have a combined tax and registration plate, 
you must send written notification to MCTD to discontinue the tax 
liability portion of the combination plate.  If you do not provide written 
notification to discontinue your tax liability, you are responsible for the 
tax and must continue to file tax reports. 
 
You must file a report even if no tax is due.  Failure to file reports is 
cause for suspension of your account.  ODOT will hold you liable for all 
unpaid taxes, plus penalties and interest, at the time of audit. 
 

Lost Plates or  
Broken Leases 

If your OR DOT plate or Receipt becomes lost or stolen, contact MCTD 
immediately.  You can request a new plate or Receipt.  There is a fee for 
replacement credentials. 
 
If you break a lease and cannot return the plate or Receipt, contact 
MCTD immediately.  The tax liability ends upon written notification of a 
broken lease. 
 
If you have an account on MCTD’s Trucking Online, you may obtain or 
cancel Receipts for your vehicle(s) over the Internet at 
OregonTruckingOnline.com. 
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OAR 740-055-0120 Oregon Administrative Rule (OAR) 740-055-0120 requires all carriers 
to keep daily records of vehicles used during the current reporting 
period.  MCTD requires that carriers keep records at the main office or 
place of business for a minimum of three (3) years.  Retention periods 
may be longer when the records are also used for registration (IRP) or 
fuel tax (IFTA) purposes.  These records consist of: 
 

(a) Origin and destination points, Oregon entry and exit 
points, and actual Oregon miles for each trip. 

 
(b) Pickup and delivery points in Oregon for each trip. 
 
(c) Routes of travel for each trip. 
 
(d) Dates of each trip. 
 
(e) Daily beginning and ending odometer readings, or other 

mileage-recording device readings for each vehicle. 
 
(f) Load tickets or bills of lading for each shipment 

transported. 
 
(g) Identification of any exempt miles claimed, which shall 

include beginning and ending odometer or other mileage-
recording device readings for the exempt portion of each 
trip.  

 
(h) When the vehicle is operated at more than 80,000 pounds, 

record for each reporting period: 
 

(1) Number of axles in the vehicle configuration. 
 
(2) Changes of operation. A change of operation 

occurs when the vehicle configuration remains the 
same but the actual weight of the vehicle and load 
changes from more than 80,000 pounds to 80,000 
pounds or under. Empty movements are not 
changes in operation. 

 
(i) Number of miles operated in each motor vehicle 

configuration for each trip when the carrier is operating 
motor vehicles in multiple configurations. 

 
(j) Records generated from on-board recording devices, 

vehicle tracking systems, or other electronic data 
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recording systems may be used in lieu of, or in addition to, 
the records required in this rule provided that the 
electronic records meet all the requirements of sections (1) 
through (3) of OAR 740-055-0120, and are provided in 
printed format upon request. 

 
(k) When paying registration fees by registration trip permits, 

keep a copy of each registration trip permit. 
 

Miles on private roads or on highways in other states are not taxable.  
Some operations on Oregon state forest lands or Forest Service roads are 
also exempt.  
 
When the audit section reviews the carrier’s account, auditors will make 
sure the miles that were reported are correct.  An auditor may contact the 
carrier and request information to be sent to MCTD, or the auditor may 
visit the carrier’s place of business.  
 
MCTD has trip record forms available for carrier’s use.  
 
Form 735-9002C is for log and dump truck operators. 
Form 735-9002E is for interstate and intrastate carriers 

When operating five or fewer vehicles, it may be to the carrier’s 
advantage to submit vehicle trip records with the tax report.  Be sure to 
label trip records with the account number, name, and the reporting 
period. 
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Oregon State Fuel 
Tax 

You may claim a credit if you paid Oregon state fuel tax on fuel 
purchased for a vehicle subject to weight-mile tax.  The deduction must 
be for the reporting period that you used the fuel.  Credits for previous 
reporting periods will not be granted until time of audit.  You must attach 
copies of fuel invoices to the highway-use tax report.  The invoice must 
contain: 
 

(a) The date and location of the purchase; 
 
(b) Who supplied the fuel; 
 
(c) The kind of fuel; 
 
(d) The number of gallons; 
 
(e) OR DOT identification plate, Receipt number, or pass 

number of the vehicle; and 
 
(f) The amount of Oregon state fuel tax paid. 
 

Diesel vehicles usually do not pay Oregon state fuel tax at the pump.  If 
you were charged Oregon fuel tax, a separate entry showing state tax will 
appear on your receipt. 
 

Bulk Fuel If you buy fuel in bulk, you may only claim credit for fuel pumped into a 
qualified vehicle during the reporting period.  If you buy fuel in bulk, or 
if you buy fuel from a card lock station, in addition to the invoice you 
must maintain a daily record indicating the vehicle number and the 
number of gallons pumped into each motor vehicle.  These records must 
be filed with your tax report.   
 

Weights Above And 
Below 26,000 Pounds 

Motor carriers with vehicles having declared weights above and below 
26,000 pounds may only take a fuel tax credit on the fuel consumed for 
the miles operated when weighing more than 26,000 pounds. 
 
Fuel tax credits will not be verified until time of audit.  Fuel tax credits 
that are denied at time of audit are subject to interest and penalty charges. 
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Tax Reporting 
Responsibility 

Failure to receive tax report forms does not relieve you of the 
responsibility of filing reports on time.  You must send both the report 
and payment before MCTD will consider a report filed.  See page 30 for 
payment options.  When you have no operations, the report is still due 
but there is no tax.  MCTD will mail additional forms to you upon 
request. Forms are available on ODOT’s website:  
 

www.oregon.gov/ODOT/MCT/FORMS.shtml 
 
Or, call (503) 378-5849 to request report forms.  Tax reports may also be 
filed using Trucking Online once you have obtained a PIN: 
 

www.OregonTruckingOnline.com 
 
If you operate only on temporary passes (no vehicles have permanent tax 
credentials) and pay the tax when ODOT issues the pass, you do not need 
to file tax reports unless there is additional tax due.  
 
If you buy a temporary pass for a vehicle with an OR DOT plate, do not 
deduct the highway-use tax you paid on the temporary pass from the your 
mileage tax report.  Instead, list the temporary pass on the vehicle trip 
record but do not add the mileage in the Oregon taxable miles column on 
the tax report form.  
 
ODOT does not credit or refund the $9 pass fee paid on a temporary pass. 
 

Late Filing If you file a report after the due date, you must include a late payment 
charge equal to ten percent of the late tax.  The filing date for late charges 
is the date your report is postmarked.  Note:  Most post offices do not 
process and postmark mail deposited after 5 p.m. until the next day. 
 

Amending Tax 
Reports 

If you need to correct an error on a previous report and additional taxes 
are due, write the correction on a separate report form and label it 
“AMENDED (month and year).”  The additional report will be placed on 
your account immediately without review.  You will need to pay a 10 
percent late payment charge on additional taxes not paid on time.  Your 
account will be reviewed at time of audit.  Any additional charges found 
at that time will be subject to late payment, penalty, and interest charges. 
 
If you need to correct an error on a previous report and a credit is due to 
you, write the correction on a separate report form and label it 
“AMENDED (month and year).”  If the correction results in a change to 
your account, the transaction will be reviewed prior to adjusting your 
account.  After MCTD adjusts your account, you will receive a credit 
statement.  You can then use the credit on a future report or request a 
refund. 
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Annual Mileage 
Tax Reports 

Motor carriers may report mileage tax on an annual basis if your 
estimated annual tax is $100 or less, and you have no vehicles that 
exceed 30,000 pounds.  The annual mileage report and payment must be 
postmarked by the postal service by February 28 to cover the operations 
for the preceding calendar year.  MCTD will send a computer-printed 
report form to you the last week of December. 
 

Monthly Mileage  
Tax Reports 

Most motor carriers report mileage tax on a monthly basis.  The monthly 
mileage tax report and payment must be postmarked by the postal service 
by the last day of the month to cover operations for the preceding 
calendar month.  For example, your May report and payment must be 
postmarked no later than June 30. 
 

Quarterly Mileage 
Tax Reports 

Motor carriers may request to report mileage tax on a quarterly basis 
subject to the Department’s approval.  To be eligible to file quarterly tax 
reports the account must: 

• Have a 12 consecutive month filing history, and in that 12 
month period not had; 
 

 A suspension related to reporting or payment of taxes or 
fees; 

 A revocation of IFTA tax license; 
 More than 25% of tax reports filed late; 
 A repayment plan; or 
 A delinquency in payment of over-dimensional permit 

fees or road use assessment fees. 
• In the last 36 months, not had an audit that resulted in 

assessments that exceeded reported fees by 15%. 
 

The quarterly mileage report and payment must be postmarked by the 
postal service by:  
 

QUARTER PERIOD COVERED DUE DATES 

1st  January through March  May 31 
2nd  April through June  August 31 
3rd July through September November 30 
4th October through December February 28 
 
MCTD will send a computer-printed report form to you at the end of 
each quarter. 
 
 

 



WEIGHT-MILE TAX – Monthly & Quarterly Mileage Tax Reports 
 
 

Weight-Mile Tax      Section III Page 26 
Revised October 2008 

Instructions for  
Completing the 
Monthly and  
Quarterly Mileage 
Tax Report Form 

The top portion of the Monthly Mileage Tax Report indicates the period 
of operation and carrier information which includes Account Number, 
Name, and Address.  There is also space to change the motor carrier’s 
name, address or telephone number.  A change of ownership may require 
a new account to be established.  Contact MCTD at (503) 378-6699. 
 
 

Monthly 
 

If you are reporting on a monthly mileage basis, enter the month and year 
of operations. 
 

Quarterly 
 

If you are reporting on a quarterly mileage basis, enter the quarter and 
year of operations.  (This information is printed on the form if MCTD 
sends you a preprinted report.) 
 

Section 1 
Column A 

BASE LICENSE PLATE OR PASS NUMBER 
Enter the license plate or pass number of the power unit for which you 
are reporting.  If you were issued a temporary pass with mileage to be 
reported, or you owe additional mileage on a prepaid pass, enter the pass 
number. 

 
Column B STATE/PROVINCE 

Enter the state or province that issued the license plate. 
 

Column C UNIT NUMBER 
Enter the company’s unit number for the power unit for which you are 
reporting. 
 

Column D MAKE OF VEHICLE 
Enter the first five letters of the make of the vehicle. 
 

Column E ODOT DECLARED WEIGHTS 
You must declare and report operations at the heaviest weight operated 
per configuration.  This should be one of the weights you declared with 
ODOT.  If returning empty, use the same declared weight and tax rate as 
when loaded.  Use one line for each weight you report. 
 
You must obtain an annual Extended Weight Permit from MCTD if you 
are operating between 80,001 and 105,500 pounds (divisible load).  You 
must obtain an Annual Heavy Haul permit from MCTD if you are 
operating a non-divisible load up to 98,000 pounds.  Call the Over- 
Dimensional Permit Unit at (503) 373-0000 to obtain the appropriate 
permit. 
 
Operations for more than 98,000 pounds under a single-trip permit (non-
divisible load) issued by MCTD will pay a Road Use Assessment Fee to 
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the MCTD Over-Dimensional Permit Unit. You should not include this 
tax on your ODOT Highway Use Tax Report.  Note these paid trips on 
your trip record as “paid on STP#____.” 
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Column F BEGINNING MONTHLY OR QUARTERLY ODOMETER 

READING 
Enter the beginning odometer reading for each vehicle from the first day 
of the month or quarter for which you are reporting.  This should be the 
same as the ending odometer reading from the preceding month. 
 
If your odometer breaks, note the problem on your report.  Estimate 
miles if necessary.  Have your odometer fixed and note when fixed on 
your report. 
 

Column G ENDING MONTHLY OR QUARTERLY ODOMETER READING 
Enter the ending odometer reading for each vehicle from the last day of 
the month or quarter for which you are reporting. 
 

Column H TOTAL MILES OPERATED 
Enter the difference between the beginning and ending odometer 
readings for each vehicle (Column G minus Column F).  If a vehicle did 
not operate during the month or quarter, enter a zero (0) in columns H 
and L. 
 

Column I OREGON TAXABLE MILES 
Enter the number of miles traveled in Oregon.  All miles traveled in 
Oregon on streets, alleys, roads, or highways used by the public are 
taxable.  If a vehicle did not operate in Oregon during the month or 
quarter, enter a zero (0) in columns I and L.  Do not report tenths of 
miles. You must convert kilometers to miles. 
 

Column J NO. OF AXLES IF USING TAX TABLE B  
When the vehicle operates between 80,001 and 98,000 pounds 
transporting a non-divisible load, enter the number of axles in this 
column.  When the weight exceeds 98,000 pounds, you will pay a Road 
Use Assessment Fee to the MCTD Over-Dimensional Permit Unit.  You 
should not include this tax on your ODOT Highway Use Tax Report.  
Note these miles paid trips on your trip record as “paid on 
STP#_______.” 
 
When the vehicle operates between 80,001 and 105,500 pounds 
transporting a divisible load, enter the number of axles in this column. 
   

Column K TAX RATES PER MILE (DECIMAL)  
Enter the appropriate rate as indicated on Form 735-9225, Mileage Tax 
Rates.  Be sure to use the Tax Rate Chart applicable to the period for 
which you are reporting.  Raising a lift axle is not a change in 
configuration and does not constitute a change in rate.   
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Do not use Table B rates for heavy haul operations conducted under STP 
when in excess of 98,000 pounds.  
 
Refer to the following chart for the proper Tax Table to use. 
 
 
TYPE OF OPERATION  TAX TABLE 

80,000 POUNDS AND UNDER 
26,001 ‐ 80,000 pounds and empty 
return  Use Tax Table A 

ANNUAL EXTENDED WEIGHT 
PERMIT ‐ DIVISIBLE LOADS 

80,001 ‐ 105,500 pounds and empty
return 

Use Tax Table B declaration for 
that configuration 

CHANGE IN VEHICLE 
OPERATION  (drop part of a load, 
or drop the whole load and reload) 

Weight drops to 80,000 pounds or 
less  Use Tax Table A at 80,000 pounds

CHANGE IN VEHICLE 
CONFIGURATION (drop or deck a 
trailer) 

Weight drops to 80,000 pounds or 
less 

Use Tax Table A declaration for 
that configuration 

ANNUAL HEAVY HAUL 
PERMIT – NON‐DIVISIBLE  
LOADS 

80,001 ‐ 98,000 pounds and  
empty return 

Use Tax Table B declaration for  
that configuration 

 

Change in vehicle operation ‐ drop 
a load, or drop the whole load and
reload, and the weight drops to  
80,000 pounds or less  Use Tax Table A at 80,000 pounds

 

Change in vehicle configuration ‐ 
drop or deck a trailer, and weight 
is 80,000 pounds or less 

Use Tax Table A declaration for  
that configuration 

SINGLE‐TRIP PERMIT 

More than 98,000 pounds and issue
single‐trip permit by MCTD Over‐
Dimensional Permit Unit 

Road Use Assessment Fee paid on 
the permit 

 
Return trip empty with weight of 
80,000 pounds or less  Use Tax Table A at 80,000 pounds

 
Return trip weight 80,001 pounds 
or more 

Use Tax Table B declaration for  
that configuration 

 
 
Column L OREGON HIGHWAY USE TAX 

Multiply your Oregon taxable miles by the appropriate rate for the 
amount of tax due (Column I times Column K). 
 

Payment 
Information 
Box 1 
 

TOTAL FROM COLUMN L 
Enter the total fees from Column L. 
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Box 2 OREGON STATE FUEL TAX IF PAID DURING THIS PERIOD 
Copies of fuel invoices must be attached.  You may claim a credit if you 
paid Oregon state fuel tax.  The deduction must be for the reporting 
period in which you used the fuel.  Credits for previous reporting 
periods will not be granted until time of audit. 

 
The invoices must contain: 

Date of purchase                                           Type of fuel  
ODOT plate, Receipt, or Pass No.               Name & Location of 
                                                                      Supplier  
Amount of Oregon state fuel tax paid           Number of gallons 
 

Diesel vehicles usually do not pay Oregon state fuel tax at the pump.  If 
you were charged Oregon fuel tax, a separate entry showing state tax 
will appear on your receipt. 

If you buy fuel in bulk, you may only claim credit for fuel pumped into a 
qualified vehicle during the reporting period.  If you buy fuel in bulk, or 
from a card lock station, in addition to the invoice you must maintain a 
daily record indicating the vehicle number and the number of gallons 
pumped into each motor vehicle.  These records must be filed with your 
tax report.  

Motor carriers with vehicles having declared weights above and below 
26,000 pounds may only take a fuel tax credit on the fuel consumed for 
the miles operated when weighing more than 26,000 pounds. 

Fuel tax credits will not be verified until time of audit.  Fuel tax credits 
that are denied at time of audit are subject to interest and penalty 
charges 
 

Box 3 OTHER CREDITS PER ATTACHED DOCUMENTS 
Enter the amount of other credits as indicated on monthly Statement of 
Account and attach a copy.  Do not use credits that have not yet 
appeared on the monthly Statement of Account. 
 

Box 4 ENTER TOTAL OF BOX 1 MINUS BOX 2 MINUS BOX 3 
 

Box 5 LATE PAYMENT CHARGE 10% OF BOX 4 
Failure to pay taxes when due requires the addition of a late payment 
charge of 10 percent of the late tax.  The filing date for late charges is 
the date your report is postmarked.  Note:  Most post offices do not 
process and postmark mail deposited after 5 p.m. until the next day.  
Reports are not considered filed unless we receive the report AND 
payment. 
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Box 6 OTHER PAYMENTS PER ATTACHED DOCUMENTS 
If you have received a statement or letter from MCTD for an amount 
due, enter the amount here and attach any documents that explain the 
additional amount.  Payments received without supporting 
documentation may not be correctly applied to your account. 
 

Box 7 TOTAL PAYMENT 
Enter the total payment (Box 4 plus Box 5 plus Box 6).  Enclose the 
payment, in US FUNDS, by company check, cashier’s check, or money 
order with your report.  MCTD is not able to process credit cards or 
guaranteed drafts requiring authorization through the mail.  Make 
checks payable to Oregon Department of Transportation.  Do not post-
date checks.  
  

Location of Records Note the location of the records supporting the report if different than 
the address at the top of the report form.  Identify any agent or reporting 
service. 
 
Be sure to include a telephone number. 
 

Certification Mailing An owner, authorized employee, or agent with a power of attorney on file must 
sign the report. 
 
Make a copy of the report for your records and mail the original with payment 
to: 

Oregon Department of Transportation 
Motor Carrier Transportation Division 
550 Capitol St. NE 
Salem, Oregon 97301-2530 
 

OR consider filing your tax reports online!  Visit our Web site at: 
 

www.OregonTruckingOnline.com 
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Flat Monthly Tax 
Reports 

Motor carriers may request to pay mileage tax on a flat monthly basis if 
transporting items from one or more of the following groups: 
 

(a) Logs, poles, peeler cores, pilings. 
 
(b) Wood chips, sawdust, barkdust, hog fuel, shavings. 
 
(c) Sand, gravel, rock, dirt, debris, cinders, asphaltic concrete 

mix, metallic ores and concentrates or raw nonmetallic 
products, whether crushed or otherwise, moving from 
mines, pits, or quarries.  The vehicles must have dump 
bodies. 

 
The flat monthly report and payment must be postmarked 
by the postal service by the 10th of the month to cover 
operations for the preceding calendar month.  For example, 
your May report and payment must be postmarked no later 
than June 10. 

 
(d) Farm vehicles operating intrastate, for-hire (motor vehicles 

described in ORS 825.024, with combined vehicle weight 
of less than 46,000 pounds).  

 
Flat monthly fees on qualified farm vehicles must be paid 
in advance, on or before the first of the month. 

 
All Vehicles Subject  
to Flat Fee 

Flat monthly fees are based on the commodity you haul and the weight 
of the vehicle.  Once you have made an election to pay on a flat-fee 
basis for a certain commodity, all vehicles hauling that commodity are 
subject to flat fees.  You must report flat monthly fees for every vehicle 
credentialed under your account, including leased, rented, or 
replacement vehicles, that haul the elected, qualifying commodity. 
 

Multiple Flat Fee 
Commodities 

Motor carriers may elect the flat-fee basis for more than one commodity 
group.  If you do, you need to pay the flat fee for each commodity.  You 
must report at the highest declared weight for the month and use the flat-
fee table.  If you haul anything other than the commodities eligible for 
flat fees, you must report and pay mileage tax for those miles in addition 
to your flat fees.  MCTD will send mileage tax report forms to you upon 
request.  
 

Change of Fee Basis 
(Monthly Mileage  
OR Flat Fee) 

You may only make a change to your account’s fee basis once each 
year.  Once a fee basis change is elected, you must remain on that fee 
basis through the end of that calendar year (unless the change is 
mandated by MCTD).  A written application to change  
(Form 735-9910) must be submitted.  It cannot be retroactive.  You 
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cannot use your tax report to change weight declarations, body type, or 
fee basis. 
 
You will receive written notification from MCTD authorizing the 
change and effective date of the fee basis.  
 
Mileage tax must be reported and paid up to the date the change to flat 
fee is authorized.  If you change to flat fee at any time other than the 
first day of the month, the mileage tax is due in addition to the flat fee 
up to the effective date of the fee change. 
 

 Flat fees must be paid for the entire month even if the change to 
monthly or quarterly mileage is approved at any time other than the 
first day of the month.   

 
Once you have been approved for flat fees: 
 

 If, for longer than a month, you will not be transporting a 
commodity that qualifies for flat fees, you must notify MCTD in 
writing in advance of operations.  You must file monthly mileage tax 
reports in addition to flat fee reports. 

 
 If you return to hauling a commodity that qualifies for flat fees 

during the calendar year, you must notify MCTD in advance of 
operations and return to flat fee reporting.  You must continue to file 
mileage tax reports until approved to return to flat fee only reporting. 

 
Hauling Non- 
Qualifying 
Commodities 

If you plan to haul a commodity that does not qualify for flat fees for 
more than a month, you must notify MCTD in writing, in advance, and 
pay mileage tax for the unqualified commodities.  If, during the calendar 
year, you go back to hauling a commodity that qualifies for flat fees, 
you must go back to flat-fee reporting and notify MCTD in advance of 
operations.  If you haul both a qualifying and unqualifying commodity, 
you must pay mileage tax in addition to the flat monthly fee. 
 

Flat Fee  
Record Keeping 

Carriers electing to report and pay annual flat fees are still required to 
maintain daily records in accordance with weight-mile tax record 
requirement (OAR 740-055-120).  Use ODOT Form 734-9231 to 
change to a flat monthly reporting basis.   
 
You must request any changes to the way you report your tax before the 
beginning of the reporting period.  Call ODOT-MCTD Registration in 
Salem at (503) 378-6699, or fax an amendment to (503) 378-6880.  You 
may also go to a MCTD Field Registration office or designated Motor 
Vehicles Division office to change the way you report your tax.  
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Instructions for 
Completing the Flat 
Monthly Form Report 

The top portion of the Flat Monthly Fee Report indicates the period of 
operation and carrier information which includes Account Number,  
Name and Address.  There is also space to change the motor carrier’s, 
name, address or telephone number.  A change of ownership may 
require a new account be established.  Contact MCTD at (503) 378-
6699. 
 

Section 1 
Column A 

BASE LICENSE PLATE OR PASS NUMBER  
Enter the license plate or pass number of the power unit for which you 
are reporting.  If you were issued a temporary pass with mileage to be 
reported, or you owe additional mileage on a prepaid pass, enter the pass 
number. 
 

Column B STATE/PROVINCE 
Enter the state or province that issued the license plate. 
 

Column C UNIT NUMBER  
Enter the company’s unit number for the power unit for which you are 
reporting. 
 

Column D ODOT DECLARED WEIGHTS 
You must declare and report operations at the heaviest weight operated. 
This should be the weight you declared with ODOT. 
 

Column E BEGINNING MONTHLY ODOMETER READING 
Enter the beginning odometer reading for each vehicle from the first day 
of the month for which you are reporting.  This should be the same as 
the ending odometer reading from the preceding month. 
 

Column F ENDING MONTHLY ODOMETER READING  
Enter the ending odometer reading for each vehicle from the last day of 
the month for which you are reporting. 
 

Column G TOTAL MILES OPERATED 
Enter the difference between the beginning and ending odometer 
readings for each vehicle (Column F minus Column E).  Do not report 
tenths of miles.  You must convert kilometers to miles.  If a vehicle did 
not operate during the month or quarter, enter a zero (0) in columns G 
and L. 
 

Column H PRIVATE ROAD and OUT-OF-STATE MILES 
Enter the number of miles each vehicle operated on either private or out-
of-state roads. 
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Column I OREGON PUBLIC ROAD MILES 
Enter the number of miles traveled in Oregon (Column G minus Column 
H).  Oregon public road miles are all miles traveled in Oregon on 
streets, alleys, roads, or highways used by the public.  Do not report 
tenths of miles.  You must convert kilometers to miles.  If a vehicle did 
not operate in Oregon during the month, enter a zero (0) in columns I 
and L. 
 

Column J NO. OF AXLES IF OVER 80,000 POUNDS 
If the vehicle operates between 80,001 and 105,500 pounds under an 
annual highway transportation permit from MCTD, enter the number of 
axles in this column. 
 

Column K ENTER C-CHIP, D-DUMP, OR L-LOG  Enter the abbreviation for 
the elected flat fee commodity. 
 

Column L FLAT MONTHLY FEE 
Enter the appropriate rate as indicated on Form 735-9200, Flat Monthly 
Information and Fee Rate Tables. Be sure to use a Tax Rate Chart 
applicable to the period for which you are reporting. 
 

Section 2 
Box 1 
 

TOTAL FROM COLUMN L 

Box 2 OREGON STATE FUEL TAX IF PAID DURING THIS PERIOD 
Copies of fuel invoices must be attached.  You may claim a credit if you 
paid Oregon state fuel tax.  The deduction must be for the reporting 
period in which you used the fuel.  Credits for previous reporting 
periods will not be granted until time of audit.  The invoices must 
contain: 
Date of purchase Type of fuel 
ODOT plate, Receipt, or Pass No. Name & Location of supplier 
Amount of Oregon state fuel tax paid Number of gallons 
 
Diesel vehicles usually do not pay Oregon state fuel tax at the pump.  If 
you were charged Oregon fuel tax, a separate entry showing state tax 
will appear on your receipt. 

If you buy fuel in bulk, you may only claim credit for fuel pumped into 
a qualified vehicle during the reporting period.  If you buy fuel in bulk, 
or from a card lock station, in addition to the invoice you must maintain 
a daily record indicating the vehicle number and the number of gallons 
pumped into each motor vehicle.  These records must be filed with your 
tax report.   

Motor carriers with vehicles having declared weights above and below 
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26,000 pounds may only take a fuel tax credit on the fuel consumed for 
the miles operated when weighing more than 26,000 pounds. 
 
Fuel tax credits will not be verified until time of audit.  Fuel tax credits 
that are denied at time of audit are subject to interest and penalty 
charges. 
 

Box 3 OTHER CREDITS PER ATTACHED DOCUMENTS 
Enter the amount of other credits as indicated on monthly Statement of 
Account and attach a copy.  Do not use credits that have not yet 
appeared on the monthly Statement of Account. 
 

Box 4 ENTER TOTAL OF BOX 1 MINUS BOX 2 MINUS BOX 3 
 

Box 5 LATE PAYMENT CHARGE 10% OF BOX 4 
Failure to pay taxes when due requires the addition of a late payment 
charge of 10 percent of the late tax.  The filing date for late charges is 
the date your report is postmarked.  Note:  Most post offices do not 
process and postmark mail deposited after 5 p.m. until the next day.  
Reports are not considered filed unless we receive the report AND 
payment. 
 

Box 6 OTHER PAYMENTS PER ATTACHED DOCUMENTS 
If you receive a statement or letter from MCTD for an amount due, enter 
the amount here and attach documents that explain the additional 
amount.  Payments received without supporting documentation may not 
be correctly applied to your account. 
 

Box 7 TOTAL PAYMENT 
Enter the total payment (Box 4 plus Box 5 plus Box 6).  Enclose the 
payment, in US FUNDS, by company check, cashier’s check, or money 
order with your report.  MCTD is not able to process credit cards or 
guaranteed drafts requiring authorization through the mail.  Make 
checks payable to Oregon Department of Transportation.  Do not post-
date checks.   
 

Location of Records Note the location of the records supporting the report if different than 
the address at the top of the report form.  Identify any agent or reporting 
service.  Be sure to include a telephone number. 
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Certification An owner, authorized employee, or agent with a power of attorney on 

file must sign the report. 
 

Mailing Make a copy of the report for your records and mail the original report 
form with payment to: 
 

Oregon Department of Transportation 
Motor Carrier Transportation Division 
550 Capitol St. NE 
Salem, Oregon 97301-2530 

 
OR consider filing your tax reports online!  Visit our Web site at: 
 

www.OregonTruckingOnline.com 
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Audit Records
All motor carriers are required to 

maintain certain records.

Your records must contain the following information:

√ Trip records, which include origin and destination;
√ Oregon entry and exit points;
√ Actual Oregon miles;
√ Pick up and delivery points in Oregon;
√ Routes of travel;
√ Dates of each trip;
√ Daily beginning and ending odometer readings;
√ Load tickets and/or bills of lading for each shipment;
√ Identification of exempt miles claimed;
√ Number of miles operated in each configuration;
√ If operations over 80,000 pounds:

1. number of axles in the configuration;
2. a record of changes of operation;

√ Copies of variance permits;
√ Copies of registration trip permits.

Records must be maintained for a period of three (3) years from the filing date of the
tax report.
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OREGON DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
 
 

MOTOR CARRIER EDUCATION MANUAL 
 
 

 

 

Trucking companies must have knowledge in all areas of 
regulations in order to fulfill their regulatory requirements.  
This material provides concise and relevant information to 
your business and is provided to you by the Oregon 
Department of Transportation, Motor Carrier Transportation 
Division.   
 

This section describes Registration. 
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Vehicle Titles; Every motor vehicle must be registered, permanently or  
 temporarily, with the state or province in which the motor carrier’s fleet is 

based.  Each state or province has its own rules about vehicle registration 
and title.  In Oregon, the Motor Vehicles Division (DMV) handles: 

 
• ALL vehicle titles; 

• Registration for personal vehicles (vehicles not operated as part of 
a commercial enterprise); and 

• Registration for commercial vehicles with a gross vehicle weight 
of 26,000 or less pounds operated solely within Oregon (T-Plates). 

 
Contact the main DMV telephone number at (503) 945-5000 or through 
the DMV web site at: 
 

www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DriversVehicles.shtml 
 
The Motor Carrier Transportation Division (MCTD) handles: 

 
Commercial Registration for commercial vehicles with a gross vehicle 
Vehicles 26,000 weight of 26,000 pounds or less operated in two or more 
pounds or less jurisdictions (IRP); and 
 
Commercial Registration for commercial vehicles with a gross vehicle weight  
Vehicles 26,001 of 26,001 pounds or more operated in two or more jurisdictions 
pounds or more  (IRP); and 
 

Registration for commercial vehicles with a gross vehicle weight of 
26,001 pounds or more operated solely within Oregon (Commercial). 
 

General You must register your vehicles for identification and ownership  
Registration purposes.  Registration is an annual, fixed fee which is based on  
For Vehicles  the highest loaded weight of the vehicle.  Upon registration, a  
26,001 pounds unique license plate (or pair of plates) is issued.  These plates are  
or more vehicle specific and may not be transferred from one vehicle to another. 
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There are three different types of registration: 
 

• If you operate only in Oregon, you pay full Oregon registration 
fees and are issued COMMERCIAL registration plates. 

• If you operate in Oregon and at least one other state, you may pay 
pro-rated registration fees to Oregon.  You will be issued 
APPORTIONED registration plates. 

• If you operate a vehicle temporarily, you pay registration fees and 
are issued a temporary VEHICLE TRIP PERMIT. 

 
Vehicles Operating COMMERCIAL registration is for vehicles which are Oregon  
Solely in Oregon based, and operate solely in Oregon.  Registration plates are red with 

white letters with the word “Commercial” imprinted at the bottom of the 
plate.  Power units that can carry a load (trucks and truck-tractors) will be 
issued two plates.  One plate is for the front of the power unit and one 
plate for the back of the power unit.  Power units that cannot carry a load 
(tractors) will be issued one plate that is to be placed on the front of the 
vehicle. 
 
Registration fees are based on the heaviest weight of the vehicle with its 
load for the registration period (January 1 through December 31).  Fees 
may be paid annually or quarterly.  If paying fees quarterly, there is an 
additional $1 charge per quarter, and a charge of $2.50 for each new 
registration card. 
 
This registration is valid only in Oregon.  To operate in another state or 
Canadian province, you must purchase registration trip permits for that 
state.  Additionally, a tax credential (Oregon Weight Receipt and Tax 
Identifier) is required to be obtained and carried in the vehicle.  Tax is to 
be reported separately from registration fees. 
 
 

Vehicles Operating Vehicles that will operate in more than one jurisdiction (state or  
In More Than One province) must either obtain permanent or temporary registration  
Jurisdiction in each of those jurisdictions. 
 

To obtain temporary registration, you will need to contact each 
jurisdiction prior to entering their jurisdiction after obtaining full 
registration in the vehicle(s) base jurisdiction. 
 
To obtain permanent registration credentials to operate interstate, you will 
need to apply for registration under the International Registration Plan 
(IRP).  This type of registration is also referred to as APPORTIONED or 
PRORATED registration because only a percentage of each jurisdiction’s 
registration fee is paid based on the fleet’s previous history of operations.  
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The base jurisdiction collects and distributes the registration fees for each 
jurisdiction in which the vehicle is licensed.   
 
IRP stands for International Registration Plan.  The IRP is a method for 
registering vehicles that travel into two or more member jurisdictions.  All 
states (except Alaska and Hawaii), Washington D.C. and all Canadian 
provinces (except the Northwest Territories, Nunavut and the Yukon 
Territory are members of the IRP.   
 
Oregon’s IRP Registration plates are red with white letters with the word 
“Apportioned” imprinted at the bottom of the plate.  Power units that can 
carry a load (trucks and truck-tractors) will be issued two plates.  One 
plate is for the front of the power unit and one plate for the back of the 
power unit.  Power units that cannot carry a load (tractors) will be issued 
one plate that is to be placed on the front of the vehicle. 
 
Registration fees are based on the rates that are charged by each 
jurisdiction plus the percentage of operation in each jurisdiction.  The 
basis for registration fees varies but is generally based on vehicle weight, 
value, age, and other factors.  The vehicle is legally registered in all 
jurisdictions that appear on the vehicle’s registration card. 
 
Apportioned registration is annual and may not be paid quarterly.  
EXCEPTION:  Motor carriers that qualify to base in Oregon may pay the 
Oregon portion of their registration fees quarterly if the Oregon fees 
exceed $1,000.  However, it is still an annual fee and must be paid even if 
the vehicle does not operate in a particular quarter. 
 
Registration DOES NOT cover intrastate authority, fuel taxes or other 
taxes in any jurisdiction. 
 

Vehicle A vehicle trip permit is a temporary arrangement for registration of  
Registration a vehicle, issued for no longer than 10 days.  There are two types: 
Trip Permits 

1. Heavy Vehicle Trip Permit  -  Issued for vehicles without 
registration in Oregon, fee $21.   

 
2. Registration Weight Trip Permit  -  Issued to increase registration 

weight temporarily for a vehicle that already has registration, fee 
$5.  Vehicle may also need to increase Oregon Weight Mile Tax 
declared weight for the vehicle.  

 
To purchase a registration trip permit: 

 
• Call Salem at (503) 378-6699. 
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• Go to the Ashland, Farewell Bend, or Umatilla Port of Entry field 
offices, or visit the Portland Bridge office, during Registration 
business hours. 

• Go to a DMV field office offering Motor Carrier Transportation 
Program services. Call 503 378-6699 to locate a DMV office. 

 
Registration The Gross Vehicle Weight (GVW) or Gross Combination Vehicle  
Weight Weight (GCVW) is the actual weight of the vehicle(s) plus the weight of 

the load.  This is commonly referred to as LOADED WEIGHT or 
COMBINED WEIGHT.  Registration weight is the HIGHEST loaded 
weight for the vehicle during the registration period (January 1 through 
December 31). 

 
In the example above, the REGISTRATION WEIGHT for this vehicle is 
80,000 pounds. 
 
NOTE:  The registration fee rate schedule stops at 105,500 pounds.  This 
is the maximum weight at which a vehicle may register.  If you haul 
heavier non-divisible loads, you will register at the maximum weight 
class, 105,500 pounds, plus purchase a Special Transportation Permit. 
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Vehicle To register a vehicle, you will need the following documents: 
Identification 
Papers 

1. A copy of one of the vehicle identification papers: 
 

 bill of sale 
 certificate of origin 
 prior registration 
 copy of title 

 
2. Form 2290, proof of payment of the Federal Heavy Vehicle Use 

Tax (HVUT) if the vehicle is registered at 55,000 pounds or more.  
A Bill of Sale for a vehicle purchased within the past 60 days is 
acceptable proof in lieu of a Form 2290.  

 
3. If the vehicle is being leased, and you are engaged in the intrastate 

transportation of household goods or transporting passengers in 
regular route scheduled service, you must file a copy of Oregon 
Lease Form 735-9084 with your application. 

 
4. DEQ certificate if the vehicle is based in either the Portland Metro 

or the Medford area, not diesel-powered, and Oregon-only (not 
apportioned). 

 
5. Certification that the motor carrier complies with the drug and 

alcohol testing requirements found in 49 CFR Part 382. 
 

Lease Agreements If you are leasing a vehicle and are engaged in the intrastate transportation 
of household goods or transporting passengers in regular route scheduled 
service, you must obtain an Oregon Lease Form 735-9084.  A copy of this 
lease must be filed with your application for registration.  You may obtain 
this form at:    

www.oregontruckingonline.com  
 Click on FORMS tab 

 
 

If you are leasing a vehicle and hauling any other type of commodity, you 
must have a copy of your lease in the vehicle and make it available for 
inspection upon request.  This lease must give exclusive possession and 
control of the leased vehicle to the lessee.  You need to retain a copy of 
the lease for three years. 
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Commercial To commercially register vehicles (registered to operate in Oregon 
Registration only): 
Requirements 

1. Assemble the necessary documents: 
 
√ Vehicle ID 
√ Proof of HVUT (if applicable) 
√ Lease (if applicable) 
√ DEQ Certificate (if applicable) 
 

2. Determine the correct registration weight for your vehicle(s). 
 
3. Complete "Commercial Registration Form" (form No. 735-9691).  

This form and many MCTD forms are available online at:   
www.oregontruckingonline.com  

 Click on FORMS tab 
 
4. Complete the “Drug and Alcohol Testing Program Certification” 

(form No. 735-9759) that the motor carrier complies with the drug 
and alcohol testing requirements found in 49 CFR Part 382. 

 
5. Pay the appropriate registration fees, along with $2.50 for a single 

plate or $5 for a pair of plates, registration card and sticker. 
 

6. If you have Oregon intrastate authority, and are transporting 
commodities that are subject to material damage, cargo insurance 
also must be on file.  The minimum limit of coverage for cargo 
insurance is $10,000.00.  Your insurance company will need to 
submit a Form H as proof of cargo insurance coverage. 
 

Registration can be completed at any MCTD Registration office: Ashland, 
Farewell Bend, Umatilla, Portland Bridge (at Jantzen Beach) or Salem.  
You may also pick up registration credentials at many local DMV offices.  
Please call Vehicle Registration at 503-378-6643 to make arrangements. 
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Commercial registration fees are paid in addition to weight-mile tax.  
Questions may be directed to the Salem Registration Office at (503) 378-
6699.  You may call (503) 378-5849 to request forms or download these 
forms from the MCTD web site at: 
 

www.oregontruckingonline.com  
 Click on FORMS tab 
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What Is IRP IRP stands for International Registration Plan.  The IRP is a method for 
registering vehicles that travel into two or more member jurisdictions.  All 
states (except Alaska and Hawaii) Washington D.C. and all Canadian 
provinces (except the Northwest Territories, Nunavut and the Yukon 
Territory are members of the IRP.   

IRP Member Jurisdiction Abbreviations: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Alberta, CN (AB) North Dakota  (ND) 
Alabama (AL) Nebraska (NE) 
Arkansas  (AR) Newfoundland, CN (NL) 
Arizona (AZ) New Hampshire (NH) 
British Columbia, CN (BC) New Jersey (NJ) 
California (CA) New Mexico (NM) 
Colorado (CO) Nova Scotia, CN (NS) 
Connecticut (CT) Nevada (NV) 
Dist of Columbia (DC) New York (NY) 
Delaware (DE) Ohio (OH) 
Florida (FL) Oklahoma (OK) 
Georgia (GA) Ontario, CN (ON) 
Iowa  (IA) Oregon (OR) 
Idaho (ID) Pennsylvania (PA) 
Illinois (IL) Prince Edward Isl, CN (PE) 
Indiana (IN) Quebec, CN (QC) 
Kansas (KS) Rhode Island (RI) 
Kentucky (KY) South Carolina (SC) 
Louisiana (LA) South Dakota (SD) 
Massachusetts (MA) Saskatchewan, CN (SK) 
Manitoba, CN (MB) Tennessee (TN) 
Maryland (MD) Texas (TX) 
Maine (ME) Utah (UT) 
Michigan (MI) Virginia (VA) 
Minnesota (MN) Vermont (VT) 
Missouri (MO) Washington (WA) 
Mississippi (MS) Wisconsin  (WV) 
Montana (MT) West Virginia (WI) 
New Brunswick, CN (NB) Wyoming (WY) 
North Carolina (NC)   

 
NOTE 

For Oregon-based vehicles traveling into the state of Alaska, please contact Alaska at 
(907) 345-7846. 
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How IRP Works IRP stands for International Registration Plan.  The IRP is a method for 
registering vehicles that travel into two or more member jurisdictions. 
Under the IRP, interstate carriers must file application(s) with the 
jurisdiction in which they are based.  The base jurisdiction then issues one 
cab card and a single or pair of apportioned plates with stickers per 
vehicle.  The apportioned plate(s), stickers, and cab card are registration 
credentials you need to operate on an interstate and intrastate basis in 
member jurisdictions.  (Intrastate operations require meeting the 
operating authority of the individual jurisdictions.)  A cab card lists the 
weights you have requested for each jurisdiction, and registration fees are 
calculated according to these weights. 
 
IRP jurisdictions have agreed to allow the base jurisdiction to collect the 
applicable fees for apportionment for all jurisdictions collectively at one 
time - One–Stop–Shopping.  These fees are then sent to other IRP 
jurisdictions according to: 

 
• percentage of mileage travelled in each jurisdiction 
• vehicle identification information, and 
• maximum weight 

 
Under the IRP, all member jurisdictions: 
 

• accept a single registration plate 
• accept a single registration card (cab card), and 
• allow registrants to travel both interstate and intrastate 

jurisdictionally (intrastate travel is subject to the terms of the 
operating authority issued by each member state/province) 

 
Apportioned Apportioned registration does not: 
Registration 
Does Not 

• Waive or exempt a truck operator from obtaining operating authority 
from any state/province in which the apportioned vehicle travels, or 

 
• Waive or replace the requirements of the International Fuel Tax 

Agreement (IFTA), or 
 
• Allow registrants to exceed the maximum length, width, height, or 

axle limitations, or 
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• Waive or exempt the payment of tax reporting requirements (including 
Oregon Highway Use Tax) or Federal Heavy Vehicle Use Tax, or 

 
• Exempt a carrier from filing the necessary proof of liability coverage 

in each state/province where required. 
 

Apportionable “Apportionable Vehicle” means any vehicle used or intended for  
Vehicle use in two or more member jurisdictions that allocate or proportionally 

register vehicles and are used for the transportation of persons for hire, or 
designed used or maintained primarily for the transportation of property, 
and: 

 
1. Is a power unit having two axles and a gross vehicle weight or 

registered gross vehicle weight in excess of 26,000 pounds; or 
2. Is a power unit having three or more axles, regardless of weight; or 
3. Is used in combination, when the weight of such combination 

exceeds 26,000 pounds gross vehicle weight. 
 
Vehicles, or combinations thereof, having a gross vehicle weight of 
26,000 pounds or less and buses used in transportation of chartered parties 
may be proportionally registered at the option of the registrant. 

Exempt Vehicles The IRP exempts the following vehicles from IRP registration; however, 
an Oregon registration plate must be obtained and displayed on: 

 
• Recreational vehicles used for personal pleasure or travel by an 

individual or family, or 

• Commercial vehicles displaying restrictive plates which have 
geographic area, mileage or commodity restrictions.  Examples: 
city pick up and delivery vehicles. 

• Buses used in transportation of chartered parties. 
• Government owned vehicles.
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Ad Valorem A tax charged by some states in proportion to the estimated value of the 
vehicle. 

 
Allocated Vehicle A vehicle to which a particular state’s basic registration plate is attached 

upon payment of the state’s full basic registration fee.  
 
Applicant Person, firm, or corporation in whose name(s) a vehicle or fleet will be 

properly registered. 
 
Apportionable Fee Any periodic recurring fee required for license or registering vehicles, 

such as, but not limited to, registration fees, license and weight fees. 
 
Apportionable Any vehicle used or intended for use in two or more member  
Vehicle jurisdictions that allocate or proportionally register a vehicle designed, 

used, or maintained primarily for the transportation of property or 
passengers. 

 
Apportioned Registration that allows commercial vehicles to comply with  
Registration registration requirements of more than one jurisdiction and to pay 

registration fees based on the percentage of operation in those 
jurisdictions. 

 
Audit Physical examination of carrier’s records, including source documents, to 

verify fleet mileage and accuracy of record keeping. 
 
Axle A supporting shaft or member upon which a wheel or wheels revolve. 
 
Axle Weight The weight transmitted to the highway by an axle unit. 
 
Base Jurisdiction A jurisdiction where the registrant has an established place of business, 

where mileage is accrued by the fleet, and where the operational records 
of the fleet are maintained or can be made available. 

 
Base Plate The plate issued by the base jurisdiction and is the only registration 

identification plate issued for the vehicle by any member jurisdiction.  
Base plates shall be identified by having the word “APPORTIONED” and 
the jurisdiction’s name on the plate. 
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Booster Axle A separate vehicle bolted or pinned to another vehicle that redistributes 
weight from one or more axles to other axles and pivots from side to side 
at the connection point or has wheels that steer during turning. 

 
Brand New Vehicle First time registered. 
 
Bus A motor vehicle designed to carry more than 10 passengers. 
 
Cab Card A registration card issued for a vehicle of an apportioned fleet which 

identifies the specific vehicle for which it was issued, the base jurisdiction 
of the fleet, the registered weight of the vehicle in each apportioned 
jurisdiction, and the jurisdiction(s) where the vehicle is properly 
registered. 

 
Carrier Individual, partnership, or corporation engaged in the business of 

transporting persons or property. 
 
Chartered Bus A motor vehicle used as a limited passenger vehicle exclusively for the 

conveyance of a person or group of persons to whom or for whose use the 
vehicle is chartered at a fixed price for the use of the whole vehicle. 

 
Chartered Party Group of persons who, pursuing a common purpose, under a single 

contract, and at a fixed charge, have acquired the exclusive use of a 
passenger-carrying motor vehicle to travel together as a group to a 
specified destination or for a particular itinerary. 

 
Combination Two or more vehicles coupled together. 
of Vehicles 
 
Combined Gross Total empty weight of a combination of vehicles plus the total  
Weight weight of the maximum load carried on that combination of vehicles. 
 
Commercial A vehicle that is used for the transportation of persons for  
Vehicle compensation or profit; or is designed or used primarily for the 

transportation of property. 
 
Converter Gear Auxiliary axle undercarriage assembly with a fifth wheel and tow bar used 

to convert a semi-trailer to a full trailer. 
 
Credentials The registration plate, cab card, and sticker issued to reflect the 

apportioned registration of a vehicle. 
 
Double Bottom A combination of a power unit pulling two semi-trailers or a semi- 
Combination trailer and a full trailer. 
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Dump Truck A truck whose contents are unloaded by tilting the truck bed backward 

with the tailgate open. 
 
Empty Weight Weight of a vehicle fully equipped for service, excluding the weight of 

any load. 
 
Established Place A physical structure located within the base jurisdiction that is  
of Business owned, leased, or rented by a fleet registrant.  The physical structure shall 

be designated by a street number or road location.  A post office box or 
personal mail box is not sufficient to satisfy this requirement.  This 
physical structure must be open during normal business hours and have 
located within it: 

 
• A telephone(s) publicly listed in the name of the fleet registrant. 
• A person(s) in the permanent employment of the registrant 

conducting the fleet registrant’s trucking-related business. 
• The operational records of the fleet and the maintenance of such 

records (unless such records can be made available). 
 
FHWA Federal Highway Administration (formerly ICC) 
 
Federal Heavy Tax paid to the Internal Revenue Service by all carriers with  
Vehicle Use Tax vehicles having a gross weight of 55,000 pounds or more. 
(HVUT) 
 
Fifth Wheel A device that is mounted on the vehicle chassis and that consists of  
Coupler a skid plate, associated mounting brackets and latching mechanism that 

couples or connects to a kingpin located on the other vehicle or 
component. 

 
Fleet One or more vehicles registered for operation in the same jurisdictions. 
 
Full Trailer A vehicle without motive power pulled by a motor vehicle, and so 

constructed that no part of its weight rests on the pulling vehicle. 
 
Gross Vehicle The total weight of a vehicle or combination of vehicles and load. 
Weight 
 
Heavy Trailers Trailers weighing in excess of 8,000 pounds loaded weight (axle weight 

when loaded). 
 
Hunter Permit Temporary registration credential issued by a member jurisdiction that is 

honored as a valid registration in all other IRP jurisdictions.  The 
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registration is for a minimum fee.  Vehicle and/or combination must be 
empty. 

 
HVUT Heavy Vehicle Use Tax (see Federal Heavy Vehicle Use Tax). 
 
ICC Interstate Commerce Commission (now FHWA). 
 
IRP International Registration Plan. 
 
Identification See credentials. 
 
In-Jurisdiction The total number of miles operated by a fleet of apportioned  
Miles vehicles in a jurisdiction during the preceding year. 
 
International An agreement between member jurisdictions for prorating or  
Registration Plan apportioning registration fees based on fleet mileage travelled in each 

jurisdiction. 
 
Interstate Vehicle movement between or through two or more jurisdictions. 
 
Intrastate Vehicle movement from one point within a jurisdiction to another point 

within the same jurisdiction. 
 
Jeep Axle A separate vehicle connected to a motor vehicle by kingpin to fifth wheel 

connection. 
 
Jurisdiction A state or province of a country. 
 
Lease  Written document vesting exclusive possession, control of and 

responsibility for the operation of the vehicle to a lessee for a specific 
period of time. 

• Long term lease – a lease of 30 days and longer 

• Short term lease – a lease of less than 30 days which is 
considered a “Rental” in Oregon 

 
Lessee Individual, partnership, or corporation having the legal possession and 

control of a vehicle owned by another under the terms of a lease 
agreement. 

 
Lessor Individual, partnership, or corporation which, under the terms of a lease, 

grants the legal right of possession, control of and responsibility for the 
operation of the vehicle to another individual, partnership, or corporation. 
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Light Trailers Trailers weighing 8,000 pounds or less loaded weight (axle weight when 
loaded). 

 
Loaded Weight The weight transmitted to the road through an axle or set of axles when the 

vehicle is fully loaded. 
 
Mileage A period of twelve consecutive months immediately prior to the  
Reporting Year beginning of the registration or license year for which apportioned 

registration is requested.  (In Oregon this period is July 1 to June 30.) 
 
Mobile Home A motor vehicle designed without a fifth wheel and used  
Toter (MT) exclusively for a mobile home on its own axles. 
 
Operational Documents supporting miles travelled in each jurisdiction and total  
Records miles travelled, such as vehicle trip records, fuel reports, trip sheets and 

logs. 
 
Owner Any individual, partnership, or corporation, other than a lien holder, 

holding legal title to a vehicle. 
 
Owner-Operator Equipment lessor (owner) who leases vehicles, with drivers, to a motor 

carrier. 
 
OWRATI Oregon Weight Receipt and Tax Identifier.  The Oregon weight-mile tax 

credential for vehicles over 26,000 pounds. 
 
Power Unit A motor vehicle (not including an automobile or motorcycle) as 

distinquished from trailing equipment such as a trailer, semitrailer or 
auxiliary axle.  Also see:  bus, truck, truck-tractor, road tractor, tractor, 
dump truck, tow truck, or mobile home toter. 

 
Private Carrier Individual, partnership, or corporation which utilizes its own trucks to 

transport its own freight. 
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Purchase Price Actual price of the vehicle paid by the current owner, excluding trade-in 

sales tax and use tax, including accessories or modifications attached to 
the vehicle.  Federal Excise Tax is also included in the purchase price. 

 
Reciprocity Reciprocal granting of rights and/or privileges to vehicles properly 

registered under the IRP and to vehicles not so registered if such vehicles 
are subject to separate reciprocity agreements, arrangements, declarations, 
or understandings. 

 
Reciprocity An agreement, arrangement or understanding governing the  
Agreement reciprocal grant of rights and/or privileges to vehicles which are parties to 

such an agreement, arrangement, or understanding. 
 
Recreational A motor vehicle designed or used primarily for accommodation 
Vehicle/Motor during travel or recreation, but does not include a motor vehicle  
Home that has attached to it a structure: 

 
• designed or used primarily for accommodation during travel or 

recreation, and 
• designed or intended to be detachable. 

 
Registrant See applicant. 
 
Registration Card See cab card. 
 
Registration Year The 12-month period during which the registration plates issued by the 

base jurisdiction are valid according to the laws of the base jurisdiction. 
 
Rental Fleet One or more vehicles that are rented or offered for rent without drivers 

and which are designated by a rental owner as a rental fleet. 
 
Restricted Plate A registration that has time (less than a full year), geographic area, 

mileage, or commodity restrictions (farm, log, or dealer plate). 
 
Road Tractor A motor vehicle designed without a fifth wheel and used for pulling other 

vehicles by means of a ball hitch and so constructed to carry only part of 
the weight of the vehicle being towed. 

 
Semi-trailer A vehicle without motive power pulled by a motor vehicle and constructed 

so that some part of its weight rests upon or is carried by the pulling 
vehicle. 

 
Serial Number See vehicle identification number. 
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Service One who furnishes facilities and services including sales,  
Representative warehousing, motorized equipment and drivers under contract or other 

arrangements to a carrier for transportation of property by a household 
goods carrier. 

 
Sublease Lease made to another person or company by the person or company to 

whom a vehicle is leased. 
 
Tare Weight The actual weight of the vehicle including the cab, body and all  
(Unladen Weight) accessories with which the vehicle is equipped for normal use on the 

highway excluding the weight of any load. 
 
Total Fleet Miles Total number of miles (including non-taxable miles) operated by a fleet of 

apportioned vehicles registered in all jurisdictions during the mileage 
reporting period. 

 
Tow/Recovery A motor vehicle designed for towing and recovering vehicles  
Vehicle (TW) which are wrecked, damaged, disabled, abandoned, or are replacement 

vehicles. 
 
Tow Dolly See converter gear. 
 
TOWRATI Temporary Oregon Weight Receipt and Tax Identifier.  The temporary 

Oregon weight-mile tax credential for vehicles over 26,000 pounds.  
Issued to vehicles prior to the permanent base plate displayed on vehicle.   

 
Tractor Motor vehicle designed and used to pull other vehicles and NOT 

constructed to carry a load other than part of the weight of the pulled 
vehicle and its load. 

 
Trip Lease Lease of vehicle equipment to a carrier (lessee) for a single interstate 

movement.  The term may also include a similar movement intrastate 
where such movement is authorized under the laws of the state. 

 
Trip Permit Temporary permit issued by a jurisdiction in lieu of regular registration. 
 
Trip Records Records maintained on distances travelled for each unit on a 

monthly/quarterly basis and accumulated totals annually.  The reporting 
period for actual distance travelled is July 1 to June 30 of the preceding 
year.  The reporting period for estimated distance is for the projected 
registration year.  These records are subject to audit by the base 
jurisdiction as well as host jurisdictions. 
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Truck Motor vehicle designed and used for the transportation of property -- 
generally not designed and used to pull other vehicles. 

 
Truck-Trailer A motor vehicle designed and used for carrying a load and for pulling 

trailers with loads. 
 
Unladen Weight The actual weight of the vehicle including the cab, body and all  
(Tare Weight) accessories with which the vehicle is equipped for normal use on the 

highway excluding the weight of any load. 
 
VTR Vehicle Trip Record. 
 
Vehicle Identifying numbers and letters assigned to a vehicle for the  
Identification purpose of titling and registration. 
Number (VIN) 
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For–Hire An individual or company who engages in the transportation of  
Carriers property or passengers by motor vehicle for compensation. 

 
Private Carriers A person, firm or corporation that uses its own trucks to transport its own 

freight. 
 

Owner-Operators Owner-operators who lease their vehicles may register in either of two 
ways: 

 
1. When the owner-operator is the registrant: 
 

• An Oregon CDL will be required. 
• The vehicle(s) will be titled and registered in the name of the 

owner-operator. 
• The owner-operator will be responsible for registration of such 

vehicle(s), and establishing and maintaining records required of 
proportionally registered fleets. 

 
2. When the carrier (lessee) is the registrant: 

 
• The vehicle(s) will be registered in the names of both the 

carrier as lessee and the owner-operator as lessor. 
• The carrier will be responsible for registration of such 

vehicle(s), and establishing and maintaining records required of 
proportionally registered fleets. 

Passenger Carrier 
 
Regular Routes Apportionment is a requirement under IRP for all buses traveling regularly 

scheduled routes.  At the option of the registrant, total miles may be the 
sum of all actual in-jurisdiction miles or a sum equal to the scheduled 
route miles per jurisdiction from the farthest point of origination to the 
farthest point of destination of the route schedule. 
 

Charter Buses used exclusively for the transportation of “chartered parties” are 
exempt from apportioned registration under IRP. 
 

Private Apportionment is a requirement under IRP for all buses used exclusively 
for the transportation of passengers for compensation or gain. 
 
 

HH Goods Carriers 
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Equipment Leased Household goods carriers using equipment leased from service  
From Service Rep. representatives may elect, with respect to such equipment, to base such 

equipment in the base jurisdiction of the service representative, or that of 
the carrier. 
 
• If the base jurisdiction of the service representative is selected, the 

equipment shall be registered in the service representative’s name, and 
the household goods carrier shall be indicated as lessee.  The 
apportionment of fees shall be according to the combined mileage 
records of the service representative and the carrier.  Such records 
must be kept or made available in the service representative’s base 
jurisdiction (Oregon). 

 
• If the base jurisdiction of the household goods carrier is selected, the 

equipment shall be registered in the name of the carrier and that of the 
service representative as lessor.  The apportionment of fees shall be 
according to the combined mileage records of the carrier and the 
service representative.  Such records must be kept or made available in 
the household goods carrier’s base jurisdiction (Oregon). 

 

Owner-Operator For equipment owned and operated by owner-operators, other than  
Leased Equipment service representatives, and used exclusively to transport cargo for the 

household goods carrier.  The equipment shall be registered by the carrier 
in the base jurisdiction of the carrier, but in both the owner-operator’s 
name as lessor and that of the carrier as lessee, the apportionment of fees 
according to the records of the carrier. 
 

Rental Vehicles The IRP specifically provides for the registration of various types of rental 
fleets. 
 
Rental fleets owned by any person or firm engaging in the business of 
renting vehicles with or without drivers for valuable consideration for a 
specific period of time shall be extended full interstate or intrastate 
privileges, providing that: 
 
• Such person or firm has received the appropriate operating authority 

from the state of Oregon, and 
• The operational records of the fleet are maintained by the rental owner 

and must be identifiable as being part of such fleet, and 
• Such vehicles are part of a rental fleet which are identifiable as being a 

part of such fleet and must include one or more vehicles, and 
• Such person or firm registers the vehicles as described below: 
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Rental Vehicle For the purposes of IRP, the following definitions are applicable to 
Definitions rental vehicles: 

 
• Rental Owner – an owner principally engaged in renting (one or more 

rental fleets) to others or offering for rental the vehicles of such fleets, 
without drivers. 

• Rental Fleet – one or more vehicles which are rented or offered for 
rental without drivers and which are designated by a rental owner as a 
rental fleet. 

• Rental Vehicle – a vehicle of a rental fleet. 
• Renting and Leasing – the giving of possession and control of a 

vehicle for valuable consideration for a specified period of time. 
• Rental Transaction – the rental of a vehicle shall be deemed to occur 

in the jurisdiction where such vehicle first comes into possession of 
the user. 

 
Rental Passenger  Divide the gross revenue received in the preceding year for 
Cars use of such rental arising from passenger car rental transactions 

occurring in Oregon by the total gross revenue received in the 
preceding year for the use of such rental vehicles arising from 
passenger car rental transactions occurring in all member (IRP) 
jurisdictions in which such vehicles were operated.  The resulting 
percentage shall be applied to the overall total number of rental 
passenger cars in order to determine the actual number of rental 
passenger cars that shall be plated and pay full registration fees in 
Oregon. 
 

One–Way Vehicles Trucks of less than 26,000 pounds gross vehicle weight operated as 
part of an identifiable one–way fleet will allocate and fully plate 
vehicles to the respective jurisdictions based on the fleet mileage 
factor.  All trucks of such one–way fleets so qualified will be 
allowed to perform both interstate and intrastate movements in all 
jurisdictions. 
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Base Jurisdiction Before a vehicle may be apportionally registered in Oregon, the carrier 
must have: 
 

1. An established place of business in the state. “Established Place of 
Business” means a physical structure located within the base 
jurisdiction that is owned, leased, or rented by the fleet registrant. 
 
The physical structure shall be designated by a street number or 
road location.  A post office box is not sufficient to satisfy this 
requirement.  This physical structure must be open during normal 
business hours, and have located within it: 
 

√ A telephone(s) publicly listed in the name of the fleet 
registrant. 

√ A person(s) in the permanent employment of the registrant 
conducting the fleet registrant’s trucking-related business. 

√ The operational records of the fleet and the maintenance of 
such records (unless such records can be made available in 
Oregon). 

2. An Oregon CDL if the owner-operator is applying as registrant 
only. 

3. Mileage accrued in Oregon by the fleet. 

4. Operational records of the fleet maintained or made available in 
Oregon. 

 
Vehicle Title Title applications will be accepted for all power units being prorated 

through any ODOT/MCTD Registration office. 
 

 
IMPORTANT INFORMATION 

To apply for an Oregon title at the time of registration, the owner must 
be domiciled in Oregon. 
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Insurance Your insurance company must file an insurance Form E with a combined 
single limit of $750,000 with the Motor Carrier Transportation Division 
(MCTD).  Cargo insurance (Form H) must be filed for carriers with Class 
1C or 1G.  Cargo insurance must be filed for Class 1A carriers if 
commodities transported are subject to material damage in transportation. 

 
Vehicles Exempt Registrants having vehicles that are exempt from MCTD insurance 
From Insurance requirements are required to maintain the minimum insurance  
Requirements coverage required by the Oregon Motor Vehicle Code and to certify that 

the coverage will remain in effect for the duration of the registration.  
Certification of fleet liability insurance coverage, must be provided at time 
of application or renewal of vehicles.  Either on the Apportioned 
Registration Form Schedule C (Form 735-9684) or the Apportioned 
Renewal. 

 
• Vehicles owned and operated by farmers that are farm certified and 

have farm plates; 
• Vehicles owned and operated by charitable/non-profit organizations 

that have filed an affidavit of exemption with MCTD; 
• Vehicles weighing 26,000 pounds or less combined weight. 
 

Motor Carrier Motor carriers transporting persons or property for hire in Oregon 
Operating Authority must have operating authority.  Motor carriers operating vehicles with a 

declared weight more than 26,000 pounds transporting persons or property 
incidental to a primary business are considered private carriers and must 
also have operating authority.  MCTD issues authority in the form of a 
certificate or permit. 
 
In addition to operating authority, motor carriers operating leased or 
owned vehicles with a declared weight over 26,000 pounds are subject to 
weight-mile tax, insurance regulation and bond requirements.  Each motor 
vehicle must have a valid Oregon weight receipt and tax identifier 
(OWRATI) or a temporary Oregon weight receipt and tax identifier 
(TOWRATI), or a temporary pass carried in the vehicle.  Plates, passes, 
and Oregon weight receipts are NOT transferable from one vehicle to 
another. 
 
When a carrier discontinues operation of a vehicle, the plate and cab card 
must be returned for cancellation. 
 
Every carrier who obtains Oregon weight receipts is supplied with forms 
that are used to compute, report, and pay their weight-mile tax.  Report 
forms and tax tables supplied, are also available upon request. 
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Weight-mile temporary passes, temporary Oregon weight receipts, and 
plates must be obtained prior to entry.  Call the Salem Registration office 
at (503) 378-6699 to obtain a temporary pass, weight receipt, or plate.  If 
you are a Trucking-On-Line customer, you may also obtain weight 
receipts on the MCTD web site at: 
 

www.oregontruckingonline.com  
 

USDOT Number What is a USDOT number?  It is an identification number issued to motor 
carriers and shippers by the United States Department of Transportation 
(USDOT).  Motor carriers traveling interstate must obtain a USDOT 
number.  Application forms are available at the MCTD website or by 
calling the Salem Federal Highway Administration office (503) 399-5775.  
You may also apply for a USDOT number on-line at: 

 
 https://li-public.fmcsa.dot.gov/LIVIEW/PKG_REGISTRATION.prc_option 

 
Name or Ownership If you are changing the name of your company, but not changing  
Change    ownership, you must apply for a name change only.  Submit a   
   completed Oregon Application for IRP and/or IFTA Schedule A    
  (Form 735-9908) requesting cab cards in the new company name    
  ($2.50 each vehicle). You must also submit a completed     
  Application for Motor Carrier Permit (Form 735-9075).   

 
If the ownership of the company is changing (i.e., individual or 
partnership to a corporation, partnership to an individual, etc.), an 
application must be submitted in the new ownership name.  A new 
account will be established.  Registration fees cannot be transferred 
from previous ownership to new ownership during any registration 
year.  Fees will be recalculated for the remainder of the registration year 
according to the new application information submitted. 
 
Contact the Salem Registration office at (503) 378-6699 for further 
information or download the forms from the MCTD website at: 

www.oregontruckingonline.com  
 Click on FORMS tab 

 
Federal Heavy Federal law requires vehicles 55,000 pounds or more combined or  
Vehicle Use Tax loaded gross weight to pay a Federal Heavy Vehicle Use Tax (HVUT) to 

the IRS. This tax is paid yearly (July – June).  Proof of payment of this tax 
must be provided when registering.  Proof is not required on new or used 
units registered within sixty (60) days of the date shown on the bill of sale.  
A copy of this bill of sale must be submitted with your application. 
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Acceptable proof of payments: 
 
• Copy of the receipted Schedule 1, Form 2290, listing vehicle 

identification number(s). 
• Copy of the un-receipted Schedule 1, Form 2290, and copy of proof of 

payment document (e.g. front and back of cancelled check). 
• Copy of the Schedule 1, Form 2290, with vehicles listed in Part II for 

which tax is suspended, will be accepted without being receipted. 
 
NOTE:  IRS suspends tax under certain circumstances.  Questions 
regarding this suspension should be directed to the IRS at 1-800-829-
1040. 
 

Enforcement Enforcement personnel look at the cab card for verification that vehicles 
are properly registered and fees paid.  The cab card must always be carried 
in the vehicle described.  Cab cards may not be altered in any way. 
 
Commercial vehicles not displaying a current registration plate with cab 
card, a valid trip permit, or a temporary vehicle registration are in 
violation and the motor carrier is subject to penalties and fines. 
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Initial Application You may apply for both IRP (Registration) and IFTA at the same time, using the 
same form.  Fully complete and submit Oregon Application for IRP and/or 
IFTA Schedules A, B and C.  First time registrants without mileage 
experience may estimate mileage’s based on the proposed operation of the 
fleet during the year for which registration is required.  The applicant will 
be required to substantiate the estimate either by providing routes, 
destinations, and number of trips or by using the estimated mileage chart. 

In addition to the completed forms, the applicant must provide proof of 
prior registration if the vehicle was registered in another state by the same 
owner. 

If all states to be prorated are not adjacent or bordering one another, the 
carrier must provide an explanation.  
 

Processing Applications are processed in the order in which they are received.  Once 
an application has been processed, an invoice will be mailed to the carrier.  
The carrier has the option of mailing the payment directly to the Salem 
Registration office or by making an appointment at Salem Registration 
office or at one of the field registration offices.  Approved carriers may 
also make their payment by credit card online, they will receive temporary 
credentials online and credentials will be mailed within three business 
days. To find out how to sign up for Oregon’s Trucking Online go to: 

www.oregontruckingonline.com  
 Click on the SIGN up for a PIN tab 

 
Points to remember 

• If applying under a company or firm name, the company name or Assumed 
Business Name must first be registered with the Oregon Corporation 
Commission. 

• If you have an Oregon IFTA account, you must still file a mileage tax report for 
Oregon’s weight-mile tax in addition to your quarterly fuels tax report. 

• Be sure that you have obtained a USDOT number and Federal Motor Carrier 
operating authority if required. 

• Be sure that you have obtained all the applicable operating requirements from 
other jurisdictions (e.g., operating authority). 
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Application for  You may obtain an Oregon Application for IRP and/or IFTA – Schedule A 
Oregon IRP and/or License (Form 735-9908) by calling the Vehicle Registration Unit at  
IFTA   (503) 378-6643 or download the application from the MCTD web site at: 
Schedule A 

All MCTD forms are available at the MCTD web site: 

www.oregontruckingonline.com  
 Click on FORMS tab 

 
 Indicate what type of credentials you are applying for, IRP (International 

Registration Plan) and/or IFTA (International Fuel Tax Agreement). 
 
 Indicate the effective date of the application.  This will be your IFTA 

liability date and you will owe tax returns from this date forward.   
 

 Indicate whether this is a new account, reactivation of a closed or 
cancelled account, new fleet (IRP), address change, or ownership change.  
There is no fee for a name change if the ownership has not changed, or for 
an address or telephone number change.  If the ownership has changed 
(for example, from an individual to a partnership or corporation), check 
the Ownership Change box and provide information requested about the 
previous account. 

 
 Enter your MCTD Account Number.  If requesting a new account, leave 

blank.   If you do not already have a MCTD account with Oregon, you 
must also complete the Application for Motor Carrier Account (Form 
735-9075) and an MCTD account number will be assigned.  Submit this 
form along with your IRP/IFTA Application.   

 
 Enter your Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN).  If you do not 

have a FEIN and you are operating as an individual owner; please obtain 
one by contacting the Internal Revenue Service.  

   
 Enter your Oregon Farm ID Number, if applying for IFTA Farm Rate or 

Prorated Farm Plates.  To qualify for the IFTA Farm rate for your IFTA 
license, more than half of the vehicles you operate under IFTA must have 
Oregon farm registration plates. 

 
 Enter any previous Oregon account number, if applicable. 

 
 Name of Individual Owner, Partners, Corporation, or LLC – enter legal 

name.  If a partnership, all partners must be listed. 
 

 DBA – if operating under a different name, enter assumed business name 
(must be on file with Oregon Secretary of State Corporation Division). 
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 Address and Phone – enter the location address and location phone number.  

Location address can not be a PO Box or Drop Box address. 
 

 Contact Name, Phone, and Email Address – enter the name, phone, and 
email address of the person to contact regarding this application and IRP 
and/or IFTA transactions on this account. 

 
NEW ACCOUNTS/FLEETS: IRP Section 

 
• Mailing address – enter mailing address if different from location address. 

 
• Indicate if previously registered in another jurisdiction and provide 

jurisdiction name and IRP account number. 
 

• If all vehicles on the account will be exempt from Oregon’s weight/mile tax, 
indicate reason so qualified. 

 
• Drug Consortium Name – enter name of consortium, “In-House” if 

maintaining your own program, or “Exempt” if you have no vehicles that 
require a CDL to operate. 

 
NEW ACCOUNTS:  IFTA Section 

• Mailing address – enter mailing address if different from location address. 
 

• Indicate if an IFTA license has ever been obtained from another jurisdiction 
and provide name of jurisdiction. 

 
• Bulk Fuel Storage – list jurisdiction(s) where you maintain bulk fuel storage 

or check box for none. 
 

• Enter number of IFTA qualified vehicles for which you need decals. 
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• Enter license fee from chart below.  If applying for both IRP and IFTA, the fees 

will be calculated on and paid with the IRP Invoice.   
 

NUMBER 
OF 

VEHICLES 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16-20 21 & 

over 

REGULAR 
FEE $280 $295 $310 $325 $340 $355 $370 $385 $400 $415 $430 $445 $460 $475 $490 $525 $575 

FARM FEE $50 Flat Fee  
Note - More than 50% your of IFTA qualified vehicles must be Farm plated  

 
 
IRP and IFTA  
 
• Sign and date applications. 

 
• To obtain only IRP credentials (plates, cabcards and stickers) for your vehicles 

and not IFTA, please forward the completed Apportioned Registration Forms, 
Schedules A, B and C and forward to: 

 
Oregon Department of Transportation, MCTD 
Vehicle Registration Unit 
PO Box 5330 
Salem, OR  97304-0330.   

 
• For IFTA Only, return this application and with payment to: 
 

Oregon Department of Transportation, MCTD 
IFTA Unit 
550 Capitol St NE 
Salem, OR 97301-2530 
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Renewal Renewal applications will be mailed to all Oregon-based carriers 
Applications approximately three (3) months prior to the beginning of the new 

registration year.  Most carriers will receive a combined IFTA/IRP 
Renewal Application.  The renewal applications are computer printouts 
containing the active fleet information, at the time of printing. 
 
It is essential that the applicant review the renewal application for 
accuracy and for omission of pertinent information.  Failure to report 
or include factual data could result in processing delays, assessment of 
incorrect fees, or maintenance of incorrect records. 
 
Renewal applications are to be returned to the Salem Registration office or 
Ports of Entry (by appointment only) for processing by October 31. This 
allows sufficient time to process the renewal information. 
 
Payment must be received prior to December 31 to qualify for a 
“sticker display grace period.”   
 

Please do not mail any funds with your Oregon Apportioned Renewal 
application.  An invoice will be produced and mailed back to you after we 
receive and process your renewal.   

Payment Options:  You have the option of mailing the payment directly to 
the Salem office or by making an appointment at Salem Registration 
office or, by appointment, at one of MCTD’s field registration offices.  
You may also make your payment by credit card online, renewal 
credentials will be mailed within 3 business days.   

Not signed up for Trucking Online?  Find out how to sign up at:    
 www.oregontruckingonline.com  

 Click on the SIGN up for a PIN tab 
 
 
Please review read your invoice carefully!  The jurisdictions listed will 
be the jurisdictions registered.  Some jurisdictions do not allow 
refunds once the registration is issued. 
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Supplemental 
Applications To make changes to your fleet after the original/ renewal application has 

been filed and paid, complete and submit an Oregon Apportioned 
Registration Form Schedule C – Vehicle Addition/Update (FORM 735-
9684). 
 
You must submit a supplemental application to complete any of the  
following transactions. 
 

Adding Vehicle(s) Vehicles may be added to an existing fleet at any time throughout the 
registration year.  The mileage information provided with your original 
application will be used to calculate the fees due. 
 

Deleting Vehicle(s) Vehicles may be deleted from an existing fleet at any time during the 
registration year.  To delete vehicle(s) from your fleet, the cab card(s) and 
plate(s) must accompany the application. 
 

Replacing Vehicle(s) Fleet vehicle(s) may be replaced at any time throughout the  
(Fee Transfer) registration year.  To apply the credits from the previous vehicle(s) to the 

new vehicle(s), the information must be provided on the same application.  
The cab card(s) and plate(s) must be surrendered when the new vehicle’s 
registration becomes effective.  Credits from a deleted vehicle cannot be 
used to increase the weight on another vehicle. 
 

Changing Vehicle(s) You may apply for a change of vehicle information at any time  
Information throughout the registration year.  Changes may include unit number, VIN 

(Vehicle Identification Number) or vehicle type. 
 

Changing Vehicle(s) A change in vehicle weight may be made at any time during the  
Registered Weight registration year.  If the gross vehicle weight is increased, you will be 

billed for any difference in registration fees.  Weight decreases can occur 
only in specific circumstances.  For more information, contact the Salem 
Registration office at (503) 378-6643.  See Oregon Refund Policy in 
Chapter 12.0. 
 

Adding You may add jurisdiction(s) to your prorate fleet account any time  
Jurisdiction(s) during the registration year by completing an Oregon Apportioned 

Registration Forms - Schedule B (FORM 735-9685) and  Schedule C 
(FORM 735-9684).  List  the jurisdiction(s) you require and the estimated 
mileage(s) to be traveled.  Added jurisdictions apply to all equipment in a 
fleet. 
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Replacing Contact the Salem Registration office at (503) 378-6699 to replace  
Credentials lost or stolen credentials. 
 

Fees for replacement credentials are as follows: 
 
Replacement plate with sticker and cab card $2.50 single plate * 

$5.00 pair of plates * 
Replacement sticker and cab card $2.50 single plate * 

$5.00 pair of plates * 
Replacement cab card $2.50 * 
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Completion of It is the applicant’s responsibility to properly complete all forms  
Applications necessary to register vehicles under apportioned registration agreements.  

If a submitted application is incomplete, the applicant will be notified and 
asked to provide the information or to submit a new, revised application.  
Incorrect or partial completion of an application will delay processing. 
 
Oregon Apportioned Application forms and additional information are 
included in the Oregon Prorate Packet.  Prorate packets are available at all 
MCTD registration offices located throughout the state of Oregon.  To 
avoid delay in processing your application, be sure to complete all 
requested information on each form.  Sample forms and detailed 
instructions are included in Appendix B of this guide. 
 
Forms may be accessed through our website:  
 

www.oregontruckingonline.com  
 Click on tab 

 
Options for Mail/Fax: 
Receiving 
Credentials Mail or fax completed application with registration requirements to 

the Salem Registration office.  MCTD will mail or fax the invoice.   
 

ODOT/MCTD  Fax: 503-378-5765 
PO Box 5330 
Salem OR 97304-0330 

 
Temporary Vehicle Registration (TVR) may be issued upon request after 
payment. 
 
Credentials (plates, stickers, and cab cards) will be issued and mailed. 
 

Appointments Applications of ten vehicles or less can be processed in person at any 
MCTD Registration office by appointment only. Call (503) 378-6699 to 
make an appointment at the Salem office. 
 
You may fax your completed application, including supporting 
requirements, to your local registration office to reduce processing time.  
Or, if you cannot fax your application, you may bring the completed 
application and supporting documents at your appointment time. The 
application will be processed while you wait.  Payments must be received 
at the time the credentials are issued. 
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Apportioned Registration Application, Schedules A, B, C must be 
completed when: 
 

• First making application for an Oregon prorate account. 
• Adding a new fleet. 
• Renewing an existing Oregon prorate fleet. 

 
Apportioned Registration Form Schedule B and C must be completed 
when: 
 

• Adding a jurisdiction(s) to a current prorate fleet during the 
registration year. 

 
Apportioned Registration Form Schedule B must be completed when:  

• Adding vehicles  
• Making amendments to existing vehicles. 

 
All forms are available through our web site at: 
 

www.oregontruckingonline.com  
 Click on FORMS tab 



MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION 
Apportioned Registration (Prorate) – Applications and Forms 
 
 

Motor Vehicle Registration Section IV Page 35 
Revised September 2006 

 
Instructions for This application is used if you are applying for the first time,  
Schedule C adding a new fleet or applying for renewal if you did not receive your pre-

printed renewal form. 
 

 
 
 
Remember: 
 

• Proof of payment of the Federal Heavy Vehicle Use Tax (current 
tax period) or a copy of an acceptable bill of sale copy must 
accompany your prorate application, or the application will be 
returned. 

• Lease agreements (Form 735-9084) will be required for certificate 
authority (household goods or passengers). 

• As you select the jurisdictions for registration, remember that you 
may not drop or remove jurisdictions from a fleet during the 
registration year.  However, you may add jurisdictions at any time. 

 
For all applications, please complete the front of the application in the 
following manner, beginning at the top left-hand side. 

 

 
IMPORTANT INFORMATION 

 
WHEN ADDING JURISDICTIONS: to an existing fleet.  Added 
jurisdictions apply to all equipment in a fleet. 
• In the weight section, indicate weights for jurisdictions being 

added. 
• In the addition section (Schedule C), indicate “all equipment.” 
• In the mileage section (Schedule B), provide miles for all 

jurisdictions being added.  If not using chart miles provide an 
explanation using routes, destinations and number of trips for 
the entire fleet. 
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Reg. Year The registration year for which you are applying. 

 
File Number Your Oregon MCTD tax file number. 

 
Fleet Number The two-digit number you have assigned to the fleet.  Do not use letters 

for fleet designation. 
 

Supp Number (ODOT use only) 
 

Effective Date The date the vehicles will be put into operation.  If left blank, the effective 
date will be the date the application is received in our office. 
 

Do You Haul Logs If prorated for Washington and the vehicle is a log truck, indicate  
In Washington? if logs are the only commodities hauled in the State of Washington. 
 
Reason For If Add Jurisdiction, indicate by checking the box.  List of Reason 
Application Action Codes for application reference and use of code in ACTION 

CODE column below. 
 

Name On Account The full legal name under which the individual, partnership, or corporation 
does business.  If you have an Assumed Business Name or corporation, 
the name must exactly match the name as filed with the Oregon 
Corporation Division. 
 
Please include Incorporated (Inc.), Company (Co), Limited Liability 
Company (LLC), Limited (LTD), Limited Liability Partnership (LLP), or 
any other identifying characteristic.  If your company has a Doing 
Business As name (DBA), both names must be on the registration.  List 
the name under which the account is to be established on the second line. 
 

Telephone The Oregon telephone number of the registrant.  It must be  
Number publicly listed in the fleet applicant’s name, and may not forward to 

another jurisdiction. 
 

Mailing Address The address where apportioned credentials and correspondence will be 
mailed. 

 
Fax Number Enter facsimile number, if available.  
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Requesting IFTA Indicate Yes or No.  This option is only available if you have an  
Decals for   valid Oregon IFTA account.  
Vehicles Added?  
 
Contact Person Enter the name, fax number, and e-mail address of the person to contact 

during normal business hours regarding information on the application.  If 
this person is in another state, write that telephone number and name in the 
boxes provided. 
 

If Tax Exempt, If all vehicles in the fleet are exempt from weight-mile tax  
Provide name of  (i.e.under 26,001-pounds or farm-plated), enter the name of the  
Insurance Co. and  insurance company and policy number. 
Policy # 
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Registered Weights List the maximum gross weight for each jurisdiction to be registered, 

which will appear on the registration cab card.  For units not operating at 
the same weights, use a separate application.. 
 

Jurisdiction 
Name 

Max. Reg. 
Weight On Cab 

Card  
Jurisdiction 

Name 
Max. Reg. Weight 

On Cab Card 
Alberta AB 139,992 North Dakota ND 105,500 
Alabama AL 88,000  Nebraska NB 94,000 
Arkansas AR 80,000 Newfoundland NF 137,786 
Arizona AZ 80,000 New Hampshire NH 80,000 
British Columbia BC 139,994 New Jersey NJ 80,000 
California CA 80,000 New Mexico NM 80,000 
Colorado CO 80,000 Nova Scotia NS Varies on # axle 
Connecticut CT NO MAX Nevada NV 80,000 
Dist. of Columbia DC 80,000 New York NY NO MAX 
Delaware DE 80,000  Ohio OH 80,000 
Florida FL 80,000 Oklahoma OK 90,000 
Georgia GA 80,000 Ontario ON 139,992 
Iowa IA NO MAX Oregon OR 105,500 

Idaho ID 130,000  Pennsylvania PA 80,000 
Illinois IL 80,000 Prince Edward Isl. PE 137,788 
Indiana IN 80,000 Quebec QC 137,500 
Kansas KS 85,500 Rhode Island RI 80,000 
Kentucky KY 80,000 South Carolina SC 80,000 
Louisiana LA 88,000 South Dakota SD NO MAX 
Massachusetts MA NO MAX Saskatchewan SK 137,787 
Manitoba MB 137,770 Tennessee TN 80,000 
Maryland MD 80,000 Texas TX 80,000 
Maine ME 100,000 Utah UT 80,000 
Michigan MI 160,001  Virginia VA 80,000 
Minnesota MN NO MAX Vermont VT 80,000 

Missouri MO 80,000 Washington WA 105,500 

Mississippi MS 80,000 Wisconsin WI 80,000 

Montana MT 132,000 West Virginia WV 80,000 

New Brunswick NB 137,786 Wyoming WY 117,000 
North Carolina NC 80,000    
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Contact individual jurisdictions for operations above 80,000 lbs.  Contact 
information is available on the IRP website:  
 
http://www.irponline.org/ 
 
NOTE – Exceeding legal axle weights may require the purchase of an 
overweight or over size permit.  Please contact applicable jurisdictions. 
 
 
 

Equipment The equipment number (10 characters or less) assigned to the  
(Unit) Number power unit or trailer.  Do not use duplicate numbers. 

 
Type Use the abbreviations for the type of vehicle(s) listed on the application. 

 

 
(TR) Tractor - A motor vehicle designed and used exclusively to pull trailers. 
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(TT) Truck/Trailer - A motor vehicle designed and used for carrying a load and 
for pulling trailers with loads. 
 

 
(BS) Bus - A motor vehicle designed and used to carry more than ten passengers. 
 

 
(MT) Mobile Home Toter - A motor vehicle designed and used 
EXCLUSIVELY to pull mobile homes on their own axles. 
 

 
(DT) Dump Truck– A vehicle from which contents are unloaded by tilting the 
truck bed backward with the tailgate open. 
 

 
(TW) Tow Truck - A vehicle designed and used, with a special towing license, to 
tow disabled vehicles. 

 
(TK) Solo Truck - A motor vehicle designed and used to haul property, and NOT 
used to pull a trailer. 
 



MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION 
Apportioned Registration (Prorate) – Applications and Forms 
 
 

Motor Vehicle Registration Section IV Page 42 
Revised September 2006 

 
(HF) Fixed Load Vehicle - A vehicle with a gross weight and lightweight that 
are the same. 
 

Year Enter the last two digits of the model year of the vehicle. 
 
Make Of Vehicle Enter the make of each vehicle according to the following standard vehicle 

abbreviations. 
ABBR. NAME  ABBR. NAME  
AMC AMERICAN MOTORS COM.  COCH COACH  
AMER AMERICAN MOTORS GEN.  CRAN CRANE  
ASMB ASSEMBLE  DACO DACO  
AUDI AUDI  DAEW DAEWOO  
AUST AUSTIN  DAIH DIAHATSU  
AUTC AUTOCAR  DIAR DIAMOND RIO  
AUTO AUTO  DIAT DIAMOND T  
BLUB BLUEBIRD  DITC DITCHWICH  
BUIC BUICK  DODG DODGE  
CATA CATERPILLAR  FIAT FIAT  
CCC CCC  FORD FORD  
CHEV CHEVROLET  FRGH FREIGHTLINER  
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ABBR. NAME  ABBR. NAME  
GLDE GOLDEN EAGLE  OTRB OTRBC  
GMC GENERAL MOTORS COMP  PREV PREVOST  
GROV GROVE  PTRB PETERBILT  
HDSN HODSON  RENK RENKE  
HEND HENDRICKSON  REO REO  
HUND HYUNDAI  SHAN SHAN  
HYST HYSTER  SHOP SHOP BUILT  
IMCO IMCO  SFLR SAFETYLINER  
INTL INTERNATIONAL  SFTW SAFETY TOW  
ISU ISUZU  SILV SILVER EAGLE  
IVEC IVEC  STRG STERLING  
JHNS JOHNS  TEC TEC  
JMSA JMSAL  TERX TEREX  
KASI KASIE  THOM THOMAS  

KIT KIT  TMC TMC  

KW KENWORTH  TRNT TRENT  

LINK LINKBELT  TSE TSE  
LNDR LNDR  TYOY TOYOTA  
MACK MACK  UNIG UNIGLIDE  
MCI MCI  VLVW VOLVO WHITE  
MCIN MOTOR COACH INDUSTR  VOLK VOLKSWAGON  
MERZ MERCEDES-BENZ  WHGM WHITE GMC  
MIFU MITSUBISHI  WHIF WHITE FREIGHTLINER  
NATL NATIONAL  WHIS WHITE WESTERN STAR  
NAVI NAVISTAR/INTL  WHTE WHITE  
NDMC UD  WRKH WORK HORSE  
NISS NISSAN  WSTR WESTERN STAR  
NUVN NUVAN  ZAMP ZAMPELLA  
OSHK OSHKOSH     
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Vehicle Enter the complete vehicle identification number (serial number)  
Identification as shown on the vehicle title. 
Number 

 
Fuel List appropriate code for the fuel type of the vehicle: 

D – Diesel P - Propane 
G – Gasoline 
 

 
Empty Weight Enter the unloaded weight of the vehicle.  If the vehicle is a power unit, do 

not include the weight of the trailer if used in combination. 
 

Axles or Seats Enter the number of axles for the each individual unit, not the 
combination.  If the vehicle is a bus, enter the number of seats, including 
the driver’s seat. 
 
 

Date Of Purchase Enter the month and year the vehicle was purchased by the current owner. 
 

Purchase Price Enter the actual price of the vehicle paid by the current owner.  DO 
include the cost of accessories or modifications attached to the vehicle and 
the Federal Excise Tax.  DO NOT include any trade-in amount, sales tax 
or use tax. 
 

CO (Colorado) If registering a vehicle for Colorado, indicate Yes (Y) or No (N) as to 
whether the vehicle will operate 10,000 miles or less in all states annually. 
 

QC (Quebec) If registering a vehicle for Quebec, indicate the number of axles used in 
the vehicle combination. 
 

Plate Number Enter the current Oregon Apportioned plate number.  (Applicable only if 
plate is current.) 
 

Oregon Declared Tax Weight Information 
 
Equipment  Enter the equipment number of the power unit. 
(Unit) Number 
 
Odometer Enter the odometer reading of the vehicle, if known. 
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Fee Basis Enter the appropriate code for the type of weight-mile tax reporting. 

 
1 - Monthly Mileage 2 - Flat Monthly 4 - Quarterly Mileage 
 

Body Type Use the following codes to indicate the vehicle body type for weight-miles 
tax purposes: 

 
B Passenger Bus  M Mixer 
C Chip Truck  R Vehicle Carrier 
D Dump Truck  S Livestock Truck 
F Flatbed  T Tank 
G Garbage  V Van 
H Mobile Home Toter  W Wrecker 
K Self-Loading Logger  X Fixed Load, Crane, Well Driller 
L Short Logger or Mule Train  Y Lowboy 
1L Long Logger  Z Other 

 
Solo The maximum loaded weight of a single unit (truck) OR the weight 

allowable for a power unit operating with the trailer up (decked) or 
without the trailer attached (bobtail).  The MINIMUM allowable solo 
weight (decked) is the declared weight of the combination minus the 
maximum legal weight upon the trailer axles. 
 

Combination The weight of the vehicle plus the weight of the maximum load the 
vehicle will transport.  More than one combination may be declared if the 
vehicle operates at different configurations. 
 
NOTE:  Declared weights are subject to audit and approval by MCTD.  If 
the combined weight is in excess of  80,000 pounds, an Oregon Special 
Transportation Permit (Over Dimension) must be obtained.  All over size 
and over weight operations in Oregon require the Special Transportation 
Permit.   
 

Number Of Axles Indicate numbers of axles for each declared weight over 80,000 lbs. 



MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION 
Apportioned Registration (Prorate) – Applications and Forms 
 
 

Motor Vehicle Registration Section IV Page 46 
Revised September 2006 

 
 
Deletions Plates And Cab Cards Must Be Returned 

 
Equipment The assigned equipment number of the vehicle being withdrawn. 
(Unit) Number 

 
Vehicle The complete vehicle identification number (serial number) as shown 
Identification on the cab card. 
Number 

 
Apportioned Plate The apportioned plate number of the vehicle as shown on the cab  
Number card. 
 
Certification 

 
Signature The application must be signed and dated by an authorized company 

representative.  An agent may sign the application if a power of attorney is 
on file with MCTD.  Unsigned applications will be returned. 
 



MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION 
Apportioned Registration (Prorate) – Applications and Forms 
 
 

Motor Vehicle Registration Section IV Page 47 
Revised September 2006 

 
Instructions for Complete the top portion of the Apportioned Registration  
Schedule B Form Schedule B (FORM 735-9685) as the information appears at the top 

of the Schedule C. 
 
The mileage-reporting period is July through June of the previous year.  
Leave this space blank if you are estimating miles. 
 
Report all miles operated during the mileage reporting period.  Check the 
jurisdiction(s) in which you want to prorate.  List estimated miles in the 
“estimated miles” column if no actual miles were accrued during mileage 
reporting period.  
 
MILEAGE MUST BE PROVIDED FOR EACH JURISDICTION 
MARKED. 
 
NOTE:  If estimated miles are used, the explanation must include 
destination, route of travel, and the anticipated number of trips for the 
remainder of the year ending December 31.  If you are unsure of this 
information, use the estimated mileage chart. 
 
Multiply mileage figures taken from the estimated chart by the number of 
vehicles in the fleet.  If routes and destinations are used in determination 
of estimated miles, please account for all vehicles in fleet. 
 
Schedule B must be signed by authorized company representative. 
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Estimated mileage This estimated mileage chart was developed from the total actual  
Chart miles all prorated vehicles operated.  The result is the average mileage that 

an Oregon-based vehicle operates in a year. 
 
Use this chart if:  

• Applying for the first time (use chart as listed) 
• Expanding their operations by setting up a new fleet (use chart as 

listed) 
• Renewing their fleet and had no actual mileage (use chart as listed) 
• Adding jurisdictions to an existing fleet 

 
If using estimated miles from this chart, multiply mileage figures by the 
number of vehicles being added or renewed. 
 

Use for 2007 registration year 
Jurisdiction Miles Jurisdiction Miles Jurisdiction Miles 

AB Alberta 124 MB Manitoba 4 OH Ohio 900
AK Alaska NR MD Maryland 127 OK Oklahoma 997
AL Alabama 1064 ME Maine 52 ON Ontario 113
AR Arkansas 1194 MI Michigan 276 OR Oregon 16735
AZ Arizona 2295 MN Minnesota 531 PA Pennsylvania 768
BC British Columb 268 MO Missouri 930 PE Prince Edwrd Is 3
CA California 14640 MS Mississippi 887 QC Prov of Quebec 36
CO Colorado 1618 MT Montana 965 RI Rhode Island 21
CT Connecticut 108 MX Mexico NR SC South Carolina 804
DC District of Col 1 NB New Brunswick 8 SD South Dakota 173
DE Delaware 20 NC North Carolina 1708 SK Saskatchewan 12
FL Florida 2187 ND North Dakota 206 TN Tennessee 2042
GA Georgia 1653 NE Nebraska 1119 TX Texas 3418
IA Iowa 817 NF Newfoundland 9 UT Utah 1870
ID Idaho 2065 NH New Hampshire 52 VA Virginia 1202
IL Illinois 1010 NJ New Jersey 207 VT Vermont 27
IN Indiana 687 NM New Mexico 1283 WA Washington 6290
KS Kansas 464 NS Nova Scotia 2 WI Wisconsin 220
KY Kentucky 559 NT NW Territories NR WV West Virginia 199
LA Louisiana 791 NV Nevada 1741 WY Wyoming 1705
MA Massachusetts 105 NY New York 330 YT Yukon Territory NR
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*NOTE:  Estimated mileage used MUST be for a comparable period of 
time as the actual or estimated miles already on an established fleet. 
 
For example:  A new account with one vehicle is established on April 1 of 
the previous year.  There are actual miles operated and reported for 
jurisdictions on the renewal for 3 months (April through June).  Using the 
Estimated Mileage Chart to add Montana effective May 1 would be 307 
miles (3/12  x 1,229). 
 

 
 

IMPORTANT INFORMATION 
Please use these codes when processing one of the following transactions on a 
Schedule C, VEHICLE ADDITION/UPDATE FORM.  
 
(A) – ADD VEHICLE 
 
(T) – ADD VEHICLE WITH FEE TRANSFER: the registration fees for most 
jurisdictions may be transferred from one vehicle to a like vehicle being added to the 
same fleet within a registration year. 
 
Complete the deletion section to indicate from which vehicle fees are to be transferred. 
 
NOT ALL JURISDICTIONS ALLOW FEE TRANSFERS.  See Chapter 12.0 for 
information on jurisdictions that will not transfer registration fees. 
 
(W) – WEIGHT CHANGE: increase in registration weight for Oregon or other 
jurisdictions. Complete the addition section listing only those equipment numbers 
having weight increases on this application. 
 
In the registered weight section, indicate the new weight for the appropriate 
jurisdiction(s).  DO NOT EXCEED THE MAXIMUM ALLOWABLE WEIGHTS. 
 
(P) – REPLACEMENT PLATE: includes sticker and cab card. 
 
(S) – REPLACEMENT STICKER: includes cab card. 
 
(C)– REPLACEMENT CAB CARD 
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Application To prevent processing delays, please take the time to carefully check  
Checklist your application.  Did you: 
 

 Provide the correct FILE and fleet number on all pages 
of the application? 

 Indicate the registration year and effective date in the 
appropriate boxes? 

 Check the “Type of Operation” on the application? 

 Attach copy of proof of payment of the Federal Heavy 
Vehicle Use Tax for vehicles weighing 55,000 pounds 
or more? 

 Provide a contact person and telephone number? 

 Provide the Oregon business telephone number if the 
contact phone number is out of state? 

 Make sure that all vehicle information is accurate and 
legible and the complete vehicle identification number 
(VIN) is provided? 

 Complete the weight section for all registered states? 

 Complete the Oregon declared tax weight information 
section? 

 Complete requirement for consortium and sign the 
application(s) where indicated? 

 Provide a detailed explanation of estimated miles or 
indicate that you used the mileage chart? 

 Write miles next to jurisdictions and “X” box if you 
want to prorate? 

 Keep copies for your records? 
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Oregon Refund REFUNDS of apportioned registration fees are made only for  
Policy duplicate or incorrect payments, overpayment of billed fees or as a result 

of an audit.  In these circumstances, only the portion of the registration fee 
retained by Oregon is refunded.  Refunds or credits of other jurisdictions’ 
fees must be obtained directly from those jurisdictions. 
 
CREDIT for apportioned registration fees is provided through fee transfers 
(power units only).  When you withdraw a vehicle from a fleet, you may 
transfer the remaining registration to a like vehicle being added to the 
same fleet (within the same registration year) on the same application. 
 

Non-Refundable You will be charged partial fees on the new vehicle if you are  
Excise Taxes registered in BRITISH COLUMBIA, MAINE, MONTANA, UTAH, 

SASKATCHEWAN, MANITOBA, ONTARIO or WEST VIRGINIA.  
These jurisdictions collect a non-refundable “excise” tax for vehicles that 
have been withdrawn and the fees transferred.  The license fee portion of 
their fees is transferable.  ARIZONA, CALIFORNIA, MANITOBA, 
NEW BRUNSWICK and QUEBEC recharge partial registration fees. 
 
When vehicles are deleted from a paid original application prior to the 
commencement of the new registration year, all new year credentials 
(plate(s), sticker(s), and current cab card) must be surrendered on or 
before December 31 in order for a refund to be issued. 
 
Note: Oregon does not refund amounts under $5. 

 
Refunds From Applications for refund of apportioned registration fees for other  
Other Jurisdictions IRP jurisdictions must be handled directly between the Oregon-based 

carrier and the individual jurisdictions in accordance with their statutes. 
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Temporary Vehicle When permanent credentials cannot be immediately issued, MCTD  
Registration (TVR) may issue temporary vehicle registration (TVR).  TVRs are issued only 

when registration requirements have been met and fees have been paid.  
This permit is issued for a period of sixty (60) days. 
 
TVRs can be acquired via fax or picked up at the counter.  Please inform 
us if a TVR is required 
 
TEMPORARY VEHICLE REGISTRATION IS INVALID IF ALTERED 
IN ANY WAY. 
 

Commercial Trip Oregon trip permits are available for vehicles that either do not  
Permit have current registration (expired plates or no plate) or that do not have 

Oregon listed on the vehicle registration.  Trip permits cost $21 for 10 
days and must be obtained prior to operation. 
 
If you have a current Oregon plate, you may purchase trip permits from 
other jurisdictions for temporary operation.  Some jurisdictions also offer 
trip permits for vehicles having no current registration plate. 
 
Other jurisdictions may also have additional requirements.  Check before 
operating.  Refer to the Oregon Apportioned Customer Manual or the IRP 
Website for contact information.   
http://www.irponline.org/ 
 
 

JURISDICTION 
COST OF TRIP PERMIT (SUBJECT TO 

CHANGE) 

MUST BE 
OBTAINED PRIOR 

TO ENTRY 

Alberta Varies by distance and net weight – 3 days No 

Alaska 
$350 for 30-day permit. Purchased at Port of Entry 

24 hrs a day. Info: (907) 345-7846. Yes 

Alabama $20 for 7 days Yes 

Arkansas $33 for 72 hours No 

Arizona 
Varies based upon mileage and number of axles for 

96 hours No 

British Columbia 1/12 of annual registration fee for vehicle weight No 

California $45 power unit for 4 days, Yes 
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JURISDICTION 
COST OF TRIP PERMIT (SUBJECT TO 

CHANGE) 

MUST BE 
OBTAINED PRIOR 

TO ENTRY 

Colorado $60 to $80 depending on weight for 72 hours No 

Connecticut $15 for 72 hours Yes 

Delaware $15 for 72 hours Yes 

Dist. of Columbia Letter of Authorization only Yes 

Florida $30 for 10 days Yes 

Georgia $30 plus agency fees for 72 hours Yes 

Iowa $10 for 72 hours Yes 

Idaho 
$30 single, $60 combined, 

$30 IFTA for 120 hours No 

Illinois $15 for 72 hours Yes 

Indiana $15 for 72 hours Yes 

Kansas $26 for 72 hours No 

Kentucky $40 for 10 days Yes 

Louisiana $25 for 48 hours No 

Massachusetts $15 for 72 hours Yes 

Manitoba $6 minimum plus fee based on weight/distance No 

Maryland $15 for 72 hours Yes 

Maine 
$25 IRP, $50 IFTA for 72 hours; 

$3-$15 O/L One Trip (5 days max.) Yes 

Michigan $20 for 72 hours Yes 

Minnesota $15 for 120 hours Yes 

Missouri $10 for 72 hours Yes 

Mississippi $25 for 72 hours No 
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JURISDICTION 
COST OF TRIP PERMIT (SUBJECT TO 

CHANGE) 

MUST BE 
OBTAINED PRIOR 

TO ENTRY 

Montana 

$20/Under 200 miles for 72 hours/46,000 – 80,000 
lbs. 

$30/200 - 400 miles for 72 hours 

$40/Over 400 miles for 72 hours 

No 

New Brunswick $23 unladen; $81 truck; $161 truck/trailer (5 days) Yes 

North Carolina $15 for 10 days Yes 

North Dakota $20 for 72 hours No 

Nebraska $25 for 72 hours Yes 

Newfoundland 
$50 per laden solo vehicle 

$100 per laden combination vehicle 
Yes 

New Hampshire $15 for 72 hours Yes 

New Jersey $25 for 72 hours Yes 

New Mexico Varies upon mileage and vehicle weight for 48hrs No 

Nova Scotia 
$50 for 30 days for laden solo vehicle 

$100 for 30 days for a combination vehicle 
Yes 

Nevada $5 plus 15 cents per mile for 24 hours, $30 IFTA Yes 

New York $15 for 72 hours Yes 

Ohio $15 plus service fee for 72 hours Yes 

Oklahoma $12 for 72 hours Yes 

Ontario 
$ 75 for 10 days for a laden solo vehicle 

$132 for 10 days for a combination vehicle 
Yes 

Oregon $21 for10 days, $9 pass + mlg tax for 10 days Yes 

Pennsylvania $15 for 72 hours Yes 

Prince Edward Is. 
$75 for 5 days for laden solo vehicle 

$150 for 5 days for a combination of vehicles 
No 

Quebec $38 for 10 days No 

Rhode Island $25 for 72 hours Yes 
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JURISDICTION 
COST OF TRIP PERMIT (SUBJECT TO 

CHANGE) 

MUST BE 
OBTAINED PRIOR 

TO ENTRY 
South Carolina $15 for 72 hours (each unit) Yes 

South Dakota $15 for 72 hours Yes 

Saskatchewan Varies by weight and distance for 24 hours Yes 

Tennessee $30 for 72 hours Yes 

Texas $25 for 72 hours, $50 for 144 hours Yes 

Utah $20 for 96 hours (each unit) No 

Vermont $15 for 72 hours Yes 

Virginia $15 for 10 days Yes 

Washington $15 for 3 days, $25 special fuel Yes 

Wisconsin $15 for 72 hours Yes 

West Virginia $24 for 5 days Yes 

Wyoming 
$20 single unit, $40 combination, 

$15 IFTA for 96 hours 
No 

 
Temporary Pass An Oregon motor carrier operating vehicles with a combined  
(Oregon Highway weight of more than 26,000 pounds must purchase a temporary  
Use Tax) pass ($9.00 + weight mileage tax), in addition to a Commercial Trip 

Permit, prior to operation.  
 
Hunter’s Permit A hunter’s permit is a permit issued to an owner-operator (lessor) 
Unladen Weight who terminates a lease and has to surrender his apportioned license 
Permit plate and cab card to the carrier (lessee).  This permit enables a vehicle or 

combination of vehicles to use the highways in all jurisdictions for the 
purpose of locating a new job. 
 
A “registrant-only”needs to surrender the plate in exchange for a hunter’s 
permit in order to travel within and outside of the base jurisdiction. 
 
The hunter’s permit is valid for vehicles operating at unladen weight only 
and is non-transferable.  The vehicles are also exempt from paying 
Oregon’s weight-mile tax, if 26,000-pounds unladen weight or less. 
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The Oregon Hunter’s Permit is valid for ten days at a cost of $21.  The 
hunter’s permit is valid for the power unit or power unit and trailer 
(unladen).  Vehicles over 26,000 pounds will also need to obtain a 
temporary pass for weight-mile tax purposes. 
 

Oversize/ Any vehicle, combination of vehicles, or load whose size or weight  
Overweight is not provided for in Oregon laws must have an oversize or  
Over Dimension overweight permit.  Special transportation permits for Oregon 
Permit operations may be obtained by contacting ODOT-MCTD OD Permits Unit 

at (503) 373-0000. 
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Source Documents Every carrier who registers vehicles under the IRP must maintain records 
to substantiate the actual miles travelled and other information used to 
determine registration fees for all vehicles in the IRP fleets. 
 

Vehicle Costs Acceptable documentation to support a vehicle’s purchase price and date 
of purchase include a purchase invoice and bill of sale.  For leased units, 
the lease agreement (if the purchase price is stated in the agreement) or 
other proof of the fair market value of the vehicle at the beginning of the 
lease are required.  Costs of any capital additions and modifications made 
to the vehicle within 30 days of the purchase must be included in the 
purchase price. 
 

Driver’s Trip An acceptable source document to record distances is a “Vehicle  
Records Trip Record” (VTR).  The driver completes this document for each trip 

made by a vehicle in an IRP fleet, including owner–operated vehicles and 
leased vehicles.  The most common VTRs are the driver’s trip sheets and 
driver’s logs.  Other similar records are acceptable provided they contain 
the following basic information: 
 

1. Registrant’s name 
2. Date of trip (beginning and ending) 
3. Trip origin and destination 
4. Routes (highway numbers) travelled 
5. Beginning and ending odometer/hubodometer readings of the trip 
6. Distance by jurisdiction 
7. Total trip distance 
8. Vehicle unit numbers, for both power unit and trailer(s) 
9. Fleet number (if registrant has more than one fleet) 
10. Driver’s name and signature 

 
Trip Permits Copies of all trip permits obtained for operations by prorated vehicles 

must be available on file.  The distances traveled under these permits are 
to be reported on the next application for IRP registration. 
 

Monthly Summaries The VTR information should be summarized on a monthly basis.  The 
summary should contain information by individual vehicle (beginning and 
ending odometer/hubodometer readings, individual trip details, distance 
by jurisdiction, total distance traveled) and by fleet (distance by 
jurisdiction, total distance). 
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Yearly Summaries A yearly summary for each July 1 through June 30 reporting period should 
show the total fleet distance, broken down by month for each jurisdiction. 
 

Other Records Copies of the forms filed for annual registration (IRP Application, 
Supplemental Applications, Mileage Schedules, etc.) must be retained in 
the carrier’s files for audit purposes. 
 

Records Retention All operational and mileage records, supporting the application  
Period and supplements, must be retained for a period of three (3) years after the 

close of the registration year. 
 
Vehicle cost and weight records must be maintained for all vehicles that 
are currently registered in the fleet.  These records must be kept for a 
period of three (3) years after the close of the registration year. 
 
Reminder:  In addition to the above IRP record retention requirements, 
the carrier must maintain all records pertaining to its operations as 
required under ORS 825.515 and OAR 740-055-0120. 
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INTERNATIONAL REGISTRATION PLAN

WHAT IS THE IRP

♦  International Registration Plan.

♦  Reciprocal agreement to facilitate licensing of commercial vehicles:

•  Provides registration for commercial vehicles that operate interstate.

•  Carrier registers for all jurisdictions operated in through a single base jurisdiction.

•  Registration fees are then apportioned for each jurisdiction based on the

percentage of total miles the fleet operates in each jurisdiction.

•  To operate in other jurisdictions, motor carriers must either register vehicles

through the IRP or purchase trip permits from those jurisdictions.

IRP Basing Requirements

♦  Must have an established place of business in Oregon:

•  Physical structure open during normal business hours.

•  Publicly listed telephone number located in place of business.

•  Person(s) conducting fleet business (see new IRP requirements).

♦  Must accrue miles in the base jurisdiction by the fleet.

♦  Must maintain records or have records available at the location in the base

jurisdiction.
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Qualified Motor Vehicles

♦  Commercial vehicle intended for use in 2 or more IRP jurisdictions.

♦  Power unit with 2 axles and GVW in excess of 26,000 lbs.

♦  Power unit with 3 or more axles regardless of weight.

♦  Vehicles used in combination that exceed 26,000 lbs.

Registration Process for IRP

♦  Registration is annual.

♦  Renewal information sent to registrants based on current information.

♦  Registrant returns the application with corrections, if needed.

♦  Current registration is based on the operations of the carrier's prorated fleet in the

previous July-June time period.
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IRP LICENSEE RESPONSIBILITIES

Record Retention

•  Registrant is required to preserve the records upon which the apportioned

application is based.

•  Mileage records are required to be maintained for the current application year plus

the three preceding mileage years.

Acceptable Source Documents

A standardized Individual Vehicle Distance Record (IVDR) is suggested.  Mileage
records shall contain the following information and be summarized monthly by vehicle
and jurisdiction:

Date of trip (starting and ending);

Trip origin and destination;

Route of travel;

•  Intermediate trip stops

Beginning and ending odometer or hubometer reading of the trip;

Total trip miles;

Distance by jurisdiction;

Unit number or vehicle identification number;

Vehicle fleet number;

Registrant's name;

Trailer number; and

Driver's signature and/or name.

Accountable Miles

In recording the actual mileage of an apportioned vehicle, the registrant must record all

movement (interstate and intrastate) included loaded, empty, deadhead and/or bobtail

miles, even while operating with trip permits or on private roads.
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INSURANCE & BOND REQUIREMENTS 
 
 

 
Insurance 
 
Oregon statutes require combined single limit insurance coverage in the amount of 
$750,000. 
 
Proof of coverage (Form E) must be submitted by the insurance company.  The 
name of the motor carrier must match the name registered with ODOT. 
 
If the insurance is canceled, a new Form E must be filed showing continuous 
coverage to avoid suspension. 
 
 
 
 
Bonds and Deposits 
 
Oregon state law requires that carriers file a bond with the Department of 
Transportation as a guarantee of payment of fees and taxes. 
 
This bond may be in the form of: 
 
 Cash 
 Surety bonds 
 
Surety bonds are the most common, and can be obtained from most insurance 
companies. 
 
If you choose to deposit cash with the agency, interest will be paid.  The full amount 
of the bond must be deposited in order to avoid suspension.  
 
To obtain more information about bond requirements, including waivers and bond 
reductions, please contact the Bond Unit at (503) 378-4823. 
 



SUSPENSION & REINSTATEMENT

SUSPENSION

What causes suspensions?
– Reports not filed.
– Taxes or fees not paid.
– Insurance not filed or canceled.
– Balances not paid timely.
– Bond not filed.

How do you know you're suspended?
We will send you a letter 10 days before the proposed suspension date.  This
letter will give the reasons for the proposed suspension, and provide directions
for correcting the deficiency.

If the deficiencies are not corrected by the suspension date, we will send you
another letter notifying you that your account has been suspended.

REINSTATEMENT

How to Reinstate Your Account?
Once you have satisfied all of the conditions needed to correct the deficiency
(filed insurance, paid fees, etc.), you may reinstate your account.

Call Salem, come in to a Port-of-Entry, or go to a DMV office that has a Motor
Carrier Transportation Program phone.  Bring any necessary documents and the
$25 reinstatement fee plus $5 per vehicle.  Your account will be immediately
reinstated if all requirements have been met.

For information about reinstatement, please call (503) 378-6699.

CLOSING YOUR ACCOUNT

When you decide to close your business, you should contact the MCTD in writing.
You should be prepared to return all Oregon plates and Oregon Weight receipts
so your tax liability for these plates and receipts may be terminated.

File tax reports through the date that you returned or cancelled Oregon plates
and Receipts to avoid any penalties.  Include a letter requesting closure of your
account and a refund of your bond cash deposit (if any) as well as any
outstanding credits.

Keep us informed of any address changes until your account has been officially
audited and closed.  Your account cannot be closed until all tax liabilities have
been satisfied.

KEEP YOUR RECORDS FOR THREE YEARS.
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OREGON DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
 
 

MOTOR CARRIER EDUCATION MANUAL 
 
 

 
 

Trucking companies must have knowledge in all areas of regulations 
in order to fulfill their regulatory requirements.  This material provides 
concise and relevant information to your business and is provided to 
you by the Oregon Department of Transportation, Motor Carrier 
Transportation Division.   
 

This section describes International Fuel Tax Agreement 
(IFTA). 
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What is IFTA The International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) is an agreement 
between member jurisdictions to simplify the reporting of motor fuel 
use taxes.  One tax return is filed for fuel consumed in all member 
jurisdictions.  The State of Oregon implemented its IFTA program in 
1994.  It is administered by the Motor Carrier Transportation 
Division (MCTD) of the Oregon Department of Transportation 
(ODOT). 
 
Each jurisdiction assigns its own tax rates to the various types of 
fuel.  Each jurisdiction may define what constitutes taxable activity 
and what is tax-exempt.  For more information, motor carriers are 
encouraged to contact those jurisdictions in which they intend to 
operate.  For a complete list of the member jurisdictions, contact the 
MCTD IFTA Unit, or access the IFTA, Inc. web site at 
www.iftach.org for jurisdiction contact information. 

Definitions 
 

 

Applicant A person in whose name the uniform application for licensing is 
filed with Oregon for the purpose of motor fuel tax reporting under 
the provisions of the IFTA. 
 

Base Jurisdiction The member jurisdiction where qualified motor vehicles are based 
for vehicle registration purposes; and  
 
Where operational control and records are maintained or can be 
made available; and  
 
Where some travel is accrued by qualified motor vehicles within the 
fleet.  The commissioners of affected jurisdictions may allow 
consolidation of fleets based in two or more jurisdictions. 

Farm Rate To qualify for the Farm rate for your IFTA license, more than half 
of the vehicles you operate under IFTA must have Oregon farm 
registration plates.  Use the following chart to determine if you 
qualify for the Farm rate. 

 
Total number of IFTA-
Qualified vehicles. 

 
1 

 
2 

 
3 
 

 
4 
 

 
5

 
6 
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Number of those vehicles that 
must be farm-plated in order to 
qualify for the farm rate. 
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In-Jurisdiction 
Distance 

The total number of miles operated by a licensee’s qualified motor 
vehicles within a jurisdiction.  In-Jurisdiction miles do not include 
miles operated on a fuel tax trip permit or miles exempted from 
fuel taxation by a jurisdiction. 
 

Jurisdiction A state of the United States, the District of Columbia, a province 
or territory of Canada, or a state of the United Mexican States. 
 

Lessee The party acquiring the use of equipment with or without a driver 
from another. 
 

Lessor The party granting the use of equipment with or without a driver 
to another. 
 

Licensee A person who holds an uncancelled Agreement license issued by 
the base jurisdiction. 
 

License Fee Oregon IFTA License Fee is determined by the number of 
vehicles being operated under IFTA. Carriers qualifying for the 
farm rate will pay a fixed amount, regardless of the number of 
vehicles operated under IFTA as long as more than half of those 
IFTA qualified vehicles are Oregon farm-plated. 
 

Motor Fuels All fuels placed in the supply tank of qualified motor vehicles. 
 

Person An individual, corporation, partnership, association, trust, or other 
entity. 
 

Qualified Motor 
Vehicle 

A motor vehicle used, designed, or maintained for transportation 
of persons or property and: 
 

• Having two axles and gross vehicle weight or 
registered gross vehicle weight exceeding 26,000 
pounds; or 

• Having three or more axles regardless of weight; or 
• Is used in combination, when the weight of such 

combination exceeds 26,000 pounds gross vehicle or 
registered gross vehicle weight.  Qualified Motor 
Vehicle does not include recreational vehicles. 
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Recreational  
Vehicle 

Vehicles such as motor homes, pickup trucks with attached campers, 
and buses when used exclusively for personal pleasure by an 
individual.  In order to qualify as a recreational vehicle, the vehicle 
shall not be used in connection with any business endeavor. 
 

Reporting Period A period of time consistent with the calendar quarterly periods of 
January 1 - March 31, April 1 – June 30, July 1 – September 30, and 
October 1 – December 31. 
 

Total Distance    All miles traveled during the reporting period by every qualified 
vehicle in the licensee’s fleet, regardless of whether the miles are 
considered taxable by a jurisdiction.  
 

Weight The maximum weight of the loaded vehicle or combination of 
vehicles during the registration period. 
 

Application Any person who is based in a member jurisdiction and operates a 
qualified motor vehicle(s) in two or more member jurisdictions is 
required to obtain an IFTA license unless an election is made to 
satisfy motor fuels use tax obligations by purchasing a temporary 
fuel tax permit on a trip-by-trip basis. 
 
To obtain an Oregon-based IFTA license, you must fully complete 
an “Oregon Application for IRP and/or IFTA – Schedule A” (Form 
735-9908).  You may apply for both IFTA and IRP (International 
Registration Plan) using the same application.    
 

IFTA forms are available at the MCTD web site: 

                www.OregonTruckingOnline.com 
 

 Click on FORMS tab  
 
     Or 
 

 Call the Oregon IFTA Unit at 503-373-1634 
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Oregon as the Base 
Jurisdiction 

A carrier must qualify as an Oregon-based carrier in order to obtain 
Oregon IFTA credentials.  In order to base a fleet in Oregon, a motor 
carrier must have: 
 

1. An “established place of business” in Oregon, which 
means a physical structure owned, leased, or rented by 
the fleet registrant designated by a street number or road 
location; 

2. A publicly listed Oregon telephone number listed in the 
fleet registrant’s name and a person to contact during 
normal business hours, both located in the physical 
structure described in #1 above; 

3. Mileage accrued in Oregon by the fleet; and 
4. Operational records of the fleet maintained or made 

available. 
 
Owner operators who do not meet the requirements listed in #1 and 
#2 above may qualify as Oregon-based by having an Oregon 
Commercial Drivers License (CDL), a publicly listed cell phone 
number, and may use an agent who is reasonably accessible during 
normal business hours (a Power of Attorney must be on file with 
MCTD). 
 
Exception:  A carrier based in a jurisdiction that is not a member of 
IFTA may apply to Oregon for a license.  If accepted, the carrier 
agrees to make operational records available for audit in Oregon, or 
pay reasonable per diem travel expenses for auditors to audit records 
located outside of Oregon. 
 

License As your base jurisdiction, Oregon will issue one IFTA license to the 
qualified applicant.  The licensee is required to make copies of the 
IFTA license so that one copy can be carried in each qualified motor 
vehicle.  A vehicle will not be considered to be operating under 
IFTA unless there is a copy of the license in the vehicle.  Failure to 
display a copy of the IFTA license may subject the vehicle operator 
to the purchase of a fuel use trip permit or citation or both.  The 
IFTA license is valid for the current calendar year, and expires each 
December 31. 
 

Change of Address Notify MCTD when there is a change of address or telephone 
number. 
There is no fee for these changes.  Carriers who have signed up to 
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use Oregon’s Trucking Online, may also change their company’s 
address on line, using:  www.OregonTruckingOnline.com  
 

Change of  
Ownership 
 

If there is a change in ownership of the licensee, you must submit an 
new application, with payment, for a new IFTA license for the new 
entity.  The IFTA account for the original entity should be closed if 
it is no longer operating.  A separate license fee is required for each 
entity if they both operate under IFTA during the same calendar 
year.  Examples of ownership changes include, but are not limited 
to, the following: 
 

• Individual to Partnership 
• Partnership to Individual 
• Individual to Corporation 
• Partnership to Corporation 
• Partnership to LLC 
• Corporation to LLC 

 
In most cases, a new Federal Employer Identification Number 
(FEIN) is required by the Internal Revenue Service, and must be 
included on the Oregon IFTA license application. 
 

Renewal Current IFTA licensees will be sent a renewal application each year 
for a new IFTA license and decals.  For most motor carrier’s the IRP 
and IFTA renewals will be combined.  You may opt to renew IFTA 
separately by contacting the Oregon IFTA unit at 503-373-1634.   
 
If there has been a change in ownership, you may use the renewal 
application to close the IFTA account for the original entity, and to 
request an application form for credentials for the new entity.  You 
will also need to complete a new Application for Motor Carrier 
Permit (Form 735-9075) with the new ownership information.   
 
The grace period for operating with IFTA decals from the previous 
year is from January 1 through February of the renewal year.  The 
grace period is only for carriers who are renewing and is to allow 
time for carriers to place the new year’s credentials in vehicles.  If 
you do not renew your IFTA license by December 31, you may be 
subject to citation if you operate in other jurisdictions on decals from 
the previous year during the grace period. 
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Application for 
Oregon IRP and/or 
IFTA 

You may obtain an Oregon Application for IRP and/or IFTA – 
Schedule A License (Form 735-9908) by calling the IFTA Unit at 
 (503) 373-1634 or download the application from the MCTD web 
site at:  
All MCTD forms are available at the MCTD web site: 

www.OregonTruckingOnline.com  
 

 Click on FORMS tab  
     Or 

 Call the Oregon IFTA Unit at 503-373-1634 
 

 Indicate what type of credentials you are applying for, IRP 
(International Registration Plan) and/or IFTA (International 
Fuel Tax Agreement). 

 
 Indicate the effective date of the application.  This will be 

your IFTA liability date and you will owe tax returns from 
this date forward.   

 
 Indicate whether this is a new account, reactivation of a 

closed or cancelled account, new fleet (IRP), address change, 
or ownership change.  There is no fee for a name change if 
the ownership has not changed, or for an address or telephone 
number change.  If the ownership has changed (for example, 
from an individual to a partnership or corporation), check the 
Ownership Change box and provide information requested 
about the previous account. 

 
 Enter your MCTD Account Number.  If requesting a new 

account, leave blank.   If you do not already have a MCTD 
account with Oregon, you must also complete the 
Application for Motor Carrier Account (Form 735-9075) and 
an MCTD account number will be assigned.  Submit this 
form along with your IRP/IFTA Application.   

 
 Enter your Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN).  

If you do not have a FEIN and you are operating as an 
individual owner; please obtain one by contacting the 
Internal Revenue Service.  

   
 Enter your Oregon Farm ID Number, if applying for IFTA 

Farm Rate or Prorated Farm Plates.  To qualify for the IFTA 
Farm rate for your IFTA license, more than half of the 



INTERNATIONAL FUEL TAX AGREEMENT – Application, License, 
Decals 
 
 

International Fuel Tax Agreement Section V Page 8 
Revised October 2008 

vehicles you operate under IFTA must have Oregon farm 
registration plates. 

 
 Enter any previous Oregon account number, if applicable. 

 
 Name of Individual Owner, Partners, Corporation, or LLC – 

enter legal name.  If a partnership, all partners must be listed. 
 
 DBA – if operating under a different name, enter assumed 

business name (must be on file with Oregon Secretary of State 
Corporation Division). 

 
 Address and Phone – enter the location address and location 

phone number.  Location address can not be a PO Box or Drop 
Box address. 

 
 Contact Name, Phone, and Email Address – enter the name, 

phone, and email address of the person to contact regarding 
this application and IRP and/or IFTA transactions on this 
account. 

 
NEW ACCOUNTS/FLEETS IRP: 

 
• Mailing address – enter mailing address if different from 

location address. 
 
• Indicate if previously registered in another jurisdiction 

and provide jurisdiction name and IRP account number. 
 
• If all vehicles on the account will be exempt from 

Oregon’s weight/mile tax, indicate reason so qualified. 
 
• Drug Consortium Name – enter name of consortium, 

“In-House” if maintaining your own program, or 
“Exempt” if you have no vehicles that require a CDL to 
operate. 

 
NEW ACCOUNTS/IFTA Section: 
 

• Mailing address – enter mailing address if different from 
location address. 

 
• Indicate if an IFTA license has ever been obtained from 

another jurisdiction and provide name of jurisdiction. 



INTERNATIONAL FUEL TAX AGREEMENT – Application, License, 
Decals 
 
 

International Fuel Tax Agreement Section V Page 9 
Revised October 2008 

• Bulk Fuel Storage – list jurisdiction(s) where you 
maintain bulk fuel storage or check box for none. 

 
 
• Enter number of IFTA qualified vehicles for which you 

need decals. 
 

• Enter license fee from chart below.  If applying for both 
IRP and IFTA, the fees will be calculated on and paid 
with the IRP Invoice.   

 
 
 

# OF 
VEHICLES 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 - 20 21 & 

over 

REGULAR 
FEE $280 $295 $310 $325 $340 $355 $370 $385 $400 $415 $430 $445 $460 $475 $490 $525 $575 

FARM 
FEE 

$50 Flat Fee  
Note - More than 50% your of IFTA qualified vehicles must be Farm plated  

 
 
IRP and IFTA  
 

 
• Sign and date application.    
 
• To obtain IRP (International Registration Plan) credentials 
(plates, cabcards and stickers) plates for your vehicles, complete the 
Apportioned Registration Forms, Schedule B & C and forward to 
ODOT – MCTD at the address below, or you may fax them to the 
Oregon Vehicle Registration Unit at 503-378-6643.   
 
 
• For IFTA Only, return this application and applicable fees to: 
 

Oregon Department of Transportation, MCTD 
PO Box 5330 
Salem, OR 97304-0330 

 
• After your application has been approved, you will receive an 

International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) License.  Make a 
copy of the license for each vehicle.  You will also receive a 
pair of decals for each vehicle.   

 
• ODOT will send tax return forms to you during the last month 

of each reporting period.  Returns must be filed even if no tax 
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is due.  Penalties will be assessed for late returns, and returns 
must be accompanied by payment of any tax due to be 
considered filed. 
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Placement of Decals The qualified applicant will be issued a set of two IFTA decals for 

each qualified motor vehicle in the fleet.  The IFTA decals must be 
placed on the exterior portion of both sides of the cab.  In the case of 
transporters, manufacturers, dealers, or drive-away operations, the 
decals need not be permanently affixed, but may be temporarily 
displayed in a visible manner on both sides of the cab.  Failure to 
display IFTA decals in the required locations may subject the vehicle 
operator to the purchase of a fuel use trip permit or citation or both.  
The IFTA decals are issued annually, and are not vehicle-specific. 
 
A 30-day temporary decal permit will be issued to a carrier on request 
when an IFTA license is issued, when the carrier is adding a new 
vehicle.  The permit is vehicle-specific, and must be carried in each 
vehicle listed on the permit, along with a copy of the current valid 
Oregon IFTA license, until the new decals are placed on the vehicle.  
The following information is required for each vehicle to be listed on 
the temporary decal permit: unit number, year, make and vehicle 
identification number. 
 
Your IFTA license and IFTA decals qualify you to operate in all 
member jurisdictions without further licensing or identification 
requirements in regard to motor fuel use taxes.  Motor carriers should 
contact jurisdictions in which they intend to operate for any other 
requirements of those jurisdictions. For a complete list of the member 
jurisdictions, see the IFTA Jurisdiction List on the back cover of the 
IFTA Handbook, contact the MCTD IFTA Unit, or access the IFTA, 
Inc. web site at www.iftach.org for jurisdiction contact information. 
 
To obtain additional IFTA decals throughout the year, contact the 
IFTA Unit at (503) 373-1634, Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 
5:00 p.m.  Be sure to have your Oregon account number ready when 
you call.  You may also obtain IFTA decals at one of MCTD’s field 
registration offices, or by mail.  Ordering more decals may increase 
the amount of your annual license fee, and the additional amount must 
be paid before the decals will be issued.   
 
Carriers who have signed up for Trucking Online, may also order 
replacement decals on MCTD’s web site:   
 
www.OregonTruckingOnline.com  
 
Many IFTA transactions are available Oregon’s Trucking Online 
with more transactions planned in the near future.  Sign up today!  
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Record Keeping and 
Audit 

Records must be made available for audit upon request during normal 
business hours.  Do not include supporting documents such as fuel 
receipts when you file your tax returns.  Carriers must retain all 
records to substantiate tax returns for four (4) years from the due date 
of the return or date filed, whichever is later.  Record keeping periods 
may be longer if you fail to provide records requested at time of audit. 
 
The licensee must maintain detailed mileage records on an individual 
vehicle basis.  These records must contain the following: 
 

1. Total taxable and non-taxable usage of motor fuel; 
2. Total distance traveled for taxable and non-taxable use; and 
3. Distance recaps for each vehicle for each jurisdiction in 

which the vehicle operated. 
 

Mileage Records The licensee’s records must include mileage data on each individual 
vehicle for each trip and be recapitulated in monthly fleet summaries: 
 

1. Date of trip (starting and ending); 
2. Trip origin and destination; 
3. Route of travel; 
4. Beginning and ending odometer or hubometer reading of 

the trip; 
5. Total trip miles; 
6. Miles by jurisdiction; 
7. Unit number or vehicle identification number; 
8. Vehicle fleet number; and   
9. Licensee’s name 

 
Fuel Records The licensee must maintain a complete record of all fuel purchased, 

received, and used in the conduct of business.  Separate totals must be 
compiled for each motor fuel type, and be recapitulated in monthly 
summaries.  Retail fuel purchases and bulk fuel purchases are to be 
accounted for separately.  These records must contain the following: 
 

1. The date of each receipt of fuel; 
2. The name and address of the person from whom 

purchased or received; 
3. The number of gallons received; 
4. The type of fuel; and 
5. The vehicle or equipment into which the fuel was placed. 
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Tax Credits To obtain credit on the tax return for tax-paid purchases on a 
jurisdictional basis, the licensee must keep the following records: 

 
• Receipt; or 
• Invoice; or 
• Credit card receipt; or 
• Automated vendor-generated invoice or transaction 

listing; or 
• Microfilm/microfiche of the receipt or invoice that 

shows evidence of the purchase and that tax was 
paid. 

 
Receipts that have been altered or indicate erasures are not accepted for 
tax-paid credit.  Receipts must identify the vehicle by the plate or unit 
number.  An acceptable receipt or invoice taken as credit must include 
the following: 

 
1. Date of purchase; 
2. Seller’s name and address; 
3. Number of gallons purchased; 
4. Fuel type; 
5. Price per gallon or total amount of sale; 
6. Unit number; and 
7. Purchaser’s name (In the case of a lessee/lessor 

agreement, receipts will be accepted in either name, 
provided a legal connection could be made to the 
reporting party for that purchase.) 

 
Bulk Fuel Fuel tax may or may not be paid at the time of delivery to bulk fuel 

tanks.  The licensee must retain copies of all delivery tickets and/or 
receipts.  Receipts that have been altered or indicate erasures are not 
accepted for credits.  Bulk fuel inventory reconciliations must be 
maintained to distinguish fuel placed in qualified vehicles from other 
uses.  In the case of withdrawals from licensee owned tax-paid bulk 
storage, credit may be obtained if the following detailed records are 
maintained: 

 
1. Date of withdrawal; 
2. Number of gallons; 
3. Fuel type; 
4. Unit number; and 
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5. Purchase and inventory records to substantiate that tax 
was paid on all bulk purchases.  Inventory shall be 
maintained on first-in, first-out basis. 

 
Non-compliance with any record keeping requirement may be cause 
for an assessment to the licensee’s account and/or revocation of the 
IFTA license.  The assessment may include reduction of fleet MPG 
and disallowance of tax-paid credits claimed on the licensee’s tax 
returns. 
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Tax Returns After you receive your IFTA license, the IFTA Unit will send you the 
“International Fuel Tax Agreement Tax Return” (Form 735-9740) 
each quarter which you must complete and file with payment of any 
tax that is due.  You must list on the tax return form all operations in 
member jurisdictions.  The IFTA tax return is to be used only by the 
motor carrier whose name is printed on it.  If the business name, 
location, or mailing address is not correct, mark through the incorrect 
information and print the correct information. 
 
When the IFTA Unit mails each quarterly IFTA tax return, a fuel tax 
rate schedule and filing instructions will be included.  The rate 
schedule will provide the current fuel tax rates for each fuel type by 
jurisdiction that must be used when completing the quarterly IFTA tax 
return.  Any credits or balances due from prior periods will be pre-
printed on the return.  Credits should be verified by contacting the 
IFTA Unit before being deducted from current amounts due.   
 
If you do not receive a quarterly IFTA tax return, you may either call 
the IFTA Unit at (503) 373-1634 or download a tax return form from 
 
 
the MCTD web site at: 
 
            www.OregonTruckingOnline.com  
 

 Click on FORMS tab 
 
Oregon’s IFTA tax return allows a licensee to report all fuel types and 
jurisdictions on one form.  ODOT staff cannot perform calculations 
for you on your returns. 
 

Who Must  
File 

Every Oregon-based motor carrier issued a license under the 
International Fuel Tax Agreement is required to file an IFTA tax 
return (Form 735-9740). 
 
If your IFTA license is revoked, you are still required to file returns 
for all periods your account remains open.  Filing a return does not 
authorize operation in other jurisdictions.  Operation in member 
jurisdictions without valid credentials is illegal and cause for citation, 
fines, and penalties. 
 

Qualified Motor 
Vehicles 

All vehicles in the licensee’s fleet bearing an Oregon IFTA decal must 
be included on the IFTA tax return, including vehicles bearing Oregon 
IFTA decals that did not leave Oregon during the reporting period.  
Qualifying motor vehicle means a motor vehicle: 
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1. Having two axles and a gross vehicle weight or registered 

gross vehicle weight exceeding 26,000 pounds; or 
2. Having three or more axles regardless of weight; or 
3. Used in combination when the weight of such 

combination exceeds 26,000 pounds gross vehicle 
weight. 

 
Due Dates IFTA tax returns, properly signed and accompanied by a check or 

money order payable to Oregon Department of Transportation 
(ODOT/IFTA), are due the last day of the month immediately 
following the end of each reporting period.  Tax returns must be 
postmarked on or before the due date to be considered on time.  Tax 
returns must be filed even if there is no tax due, there were 
Oregon operations only, or there were no operations for the 
reporting period. 
 

  
 
 
 
 

If the due date falls on a weekend or holiday, the tax return is due the next 
business day. 
 
 

Where to File Mail completed IFTA tax returns to: 
 

Motor Carrier Transportation Division 
550 Capitol Street NE 
Salem, OR 97301-2530 

 
IFTA tax returns can be filed using 
www.OregonTruckingOnline.com 
Sign up today! 

 
Please note that IFTA forms and payments must not be submitted to 
the IFTA Unit through DMV offices.  Leaving IFTA tax returns or 
payments at a DMV office will cause a delay in filing, possibly 
resulting in penalty and interest charges. 
 

Penalties and  
Interest 

IFTA returns not filed by the due date will be assessed a penalty of 
$50 or 10% of the total amount of tax due, whichever is greater.  
Interest will also be assessed at the rate of one percent per month, or 
partial month, for each jurisdiction for which tax is due. 

QUARTER DUE DATE QUARTER DUE DATE 
1st Quarter April 30 3rd Quarter October 31 
2nd Quarter July 31 4th Quarter January 31 
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Amended Returns If it becomes necessary to correct a previously filed return, please 
make a copy of the original return filed, write “AMENDED” at the top 
of the form, and make the necessary changes next to the incorrect 
figures. 
 
An explanation of the changes must accompany the amended return.  
An amended return may be subject to a late penalty charge and interest 
if amended after the due date. 
 

Computer- 
Generated Tax 
Returns 

If you wish to use your own computer-generated version of the tax 
return, or one supplied by a software developer or reporting service 
you must first obtain written approval by sending a sample of the form 
to: 
 

Motor Carrier Transportation Division 
IFTA System Administrator 
550 Capitol St. NE 
Salem OR 97301-2530 
 

Oregon IFTA encourages the use of computer-generated tax return 
forms because they are usually easier for the carrier to use, can often 
accommodate additional lines for a jurisdiction when necessary, and 
sometimes automate calculations, which decreases the number of 
errors in tax returns filed.  The arrangement of the form should be 
similar to that of our standard form, placing information in the same 
general area and order. 

The following items must be included in the form: 
 

1. Name and mailing address of the base jurisdiction: 

OREGON DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
MOTOR CARRIER TRANSPORTATION DIVISION 
550 CAPITOL ST NE 
SALEM OR 97301-2530 

2. The type of return being filed (IFTA TAX RETURN). 
3. The quarter for which the return is being filed. 
4. The date the return is due. 
5. The IFTA license number (Federal Employer 

Identification Number). 
6. The Oregon Taxpayer ID (Oregon tax file number). 
7. The name and address of the licensee filing the return. 
8. A space to indicate no operations or Oregon operations 

only. 
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9. Totals for Oregon miles, IFTA jurisdiction miles, and 
non-IFTA jurisdiction miles should be listed by fuel type 
as well as the total miles traveled. 

10. Total fuel used in all jurisdictions for each fuel type. 
11. The average fleet MPG for each fuel type should be 

calculated to two decimal places. 
12. Provision for reporting alternative fuels, if used. 

 
13. The headings on the columns should conform to the 

headings on the Oregon IFTA Tax Return form, and be in 
the same order. 

14. Oregon miles and gallons should not be listed as a 
jurisdiction line in the body of the tax return and should 
not be included in the totals of IFTA jurisdiction miles 
and gallons. 

15. Surcharges should be identified as such. 
16. Separate columns for “TAX DUE” (before interest is 

added), “INTEREST DUE” and “TOTAL DUE”. 
17. Totals for all columns. 
18. A space for penalty for late filing. 
19. A space for the total remittance of the return. 
20. A space for a signature of the person filing the return. 
21. A space for the title of the person filing the return. 
22. A space for the date of the submitted return. 
23. A space for the phone number of the person filing the 

return. 
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Tax Return 
Instructions 

When completing your IFTA tax return, read and follow the 
instructions mailed with the return each quarter. 
 

Minimum  
Required  
Information 
 

The following information is the MINIMUM required for the  
IFTA tax return to be accepted: 
 

• Quarter and year of return; 
• IFTA license number; 
• Oregon Taxpayer ID number; 
• Name and address of taxpayer; 
• Return with no operations or Oregon operations only: 

√ Check appropriate box; 
• Return with operations: 

√ Fuel/miles summary columns 1 through 6 
completed; and 

√ Columns A through G completed for a minimum of 
one (1) jurisdiction    

• Signature and date 
 

Calculation 
Guidelines 

CONVERT metric fuel and distance measurements to gallons and 
miles using the following factors: 
 

1 liter = 0.2642 gallons 
1 kilometer = 0.62137 miles 

 
ROUND all miles and gallons in columns 1 through 5 to the nearest 
whole number: 
 

525.5 = 526 
525.4 = 525 

 
Return Header Generally, the header of the IFTA tax return will be pre-printed with 

the appropriate report and motor carrier information.  However, if 
completing a blank tax return form, ensure the following information 
is correctly entered: 

• Reporting period; 
• Return due date; 
• IFTA License No.; and 
• Oregon Taxpayer ID No. 
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Check the NO OPERATIONS box if none of your qualified vehicles had operations in the 
quarter covered by this return. 
 

Check the OREGON OPERATIONS ONLY box if you have operated only in the State 
of Oregon. 
 
Check the CHANGE OF ADDRESS box if you have changed your address.  Mark 
through the incorrect address and print the correct address. 
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Fuel/Miles Summary  
Fuel Type 
 
 
 

Most carriers will use only the diesel or gasoline lines provided.  If 
any of your IFTA-qualified vehicles use a type of fuel other than 
diesel or gasoline, such as propane, methanol, etc., list the fuel as 
“OTHER” in this column.  If all lines are full, place additional 
information on a separate sheet of paper and include in TOTALS. 
 
Not every jurisdiction taxes fuel other than diesel.  To determine if 
gasoline or any fuel other than diesel is taxed in the IFTA 
jurisdictions in which you operate, see the tax rate table that is 
included with the tax return mailed to you each quarter.  Tax rate 
tables are different each quarter due to changes in fuels taxed and tax 
rates in member jurisdictions.  It is important to use the tax rate table 
for the quarter you are reporting.  Be sure to read any footnotes for 
the jurisdiction in question. 
 
If fuel is used in any IFTA jurisdiction in which it is taxed, list it for 
all jurisdictions in which it is used by IFTA-qualified vehicles, 
whether taxed or not.  This information is necessary to determine the 
MPG and to calculate the tax for the jurisdiction in which it is taxed.  
Do not list a fuel anywhere on the tax return if it is not taxed in any 
IFTA jurisdictions in which you operated. 
 

Column 1 
Oregon Miles 

Enter the total number of miles traveled in Oregon, including 
Oregon off-road miles, for each fuel type used.  All of your Oregon 
miles should be listed here and none of your Oregon miles should be 
listed in any other column on this form. 
 

Column 2 
IFTA Jurisdiction 
Miles 

Enter the total number of miles traveled in all IFTA jurisdictions, 
including trip permit miles and off-road miles for IFTA  
jurisdictions (do not include any miles traveled in Oregon).  The 
TOTAL of this column must be the same as the GRAND TOTAL of 
Column C. 
 

Column 3 
Non-IFTA 
Jurisdiction Miles 

Enter the total number of miles traveled in all non-IFTA, 
jurisdictions including off-road miles for non-IFTA jurisdictions 
(do not include any miles traveled in Oregon): ALASKA; HAWAII; 
WASHINGTON, D.C.; NORTHWEST TERRITORY; YUKON 
TERRITORY; or any other jurisdiction not listed on the return form. 
 

Column 4 
Total Miles 

For each fuel type listed, add the figures across in Columns 1 
through 3, and enter the total in Column 4.  Add the figures down in 
Columns 1 through 3, and enter each total at the bottom of the 
column. 
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Column 5 
Total Gallons 

For each fuel type, enter the total of all gallons used in all 
jurisdictions in which you traveled.  Report all fuel placed in the 
supply tank of a qualified motor vehicle. 
 

Column 6 
Average Fleet 
MPG 

Calculate the miles per gallon (MPG) by dividing the number in 
Column 4 by the number in Column 5.  Carry this calculation to 
three decimal places, then round to two decimal places.  For 
example, show 5.255 as 5.26, and show 5.254 as 5.25.  Enter the 
result in Column 6 for each fuel type. 
 

Jurisdiction 
Information 
 

 

Column A 
Jurisdiction 

Listing of all IFTA member jurisdictions.  If there are two lines for a 
jurisdiction on the tax rate table, with a date included on one of the 
lines, it means the tax rate changed during the quarter, so there is a 
“split rate” for that jurisdiction.  For example, British Columbia had 
a split rate for the 1st Quarter 2003 with one tax rate for diesel in 
January and February, and with a different tax rate for diesel 
beginning March 1.  Forms are not always modified to accommodate 
split rates because they are in effect for one quarter only.  You may 
use a line for a jurisdiction where you did not operate (crossing out 
the original jurisdiction code listed and writing in the jurisdiction 
code you need to use) or place additional information on a separate 
sheet of paper. Be sure to include information for each column (A 
through K), and to include the figures from this line when 
calculating totals on the return form. 
 

Column B 
Fuel Type 

Using the codes below, enter the fuel type you are reporting on this 
line.  If you use more than one fuel type in a jurisdiction, you may 
either use a line for a jurisdiction where you did not operate 
(crossing out the original jurisdiction code listed and writing in the 
jurisdiction code you need to use) or place additional information on 
a separate sheet of paper.  Be sure to include information for each 
column (A through K), and to include the figures from this line 
when calculating totals on the return form. 
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CODE FUEL TYPE CODE FUEL TYPE 

D Diesel SD Surcharge Diesel 

G Gasoline SG Surcharge Gasoline 

P Propane SP Surcharge Propane 

GH Gasohol SGH Surcharge Gasohol 

LNG Liquid Natural Gas SLN Surcharge Liquid Natural Gas 

CNG Compressed Nat. Gas SCN Surcharge Compressed Nat. Gas 

E Ethanol SE Surcharge Ethanol 

M Methanol SM Surcharge Methanol 

E85 E-85 SE8 Surcharge E-85 

M85 M-85 SM8 Surcharge M-85 

A55 A55 SA5 Surcharge A55 

 
 
Column C 
Total Miles in 
Jurisdiction 

Enter the total miles traveled in each jurisdiction for each fuel type 
listed.  Include off-road miles and permit miles.  The GRAND 
TOTAL of this column must be the same as in Column 2. 
 

Column D 
Taxable Miles in 
Jurisdiction 

Enter the taxable miles traveled in each IFTA jurisdiction.  Do not 
include off-road non-taxable miles or fuel tax permit miles in this 
column.  For the mileage to be deductible, the trip permit must 
indicate it is for fuel tax.  Mileage operated on a registration trip 
permit or any other type of trip permit that is not for fuel tax cannot 
be deducted as non-taxable on the IFTA tax return. 
 
Off-road miles means any of the miles operated in an IFTA 
jurisdiction that are considered off-road non-taxable miles by that 
jurisdiction.  Many jurisdictions do not have mileage exemptions.  
Contact the jurisdiction directly to learn if any of your operations are 
not taxable.   
 
Additional information for specific jurisdictions are in the footnotes 
at the bottom of the tax rate table that is included with the tax return 
mailed to you each quarter.  Some exemptions may not be taken on 
the IFTA tax return form, and must be applied for directly to the 
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jurisdiction.  Failure to retain distance records may result in 
lowering the Average Fleet MPG to 4.0 MPG at time of audit. 
 

Column E 
Taxable Gallons 

Divide the amount in Column D by the Average Fleet Miles per 
Gallon from Column 6 for each fuel type.  Round to the nearest 
whole gallon.  For example, 525.5 should be shown as 526 and 
525.4 should be shown as 525. Failure to retain fuel records may 
result in lowering the Average Fleet MPG to 4.0 MPG at time of 
audit. 
 

Column F 
Tax Paid Gallons 

Enter the number of gallons purchased in that jurisdiction during this 
reporting period on which fuel tax has been paid.  Round to the 
nearest whole gallon.  Purchases MUST be supported by invoices 
from the vendor and retained in your records.  Do not send invoices 
or receipts with your IFTA tax return.  Failure to retain original 
vendor invoices may result in credit being disallowed at time of 
audit. 
 

Column G 
Net Taxable 
Gallons 

Subtract the Tax Paid Gallons (Column F) from the Taxable Gallons 
(Column E).  If the Tax Paid Gallons in Column F are greater than 
the Taxable Gallons in Column E, enter the credit figure in brackets.  
For example, [732]. 
 

Column H 
Tax Rate 
 

Enter the tax rate from the tax rate tables provided with the return. 
 

Column I  
Tax Due or 
[Credit] 

Multiply the Net Taxable Gallons (Column G) by the rate (Column 
H).  Enter this amount in dollars and cents, with credit amounts in 
brackets. 
 

Column J 
Interest Due 

If this return is filed late, interest is due to each jurisdiction where 
there is tax due.  (A return is late if not postmarked on or before the 
last day of the month following the quarter covered by the return, 
and accompanied by payment of any tax due.)  Multiply the Tax Due 
in Column I by 1% for each month or partial month the report is late.  
Do not calculate interest on credit amounts in Column I. 
 

Column K 
Total Due or 
[Credit] 

Total the amounts in Columns I and J.  Enter credit amounts in 
brackets. 
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Surcharge Currently, Indiana, Kentucky and Virginia levy a surcharge.  If you 

have traveled in any of these states, use the second line titled 
SURCHARGE to calculate your surcharge.  Multiply the Taxable 
Gallons (Column E) by the surcharge tax rate found on the enclosed 
tax rate sheet.  Do not deduct any amounts related to the purchase of 
fuel from the Surcharge amount. 
 

Subtotals 
(Front Page) 

Total the amounts down in each of the columns on the front of the 
tax form: add amounts due and subtract credits.  Enter the totals on 
the SUBTOTALS line for the front page. 
 

Subtotals 
(Back Page) 

Total the amounts down in each of the columns on the back of the 
tax form: add amounts due and subtract credits.  Enter the totals on 
the SUBTOTALS line for the back page.  Bring forward the 
subtotals for the back page to the appropriate line on the front page. 
 

Grand Totals Add the amounts in each column of the SUBTOTALS lines and 
enter the totals on the GRAND TOTALS line. 
 

Box 7 
Total Fuel Tax 
And Interest Due 
Or [Credit] 
 

 
 
Enter the GRAND TOTAL amount for Column K. 
 
 

Box 8  
Previous Balance 
Due 

Any balance due currently on your account will be printed.  Previous 
balances could be the result of partial payments,  
mathematical or clerical errors, penalties, or interest relating to prior 
returns.  Add this amount of other amounts due and include in your 
payment.  If you believe you have paid the previous balance due or 
that it is incorrect, call the IFTA Unit at 503-373-1634. 
 

Box 9 
Previous Credit 

Any credits currently on your account will be printed.  Do not pay 
this amount.  Before subtracting this credit from what you owe, 
verify the credit is valid and has not already been refunded or used.  
You may verify a credit by calling the IFTA Unit at 503-373-1634.  
All adjustments are subject to audit. 
 

Box 10 
Penalty 

Enter 10% of the total amount of Column I or $50, whichever is  
greater if the return is late.  If the date this return is mailed (as 
determined by the postmark date on the envelope) or presented at an 
ODOT office that accepts IFTA transactions, is after the due date, 
the return is late and your account will be assessed a penalty.  The 
amount of the penalty is 10% of the amount of the Grand Total of 
Column I or $50, whichever is more.  Even if the total amount of tax 
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in Column I is a credit, or the return reported no operations or 
Oregon-only operations, the penalty of $50 is assessed.  The penalty 
is assessed not for owing tax but because the return is late. 
 

Box 11 
Reinstatement 
Fee 

If your account is revoked and you need to reinstate, include a $25 
reinstatement fee.  You must satisfy all causes of the revocation  and 
pay the $25 reinstatement fee before the account can be reinstated.  
Your IFTA license is not valid until then.  Payment of the 
reinstatement fee alone will not be sufficient for reinstating the 
account if deficiencies on the account have not been met.  If your 
account is revoked and you have questions about requirements for 
reinstatement, call the IFTA Unit at 503-373-1634. 
 

Box 12 
Total Balance 
Due or [Credit] 

If the amount on this line is a balance due, attach payment.  Penalty 
and interest will be assessed on tax returns where  
incorrect calculations result in underpayment. 
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Tax Return To prevent processing delays, please take the time to carefully  
Checklist check your tax return. 

 
 Are the numbers entered from your records accurate? 

 
 Have you completed the Fuel/Miles summary?  This section must be completed if 

you did not check the “No-operations” or the “Oregon-operations-only” box. 
 

 Have you included miles in column 3?  If so, make sure the mileage is for 
operations in jurisdictions that are not listed in Column A and the mileage is not 
for operations in Oregon. 
 

 Do the figures in Columns 1, 2 and 3 add up to the figure in Column 4? 
 

 Have you entered the total number of gallons in Column 5?  Are any other required 
fields blank? 
 

 Check the figures you entered in Columns 1 through 5 and check your calculations. 
 

 Does the Average Fleet MPG in Column 6 fall within the range of 3 to 11 miles 
per gallon that is the average for most IFTA-qualified vehicles?  If not, check your 
calculations for accuracy.  If the calculations are correct, include with your return 
an explanation for the MPG being higher or lower than the expected range. 
 

 Are figures rounded correctly according to the instructions for the particular 
column?  Rounding for column 6 is different than rounding for columns 1 through 
5.      
 

 Have you entered information on the correct jurisdiction line?  Many abbreviations 
are easily confused, such as NE for Nebraska and NV for Nevada.  You will find 
the names and abbreviations of IFTA jurisdictions on the back cover of this 
handbook, and on the tax rate table included with the tax return form mailed to you 
each quarter.  Make sure you are entering information for the jurisdiction on the 
line with the correct abbreviation in Column A on the tax return form. 
 

 Are the totals of Columns E and F the same?  If so, check your entries.  These two 
amounts are rarely, if ever, the same. 
 

 Have you claimed tax-paid gallons in Column F for a jurisdiction for which no 
mileage is shown in Column C?  If so, check your entries. 

• All miles must be included in the total miles in Column C, even those 
miles that a jurisdiction regards as non-taxable.  Column D is where non-
taxable miles will be deducted. 

• Even if you traveled only a short distance into a jurisdiction for fuel, you 
must include the mileage in Column C.  If you traveled less than one (1) 
mile, enter one (1) mile. 
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 Have you entered the correct tax rate for the jurisdiction and the quarter you are 
reporting?  Tax rate tables are different each quarter due to changes in fuels taxed 
and tax rates in member jurisdictions. 
 

 • Always use the rate table for the quarter you are reporting. 
• Always check the rate for the jurisdiction you are reporting – it may have 

changed since your last return. 
 

 Are calculations for Columns 4, 6, E, G, I, J, and K complete and correct? 
 

 Have you remembered to complete the back of the form?  If you are faxing your 
return, be sure to include the back of the form even if there are no entries on the 
back. 
 

 Have the total amounts been copied from the back page to the front page correctly? 
 

 Does the Grand Total for Column C equal the Total of Column 2?  In Column C 
you are listing all of the miles separately for each jurisdiction that you listed as the 
total in Column 2, so the totals should be the same.  If not: 

• Is your addition correct? 
• Have you included a line for each jurisdiction in which you operated? 
• Have you included all mileage for all of your IFTA-qualified vehicles, 

and only those vehicles, in both Column 2 and Column C? (See the 
definition for “Qualified Motor Vehicle” on page 2). 

• Have you included all the miles you operate these vehicles in IFTA 
jurisdictions in these two columns, whether the miles are taxable or not?  
Non-taxable miles are to be included in Columns 2 and C, and are 
deducted only in column D. 

• Have you included all the mileage operated on all fuel types that are 
required to be included on the tax return? 
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OREGON DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
 
 

MOTOR CARRIER EDUCATION MANUAL 
 
 
 
 

 
 

Trucking companies must have knowledge in all areas of regulations in 
order to fulfill their regulatory requirements.  This material provides 
concise and relevant information to your business and is provided to 
you by the Oregon Department of Transportation, Motor Carrier 
Transportation Division.   
 

This section describes requirements of Size & Weight. 
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Size & Weight Laws 

 
The mission of the Motor Carrier Transportation Division is to promote a safe, efficient, and 

responsible commercial transportation industry by simplifying compliance, reducing regulatory 

requirements, wherever appropriate, preserving the infrastructure, enhancing the private/public 

partnership, fostering effective two-way communication, and delivering superior customer 

service while recognizing the vital economic interests of the commercial transportation industry. 

 

To help achieve this goal the Motor Carrier Enforcement Unit has: 

 

8 Enforcement Districts which include: 
 

• 6 Ports of Entry Scales – Ashland, Cascade Locks, Klamath Falls, Farewell 

Bend, Umatilla, and Woodburn 

• 4 Registration Field Offices – Portland Bridge, Ashland, Umatilla and 

Farewell Bend (open Monday – Friday, 8am to 5pm, Farewell Bend is on 

Mountain Time) 

• 101 field Motor Carrier Enforcement staff 

• 84 fixed scale locations 

• Numerous portable weighing sites 

 

For answers to specific questions, call any of the Field Motor Carrier Enforcement 

Offices listed on the next page. 
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Oregon Department of Transportation 
Motor Carrier Enforcement  

Ports of Entry (POE) and Field Offices 
 

Cascade Locks District 
Manager – Terry Cook 

Cascade Locks POE. . . . . . . . 541-374-8980
I-84 EB Milepost 44 
550 SE Frontage Rd., Cascade Locks 97014 
 (Hood River, Sherman, Wasco, & parts of 
Clackamas & Multnomah Counties) 

Ashland District 
Manager – Sven Johnson 

Ashland POE . . . . . . . . . . .  . . 541-776-6004
I-5 NB Milepost 18 
PO Box 666, Ashland 97520-0023 
 (Curry, Jackson, & Josephine Counties) 

Portland Office . . . . . . . . . . . . 503-731-3238 
3700 SE 92nd, Portland 97266 
(Clatsop, Columbia, & parts of  
Clackamas, Multnomah, & Washington Counties) 

Central Oregon District 
Manager – Bruce Ward 

Bend Office . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 541-388-6217 
20340 Empire Ave. Ste E5 
PO Box 5309, Bend 97708 
 (Crook, Deschutes, Jefferson, & Wheeler 
Counties) 

Coast Valley District 
Manager – David Gaffney 

Springfield Office . . . . . . . . ..541-736-2314 
640 A St, Springfield, 97477 
 (Benton, Lane, & Linn Counties) 

Roseburg Office  . . . . . . . . . . .541-957-3605
3500 NW Stewart Parkway, Roseburg 97470 
 (Coos & Douglas Counties) 

Farewell Bend District 
Manager – Lloyd Pratt 

Farewell Bend POE . . . . . . . .541-869-2474 
I-84 WB Milepost 353 
5920 HWY 30, Huntington 97907 
 ( Baker, Malheur & parts of Grant Counties) 

Burns Office  . . . . . . . . . . . . . .541-573-2261
252 S Date St., Burns 97720 
 (Harney & parts of Grant Counties) 

Klamath Falls District 
Manager – Phil Grant 

Klamath Falls POE . . . . . . . . .541-883-5701 
US HWY 97 NB Milepost 271 
4647 HWY 97 N., Klamath Falls 97601 
(Klamath & Lake Counties) 

Umatilla District 
Manager – Ben Derby 

Umatilla POE . . . . . . . . . . . . . .541-922-5183
1801 SW HWY 730 E 
PO Box 250, Umatilla 97882 
 (Gilliam, Morrow, & Umatilla Counties) 

La Grande Office. . . . . . . . . . .541-963-3170 
3012 Island Ave., La Grande 97850 
 (Union & Wallowa Counties) 

Woodburn District 
Manager – Don Shinpaugh 

Woodburn POE . . . . . . . . . . . .503-982-0804
I-5 SB Milepost 274 
PO Box 245, Woodburn 97071 
 (Lincoln, Marion, Polk, Tillamook, Yamhill, & parts 
of Clackamas & Washington Counties) 



Size & Weight Section VI Page 3 
Revised September 2008 

                    
 
 
Legal Weight vs. Registration Weight vs. Tax Declared Weight 
 
Legal Weight Laws are designed to: 

 Prevent premature highway surface breakdown 

 Reduce highway wear by the use of more axles and longer wheelbases 

 Protect bridges and structures that have restrictions 

 
Legal weight may be different than the Registered or Declared Weight 
 
Legal weight is limited by Oregon Revised Statute (ORS) and Oregon Administrative 

Rule (OAR).  Registered and declared weights are determined by the carrier. 

 

 Vehicle/Combination limited to legal weights allowed by ORS or OAR. 
 

 Vehicle registered weight represents the heaviest weight the 
vehicle/combination will be for the registration period up to a maximum of 
105,500 lbs. 

 
 

 Vehicle tax declared weight represents the heaviest weight the 
vehicle/combination will be in a given configuration for the reporting period. 

  
 

?
Legal 

Weight 

Registration 
Weight 

Weight Mile Tax 
 Declared Weight 
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Definitions 

 
1. AXLE WEIGHT - The weight placed on the road by all the wheels of one axle. 

2. DIVISIBLE LOAD – A load that is reducible by nature or can be readily dismantled. 

3. GROSS WEIGHT - The total weight placed on the road by a vehicle or combination of 
vehicles and the load. 

4. GROUP OF AXLES WEIGHT - The total weight placed on the road by two or more axles 
spaced more than 8’ apart.  (Also known as an Inner Bridge) 

5. HIGHWAY VARIANCE PERMIT – Also known as “variance permit” issued by a road 
authority allowing vehicles to vary from regulations required by Oregon Revised Statute 
(ORS) or Oregon Administrative Rule (OAR).  The two most common highway variance 
permits issued by Oregon are: 

 
 Extended Weight-Issued to allow weights over 80,000 lbs. with a Divisible Load. 
 Heavy Haul-Issued to allow greater weights on a Non-Divisible Load. 

 

6. LEGAL AXLE LIMIT – Maximum allowable weights in Oregon, according to Oregon Revised 
Statute (ORS) 818.010, are allowed the lower weight produced by using Table 1, Table 2 
or Table 3 Method A or B. 

7. NON-DIVISIBLE LOAD – A load or vehicle exceeding dimensional or weight limits allowed 
by ORS or OAR that if separated into smaller loads would compromise the intended use, 
destroy the value, or make it unusable for its intended purpose. 

8. SUM OF AXLES – Addition of axle weights allowed by ORS 818.010 Table I and/or Table II. 

9. TANDEM AXLE WEIGHT - The weight placed on the road by all the wheels of two or more 
consecutive axles spaced more than 40” but no more than 96” (8 feet) apart (measured from 
center of axle). 

10. WHEELBASE - The distance in feet and inches between two or more axles, measured to the 
nearest foot, 6” being the next larger foot (for determining weight). 

Group of Axles 
Overall Wheelbase 

TandemTandem
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MAXIMUM ALLOWABLE WEIGHT  
OREGON REVISED STATUTES 

WITHOUT A HIGHWAY VARIANCE PERMIT 

Maximum allowable weights in Oregon, according to Oregon Revised Statute (ORS) 

818.010, are allowed the lower weight produced by using: 
 

   Table I,  
   Table II,  
   Table III Method A or B. 

 

 

Table I has two provisions. **Allow the lower (lesser) weight of the two.**   

1. Limits legal weight to the manufacturer’s side wall tire rating. 

2. Limits legal weight to 600 lbs. for the sum of tire width. 

 

Steer Axle Example:  Side Wall Rating = 6,175 lbs. x 2 Tires = 12,350 lbs. 

Steer Axle Example:  11” Wide Tire x 600 lbs. x 2 Tires = 13,200 lbs. 

**Only the Side Wall Rating applies when traveling on an Interstate Highway** 

Legal Weight = 12,350 lbs. for an axle with two of these tires. 

2 

1 

1

2
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METRIC CONVERSION: Divide the metric number by 25.4 and round up to get the 
equivalent in inches or refer to the chart below. 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Table II has three provisions.  Maximum allowable weight cannot exceed: 

1. 10,000 lbs. on any individual wheel 

2. 20,000 lbs. on any axle 

3. 34,000 lbs. on any tandem axles 
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Table III has two provisions.  Maximum allowable weight cannot exceed either: 
 

1. Method A:  The SUMS of weight allowed on axles, tandems, or groups of axles 
using Table I or II, or 

 
2. Method B:  The group or gross weights allowed using the wheelbase chart listed 

as “Method B” in ORS 818.010 (3).   
 This is also known as Permit Weight Table 1, (Limited to 80,000 lbs.) 
 It be can found on the reverse side of ODOT’s Group Map 1 and Route 

Map 7 or at this web site:  
http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/motcarr/od/8110.pdf   

 

Example 
 

 
 
 

1. In this example the gross weight for this vehicle is limited to 46,350 lbs. by the 
sum of the permissible axles. 

 
2. Compare this total to Table III Method B.  In this example the gross weight allowed 

by the wheelbase chart is 48,500 lbs.  The legal weight is the lowest weight. 
 
This vehicle’s legal gross weight cannot exceed 46,350 lbs.  The steer axle cannot 
weigh more than 12,350 lbs. and the tandem drive axle cannot exceed 34,000 lbs. 
 
 
ORS 818.010(3) This statute allows the measurement to increase to the next whole 
number when the measurement results in a fractional measurement of 6” or more.   

Example:  29’ 6” becomes 30’ 

34,000 lbs. by Table II 
12,350 lbs. limit by     
Side Wall Rating Table I  

17’ Wheelbase = 48,500 lbs. by Table III 

Maximum Gross Allowed By SUMS of axles = 46,350 lbs.  
(Add 12,350 + 34,000 together for the SUMS) 
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Exception 1: ORS 818.030(8)(a) & (b):  “. . . two consecutive sets of tandem axles 
may have a loaded weight of 34,000 lbs. each . . . providing the distance between the 
first and last axles of the two sets of tandems axles is at least 30 feet . . .” 
 

• Non-Interstate Highway - No Extended Weight Highway Variance Permit 
required. 

• Interstate Highway – Extended Weight Highway Variance Permit required. 
• Any Highway - If wheelbase spacing is 36 feet or more, no Extended Weight 

Highway Variance Permit required. 
 

30 feet or more  

 

Exception 2: ORS 818.030(9):  “. . . a group of four axles consisting of a set of 
tandem axles and two axles spaced nine feet or more apart may have a loaded weight 
of more than 65,500 lbs. and up to 70,000 lbs. . . . providing the distance between the 
first and last axles of the group is 35 feet or more.” 
 

• Non-Interstate Highway - No Extended Weight Highway Variance Permit 
required. 

• Interstate Highway – Extended Weight Highway Variance Permit required. 
• Any Highway -  If wheelbase spacing is 43 feet or more, no Extended Weight 

Highway Variance Permit required.  
 
 

 

9’ or more 
35’ or more
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Calculating Maximum Weight Limits 

 
 
 
 
 
 
Practice using the worksheet on the next page for calculating maximum weight limits: 
 

• If vehicles are using ORS 818.010 weights, the maximum gross weight is 

limited to 80,000 lbs. 

 
• If vehicles are using an Extended Weight Highway Variance Permit the load 

can be reducible, such as lumber, hay, gravel, or logs.  The maximum gross 

weight is limited to 105,500 lbs.   

 

 

 

 

 

 

Instructional hints for using the worksheet: 

1. List all axle spacing.  (Remember - Measurements of 6” and greater go 

to next higher foot). 

2. List weights by SUMS OF AXLES. 

3. List weights by Permit Weight Table 1 or 2 WHEELBASE CHART. 

4. Legal weight is the lowest. 
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WORKSHEET FOR DETERMINING LEGAL WEIGHTS 

 

 
**Steer axle is an 11” wide tire with a sidewall rating of 6,600 lbs. = Allowed 13,200 lbs.  

Axle 
Group 

Axle 
Spacing 

Weight By 
 Sums of Axles 

Weight by 
 Wheelbase 

Chart 
Legal Weight 

Allowed 
1 to 3 18’ 47,200 (13,200 + 34,000) 49,500 47,200 

1 to 5 50’ 6” 81,200 (13,200 + 68,000) 80,000 80,000 

1 to 6 60’ 6” 101,200 (81,200 + 20,000) 90,500 90,500 

1 to 7 75’ 6” 

121,200(101,200 + 

20,000) 104,500 104,500 ** 

2 to 5 36’ 6” 68,000 (34,000 + 34,000) 68,000 *Exception 68,000 

2 to 6 46’ 6” 88,000 (68,000 + 20,000) 77,500 77,500 

2 to 7 61’ 6” 108,000 (68,000 + 40,000) 91,000 91,000 ** 

4 to 6 14’ 54,000 (34,000 + 20,000) 46,500 46,500 

4 to 7 29’ 74,000 (34,000 + 40,000) 61,500 61,500 

6 to 7 15’ 40,000 (20,000 + 20,000) 40,000 40,000 

**Hint:  Maximum Gross is really 104,200 lbs.  Use Steer of 13,200 + 91,000 on group 2 to 7.  

To load to the maximum of 104,500 lbs. you would need a larger steer axle tire size. 

1 to 3

1 to 5

1 to 6

1 to 7

2 to 5

2 to 6

2 to 7

4 to 6

4 to 7

6 to 7

1 2 3 4 5 6 7
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Maximum Vehicle and Combination Size Limits 

 

HOW LONG CAN MY VEHICLE(S) BE? 

Oregon’s highway system is divided into three classifications based on the curve radius 

of the highway, lane width, shoulder width, and the longest vehicle combination that 

can safely negotiate these curves.   

 

GROUP MAP 1 shows these classifications, listed as Group 1, 2 and 3.   

♣ Group 1 highways allow the longest combinations and Group 3 the shortest. 

♣ Back of Group Map 1 lists the different vehicle/combinations legal in Oregon 

and the length limit each is allowed on Group 1, 2, or 3 highways. 

♣ http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/motcarr/od/8100.pdf  Web site for a copy 

of the map.  Maps are also available at the Ports of Entry. 

 

ORS 818.080(1) contains information on the legal length for a solo vehicle, including 

any load.  It is limited to 40 feet overall length. 

An exception is located in ORS 818.100 (15) & (16) allowing 45 feet overall length for 

Recreational Vehicles and Motor Vehicle Transporters  

 

OAR 734-071-0005 through 734-071-0060 contains information on legal lengths for 

combinations of vehicles.  Group Map 1 reflects these limits. 

http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/rules/OARS_700/OAR_734/734_071.html 

 

By OAR, the Department of Transportation has the authority to modify some laws and 

make exceptions that are less restrictive if they find the vehicle can travel safely 

without endangering others.   
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The Federal Surface Transportation Assistance Act of 1982 (STAA), passed by the US 
Congress, mandated: 
 

 States cannot have an overall length restriction on truck-tractor semitrailer or 
sets of doubles on certain federally funded national network highways. 

 

Limitations: 

 Maximum semitrailer length in Oregon, not to exceed 53 feet.  Other states have 
grandfathered in longer lengths for semitrailers. 

 Trailer length in a set of doubles not to exceed 40 feet. 
 Maximum combined length for two trailers in a set of doubles is 68 feet. 
 There are NO permits and NO exceptions on STAA National Network Highways. 

 

ODOT adopted Administrative Rules and developed ROUTE MAP 7 to address these 
federal allowances. 

OAR 734-073-0050 through 734-073-0140 (Division 73) 

Surface Transportation Assistance Act of 1982  (STAA)  
Route Map 7  

Applies only to        
Truck-Tractor/Semitrailer 

68' MAX

NO LIMITOVERALLLENGTH

40' MAX

53' MAX

NO LIMITOVERALLLENGTH

And 
Truck-Tractor 

Semitrailer/Trailer 
Combinations 
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Route Map 7 (Continued) 

 

 

http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/motcarr/od/8104.pdf 

 

 

Green Routes: Highways included in the STAA National Network.  Truck-tractor 

semitrailer or doubles combinations can travel these routes without any restriction on 

overall length!   Trailer lengths are restricted. 

 

 

Brown Routes:  State routes that have the same allowances as Green Routes. 

 

 

Purple, Black, and Blue Routes:  Truck-tractor semitrailer or doubles combinations 

can travel these routes, but there is a restriction on the legal overall length allowed and 

the trailer length. 

 

 

Red Routes:  Truck-tractor semitrailer or doubles combinations can travel these 

routes, but you must use Group Map 1 to determine the overall and trailer lengths 

allowed. 

 

 

Pickup Truck & Trailer (excludes RV’s):  Route Map 7 allows a greater overall 

length on Green, Brown, and Purple Routes.  Refer to Group Map 1 for other routes.   
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WHAT IS THE LEGAL WIDTH ALLOWED? 

 8’ 6” Total Outside Width   ORS 818.080 (1) 

 

 

 

WHAT IS THE LEGAL HEIGHT ALLOWED 

 14’ High including load   ORS 818.080 (1) 

 

 

 

WHAT IS THE LEGAL LOAD LENGTH ALLOWED 

 40’ Load length   ORS 818.080 (1)  

  An exception found in ORS 818.100 (10) allows a longer load length providing 

the load does not:  

 extend beyond the rear of the semi-trailer by more than five feet; 

 extend forward of the rear of the cab of the towing vehicle; or 

 exceed the length allowed by OAR 734-071-0005 through 734-071-

0060. 

 

 

Example of the load length exception 

 

 

OVER 40' LOAD

OVER 5'
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WHAT IS THE LEGAL FRONT OVERHANG ALLOWED 

 Front over hang is 4 feet beyond the front of the vehicle or combination.  
ORS 818.080 (2) 

 

WHAT IS THE LEGAL REAR OVERHANG ALLOWED ON A  
SOLO VEHICLE?  ORS 818.080 (2) 

 

 A solo vehicle may have up to ¾ of its wheelbase as rear overhang. 

 Remember the 40’ overall length for a solo vehicle includes any load. 

 Rear overhang can be either vehicle or load and is measured from the 
center of the last axle. 

 

Wheelbase = 20’ 15’Wheelbase = 20’ 15’
 

 

WHAT IS THE LEGAL REAR OVERHANG ALLOWED ON A 
COMBINATION OF VEHICLES?  ORS 818.080 (2) 

 
 A combination of vehicles may have up to 1/3 of its wheelbase as rear overhang 

ORS 818.080 (2). 
  

 Rear overhang measured from the center of the last axle 

 Legal load length of 40’ or less 

 Overall length not to exceed OAR 734-071-0010 Table 1 or Table 2 

1/3

40' LOAD
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HIGHWAY VARIANCE PERMITS 

Highway Variance Permits may allow a vehicle or combination of vehicles to: 

 Exceed legal width, length, height, weight, or a combination of these. 

 Be in a combination not otherwise allowed (i.e., Jeeps/Boosters) 

 

Two of the most commonly issued permits are for a (1) reducible 
load that exceeds 80,000 lbs. (Extended Weight Permit), or (2) for 
a non-reducible load that exceeds statute limits (Heavy Haul 
Permit). 
 

County and city permits may be required if the movement will be traveling on county or 
city roads.  Permits for various jurisdictions may be able to be combined into one 
permit. 
 

 

 

DURATION OF PERMITS: 

1.  Continuous or Annual Trip Permit (CTP) 

 Issued for operations performed on a routine basis 

 Vehicle(s) and load conform to established width, height, length and 

weight requirements 

 Valid for up to one year from date of issuance 

2.  Single Trip Permits (STP) 

 Issued on a per trip basis 

 For one movement over a specified route  

 Load is non-divisible - weight or dimensions do not conform to legal 

weight or size limits 

 Valid for up to 10 days from date if issuance 
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Transportation Permit Application Checklist. 

 

 

For rapid processing of a highway variance permit application, complete the checklist 

on next page BEFORE calling the Over-Dimensional Permit Office. 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

Need more assistance? 

 Call the Over-Dimensional Permit Office (503-373-0000) 

 Call any Motor Carrier Enforcement District 

 Call any Registration Office 
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HIGHWAY VARIANCE PERMIT 
APPLICATION CHECKLIST 

 
When a Highway Variance Permit is required for a movement, the following information will be 
required by the Over-Dimensional Permit Unit before a permit can be issued. 
 

When ready to order your permit, call (503) 373-0000 
CARRIER INFORMATION 

COMPANY ADDRESS CITY, STATE, ZIP 
   

CONTACT PERSON PHONE NUMBER FILE (ODOT AUTHORITY) NUMBER 
   

VEHICLE INFORMATION 
{POWER UNIT} 

YEAR and MAKE SERIAL or VIN NUMBER BASE LICENSE PLATE & STATE 
   

 UNIT NUMBER  
   

LOAD INFORMATION 
DESCRIPTION of LOAD LENGTH of LOAD WIDTH of LOAD FRONT OVERHANG REAR OVERHANG 

     
LOADED HEIGHT WHILE 
IN TRANSIT 

OVERALL LENGTH 
{INCLUDING LOAD} 

LENGTH of HAULING 
EQUIPMENT 

LENGTH OF SEMITRAILER  

    

ROUTE INFORMATION WEIGHT INFORMATION 
POINT OF ORIGIN  Required only when requesting weights from Permit Tables 3, 4, or 5 

DESTINATION   
AXLE SPACING 

LOADED WEIGHT PER AXLE, 
TANDEM AXLE, OR TRIDEM 

REQUESTED ROUTE  1-2  
  2-3  
  3-4  
  4-5  
  5-6  
  6-7  
  7-8  
  8-9  
 

     1       2   3   4    5 6    7   8   9
 

NOTE: Measurements for weight are from center of axle to center of axle. 

Oregon 
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COMPLIANCE 

 Federal Regulations and Oregon law do not allow any weight tolerance.  

 CITATIONS CAN BE ISSUED for ANY weight violation. 

 Legalization may be required prior to allowing the load to proceed. 

 Weight violation base fines are calculated by multiplying the per-pound penalty 

(as established by Oregon law) by the total number of lbs. overweight. 

 Field Enforcement has two senior Motor Carrier Enforcement Officers dedicated 

to giving educational presentations at carriers’ locations. Contact the Ashland 

POE (541-776-6004) or the Portland Enforcement Office (503-731-3238).  

 
 

SCALE PROTOCOL 
 

Many agencies, including Oregon State Police and sheriffs enforce size and weight laws at state 
or county scales. 
 
Tips for fewer delays at scales: 
 

 Some locations have High-Speed Weigh-In-Motion sensors in highway pavement. 

 Trucks participating in the Green Light Program and weighing legal are directed 

to bypass scale (Exception:  Vehicles operating with a Highway Variance 

Permit for a Non-Divisible Load must enter an open scale). For more 

information, call 503-378-6054. 

 Trucks missing sensors or not in right-hand lane are directed to static scale. 
 

 
Weighing at static scales. 

 Watch the traffic control light and message read boards. 

 If the light is green, roll across slowly at 3 - 5 miles per hour. 

 If the light is red, STOP and wait for further instructions. 
 
 
 
 
 
 



Size & Weight Section VI Page 20 
Revised September 2008 

CHAIN LAWS 
 
 

Oregon does not have a designated time of year requiring the use of chains.  

Chains are only required to be carried or used when signs requiring them are 

posted. 

 

Please consult ODOT’s Trip check website: 

http://www.tripcheck.com/ for Oregon’s winter travel road conditions, chain laws 

and minimum chain placement requirements. 

 

Please consult ODOT’s website: 

http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/rules/OARS_700/OAR_734/734_017.html for 

Oregon’s Administrative Rules regarding chain laws.  In 734-017-0012 it states: “When 

chains or traction tires are required to be carried and the appropriate signs are posted, 

chains or traction tires of sufficient size and number to comply with Division 17 rules 

must be in or on the vehicle.” 

 

QUESTIONS! 

If you have questions, please call before you move your freight.  We want to help! 
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OREGON DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
 
 

MOTOR CARRIER EDUCATION MANUAL 
 
 
 
 

 
 

Trucking companies must have knowledge in all areas of regulations in 
order to fulfill their regulatory requirements.  This material provides 
concise and relevant information to your business and is provided to you 
by the Oregon Department of Transportation, Motor Carrier Transportation 
Division.   
 

This section describes requirements of Safety. 
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Every motor carrier and driver in Oregon shares the duty to use our roads and highways 
responsibly.  Every vehicle must be driven and maintained to ensure the safety of all highway 
users. 

The contents of this packet are to provide motor carriers with a basic knowledge of the Federal 
Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (FMCSR, Parts listed below), the Oregon Revised Statutes 
(ORS), and the Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR), related to highway safety: 
 
� Parts 40/382-Controlled Substances and Alcohol Use and Testing 

� Part 383/ORS 807/809-Commercial Driver's License Standards 

� Part 387/OAR 740-Minimum Levels of Financial Responsibility 

� Part 390/OAR 740-General Motor Carrier Safety Regulations 

� Parts 380/391/OAR 740-Qualifications of Drivers; Long Combination Vehicle Requirements; 
Entry-Level Driver Requirements 

� Part 392-Driving of Commercial Motor Vehicles 

� Part 393-Parts and Accessories Necessary for Safe Operation (includes Cargo Securement) 

� Part 395/OAR 740-Hours of Service of Drivers 

� Part 396-Inspection, Repair, and Maintenance 

� Oregon’s Green Light Preclearance System 

These contents are only a guide.  They are not to be used for legal interpretations.  It is the 
responsibility of motor carriers and drivers to become familiar with the regulations. 

 
Additional information can be found on the Internet at: 

www.oregon.gov/ODOT/MCT/ 

The site above provides additional information regarding Oregon registration, safety, and size and 
weight regulations.  This site also contains many motor carrier forms that can be downloaded for 
use by motor carriers. 

www.fmcsa.dot.gov/rulesregs/fmcsrhome.htm 

This site contains additional motor carrier information provided by the United States Department 
of Transportation, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA). 
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Applicability 
382.103 

Drivers required to have a commercial driver’s license (CDL) under Part 
383 are subject to the controlled substances and alcohol testing rules.  
This requirement includes the following interstate and intrastate truck and 
bus operations: 

� For-hire and private companies. 

� Federal, State, local, and tribal governments. 
� Church and civic organizations. 
� Farmers and custom harvesters. 

Exemptions: 

� Drivers exempt from commercial driver’s license requirements by  
their issuing State  (e.g., certain farmers). 

� Active duty military personnel. 
 

 
DEFINITIONS 
 

Refusal to submit 
to a test 
40.191 / 40.261 / 
382.107 

Refusal to submit means that a driver: 

� Fails to appear for a test (except a pre-employment test) within a 
reasonable time. 

� Fails to remain at the testing site until the test is completed. 

� Fails to provide a sufficient amount of urine for a drug test, or breath 
specimen for an alcohol test, when there is no medical explanation 
for the failure. 

� Fails or declines to take a second test when required. 

� Fails to undergo a medical evaluation as part of a verification 
process. 

� Fails to cooperate with any part of the testing process. 

� Provides a urine sample determined to be adulterated or substituted. 
 

Safety-sensitive 
function 
382.107 

Safety-sensitive function means all time from the time a driver begins to 
work or is ready to work until the time the driver is relieved from work 
and all responsibility for work.  Safety-sensitive functions shall include 
all time: 

� At a plant, terminal, facility, or other property of a motor carrier or 
shipper. 
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� Waiting to be dispatched, unless the driver has been relieved from 
duty by the motor carrier. 

� Inspecting, servicing, or obtaining assistance for a CMV. 

� Driving a CMV. 

� In or upon any CMV, except time spent resting in a sleeper berth. 

� Loading or unloading a CMV.  Performing any other functions 
related to loading or unloading, including supervising, attending the 
CMV, or taking care of shipping documents. 

 
 
TYPES OF ALCOHOL AND CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES TESTS 
 

Pre-employment 
382.301 

No employer shall allow a driver, who the employer intends to hire or 
use, to perform a safety-sensitive function until the driver has received a 
negative controlled substances test result. 
 

Post-accident 
382.303 

If a driver is involved in an accident resulting in a fatality, or is cited for a 
moving traffic violation in connection with an injury or tow-away 
accident, the employer shall require the driver to submit, as soon as 
practicable, to controlled substances and alcohol testing.  If the driver is 
not tested for alcohol within two hours of the accident, the employer is 
required to continue attempting to test, but prepare a report explaining the 
reasons why the test was not promptly administered.  If an alcohol test 
has not been administered within eight hours or a controlled substances 
test within 32 hours of the accident, the employer shall cease all attempts 
to test and prepare a report describing the reasons why the test was not 
promptly administered. 
 

Random 
382.305 

Companies are to randomly test a number of drivers equal to 10 percent 
of the average number of driver positions per year for alcohol testing and 
50 percent for controlled substances.  All testing is to be unannounced 
and reasonably spread throughout the calendar year.  All drivers must be 
scientifically selected for testing and have an equal chance of being 
selected.  A driver shall only be tested for alcohol immediately prior to, 
during, or immediately after performing a safety-sensitive function. 
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Reasonable 
suspicion 
382.307 

A driver is required to submit to an alcohol and/or controlled substances 
test when a properly trained company official or supervisor has observed 
and documented the driver’s behavior that may indicate alcohol or 
controlled substance abuse.  The company official or supervisor must 
have received two hours of training on abuse recognition, as prescribed 
by 382.603, prior to requiring a reasonable suspicion test. 
 

Return-to-duty / 
Follow-up 
40.305 / 40.307 

Return-to-duty and follow-up tests are conducted when a driver, who has 
violated the prohibited controlled substances or alcohol conduct 
standards, returns to performing safety-sensitive functions.  See 
PROHIBITIONS below. 
 

 
PROHIBITIONS 
 

Subpart B - 
Prohibitions 
382.201 - 382.215 

The following are identified as Subpart B – Prohibitions: 

• Performing a safety-sensitive function while having an alcohol 
concentration of 0.04 or greater. 

• Using alcohol while performing a safety-sensitive function. 

• Performing a safety-sensitive function within 4 hours after using 
alcohol. 

• Using alcohol within 8 hours following an accident, before taking a 
DOT-required post-accident alcohol test. 

• Refusing to take a DOT-required alcohol or controlled substances 
test. 

• Using controlled substances while performing a safety-sensitive 
function. 

• Performing a safety-sensitive function after testing positive or 
adulterating or substituting a test specimen for controlled substances. 

 
A driver who has violated a Subpart B prohibition cannot perform any 
safety-sensitive duties until that driver has completed a Substance Abuse 
Professional (SAP) evaluation, referral, and education/treatment process.  
The first step in this process is a SAP evaluation. 
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EVALUATION AND TESTING 
 

SAP Evaluation 
382.503 /  
40.281 - 40.313 

The Substance Abuse Professional conducts face-to-face evaluations of 
the driver to determine what education and/or treatment program is 
required. 
 

Return-to-Duty 
Test 
382.309 / 40.305 

Upon completion of the education and/or treatment program prescribed 
by the SAP, the driver must take a return-to-duty test for controlled 
substances and/or alcohol with a negative test result, before the driver can 
return to safety-sensitive duties. 
 

Follow-up Testing 
382.311 /  
40.307 / 40.309 

The driver must take at least six unannounced follow-up tests for 
controlled substances and/or alcohol in the first 12 months of safety-
sensitive duties, above and beyond any random testing requirements.  The 
SAP may prescribe more follow-up tests during the first 12 months 
and/or subsequent to that. 
 

Other alcohol-
related conduct 
382.505 

A driver found to have an alcohol concentration between 0.02 and 0.04 
shall not perform safety-sensitive functions for at least 24 hours. 
 

 
RECORD RETENTION 
 

Retention of 
records 
382.401 

An employer shall maintain all records related the controlled substances 
and alcohol program in a secure location with limited access, made 
available within two business days to any authorized government 
personnel.  The records shall be kept on file based on the following 
retention periods: 
 

Five years: 

• All records related to any violations of the controlled substances or 
alcohol standards described in Subpart B. 
      Examples:  positive test results, SAP evaluations. 

• Records related to the administration of the program. 
 
Two years:  Records related to the collection process. 
 
One year:  Negative and canceled test results. 
 
Indefinite period:   Training records. 
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COMPANY POLICY 
 

Company Policy 
382.601 

Every motor carrier shall provide each driver with educational materials 
on controlled substances and alcohol that include, but are not limited to: 

• Which drivers are subject to the requirements, and who is 
responsible for providing information. 

• What behavior is prohibited and what constitutes a refusal to test. 

• The circumstances and time period under which a driver will be 
tested and the procedures involved.  What constitutes a safety-
sensitive function. 

• The consequences for drivers who have violated the testing 
requirements. 

• Information concerning the effects of alcohol misuse and controlled 
substances abuse on health, work, and personal life. * 

• The signs and symptoms of alcohol or controlled substances 
problems. 

 
* See also Driver Wellness training in Parts 380.500 to 380.513. 
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The licensing provisions in Part 383 are intended to help reduce accidents by setting standards 
that: 

� Require commercial drivers to be properly qualified and to hold a single valid operator’s 
license; and 

� Disqualify drivers who do not operate Commercial Motor Vehicles (CMV) safely. 

 
DEFINITIONS 
 

Commercial Motor 
Vehicle 
383.5 

Commercial motor vehicle (CMV) is a motor vehicle or combination of 
motor vehicles used in commerce to transport passengers or property if 
the motor vehicle: 

� Has a gross combination weight rating (GCWR) of 26,001 pounds or 
more inclusive of a towed unit(s) with a gross vehicle weight rating 
(GVWR) of more than 10,000 pounds, or 

� Has a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 26,001 pounds or 
more; or 

� Is designed to transport 16 passengers or more, including the driver; 
or 

� Is of any size and used to transport hazardous materials requiring 
placarding. 

 
Note:  The above definition of CMV pertains to Part 383 (Commercial 
Driver’s License), Part 380 (Entry-Level Driver Training) and Part 382 
(Controlled Substances and Alcohol Testing) only. 
 

Gross Combination 
Weight Rating 
383.5 
 

Gross combination weight rating (GCWR) is the value specified by the 
manufacturer as the loaded weight of a combination (articulated) motor 
vehicle.  In the absence of a manufacturer’s specified value for the towed 
unit, the weight will be determined by the actual weight of the towed unit 
and any load thereon. 
 

Gross Vehicle 
Weight Rating 
383.5 
 

Gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) is the value specified by the 
manufacturer as the loaded weight of a single motor vehicle. 
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COMMERCIAL DRIVER’S LICENSE (CDL) CLASSES, ENDORSEM ENTS, AND 
RESTRICTIONS 
 

CDL Classes 
383.5 / 383.91 / 
ORS 807.031 

There are three classes of CDL:  Class A CDL allows the driver to 
operate Class A, Class B, and Class C vehicles.  Class B CDL allows 
drivers to operate Class B and Class C vehicles.  Class C CDL allows 
drivers to operate Class C vehicles.  Vehicle classes: 

� CLASS A--Gross combination weight rating (GCWR) of 26,001 or 
more pounds, inclusive of a towed unit(s) with a gross vehicle 
weight rating (GVWR) of more than 10,000 pounds. 

� CLASS B--GVWR of 26,001 or more pounds (may tow a trailer up 
to 10,000 GVWR). 

� CLASS C-- GCWR or GVWR up to 26,000 pounds, designed to 
transport 16 or more passengers, including the driver. 

� CLASS C-- GCWR or GVWR up to 26,000 pounds, transporting 
hazardous materials requiring placarding. 

 
Endorsements 
383.93 /  
ORS 807.035 

In addition to basic CDL tests, drivers who operate specialized 
commercial motor vehicles must pass additional tests to obtain the 
following endorsements on their CDL’s: 

TDouble/triple trailers 

PPassenger 

NTank vehicle 

HHazardous materials 

XCombination of tank vehicle and hazardous materials 

SSchool bus 
 

Tank Vehicle 
383.5 

A tank vehicle is any commercial motor vehicle that is designed to 
transport any liquid or gaseous materials within a tank that is either 
permanently or temporarily attached to the vehicle or the chassis.  Such 
vehicles include, but are not limited to, cargo tanks and portable tanks, as 
defined in 49 CFR Part 171.  However, this definition does not include 
portable tanks having a rated capacity under 1,000 gallons. 
 

Hazardous 
Materials 
383.141 /  
OAR 735-062-0190 

To obtain a hazardous materials endorsement, or renew a hazardous 
materials endorsement, individuals must pass a Transportation Security 
Administration security screening process.  For further information, visit 
the DMV Web site at: 
 
www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv/driverid/cdlendrest.shtml 
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Air Brake 
Restriction 
383.95 

If an individual fails the air brake section of the knowledge test, or 
performs the skills test in a vehicle not equipped with air brakes, his/her 
CDL will indicate the license holder may not operate a CMV equipped 
with air brakes. 
 
A driver who passes the knowledge and skills tests, and has no air brake 
restriction, qualifies as an air brake inspector.  See 396.25. 
 
Note:  For the purposes of the skills test and the license restriction, air 
brakes include any braking system that operates fully or partially on the 
air brake principal. 
 

Oregon Farm 
Endorsements 
ORS 807.035 

A farmer who operates a commercial motor vehicle is not required to 
hold a CDL if the CMV is: 

� Controlled or operated by the farmer; 

� Used to transport agricultural products, farm machinery, or farm 
supplies to or from the farm; 

� Not used in for-hire operations; 

� Operated within 150 air-miles of the farm; AND 

� Not used in triple-trailer combinations. 
 
Rather than a CDL, a farmer may obtain one of the following: 

� Class Y Farm Endorsement--same vehicle combination as that 
allowed for a Class A CDL. 

� Class Z Farm Endorsement--same vehicle(s) as that allowed for a 
Class B CDL. 

 
A farmer with a farm endorsement may also transport the following 
without requiring an additional endorsement: 

� Double trailers 
� Tank vehicle 

� Hazardous materials – if placarded in accordance with applicable 
laws 

 
Oregon Classes 
and Exemptions 
ORS 807 

Because the CDL is a state-issued license, check with the appropriate 
state officials regarding particular license classes and specific 
exemptions.  For other classes and exemptions for Oregon drivers, see 
ORS 807.020 to 807.036. 
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CONVICTIONS, SUSPENSIONS, AND DISQUALIFICATION  
 

Employer 
Responsibility 
383.37 / 383.51 / 
391.15 
 

No employer shall knowingly allow or require a driver to drive a CMV 
whose license is suspended, revoked, or cancelled, or who has been 
disqualified to drive a CMV. 

Driver 
Responsibility: 
Notification of 
Convictions 
383.31 

When a driver who holds a CDL is convicted of violating, in any vehicle 
or in any State, a law relating to motor vehicle traffic control (other than a 
parking violation), that driver must notify both his/her employer and the 
State from which his/her CDL is issued of the violation(s) within 30 days 
of the conviction.  This notification must be in writing and must include 
the following information: 

� Driver’s full name; 

� Driver’s license number; 
� Date of conviction;  
� Details about the offense, including any resulting suspension, 

revocation, or cancellation of driving privileges; 
� Indication of whether the violation happened in a CMV; 

� Location of offense; and 
� Driver’s signature. 
 

Driver 
Responsibility: 
Notification of 
Suspensions 
383.33 / 391.15 
 

A driver must notify his/her employer before the end of the business day 
following the day the driver receives notice of suspension, revocation, 
cancellation, loss of privilege, or disqualification from any state or 
jurisdiction. 
 

Commercial 
Driver’s License 
Information 
System (CDLIS) 

The CDLIS enables the States to exchange information about the driving 
records and driver’s licenses of CMV drivers.  This helps ensure that only 
one license is issued to a driver and that drivers currently disqualified are 
prevented from obtaining a CDL. 
 
Employers have access to the CDLIS clearing-house through their State’s 
vehicle licensing agency. 
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DISQUALIFICATION TABLES  (1–4) 
 

Table 1: 
Major Offenses  
383.51 / 391.15 

Major offenses include: 

� Driving any vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or 
controlled substances. 

� Having an alcohol concentration of 0.04 or greater while operating a 
CMV. 

� Refusing to take an alcohol test as required by a state or jurisdiction 
under its implied consent laws defined in 383.72. 

� Transportation, possession, or unlawful use of controlled substances 
while on duty. 

� Leaving the scene of an accident while operating any vehicle. 

� Using any vehicle to commit a felony. 

� Driving a CMV while suspended, when the suspension was the result 
of a CMV violation. 

� Causing a fatality through negligent operation of a CMV. 
 

Penalties 
383.51 / 391.15 
ORS 809.413 

� First conviction - One year disqualification. 

� First conviction while transporting hazardous materials - Three 
year disqualification. 

� Subsequent convictions - Lifetime disqualification. 
 
A driver convicted of a felony for using any vehicle for manufacturing, 
distributing, or dispensing controlled substances is disqualified for life, 
and is not eligible for reinstatement. 
 

Table 2: 
Serious Traffic 
Violations 
383.51 

Serious traffic violations include: 

� Speeding 15 mph or more above the posted speed limit in any 
vehicle. 

� Reckless driving, improper or erratic lane changes, or following too 
closely in any vehicle. 

� Traffic offenses linked to fatalities in any vehicle. 

� Driving a CMV without the proper class of CDL and/or 
endorsements. 

� Driving a CMV without a CDL in possession. 
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Penalties 
383.51 /  
ORS 809.413 

� Second conviction within three years – 60 day disqualification. 

� Third or subsequent conviction within three years – 120 day 
disqualification. 

 
Table 3: 
Railroad Crossing 
Violations 
383.51 

Railroad crossing violations while operating a CMV include: * 

� Failing to slow down or stop at or before a railroad crossing when 
required. 

� Failing to drive completely through a crossing when required. 

� Failing to negotiate a crossing  because of insufficient undercarriage 
clearance. 

 
* See also Parts 392.10 and 392.11. 
 

Penalties 
383.51 / 383.53 

� First conviction – 60 day disqualification. 

� Second conviction within three years – 120 day disqualification. 

� Third or subsequent conviction within three years – One year 
disqualification. 

 
An employer who knowingly allows or requires a driver to commit a 
railroad crossing violation may be subject to a civil penalty of $10,000. 
 

Table 4: 
Violations of Out-
of-Service Orders 
383.51 / 391.15 / 
ORS 809.413 
 

During a CVSA inspection, a driver and/or CMV can be placed out-of-
service for certain safety-related deficiencies or defects.  The driver is in 
violation of the out-of-service order if the driver operates the CMV 
before the driver is allowed to do so. 
 

Penalties 
383.51 / 383.53 / 
391.15 / 
ORS 809.413 

� First conviction – 90 day to one year disqualification. 

� Second conviction within ten years – One to five year 
disqualification. 

� Third or subsequent conviction within ten years – Three to five 
year disqualification.  

 

Hazardous Materials / Passengers: 

� First conviction - 180 day to two year disqualification. 

� Second or subsequent conviction within ten years – Three to five 
year disqualification. 
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A driver who operates a CMV in violation of an out-of-service order shall 
also be subject to a civil penalty of $1,100 to $2,750.  An employer who 
knowingly allows or requires a driver to violate an out-of-service order 
shall be subject to a civil penalty of $2,750 to $11,000. 
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Definitions 
387.5 

Financial responsibility means having insurance policies or surety bonds 
sufficient to satisfy the minimum public liability requirements. 
 
Public liability means liability for bodily injury, property damage, and 
environmental restoration. 
 

Requirements for 
Financial 
Responsibility  
Part 387 /  
OAR 740 
 

All motor carriers must have at least the minimum amount of public  
liability insurance required by law.  The amount of insurance and the 
required insurance forms are prescribed in both Part 387 and the Oregon 
Administrative Rules (OAR’s). 
 

OAR 740: 
Level and Proof of 
Liability Insurance 

The OAR’s require each motor carrier operating one or more vehicles 
over 26,000 lbs. intrastate in Oregon to maintain at least $750,000 of 
public liability insurance.  A current Form “E” , issued by an insurer, 
must be on file with the Oregon Department of Transportation (ODOT) to 
prove the motor carrier meets this requirement  (740-040-0010 & 0020). 
 

Part 387: 
Levels and Proof of 
Liability Insurance 

Part 387 also requires certain motor carriers to maintain minimum levels 
of public liability insurance as shown in the table below  (387.9, 387.33): 

Classification Minimum 
Applicability 

Minimum 
Liability 

Non-
HazMat 

Interstate 
for-hire 

10,000 lbs. 
GVWR 

$750,000 

Explosives 
(1.1, 1.2, 1.3) 

Poison-Inhalation, 
Hazard Zone A 

(2.3, 6.1) 

Radioactive Materials, 
HRCQ  (Class 7) 

None 

Hazardous 
Substances 

Compressed Gas 
(2.1, 2.2) 

In bulk * 

$5,000,000 
Hazardous 
Materials 

Intrastate in bulk *  
or Interstate 

10,000 lbs. 
GVWR 

$1,000,000 

Passenger Interstate 7-15 passenger $1,500,000 
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 * In bulk – over 3,500 water gallons. 

 
 These motor carriers must have proof of the minimum level of insurance 

at the company’s principal place of business (387.7, 387.31). 
 
Proof shall consist of one of the following: 

� Form MCS 90 (MCS-90B for passenger carriers) – Insurance 
endorsement issued by an insurer. 

� Form MCS-82 (MCS-82B for passenger carriers) – Surety bond 
issued by a surety. 

� Written authorization of the I.C.C. authorizing carrier to self-insure. 
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General 
Applicability 
390.3 

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (FMCSR) apply to all 
employers, employees, and commercial motor vehicles transporting 
property or passengers in interstate or intrastate commerce. 
 
Exceptions to General Applicability: 

� School bus operations directly related to school functions. 

� Transportation performed by governmental agencies.  Fire and  
rescue vehicles used during emergencies.  Hearses and ambulance  
services.* 

� Certain intrastate farm operations.  See ORS 825.024. 

� Noncommercial transportation. 
 
* See also emergency exception under 390.5 (Definitions: Direct 

Assistance, Emergency, Emergency relief), 390.23, and 390.25. 
 

 
DEFINITIONS 
 

Commercial Motor 
Vehicle 
390.5 

Commercial motor vehicle (CMV) is any self-propelled or towed motor 
vehicle used on a highway in commerce to transport passengers or 
property when the vehicle: 

� Has a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR), gross combination 
weight rating (GCWR), or actual weight of 10,001 or more pounds; 
or 

� Is designed or used to transport more than 8 passengers, including 
the driver, for compensation; or 

� Is designed or used to transport more than 15 passengers, including 
the driver, and is not used to transport passenger for compensation; 
or 

� Is used to transport hazardous materials requiring placarding. 
 
Note:  The above definition of CMV pertains to Parts 390 through 397. 
 

Gross Combination 
Weight Rating 
390.5 
 

Gross combination weight rating (GCWR) is the value specified by the 
manufacturer as the loaded weight of a combination (articulated) motor 
vehicle.  In the absence of a manufacturer’s specified value for the towed 
unit, the weight will be determined by the actual weight of the towed unit 
and any load thereon. 
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Gross Vehicle 
Weight Rating 
390.5 
 

Gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) is the value specified by the 
manufacturer as the loaded weight of a single motor vehicle. 

Interstate 
Commerce 
390.5 

Interstate Commerce is trade, traffic, or transportation in the United 
States –  

� Between a place in a State and a place outside of such State 
(including a place outside of the United States); or 

� Between two places in a State through another State or a place 
outside of the United States; or 

� Between two places in a State as part of trade, traffic, transportation 
originating or terminating outside the State or the United States. 

 
Driveaway-
towaway operation 
390.5 

Driveaway-towaway operation means transporting an unladen vehicle 
with at least one set of wheels on the ground: 

� Between a manufacturer, dealership, purchaser, or repair shop, or 

� By means of a saddle-mount or tow-bar. 
 

 
ACCIDENT REGISTER AND REPORTING 
 

Accident 
390.5 / 
OAR 740-100-0020 

An accident is an occurrence involving a commercial motor vehicle 
operating on a highway in interstate or intrastate commerce that results in 
at least one of the following: 

� A fatality. 

� Bodily injury to a person who, as a result of the injury, immediately 
receives medical treatment away from the scene of the accident. 

� Disabling damage to one or more motor vehicles requiring the 
vehicle(s) to be towed or otherwise transported from the scene by a 
tow truck or other vehicle. 

 
Accident Register 
390.15 

Motor carriers must maintain an accident register for three years after the 
date of each accident.  The accident register must contain at least the 
following information: 

� Date and place of accident 

� Driver’s name 
� Number of injuries and fatalities 
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� Hazardous materials (other than fuel) released, if any 
� Copies of all accident reports required by governmental entities or 

insurers 
 

Accident Reporting 
OAR 740-100-0020 

Accidents occurring in Oregon must be reported to ODOT within 30 
days.  However, fatal accidents occurring in Oregon must be reported to 
ODOT as soon as possible (next business day). 
 
Accidents shall be reported on DMV Form 735-0032 or may be reported 
online.  For information go to: 
 
www.oregon.gov/odot/mct/safety.shtml 
 
Select “Crash Reports & Stats”.  You may also call (503) 986-3507.  Fax 
(503) 986-4249. 
 
Note:  For DMV reporting requirements, visit the DMV Web site at: 
 
www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv/driverid/accidentreport.shtml 
 

 
VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION 
 

Marking of CMV’s  
390.21 /  
OAR 740-100-
0010(2)(b) 

Every self-propelled CMV operated by a motor carrier must be marked 
on BOTH sides of the vehicle, with the following: 

� The motor carrier’s legal name or a single trade name. 
� The motor carrier’s USDOT number. 

Note:  External identification is not required on vehicles 26,000 lbs. or 
less GCWR and operated in private intrastate carriage, except when 
transporting placarded hazardous materials or over 15 passengers.  
However, the motor carrier is still be required to have a USDOT  
number if operating CMV’s as defined in 390.5. 
 
A USDOT number may be obtained by completing Federal Form  
MCS-150 or applying online at: 
 
www.safer.fmcsa.dot.gov/onlineforms.aspx 
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Motor carriers must ensure that all drivers of commercial motor vehicles meet the minimum 
qualifications specified in Part 391. 
 

General Driver 
Requirements 
391.11 

A driver must meet the following requirements: 

• Be in good health and physically able to perform all duties of a 
driver. 

• Be at least 21 years of age for interstate commerce, or 18 years of 
age for intrastate commerce. 

• Speak and read English well enough to converse with the general 
public, understand highway traffic signs and signals, respond to 
official questions, and be able to make legible entries on reports and 
records. 

• Be able to drive the vehicle safely. 

• Know how to safely load and properly block, brace, and secure the 
cargo. 

• Have only one valid operator’s license. 
 

Driver 
Qualification File 
391.51 

Every motor carrier must have a qualification file for each driver 
employed.  The file must include: 
 

 

� APPLICATION FOR EMPLOYMENT  (391.21, 383.35) 
Besides basic driver information as outlined in 391.21, the employment application shall include detailed 
information of all license suspensions, and a 3-year history of moving violations, accidents, and employers  
(10-year employer history for CDL drivers).  The driver-applicant must sign the application certifying its 
accuracy. 

� INQUIRY TO STATE AGENCIES  (391.23) 
Within 30 days of hire, the motor carrier must obtain the driver’s driving record, both personal and 
employment-related, for the preceding three years.  The inquiry must be made to all states where the driver 
was licensed. 

� ANNUAL REVIEW OF DRIVING RECORD  (391.25)  
At least once every 12 months, the motor carrier must obtain and review the driver’s driving record, both 
personal and employment-related. 

Note:  Convictions, accidents, and suspensions from a driver's driving record may automatically be obtained 
through the Oregon DMV's Automated Reporting System (ARS).  For information, visit the DMV Web site at:   

www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/records/business.shtml#ars 



MOTOR CARRIER SAFETY 
PARTS 380/391/OAR 740 - Qualification of Drivers;  
Long Combination Vehicle Requirements; Entry-Level Driver Requirements  
 
 

Motor Carrier Safety Section VII Page 20 
Revised October 2009 

 
� ANNUAL DRIVER’S CERTIFICATION OF VIOLATIONS  (391.2 7) 

At least once every 12 months, the motor carrier must require each driver to provide a list of all moving 
violations for the previous 12 months.  Drivers who have provided information required by 383.31 need not 
repeat that information in this annual list of violations. 

� ROAD TEST  (391.31, 391.33) 
The driver must successfully complete a road test and be issued a certificate, or provide the motor carrier with 
a copy of the driver’s CDL or previous certificate showing that the driver has already completed a road test.  
However, a copy of the CDL alone is not sufficient for any driver required to have a double/triple trailer or 
tank vehicle endorsement. 

� LCV DRIVER CERTIFICATE  (380.401)  
The LCV (Longer Combination Vehicle) driver must successfully complete LCV driver training and be issued 
a Driver-Training Certificate.  For more information see LCV Training below. 

� ENTRY-LEVEL DRIVER CERTIFICATE  (380.509, 380.511) 
The entry-level driver must successfully complete entry-level driver training and be issued a training 
certificate.  For more information see Entry-Level Training below. 

� MEDICAL EXAMINATION  (391.41 - 391.49)  
The driver must pass a physical examination conducted by a licensed health care professional every two years.  
The driver is then issued a Medical Examiner’s Certificate which must be carried while operating a CMV, and 
a copy of the certificate must be kept in the Driver Qualification File. 

 
Physical 
Requirements 
391.41 

A driver is physically qualified to driver if that driver: 

� Has no loss or major impairment of a foot, leg, hand, or arm, or has 
been granted a Skill Performance Evaluation (SPE) Certificate under 
391.49 (interstate operations), or waiver of physical disqualification 
under OAR 740-100-0010(2)(e) (intrastate operations). 

� Has no clinical diagnosis of diabetes requiring insulin for control. 

� Has no clinical diagnosis of any disqualifying heart disease. 

� Has no clinical diagnosis of high blood pressure likely to interfere 
with CMV operation. 

� Has no clinical diagnosis of epilepsy. 

� Has 20/40 vision or better with corrected lenses.  Can recognize 
traffic signal colors. 

� Has enough hearing to perceive a forced whisper. 

� Has no drug or alcohol abuse problems. 

� Has no other physical or mental disorder likely to interfere with 
CMV operations. 
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Medical Waivers 
391.49 /  
OAR 740-100-
0010(2)(e) 

A driver unable to pass a physical examination may be eligible for an 
interstate SPE Certificate granted by FMCSA, or an intrastate waiver of 
physical disqualification granted by ODOT.  For more information, call 
(503) 378-5916. 
 

Driver 
Investigation 
History File 
391.53 

Every motor carrier must have an investigation file for each driver that 
includes the driver’s Safety Performance History.  Within 30 days of hire, 
the motor carrier must contact the previous employers within the past 
three years to obtain and verify the information listed below.  Previous 
employers are required to release the information.  A written record must 
be kept of all contact results.  The file must be considered confidential 
and only be allowed limited access. 
 

 

� DRIVER IDENTIFICATION / EMPLOYMENT VERIFICATION  (3 91.23) 
The motor carrier must obtain general employment data about the driver, such as name, date of birth, starting 
and ending dates, and job responsibilities. 

� ACCIDENT HISTORY  (391.23) 
The motor carrier must inquire about all accidents the driver was involved in, and obtain all accident 
information listed in 390.15(b). 

� DRUG/ALCOHOL HISTORY  (40.25, 391.23) 
The motor carrier must obtain information about whether the driver had any drug/alcohol violations and 
whether the driver completed a rehabilitation program.  This information must only be obtained from 
employers where the applicant drove CDL-required vehicles, and must only be made with the driver’s written 
authorization.  

The motor carrier must also ask the applicant about all positive pre-employment tests or refusals for motor 
carriers within the last two years who did not hire the driver. 

Note:  Records of positive drug tests may also be obtained from the Oregon DMV, with the driver’s written 
permission.  For information, visit the DMV Web site at: 

 www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/records/business.shtml#drug 
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Limited 
Exemptions 

The following specific conditions and types of drivers are exempt from 
certain Part 391 requirements: 
 
Drivers employed before January 1, 1971  (391.61) 
A driver who has been a regular employee of a motor carrier for a 
continuous period that began before January 1, 1971, is exempt from: 

� Application for employment. 
� Employment verification. 

� Initial inquiry to state agencies. 
� Road test. 

 
Multiple-employer drivers  (391.63) 
If a motor carrier employs a driver who is employed as a driver by more 
than one motor carrier, the motor carrier must have: 

� Driver’s name and social security number. 

� License number, state, and type of license. 
� Medical examiner’s certificate. 
� Road test or equivalent. 

� Controlled substances / alcohol program requirements. 
 
Drivers furnished by other motor carriers  (391.65) 
A motor carrier using a driver regularly employed by another motor 
carrier must contact the other motor carrier and obtain a signed certificate 
verifying the driver’s name and signature, the driver’s qualifications, and 
the expiration date of the medical examiner’s certificate.  The driver must 
still meet the controlled substances / alcohol program requirements. 
 
Certain farm vehicle drivers  (391.2, ORS 825.024) 
Some farm vehicle drivers are exempt from Part 391. 
 
Private intrastate carriers  (OAR 740-100-0010(2)(d)) 
A driver who is employed by a private intrastate carrier is exempt from 
Part 391 if the driver operates a CMV that is 26,000 lbs. or less GVWR, 
and is not transporting placarded hazardous materials.  The driver must 
still have a valid driver’s license. 
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LONGER COMBINATION VEHICLE (LCV) TRAINING REQUIREME NTS 
 

Definition 
380.105 

Longer combination vehicle (LCV) is any combination of a truck-tractor 
and two or more trailers with a gross vehicle weight (GVW) greater than 
80,000 pounds. 
 

Driver 
Requirements 
380.107 / 380.203 / 
380.205 
 

A driver who wishes to operate an LCV shall first complete an LCV 
driver-training program.  To qualify for the training program, the driver 
must have a: 

� Class A CDL with a double/triple trailer endorsement; and 

� Clean driving record for the previous 6 months operating a vehicle 
combination requiring a Class A CDL. 

 
Driver-Training 
Certificate 
380.401 

Each driver who completes the LCV driver training shall be issued a 
certificate.  A copy of the certificate shall be maintained in the driver’s 
qualification file. 
 

Driver-Instructor 
Requirements 
380.301 / 380.303 
 

LCV driver training may only be given by a qualified driver-instructor.  
The qualifications required are based on whether the driver-instructor is a 
classroom instructor or skills instructor. 
 

LCV Driver - 
Instructor 
Qualification File 
391.55 

A motor carrier must have a qualification file for each LCV driver-
instructor it employs or uses.  The file must include: 

• Proof of the instructor’s qualifications; and 

• A copy of the instructor’s CDL with the appropriate endorsement(s). 
 
Note:  For further information on the LCV driver training requirements, 
see 380.101 through 380.401. 
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ENTRY-LEVEL DRIVER TRAINING REQUIREMENTS 
 

Definition 
380.502 

Entry-level driver is a driver with less than one year of experience 
driving a CMV with a CDL. 
 

Requirements 
380.503 

All  entry-level drivers subject to the CDL requirements of Part 383 must 
receive entry-level driver training.  The training must include instructions 
in the following four areas: 

• Driver qualification requirements 

• Hours of service 

• Driver wellness * 

• Whistleblower protection 
 
* See also company policy requirements under Part 382.601. 
 

Training 
Certificate 
380.509 / 380.513 

Each driver who completes the entry-level driver training shall be issued 
a certificate.  A copy of the certificate shall be maintained in the driver’s 
qualification file. 
 
Note:  For further information on the entry-level driver training 
requirements, see 380.500 through 380.513. 
 

 
BRAKE INSPECTOR QUALIFICATION 
 

Brake Inspector 
Qualification 
 

See 396.25 for brake inspection, maintenance, and repair qualifications. 
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Illness or Fatigue 
392.3 

No driver may drive a CMV when the driver’s ability or alertness is 
impaired by fatigue, illness, or any other cause that makes it unsafe to 
drive the vehicle. 
 

Drugs and Other 
Substances  
392.4 / 382.213 / 
382.215 

No driver shall be on duty and possess, be under the influence of, or use: 

� Any Schedule I drug listed in 21 CFR 1308.11. 

� Amphetamines (including “pep pills” and “bennies”). 
� Narcotics. 
� Any other substance that makes driving unsafe. 
 

Alcohol 
392.5 / 382.201 - 
382.207 

A driver is forbidden to use or be under the influence of alcohol while 
driving, being on duty, or within 4 hours of going on duty.  A driver is 
forbidden to possess an alcoholic beverage while driving or being on 
duty, unless it is a manifested part of the shipment. 
 

Railroad Crossings 
392.10 / 392.11 

Drivers of CMV’s transporting certain hazardous materials or passengers 
are required to stop before crossing railroad tracks.  Also, those drivers 
may not shift gears while crossing the tracks.  All other drivers must slow 
down when crossing. 
 

Unauthorized 
Passenger 
392.60 

Unless authorized in writing by the motor carrier, no driver shall 
transport any person on any CMV other than a bus.  The written 
authorization need not be carried in the vehicle. 
 

Radar Detectors 
392.71 

No driver shall use a radar detector or drive a CMV equipped with one. 
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Every CMV must be equipped with certain standard equipment.  Other optional equipment or 
accessories are permitted only if these items do not decrease the operational safety of the vehicle. 
 
Note:  See also the periodic inspection items and standards prescribed in Appendix G to 
Subchapter B. 
 
BRAKES 
 

Brake Systems 
393.40 / 393.41 

CMV’s must be equipped with the following brake systems which must 
meet the braking requirements of FMCSR Part 393 and/or Federal Motor 
Vehicle Safety Standards (FMVSS) Part 571, as applicable: 

� Service brakes  

� Parking brakes 
� Emergency brakes 
 

Brakes on all 
Wheels 
393.42 / 393.48 

Every CMV must be equipped with brakes acting on all wheels, with the 
following exceptions: 

� Trucks and truck tractors with three or more axles, manufactured 
before July 25, 1980, are not required to have steering axle brakes.  
However, the vehicle must meet the braking requirements of 393.52. 

� Vehicles being towed in a driveaway-towaway operation.  However, 
the combination must meet the requirements of 393.52. 

� Any trailer with a gross weight of 3,000 pounds or less, provided the 
trailer weight does not exceed 40 percent of the weight of the power 
unit. 

� Three-axle dollies, steered by a co-driver (tillerman), are not required 
to have steering axle brakes. 

� Loaded housemoving dollies, and specialized trailers and dollies 
transporting furnaces, reactors, and similar vehicles, provided the 
combination does not exceed 20 mph.  However, the combination 
must be able to stop within 40 ft. 

 
Breakaway and 
Emergency 
Braking 
393.43 

Every power unit and its trailer must be equipped with the following 
emergency braking systems: 

Power unit - 

� Tractor protection:  The power unit must have adequate service 
brakes to stop the power unit in the event of a trailer breakaway. 
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� Trailer emergency brakes:  Each power unit with air brakes must 
have both a manual and an automatic system for setting the 
emergency brakes on a trailer with air brakes. * 

Trailer - 

Breakaway:  Every trailer must be equipped with brakes that apply 
automatically if the trailer breaks away from the power unit. * 
 
* Does not apply to driveaway-towaway operations. 
 

Brake  
Components 

All brake components, including those identified below, must be 
installed, maintained, and protected to prevent leaks and to ensure proper 
functioning of the brake systems. 

� Brake tubing and hoses – 393.45 
� Brake chambers, slack adjusters, linings/pads, drums/rotors – 393.47 
� Reservoirs – 393.50 
 

Brake Warning 
Devices and 
Gauges 
393.51 

Buses, trucks, and truck tractors must be equipped with a signal that 
provides a warning to the driver when a failure occurs in the vehicle’s 
service brake system.  This signal requirement covers hydraulic brake 
systems, air brake systems, vacuum brake systems, and hydraulic brakes 
applied or assisted by air or vacuum. 
 

Automatic Brake 
Adjusters and 
Adjustment 
Indicators 
393.53 

The following CMV’s must be equipped with automatic brake adjusters: 

� Hydraulic-braked vehicles manufactured on or after October 20, 
1993. 

� Air-braked vehicles manufactured on or after October 20, 1994.  
Must also have brake adjustment indicators. 

 
Antilock  Brake 
Systems (ABS) 
393.55 

The following CMV’s must be equipped with antilock brake systems: * 

� Truck-tractors manufactured on or after March 1, 1997. 

� All other vehicles with air brakes manufactured on or after  
March 1, 1998. 

� Hydraulic-braked trucks and buses manufactured on or after  
March 1, 1999. 

Each antilock brake system must include ABS malfunction indicators. 
 
* Does not apply to driveaway-towaway operations. 
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COUPLING DEVICES  
 

General 
Requirements 
393.70 

Coupling devices, including fifth wheel assemblies, drawbars/tow-bars 
and drawbar eyes, pintle hooks, turntables, safety devices, and saddle-
mounts*, must be properly secured and allow for proper alignment 
between the towing vehicle and the towed vehicle.  Coupling devices 
must be free of excessive wear and cracks.  No securement bolts or rivets 
are allowed to be loose or missing. 
 
* See 393.71 for driveaway-towaway (saddle-mount) operations. 
 

Fifth Wheel 
Assemblies 
393.70(b) 

� Every fifth wheel assembly must have a locking device to prevent 
separation or excessive play of the upper and lower halves of the 
fifth wheel.  The locking device shall apply automatically on 
coupling. 

� The upper and lower fifth wheel halves must be located to allow for 
equal weight distribution on the axles of the towed and towing 
vehicles. 

 
Full Trailers 
393.70(c) 

� The tow-bar used to tow a full trailer must have a locking device to 
prevent separation of the towed and towing vehicles. 

� The tow-bar eye and pintle hook must not have excessive play, nor 
be repaired by welding. 

 
Safety Devices 
393.70(d) 

Every full trailer and converter dolly must have safety device(s) to 
prevent separation of the towed and towing vehicles in the event of a tow-
bar failure.  The safety devices must meet the following requirements: 

� Must not be attached to the pintle hook or other attachment device. 

� Must have an ultimate breaking strength equal to the weight of the 
towed vehicle. 

� Must prevent the tow-bar from dropping to the ground in case the 
tow-bar fails or becomes disconnected.  The safety device must not 
have excess slack. 

Number of safety devices: 

Hinged/swiveled tow-bar, full trailer or converter dolly:  Must have one 
of the following: 

� Two separate chains/cables running along both sides of the tow-bar. 
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� A bridle (‘Y’) system, with two attachments at the towed vehicle, and 
one attachment at the towing vehicle.  When a single cable is used, a 
thimble and twin-base cable clamps shall be used to form the front 
bridle eye. 

� Two pairs of chains/cables.  One pair from the towed vehicle to the 
rear of the tow-bar.  The other pair from the towing vehicle to the 
front of the tow-bar. 

o The chains/cables must extend beyond any bolts, rivets, 
etc. used to connect structural members of the tow-bar. 

o For an extendible tow-bar, a stop must be used to prevent 
separation of the movable part of the tow-bar. 

Fixed tow-bar, converter dolly:  A single chain/cable may be used down 
the centerline of the tow-bar.  The device may be attached to any location 
along the tow-bar. 
 

 
EMERGENCY EQUIPMENT  
 

Emergency 
Equipment 
392.8 / 393.95 

CMV’s must carry the following emergency equipment: 

� Fire extinguisher. 
� Spare fuses. 
� Warning devices for stopped vehicles. 
 

Fire Extinguishers 
393.95 

Fire extinguishers must be securely mounted and readily accessible.  
Each extinguisher must have a gauge or other indicator that shows 
whether the extinguisher is fully charged and a label displaying one of the 
following Underwriters’ Laboratories (UL) ratings: 

� One extinguisher - 5 B:C or more. 

� Two extinguishers - 4 B:C or more each. 

� One extinguisher - 10 B:C or more, if the vehicle is transporting  
placarded hazardous materials. 

 
Note:  Does not apply to vehicles towed in driveaway-towaway 
operations. 
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Warning Devices 
for Stopped 
Vehicles 
392.22 / 392.24 / 
392.25 / 393.95 
 

CMV’s must be equipped with one of the following types of warning 
devices: 

� Three reflective triangles. 

� At least six fusees or three liquid-burning flares, except for vehicles 
transporting explosives (1.1, 1.2, 1.3), flammable liquid (3) or 
flammable gas (2.1) in cargo tanks, or compressed gas as a fuel. 

Placement of Warning Devices:  The three warning devices must be 
placed as follows (except where special rules apply): 

• One on the traffic side, ten feet from the vehicle, in the direction of 
approaching traffic. 

• One 100 feet away from the vehicle in the center of the traffic lane or 
shoulder where the vehicle is stopped, in the direction of 
approaching traffic. 

• One 100 feet away from the vehicle in the center of the traffic lane or 
shoulder where the vehicle is stopped, in the direction away from 
approaching traffic. 

 
Hazard Warning 
Flashers 
392.22 

A CMV stopped upon a highway or shoulder must activate the vehicle’s 
hazard warning flashers immediately.  The driver must leave the flashers 
on until the warning devices are in place.  The flashers must again be 
used while the warning devices are being picked up before the movement 
of the vehicle. 
 

 
FUEL SYSTEM 
 

General 
Requirements 
393.65 

Each fuel system must meet the following requirements: * 

� Fuel systems, including fuel tanks and fuel lines, must be properly 
secured in a workmanlike manner, and be free of leaks. 

� No part of the system may extend beyond the widest part of the 
vehicle. 

� No part of the fuel system of a bus may be located within or above 
the passenger compartment. 

 
* See 393.69 for propane systems. 
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Fuel Lines 
393.65 

Each fuel line must be located so that: 

� The lines do not extend more than 2 inches below the fuel tanks 
unless the lines are enclosed in a protective housing.  Diesel fuel 
crossover, return, and withdrawal lines which extend below the 
bottom of the tank must be protected. 

� The lines do not extend between a towed vehicle and the towing unit 
while the combination is in motion. 

 
Fuel Tanks 
393.65 / 393.67 

Fuel tanks must meet the following requirements: * 

� No part of a fuel tank may be located forward of the front axle of a 
power unit, or extend beyond the widest part of the vehicle. 

� Fuel spilled while fueling must not contact the exhaust or electrical 
system. 

� Fill pipe openings must be located outside the passenger 
compartment and sealed with a tightly fitted cap. 

Drains and bottom fittings: 

� Must not extend more than ¾ of an inch below the bottom of the fuel 
tank. 

� Must be protected against damage from impact.  
 
* See 393.68 for natural gas containers. 
 

 
LIGHTS  
 

General 
Requirements 
393.11 / 571.108 
 

FMCSR Part 393.11 and FMVSS Part 571.108 specify the required color, 
position, and types of lamps and reflectors for CMV’s.  Requirements are 
also found in: 

� Hazard warning signals – 393.19 
� Clearance lamps – 393.22 

� Turn signals – 393.22 
� Head lamps – 393.24 
� Stop lamps – 393.25 

� Driveaway-towaway operations – 393.17 
 

Must be Operable 
393.9 
 

All required lamps shall be capable of being operated at all times. 
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Lamp Mounting 
and Visibility 
392.33 / 393.9 / 
393.25  
 

All lamps must be permanently and securely mounted to the vehicle or 
projecting load.  The lamps must be visible under normal conditions. 
 

Conspicuity 
Systems  
393.11 / 393.13 / 
393.26 

Certain vehicles must have retroreflective sheeting or reflex reflectors to 
make them more visible to other motorists under conditions of reduced 
visibility. 
 

 
MISCELLANEOUS PARTS AND ACCESSORIES 
 

Cab and Body 
Components 
393.203 

Cab and body components must meet the following requirements: 

� Cab doors and door parts shall not be missing or broken.  Doors 
shall not sag or be wired shut or secured in the closed position to 
prevent opening. 

� Bolts or brackets securing the cab or the body of the vehicle to the 
frame shall not be loose, broken, or missing. 

� Hood must be securely fastened. 

� Seats must be securely mounted. 

� Front bumper must not be missing, loosely attached, or protruding 
beyond the confines of the vehicle so as to create a hazard. 

 
Exhaust Systems 
393.83 / 393.84 

Exhaust systems must meet the following requirements: 

� The exhaust system and discharge must be located where they are not 
likely to damage the electrical wiring, the fuel supply, nor any 
combustible part of the vehicle. 

� The discharge from the exhaust system must not be located 
immediately below the fuel tank or the fuel tank filler pipe. 

� The exhaust system may not be temporarily repaired with patch or 
wrap material. 

� The exhaust pipe and mufflers must be securely fastened to the 
vehicle. 

� The exhaust system may not leak or discharge at any point forward 
of or directly below the driver or sleeper compartment.  Floors must 
be substantially constructed and free of holes that allow entrance of 
fumes and gases. 
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Location of discharge: 

Trucks and truck tractors:  Must discharge at a location to the rear of the 
cab, or above and near the rear of the cab. 

Buses, gasoline-powered:  Must discharge at or within 6 inches forward 
of the rearmost part of the bus. 

Buses, other fuels:  Must discharge either: 

� At or within 15 inches forward of the rearmost part of the bus, or 

� To the rear of all doors or windows designed to be open (not 
including emergency exits). 

 
Frames 
393.201 

Frames, crossmembers, and securement devices (bolts, etc.) shall not be 
cracked, loose, sagging, broken, or missing.  No holes shall be drilled in 
the top or bottom rail flanges, nor shall any welding be done on the frame 
or chassis, except as specified by the manufacturer. 
 

Rear End 
Protection 
393.86 

Every CMV must be equipped with a rear impact guard, bumper, or other 
device that prevents the under ride of another vehicle.  The impact guard 
must be substantially constructed and attached to the vehicle.  The 
dimensions and locations required are based on the date the impact guard 
was manufactured. * 
 
* Does not apply to truck-tractors (390.5), pole trailers (390.5), 

pulpwood trailers (393.5), low chassis vehicles (393.5), special purpose 
vehicles (393.5), wheels back vehicles (393.5), and driveaway-towaway 
operations (390.5). 

 

Impact Guard 
Measurements Code 1 Manufactured 

before 1/26/98 2 

Manufactured 
on or after 
1/26/98 3 

Width A 18” max. 4” max. 

Height B 30” max. 22” max. 

Rear Surface C 24” max. 12” max. 

Cross-Sectional 
Vertical Height 

D n/a 3.94” min. 
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1  Letters correspond with the measurements labeled in the figures below. 

2  Impact guard required only when the height from the ground to the vehicle chassis 
is greater than 30” when the vehicle is empty. 

3  Impact guard must be labeled under specifications in 393.86(a)(6) / 571.223. 
 

 
 

Seat Belts 
392.16 / 393.93 / 
ORS 811.210 / 
815.055 

CMV’s must be equipped with seats, seat belt assemblies, and seat belt 
anchorages as specified in FMVSS Part 571.  A driver must not drive 
before correctly restraining him/herself. 
 

Sleeper Berths 
393.76 

Sleeper berths must meet minimum dimension requirements.  They must 
not be installed in or on a trailer and must be located in or adjacent to the 
cab.  An exit doorway or opening must be at least 18 inches high by 36 
inches wide, and must lead directly into the cab. 

Each sleeper berth must be equipped with an adequate mattress, bed 
clothing, and blankets.  The sleeper berth must be properly ventilated and 
located so as to protect occupants against exhaust heat, fumes, fuel leaks, 
dust, and rain. A means must be provided to prevent ejection of the 
occupants from the sleeper berth during vehicle deceleration. 
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Steering System 
393.209 

Steering systems must be in proper working order, including the 
following: 

� Steering wheel must be properly secured and not have any cracked or 
missing spokes.  The steering wheel shall turn freely in both 
directions. 

� Steering wheel lash (free play) must not exceed certain parameters. 

� Steering column must be securely fastened. 

� Steering gear box must be securely attached and not cracked.  The 
pitman arm must not be loose on the steering gear output shaft.  The 
yolk-coupling of the steering column must not be loose on the 
steering gear input shaft. 

� Attachments, including ball and socket joints, universal joints, 
clamps, bolts, and nuts, shall not be worn, loose, or welded. 

� Tie rods and drag links shall not be worn or bent. 

� Power steering systems must not have loose or broken parts; frayed, 
cracked, or slipping belts; leaks; or insufficient fluid in the reservoir. 

 
Suspension System 
393.207 

Suspension systems must be structurally sound and in proper working 
order, including the following: 

� Axles must be in proper alignment, and no positioning part shall be 
cracked, broken, loose, or missing. 

� Adjustable axles must have locking pins in place. 

� Leaf springs must not be cracked, broken, missing, nor shifted out of 
position. 

� Coil springs must not be cracked or broken. 

� Torsion bars must not be cracked or broken. 

� Air suspensions must support the vehicle in a level position, and 
must not leak. 

 
Tires 
393.75 

Tires used on CMV’s must meet specific safety standards.  No tire may 
have any of the following defects: 

� Body ply or belt material cut or otherwise exposed through the tread 
or sidewall. 
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� Tread or sidewall separation. 

� Flat or audible leak. 

� Have less than the minimum tread depth: 

Front axle:  4/32 inch minimum. 

Other axles:  2/32 inch minimum. 

� Carry a weight greater than the rated capacity for that tire.  This 
includes an underinflated tire. 

� Mounted or inflated so that it comes in contact with any part of the 
vehicle, including an adjacent tire. 

� Front axle: 

o Regrooved tires on trucks or truck tractors which have a load-
carrying capacity equal to or greater than 4,920 lbs.   

o Mixing bias and radial tires on the same axle. 

o Regrooved, recapped, or retreaded tires on buses. 
 

Wheels 
393.205 

Wheels must meet the following conditions: 

� Wheels, rims, and hubs shall not be cracked or broken. 

� Stud or bolt holes shall not be elongated (out of round). 

� Nuts or bolts shall not be missing or loose. 

� Lock or side rings shall not be bent, broken, cracked or improperly 
seated. 

 
Windshields 
393.60 / 393.78 / 
393.79 

A vehicle’s windshield (includes both left and right sides, if split 
windshield) must be free of discoloration, intersecting cracks, and 
damage greater than ¾ inch in diameter.  The wipers and the defroster 
must be in proper working order. 

Affected area: 

Lowest:  Top of the steering wheel. 

Highest:  2 inches below top of the windshield. 

Sides:  1 inch from left and right sides of each windshield. 
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CARGO SECUREMENT  
 

General 
Requirement 
393.100 / 393.106 

The cargo loaded on a CMV must be contained or secured to prevent the 
load from leaking, blowing, falling from the vehicle, or shifting to an 
extent that would affect the vehicle’s stability.  Cargo likely to roll must 
be restrained by chocks, cradles, or other devices to prevent rolling. 
 

Securement System 
Standards 
393.104 / 393.112 

All securement devices and systems (tiedowns, anchor points, walls, 
stakes, chocks, etc.) must be in good working order, properly secured, and 
free of damage that would adversely affect the cargo securement.  
Tiedowns must meet certain manufacturing standards.  Edge protection 
(defined in 393.5) must be used wherever a tiedown would be subject to 
abrasion or cutting. 
 

Cargo Inspection 
392.9 

The driver must ensure that the cargo is properly distributed and secured.  
Accessory equipment (tarps, tailgate, spare tire, etc.) must also be 
secured.  The driver must examine and adjust/change the cargo 
securement, as necessary: 

� Before driving. 

� Within the first 50 miles. 

� At the next change of duty status, after 3 hours of driving, or after 
driving 150 miles, whichever occurs first. 

 
Working Load 
Limit 
393.5 / 393.102 / 
393.106 / 393.108 

Working load limit (WLL) is the maximum load that may be applied to a 
component of a cargo securement system during normal service.  The 
securement devices must have an aggregate WLL (defined in 393.5) 
capable of preventing cargo movement in the forward, rearward, 
sideways, and vertical directions.  The WLL of a tiedown is determined 
by the manufacturer’s markings or, if not available, by the WLL tables in 
393.108. 
 

Indirect Securement 
 

The tiedown goes from 
an anchor point on the 
vehicle, through, over, 
or around the cargo and 
attaches to another 
anchor point on the 
other side of the 
vehicle. 

 

The assigned WLL 
is the entire WLL 
determined by the 
manufacturer’s 
marking or by the 
WLL tables. 
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Direct Securement 
 
• The tiedown goes from an anchor point on the vehicle to an attachment 

point on the cargo, or 

• The tiedown goes from an anchor point on the vehicle, through, over, or 
around the cargo and attaches to another anchor point on the same side of 
the vehicle. 

 

The assigned WLL is one-half of 
the WLL determined by the 
manufacturer’s marking or by the 
WLL tables. 

 

The assigned aggregate WLL of all devices used to secure cargo must be 
at least one-half times the weight of the cargo.  For example, if the cargo 
weighs 30,000 lbs., the assigned aggregate WLL of all devices used to 
secure the cargo must be at least 15,000 lbs. 
 

General Provisions 
393.110 

The number of tiedowns required to secure cargo is also dependent on the 
length of the cargo. 

If no front end structure or cargo to prevent forward movement: 
 

Length of 
Cargo 

Weight of 
Cargo Minimum Number of Tiedowns 

1,100 lbs. or 
less 

1 
5 ft. or less 

Over 1,100 
lbs. 

2 

Over 5 ft. up 
to 10 ft. 

n/a 2 

Over 10 ft. n/a 

2 tiedowns for first 10 ft., plus - 
1 tiedown for each extra 10 ft. length 
or fraction thereof. 
 
Example:  25 ft. = 4 tiedowns. 
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With front end structure or cargo to prevent forward movement: * 

1 tiedown for each 10 ft. length or fraction thereof. 

Example:  25 ft. = 3 tiedowns. 
 
* See 393.114 for front end structure requirements. 
 

Special Purpose 
Vehicles 
393.5 / 393.110 

The length requirements of 393.110 do not apply to vehicles transporting 
cargo which, because of its design, size, shape, or weight, must be 
secured by special methods.  However, the cargo must be properly 
secured. 

Examples:  Crane booms, trusses, boats. 

Commodity-
Specific Rules 
393.106 

Additional rules apply to certain types of cargo, and take precedence over 
the general requirements.  Bolded items are described in more detail 
below. 

���� Logs – 393.116 
���� Dressed lumber or similar building products – 393.118 
� Metal coils – 393.120  (defined in 393.5) 
� Paper rolls – 393.122 
� Concrete pipe – 393.124 

���� Intermodal containers – 393.126 
� Automobiles, light trucks, and vans – 393.128 

���� Heavy vehicles, equipment, and machinery – 393.130 
���� Flattened or crushed vehicles – 393.132 
� Roll-on/roll-off or hook lift containers – 393.134  (defined in 393.5) 

� Large boulders – 393.136 

���� Baled hay and straw 
 

Logs 1 
393.116 

The following applies to all loads of five or more logs.  Loads of less than 
5 logs may be secured under the general requirements of 393.100 to 
393.114: 2 

• The logs must be solidly packed and cradled with bunks or stakes 
(A) to prevent the logs from rolling. 

• The outer bottom logs (B) must rest solidly against the bunks or 
stakes. 
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• Each outside log (C) must have one end touching a bunk or stake, 
and the other end touching, or at least extending beyond, the other 
bunk or stake. 

• The center of each highest outside log (D) must be below the top of 
each bunk or stake. 

• The logs must be secured by two tiedowns or wrappers with the 
following exceptions: 

o Logs 27 feet or longer:  Require four evenly-spaced wrappers 
(E)  (OR OSHA rule, OAR 437-007-1010). 

o Shortwood loaded lengthwise:  Allowed one tiedown/wrapper 
for any middle stack blocked in the front and rear by structures 
or other shortwood stacks. 3 

• The aggregate WLL of all tiedowns/wrappers used to secure the logs 
loaded on a flatbed or frame vehicle (defined in 393.5) must be at 
least 1/6 times the total weight of the logs. 

 
1 “Logs” include round processed wood (e.g., utility poles, peeler cores). 

2  See 393.116 for additional rules for pole trailers and shortwood logs 
loaded crosswise. 

3 “Shortwood” - logs up to 16 feet in length  (393.5). 
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Dressed Lumber or 
Similar Building 
Products 
393.118 

Bundles one or two tiers high 

Bundles must be secured with tiedowns over the top tier. 

Bundles three or more tiers high 

Bundles require tiedowns over the top tier, plus one of the following: 

� Stakes on the vehicle sides to prevent lateral movement; or 

� Blocking or friction devices between tiers to prevent lateral 
movement; or 

� Tiedowns over the middle tier.  If more than 3 tiers, the maximum 
height of the middle tier that is secured may not exceed 6 feet above 
the deck of the vehicle; or * 

� Tiedowns over the second tier from the bottom; or * 

� Tiedowns over each tier; or 

� Loaded in a sided vehicle (defined in 393.5) or container of adequate 
strength (does not include curtain vans or tautliners). 

 
Note:  All tiedowns required above must be secured under the general 
requirements of 393.100 to 393.114.  At least two tiedowns are required 
for bundles two or more tiers high and longer than 5 ft. 

Note:  393.118 does not apply to non-bundles such as glue-laminated 
beams.  Glue-laminated beams must be secured with tiedowns over the 
top tier under the general requirements of 393.100 to 393.114. (note 
updated 10/26/09.  393.118 applies to load of veneer) 

* Note:  Spacers are allowed under the specifications in 393.118(d)(3). 
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Intermodal 
Containers  
393.126 

Container chassis vehicle  (defined in 393.5) 

� Each container must be secured to the chassis with securement 
devices or integral locking devices at all lower corners that cannot 
come open while the vehicle is in transit.  The front and rear of the 
container must be secured independently. 

� The securement devices must not allow the container to shift in any 
direction more than ½ inch. 

Loaded container on non-chassis vehicle 

� All lower corners of the container must rest upon the vehicle. 

� The container must be secured by one of the following: 

o Chains, wire ropes, or locking devices fixed to all lower 
corners, or 

o Crossed chains fixed to all upper corners. 

� The container must be secured to the vehicle with devices that cannot 
come open while the vehicle is in transit.  The front and rear of the 
container must be secured independently. 

Empty container on non-chassis vehicle 

The container need not have all lower corners resting on the vehicle, 
provided: 

� The container is balanced on the vehicle. 

� The container does not overhang more than 5 feet at the front or rear 
of the vehicle, and does not interfere with the vehicle’s 
maneuverability. 

� The container is secured to prevent shifting in any direction. 
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Heavy Vehicles, 
Equipment, and 
Machinery 
393.130 

The following applies to vehicles, equipment, and machinery individually 
weighing 10,000 lbs. or more.  Loads less than 10,000 lbs. may be 
secured according to the general requirements of 393.100 to 393.114, or 
393.128: 

• Equipment with crawler tracks or wheels must be secured with at 
least four tiedowns, attached as close as possible to the front and rear 
of the vehicle. * 

• Accessory equipment (e.g., shovels, buckets) must be lowered and 
secured to the vehicle, or lowered and locked in place to prevent 
shifting during transport. 

• Articulated vehicles must be restrained to prevent articulation while 
in transit. 

 
* The following securement arrangements are also permitted: 

 

Two individual tiedowns sharing 
one anchor point on the equipment, 
or one anchor point on the vehicle, 
as long as the anchor point is 
strong enough. 

 

A single chain used as two 
tiedowns when the chain acts 
independently on each side of the 
equipment.  Each side of the 
tiedown must have two attachment 
points and one adjustment 
mechanism.  
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Flattened or 
Crushed Vehicles 
393.132 

� Synthetic webbing is not allowed for securing the vehicles, except 
that webbing may be used to connect wire rope or chain to anchor 
points on the CMV.  However, the webbing may not come in contact 
with the flattened or crushed vehicles. 

� Containment walls, if used, must extend to the full height of the load, 
and must block against cargo movement. 

� The containment system must prevent liquids from leaking, and 
loose vehicle parts from falling, from the flattened or crushed 
vehicles. 
 

� There are four options for securement: 
 

Containment Walls Tiedowns Per Vehicle 
Stack 

All 4 sides 0 

3:  front, rear, and one side 2 

2:  front and rear 3 

none 4 
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Baled Hay and 
Straw 
393.102(c): 
FMCSA 
Memorandum 

The following meets or exceeds the performance requirements of the 
FMCSR.  Tiedowns are exempt from the aggregate WLL found in 
393.106(d), provided they meet the WLL requirements below. 

Bale Placement 

Loads must be well-balanced and positioned on the vehicle so the load is 
stable without tiedowns. 

Small bales  (see first diagram below) 

� Sides of load:  Outside bales must not be placed in the same 
direction in more than two successive tiers (A), except one bale 
above and below a tier, up to three tiers in succession (B). 

� Bales in the top tier must be loaded crosswise to the vehicle (C). 

� No bale must be loaded vertically. 

Big bales 

Sides of load:  Outside bales must not be placed in the same direction in 
more than three successive tiers. 

Load projection 

No bales may extend beyond the vehicle bed between a truck and trailer, 
or semi-trailer and trailer.  No bales may extend more than one-third the 
bale length beyond the rear of the bed surface on a single vehicle or the 
last vehicle in a combination of vehicles.  Bales may extend over the 
truck cab provided they are supported, interlocked with other bales, and 
do not obstruct the driver’s view. 

Longitudinal Tiedowns 

The load must be unitized with two longitudinal tiedowns, each having a 
minimum WLL of 2,100 lbs., and secured with a tightening device  
(F, I ).  The tiedowns must be applied over V-boards (E), or big bales 
may use the alternate method below. 
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With V-Boards 
  (big or small bales) 

Two tiedowns must be 
anchored at the front and rear 
near the corners (D), extended 
over the top, and crossed or 
connected with a tightening 
device at the center (F). 

 

 

 

Alternate securement  (big bales) 

Two tiedowns must be anchored at 
the front and rear of the load at 
least 48 in. apart, crossed at the 
front and rear (G), passed to the 
outside around the upper corners 
of the load (H), and connected 
with a tightening device at the top 
center (I ). 

Lateral Tiedowns 

Each tiedown must have a minimum WLL of 4,000 lbs.  Multiple 
tiedowns may be substituted, provided each has a minimum WLL of  
625 lbs., with a combined WLL of 4,000 lbs. or more.  Tiedowns less 
than 2 inches in width or diameter must include V-boards. 

Vehicles 32 feet or less in length 
One tiedown shall be placed in the center of the length of the vehicle. 
 
Vehicles greater than 32 feet in length 
Two tiedowns shall be positioned at one-third and two-thirds the length 
of the vehicle. 
 

Note:  Bales not unitized by longitudinal tiedowns must be secured 
according to the general cargo securement requirements of FMCSR, 
393.100-114. 
 
Note:  For further information, visit ODOT’s website at: 
www.oregon.gov/ODOT/MCT/docs/HaySecurement.pdf. 
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The hours of service rules apply to all motor carriers and drivers, with some exceptions found in 
Part 395.1, and intrastate exceptions found in OAR 740-100-0010(2). 
 
DEFINITIONS 
 

Driving Time 
395.2 

Driving time means all time spent at the driving controls of a CMV in 
operation.  This includes time behind the wheel waiting to load or unload, 
and delays on impassable highways. 
 

Off-Duty Time 
395.2 

Four conditions must be met before any time can be considered off-duty 
time: 

1. The driver must have been relieved of all duty and responsibility 
for the vehicle, its accessories, and any cargo or passengers 
transported. 

2. The duration of relief must be a finite period of sufficient duration 
to ensure fatigue is significantly reduced. 

3. Written instructions must have been given by the employer to the 
driver prior to departure stating the duration of relief.  The 
instructions need not be kept in the vehicle nor at the carrier’s 
place of business. 

4. The driver must be at liberty to pursue activities of his/her own 
choosing, and be allowed to leave the premises where the CMV  
is located. 

 
On Duty Time 
395.2 

On duty time means all time from the time a driver begins to work or is 
ready to work until the time the driver is relieved from work and all 
responsibility for work. On duty time shall include all time: 

� At a plant, terminal, facility, or other property of a motor carrier or 
shipper. 

� Waiting to be dispatched, unless the driver has been relieved from 
duty by the motor carrier. 

� Inspecting, servicing, or obtaining assistance for a CMV. 

� Driving a CMV  (see definition of Driving Time above). 

� Traveling in any vehicle at the direction of the motor carrier.   
     (see exception under Travel Time below). 

� In or upon any CMV, except time spent resting in a sleeper berth. 
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� Loading or unloading a CMV.  Performing any other functions 
related to loading or unloading, including supervising, attending the 
CMV, or taking care of shipping documents. 

� Taking a controlled substances/alcohol test, including travel to and 
from the testing facility, when directed by a motor carrier. 

� Performing any other work for a motor carrier. 

� Performing any compensated work for a person who is not a motor 
carrier. 

 
 
DRIVER’S RECORD OF DUTY STATUS 
 

Driver’s Record of 
Duty Status 
395.8 

Every driver shall prepare a record of duty status (driver’s daily log) in 
his/her own handwriting for each 24-hour period, unless operating under 
an exemption.   

The driver’s log must be kept current to the last change of duty status.  
The driver must have the current day’s log plus the previous 7 
consecutive days in his/her possession. 

The driver must turn in the original log sheet to the motor carrier within 
13 days.  The logs must be kept on file for at least 6 months. * 

Example log sheet (see explanation of trip at the end of 395.8): 
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 * Retention periods will be greater if the logs are used for other purposes 
such as tax reporting. 

 

 
INTERSTATE COMMERCE:  PROPERTY 
 

11-Hour Rule  
395.3(a)(1) 

A driver shall not drive more than 11 hours following 10 consecutive hours 
off duty. 
 

10 hours minimum 

Off duty, sleeper berth, or both 
11 hours maximum 

Driving 
 

Note:  This rule applies even if the time periods extend into the following 
day. 
 

14-Hour Rule  
395.3(a)(2) 

A driver shall not drive beyond the 14th hour after coming on-duty, 
following 10 consecutive hours off duty. 

A driver may be on duty, but may not drive, after the 14th hour. 

The 14 hours includes all time: driving, on duty (not driving), off duty, 
and sleeper berth less than 8 hours: 

 
Note:  This rule applies even if the time periods extend into the following 
day.  See 16-hour exception, sleeper berth provision, and non-CDL 
exception below. 
 

Exception: 
16-Hour 
395.1(o) 

A driver is exempt from the 14-hour rule if the driver: 

� Was released from duty at the normal work-reporting location for the 
previous 5 days; 
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� Returns to the normal work-reporting location and is released from 
duty within 16 hours; and 

� Has not used this exception in the last 6 days, except after a  
34-hour restart. 

  
Exception: 
Sleeper Berth 
Provision 
395.1(g)(1) 

A driver is allowed to take 10 hours sleeper berth/off duty time in two 
separate periods if: 

� One period is at least 8 but less than 10 hours sleeper berth. 

� The other period is at least 2 but less than 10 hours sleeper berth, off 
duty, or both. 

� 11-hour rule:  The driving time just before and after each period, 
when added together, must be no more than 11 hours: 

 

� 14-hour rule:  The total time just before and after each period, when 
added together, must not result in a driver driving beyond the 14th 
hour. 

o A period of at least 8 hours sleeper berth is not included in the  
14 hours: 
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o A period less than 8 hours sleeper berth, or less than 10 hours off 

duty, is included in the 14 hours: 
 

 
 
� The driver must continue using the sleeper berth provision until the 

driver has taken at least 10 consecutive hours off duty, sleeper berth, 
or both. 
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60 / 70 Hour Rule 
395.3(b) 

A driver shall not drive after being on duty: 

� 60 hours in 7 consecutive days, or 

� 70 hours in 8 consecutive days. 

A driver may be on duty, but may not drive, after the 60th or 70th hour. 

A motor carrier who: 

� Does not operate CMV’s every day of the week, must use the 60-hour 
rule. 

� Operates CMV’s every day of the week, can choose either the 60-
hour or the 70-hour rule. 

The following is an example of a typical 70-hour/8-day recap located on 
the inside front cover of a log book.  Some logs also have recaps along 
the right hand margin of each log sheet.  Neither type of recap is 
required but is helpful in tracking hours. 

 

 
70 HR/8 DAY 

DRIVERS ONLY 

DAY 
OF  
MO. 

HOURS 
WORKED 
TODAY 
(TOTAL  

OF LINES  
3 & 4  

ON LOG) A B C 
2 

12 

13 

6 

8 

8 

TOTAL 
HOURS  

ON-DUTY  
LAST  

7 
DAYS 

TOTAL 
HOURS 

AVAILABLE 
TOMORROW 
(70 HOURS 

MINUS 
COL. A) 

TOTAL 
HOURS  

ON-DUTY  
LAST  

8 
DAYS 

 
9 58 12  

1 12 68 2 70 

2 2 58 12 70 

3 12 57 13 70 

4 13 64 6 70 

5 5 61 9 69 

6 9 62 8 70 
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Exception: 
34-Hour Restart 
395.3(c) 

Drivers may “restart” the 7/8 day period by taking at least 34 consecutive 
hours off-duty, sleeper berth, or both. 

 

 
70 HR/8 DAY 

DRIVERS ONLY 

DAY 
OF  
MO. 

HOURS 
WORKED 
TODAY 
(TOTAL  

OF LINES  
3 & 4  

ON LOG) A B C 
2 

12 

13 

6 

8 

8 

TOTAL 
HOURS  

ON-DUTY  
LAST  

7 
DAYS 

TOTAL 
HOURS 

AVAILABLE 
TOMORROW 
(70 HOURS 

MINUS 
COL. A) 

TOTAL 
HOURS  

ON-DUTY  
LAST  

8 
DAYS 

 9 58 12  

1 12 68 2 70 

2 0 56 14 68 

3 12 12  12 

4 13 25  25 

5 5 30  30 

6 9 39  39  
 

INTRASTATE COMMERCE:  PROPERTY 
 

12-Hour Rule  
OAR 740-100-
0010(2)(h)(A) 

A driver shall not drive more than 12 hours following 10 consecutive hours 
off duty. 
 
Note:  This rule applies even if the time periods extend into the following 
day.   
 

16-Hour Rule  
OAR 740-100-
0010(2)(h)(B) 

A driver shall not drive beyond the 16th hour after coming on-duty, 
following 10 consecutive hours off duty. 

A driver may be on duty, but may not drive, after the 16th hour. 

The 16 hours includes all driving, on duty (not driving), off duty, and 
sleeper berth less than 8 hours. 
 
Note:  This rule applies even if the time periods extend into the following 
day.   
 

24 hours off, 
plus 10 hours 
from previous 
day = 34 hours 
off duty 

Restart 8 
day period 
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70 / 80 Hour Rule 
OAR 740-100-
0010(2)(h)(C) & 
(D) 

A driver shall not drive after being on duty: 

� 70 hours in 7 consecutive days, or 

� 80 hours in 8 consecutive days. 

A driver may be on duty, but may not drive, after the 70th or 80th hour. 

A motor carrier who: 

� Does not operate CMV’s every day of the week, must use the 70-hour 
rule. 

� Operates CMV’s every day of the week, can choose either the 70-
hour or the 80-hour rule.  

 
Note:  Drivers may “restart” the 7/8 day period by taking at least 34 
consecutive hours off-duty, sleeper berth, or both. 
 

 
INTRASTATE EXCEPTIONS 
 

7 or 8-Day Period A driver who begins a trip in interstate commerce must continue to 
comply with the interstate hours of service regulations for the next 6 or 7 
consecutive days, even if the driver operates exclusively intrastate during 
the 6 or 7 days.  For further information, visit the FMCSA Web site at: 
 
www.fmcsa.dot.gov/espa%C3%B1ol/english/pdfs/4monthrule.htm 
 

Hazardous 
Materials 
OAR 740-100-
0010(i) 

The intrastate hours of service rules do not apply to drivers transporting 
hazardous materials requiring placarding.  Drivers transporting placarded 
hazardous materials must comply with the Federal interstate hours of 
service. 
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PROPERTY VS. PASSENGERS 
 

Hours of Service 
Table 

Different hours of service regulations apply to the transportation of 
passengers.  The differences are summarized below: 

 

Property Passengers 

Interstate Intrastate Interstate and Intrastate 

395.3 OAR 740-100-
0010(2)(h) 

395.5 

11 hrs. driving 1 12 hrs. driving 1 10 hrs. driving 2 

 

No driving 
beyond 14th hr 1 

No driving 
beyond 16th hr 1 

No driving after 15 hrs 2 

Includes all time Includes on-duty time only 

16-Hour 
Exception 

n/a n/a 

 

Sleeper Provision 
8 hrs. sleeper + 2 hrs. sleeper/off. 

2 hrs. counts 
towards 14 hrs. 

2 hrs. counts 
towards 16 hrs. 

Split Sleeper 
Split 8 hrs. into 2 periods.  

Each period must be at least 2 hrs.   
15 hrs. includes on-duty time only. 

 

100 Air-Mile Radius Drivers 
Return/off duty within 12 hrs. 

Non-CDL Exemption n/a 

 

60 / 70 hrs. 70 / 80 hrs. 60 / 70 hrs. 

34-Hour Restart n/a 

 
1  Following 10 consecutive hours off duty. 
2  Following 8 consecutive hours off duty. 
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EXCEPTIONS:  24-HOUR RESTART 
 

Construction 
395.1(m) / 395.2 

Drivers transporting construction materials and equipment may restart 
their 7/8 day period after taking at least 24 consecutive hours off-duty, if 
they operate to or from a construction site that is within 50 air-miles of 
their normal work reporting location. 
 
Note:  Exception not allowed for placarded hazardous materials. 
 

Well Drilling 
395.1(l) / 395.2 

Drivers who transport and operate ground water well drilling rigs may 
restart their 7/8 day period after taking at least 24 consecutive hours off-
duty. 
 

Utility 
395.1(n) / 395.2 
 

See “OTHER EXCEPTIONS”. 
 

 
TIME RECORD EXEMPTIONS  
 

Short-Haul 
100 Air-Mile 
Radius Drivers 
395.1(e)(1)  

A driver is exempt from completing the driver’s daily log if all of the 
following is true: 

� The driver operates within 100 air-miles of the normal work 
reporting location. 

� The driver returns to the work reporting location and is released from 
work within 12 hours. 

� The driver completes a time card for each day showing: 

o The time the driver reports for duty. 

o The time the driver is released from duty. 
o The total hours on duty. 

 
Note:  The start and stop times for each time card must show AM or PM, 
or be recorded in military time.  Each time card must also include the 
driver’s name and date.  The time cards must be kept on file for at least  
6 months, but need not be in the driver’s possession. 
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Short-Haul 
Non-CDL Vehicles 
395.1(e)(2) 

A driver is exempt from completing the driver’s daily log if all of the 
following is true: 

� The driver operates a property-carrying CMV not requiring a CDL. 

� The driver operates within 150 air-miles of the normal work 
reporting location. 

� The driver returns to the work reporting location and is released from 
work at the end of each day. 

� The driver completes a time card for each day showing: 

o The time the driver reports for duty. 
o The time the driver is released from duty. 
o The total hours on duty. 

 
Note:  Interstate drivers using this exemption may drive up to the 16th 
hour on 2 days of each 7-day period.  However, any driver using this 
exemption may not use the 100 air-mile radius exception or sleeper berth 
provision. 
 

Occasional Drivers 
395.8(j)(2) 

A first time or occasional driver must give the motor carrier a signed 
statement showing the total hours on duty during the last 7 days, and the 
last time the driver went off duty. 
 

Automatic On-
Board Recording 
Devices 
395.15 

Alternatively, motor carriers may require a driver to use an automatic on-
board recording device to record the hours of service.  The driver must 
still have in his/her possession the duty status records in automated or 
written form, for the previous 7 consecutive days.  All hard copies of the 
duty status records must be signed by the driver.  Each CMV must also 
have an information packet which contains:  (1) an instruction sheet, and 
(2) a supply of blank log book forms. 
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OTHER EXCEPTIONS 
 

Adverse Driving 
Conditions 
395.1(b) / 395.2 

A driver who encounters adverse driving conditions and because of those 
conditions cannot complete a trip in the maximum time allowed, may 
drive to reach a safe location no more than: 

� 13 hours following 10 consecutive hours off duty (property); or 

� 12 hours following 8 consecutive hours off duty (passenger). 

The adverse driving conditions must not have been apparent to the person 
dispatching the trip.  The driver must comply with all other hours of 
service limits. 
 

Agriculture 
395.1(k) 

The hours of service regulations do not apply to farm commodities 
transported within 100 air-miles of the farm, or farm supplies transported 
within 100 air-miles of the distribution point. 
 
Note:  See also farm exemptions under ORS 825.017(4), 825.024. 
 

Utility 

395.1(n) / 395.2 
 

The hours of service regulations do not apply to drivers of utility service 
vehicles used to repair and/or maintain public utility services. 
 
Note:   See FMCSR 395.2 for definition of utility service vehicle. 

Travel Time 
395.1(j) 

When a driver is traveling, but not driving, at the direction of the motor 
carrier, such time must be counted as on-duty time, unless the driver goes 
off duty for at least 10 consecutive hours (property) or 8 consecutive 
hours (passenger) after arriving at the destination.  In that case, the travel 
time is also considered off duty. 
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General 
Requirements 
396.3 / 396.7 

Every motor carrier shall systematically inspect, repair, and maintain all 
CMV’s (power units and trailers) under its control.  Vehicles shall not be 
operated if they are likely to cause an accident or a breakdown. 
 

 
MAINTENANCE RECORDS 
 

Information 
Required 
396.3(b) 

Motor carriers must maintain the following information for every vehicle 
they have controlled for 30 days or more: 

� Description of the vehicle:  company number, make, serial number, 
year, and tire size. 

� Routine inspections and maintenance:  type and due date. 

� All repairs and maintenance:  description and date performed. 

� For buses:  records of tests conducted on pushout windows, 
emergency doors, and emergency marking lights. 

 
Retention Period 
396.3(c) 

Maintenance records must be retained for one year at the location where 
the vehicle is stored, and maintained for six months after the carrier sells 
the vehicle. 
 

 
DRIVER INSPECTIONS 
 

Pre-Trip 
Inspection 
392.7 / 396.13 

Each driver shall ensure that the following parts and accessories are in 
good working order: 

� Service and parking brakes 

� Steering system 
� Coupling devices 
� Lights and reflectors 
� Tires 

� Horn 
� Windshield wipers 
� Rearview mirrors 
 
Note:  See also 392.8, emergency equipment, and 392.9, cargo 
securement.  See 396.15 for driveaway-towaway operations. 
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Driver Vehicle 
Inspection Reports 
396.11 / 396.13 

At the end of each driving day, the driver shall complete a Driver Vehicle 
Inspection Report that covers all items in the pre-trip inspection (above), 
plus wheels and emergency equipment.  The driver shall list any safety-
related defects, or those likely to cause a breakdown.  Each report shall 
include three signatures by the following individuals: 

� Driver – at the end of the driving day, certifying the defects found, or 
that no defects were discovered. 

� Carrier/mechanic – before the next trip, certifying that the defects 
were repaired. 

� Driver – before the next trip, acknowledging that the 
carrier/mechanic signed for the repairs. 

The reports must be kept on file for at least three months, but need not be 
in the driver’s possession. 
 
Note:  Driver vehicle inspection reports are not required for driveaway-
towaway operations, or for a motor carrier operating only one CMV or 
CMV combination (power unit with trailers). 

 
PERIODIC INSPECTIONS 
 

General 
Requirements 
396.17 / OAR 740-
100-0010(2)(j) 

Every commercial motor vehicle used in interstate commerce, including 
each unit in a combination, requires a periodic inspection every 12 
months.  The inspection must include all items described in the Minimum 
Periodic Inspection Standards (Part 393, Appendix G).  Any defective 
parts or accessories discovered during the inspection shall be repaired 
promptly. 
 

Documentation of 
Inspection 
396.17(c) / 396.21 

The original or a copy of the periodic inspection report must be retained 
by the motor carrier for 14 months from the report date.  Documentation 
(report, sticker, or decal) of the most recent periodic inspection must be 
kept on or in the vehicle. 
 

Inspection Options 
396.17 / 396.23 

The periodic inspection may be performed by one of the following 
entities: 

� The motor carrier 

� An outside repair shop 

� A state or other governmental agency that is a member of the 
Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance (CVSA).  The vehicle must 
pass a level I (full roadside) or level V (terminal) inspection in order 
to qualify for this option. 
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Inspector 
Qualifications 
396.19 

If the inspector performing the annual inspection is an employee of the 
motor carrier or the outside repair shop, the carrier must ensure that the 
inspector is qualified.  To be qualified, the inspector must: 

� Understand the inspection criteria in Part 393, Appendix G. 

� Have the mechanical knowledge and ability necessary to inspect and 
identify defective components. 

 
Training  or Experience:  Inspectors must have gained experience or 
training by one of the following: 

� Completing a State, Federal, or Canadian training program in 
commercial motor vehicle safety inspections; or 

� Having at least one year of equivalent training, experience, or both. 
 
Documentation of Qualifications:  Motor carriers must retain evidence 
of an inspector’s qualifications until one year after the inspector ceases to 
perform inspections for the carrier. 
 

 
BRAKE INSPECTIONS 
 

Brake Inspector 
Qualifications 
396.25 

Each motor carrier must ensure that any employee responsible for brake 
inspection, maintenance, or repairs has the mechanical knowledge and 
ability necessary to perform those tasks. 
 
Training  or Experience:  Employees must have gained experience or 
training by one of the following: 

� Completing a training program sponsored or approved by a State, 
Federal agency, Canadian Province, or labor union in brake servicing 
or inspection; or 

� Having at least one year of equivalent brake-related training, 
experience, or both; or 

� Passing the CDL air brake inspection test. 
 
Documentation of Qualifications:  Motor carriers must retain evidence 
of a brake inspector’s qualifications until one year after the brake 
inspector ceases to perform inspections for the carrier.  However, no 
evidence is required for a brake inspector who passed the CDL air brake 
test. 
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ROADSIDE INSPECTIONS 
 

Inspection Report 
396.9 

Driver Responsibility:  A driver who receives an inspection report from 
an on-highway CVSA inspection must deliver the report to the motor 
carrier as soon as possible. 
 
Certification of Repairs:  The motor carrier is to examine the inspection 
report and ensure that any violations or defects noted on the report are 
corrected before next dispatch.  The carrier must sign the report to certify 
that all violations have been corrected, and return the report to the 
indicated address within 15 days after the inspection. 
 
Record Retention:  A copy of the report must be retained by the motor 
carrier for 12 months from the date of inspection. 
 

Out-of-Service 
395.13 / 396.9(c) / 
OAR 740-100-0060 

A driver or commercial vehicle placed out-of-service during an on-
highway CVSA inspection must have the out-of-service deficiency or 
defect corrected as prescribed on the inspection report, before the vehicle 
may again be operated on the highway. 
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When you get stopped for inspection . . .  

 

Your truck may be stopped and inspected by ODOT/law enforcement 

who has been certified by the Department. 

 

You will be asked to produce certain paperwork during the inspection 

which includes: 

 

� Your driver’s license 
� Your medical examiner’s certificate 

� Your medical waiver (Skills Performance Evaluation), if applicable 

� Your record of duty status (logbook) 
� Your trip receipts 
� Your shipping/delivery papers or manifest 

� A vehicle registration for each unit 
� Oregon Weight Receipt and Tax Identifier 

� Current annual inspections for each unit 
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Carrier Savings Oregon’s Green Light weigh station preclearance system uses weigh-in-
motion scales and transponder systems that allow safe and legal trucks to 
by-pass weigh stations.  Motor carriers that participate in the Green Light 
system can save travel time and operating costs such as fuel, and wear 
and tear on their vehicles.  Each weigh station by-pass saves about five 
minutes, plus the $1.24 per minute it’s estimated it costs to operate a 
heavy truck. While Green Light saves motor carriers time and money, it 
also increases weigh station capacity. 
 

Transponder 
Technology 

Green Light uses the same technology used in weigh station preclearance 
systems all around the country.  Vehicles with Green Light transponders 
can use them in any other state by enrolling with the state and agreeing to 
the terms and conditions of its systems. 
 

Locations A total of 22 Oregon weigh stations have the intelligent transportation 
system.  The locations of the sites are as follows: 
 
Interstate 5 
Woodburn Port of Entry, Southbound 
Woodburn Weigh Station, Northbound 
Ashland Port of Entry, Northbound 
Ashland Weigh Station, Southbound 
Wilbur Weigh Station, Southbound 
Booth Ranch Weigh Station, Northbound 
 
Interstate 82 
Umatilla Port of Entry, Southbound 
 
Interstate 84 
Farewell Bend Port of Entry, Westbound 
Olds Ferry Weigh Station, Eastbound 
La Grande Weigh Station, Eastbound 
Emigrant Hill Weigh Station, Westbound 
Cascade Locks Port of Entry, Eastbound 
Wyeth Weigh Station, Westbound 
 
US Highway 97 
Juniper Butte Weigh Station, Northbound 
Juniper Butte Weigh Station, Southbound 
Bend Weigh Station, Northbound 
Klamath Falls Port of Entry, Northbound 
Klamath Falls Weigh Station, Southbound 
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OR Highway 58 
Lowell Weigh Station, Westbound 
 
US Highway 26 
Brightwood Weigh Station, Westbound 
Brightwood Weigh Station, Eastbound 
 
US Highway 30 
Rocky Point Weigh Station, Westbound 
 

Cost The Oregon Department of Transportation is distributing transponders at 
no cost to companies with trucks that regularly stop at Green Light weigh 
stations. 
 

How to Obtain For more information, contact the Motor Carrier Transportation Division 
at 503-378-6054 or download the Green Light Transponder Application 
form from the MCTD Web site at: 
 

www.oregon.gov/ODOT/MCT/GREEN.shtml 
 

 
 



PROMOTE a safe, efficient, and responsible 
transportation industry by:

 i plifyin  co pliance
 Reducin  re ulatory re uire ents      

   when appropriate
 Preser in  the infrastructure
 Enhancin  pri ate public partnerships
 osterin  effecti e two way 

   co unication

DELIVER superior custo er ser ice while 
reco ni in  the ital econo ic 
interests of the co ercial 
transportation industry.

the mission of
ODOT Motor Carrier

TRANSPORTATION DIVISION

“Your Guide to Staying Safe”

YOU ARE
ENTERING...

THE TRUCK
ZONE

NO ZONES
There are four “No Zones” that every 
truck has and that every automobile driver 
should avoid:
• Left side just behind the cab
• Right side just behind the cab
• Too close in front 
• Too close in back
Your car is invisible in the “No Zones.” 
That means trouble if the truck driver does 
not know you are there and tries to change 
lanes or has to stop suddenly. To stay out 
of these four “No Zones,” make your car 
visible – either pull ahead or drop back so 
the truck driver can see you. Remember, if 
you cannot see the truck driver’s mirrors, 
he or she probably cannot see you.

STAY AWAKE
Research shows that fatigue is a major 
contributing factor in serious accidents. It 
is important to start each trip well rested. 
If you feel drowsy, fi nd a place to stop, 
stretch and get some fresh air. If you 
believe you suffer from a sleep disorder, 
see your doctor.

Oregon Department 
of Transportation
Motor Carrier Transportation Division
550 Capitol Street NE
Salem, OR  97301-2530
Phone: 503-378-6963 
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/MCT

735-9906 REV 11-09 STK#320026

SAFETY HOT LINES
(To report when you see poor driving)
To report Dial
Trucks: 1-800-248-6782
Cars (DUII): 1-800-452-7888



TRUCKS MAKE WIDE 
RIGHT TURNS
Truck drivers need to swing wide into the 
left lane before they can bring the truck 
around into the right lane. This keeps 
the trailer off the curb and away from 
pedestrians, light poles and fi re hydrants. 
Avoid the open space to the right of the 
truck while it is turning; you could be 
crushed. Stay back and wait for the truck to 
complete its turn.

FOLLOWING 
DISTANCE
To share the road safely, avoid driving 
directly behind a truck. Maintain a safe 
distance from the vehicle in front of you at 
all times. At a minimum, always follow the 
2-second rule and ensure that you can see 
the truck’s side-view mirrors. This gives 
you a better view of the road and enough 
room to anticipate and avoid problems.

MERGING
When merging onto an expressway, follow 
these simple tips:

PICK YOUR SPOT
Look for an open area. Pick a spot that 
gives you plenty of space in front of and 
behind your car.

GET UP TO SPEED
To enter the freeway, accelerate quickly to the 
speed of traffi c. Slowing down on entrance 
ramps makes entering the expressway 
extremely dangerous for everyone.

GO WITH THE FLOW
Make sure you are moving at the speed 
of traffi c when you enter the freeway and 
keep moving. Don’t immediately slow 
down or speed up. This way traffi c can 
adjust to you.

PASSING
To pass a truck safely, follow these steps:

PICK YOUR SPOT
Passing a truck safely means passing 
quickly. Wait for a legal passing zone or 
clear passing lane before attempting to pass. 

LET THE TRUCK DRIVER KNOW
When you are ready to pass, use your left 
turn signal to indicate your intentions. 
Normally, truck drivers will make it easier 
for you by staying to the far side of the lane.

COMPLETE THE 
PASS QUICKLY
When you can see both headlights of the 
truck in your rearview mirror, it’s safe to 
return to your lane. Let the truck driver 
know you are ready to return by using your 
right turn signal.

STAY BEHIND THE 
STOPPING LINES
The wide lines at an intersection have been 
carefully measured to give trucks the radius 
they need to turn safely. If you are over the 
stop line, you are in the oncoming truck’s 
turning space. Be courteous and give truck 
drivers plenty of room to maneuver.

MAINTAIN YOUR SPEED
Keep a safe distance between your car and 
the truck you pass. Do not slow down after 
you pass. Remember, an 80,000 pound 
truck cannot slow down as fast as your car. 



Watch for these signs:
the inspection site. Inspection sites are at Milepost 1, 
Northbound and Milepost 11, Southbound.

When is it the Best Time to Go Over the Pass?
Mother Nature is hard to figure. At night 
temperatures drop and freezing is common. Early 
in the morning when the sun comes up is when 
fresh snow is the slickest. Mid-day is usually the 
best time to travel over the pass.

Reminders For a Safe Descent
• Remember to check brakes before 

entering the downgrade.
• Be aware of the safe recommended 

speed for your vehicle.
• Posted speeds are maximums 

in good weather. Bad weather 
demands slower speeds.
• Fog, snow, and black ice are 

common between October and 
April. Be prepared!
• Descend the summit in the 

proper gear.
• Oregon law requires that you

carry and use tire chains 
when conditions warrant 
and/or signs posted.

• Be sure you have emergency 
warning devices (triangles) and 
use them if you are stopped.
• Be sure all your lights are 

working.
• D o n ’t drive if you are 

fatigued!

RESPECT THE PASS!

DOT Registration Information
Motor carriers can obtain information and services 
about trucking regulations and appropriate 
Oregon permits at the Ashland Port of Entry 
located at I-5 Northbound, Milepost 18.

Form 735-9825b (9-05) STK #320854

The Siskiyou Pass, commonly called “The 
Siskiyous,” is one of the most hazardous stretches 
of road along Interstate 5.

Truckers Beware
Th e summit is at an elevation of 4,310 feet. You’ll 
lose about 2,300 feet of elevation in six miles at 
a 6 percent downgrade while maneuvering your 
truck through sharp curves and some of the 
most hazardous visibility (fog) and road surface 
conditions in Oregon.
More than 13,000 vehicles travel this stretch 
of highway daily. Approximately half of the 
vehicles involved in accidents on this stretch 
of highway were commercial trucks with 
trailers.

Extreme Caution Urged
Escape ramps are located Northbound at 
Mileposts 6.3 and 9.5 
When in doubt about snow and ice conditions, 
chain-up your truck. It is better to be over 
prepared than to chain-up after you 
jackknife. 

Why Do I Have to Chain-Up Here?
Chain-up areas are set up prior to 
inspection sites so that chains can be 
installed with ample shoulder space. 
Sometimes this needs to be done some 
distance from the snow line itself. 
Highway personnel are there to help 
you get over the pass safely. 
Be cooperative. Work with them.

If you are not fully chained-up prior 
to the inspection site you will be 
turned around! When required, 
chains need to be installed prior to 

trucker warning

respect the

SiskiyouSiskiyou
PassPass

Tune radio to AM 1610 
for updated weather 

information and 
road conditions



WEIGH STATION
BRAKE TEST AREA

MP 227

TRUCK ADVISORY 
VARIABLE SPEED

LAST WARNING 6 MILES 
6% DOWNGRADE AHEAD

RUNAWAY
TRUCK RAMP

MP 220.11
VIEWPOINT

1-
84

 W
ES

TBOUND 

1-84
 EASTBOUND 

RUNAWAY
TRUCK RAMP

MP 221.97

CHAIN-UP
AREA

MP 217

WEIGH STATION
BRAKE TEST AREA

3/4 MILE

TO 
PENDLETON

TO 
LA GRANDE

5  AXLES OR MORE
WEIGHT SPEED

50,000 - 65,000 
65,000 - 70,000   
70,000 - 75,000
75,000 - 80,000

37
26
22
18

RECOMMENDED SPEED

Watch for these signs:

Warning signs provide recommended speeds for 
trucks descending the Hill.  Drivers in trucks 
with Green Light transponders will receive a 

personalized message from a “variable message 
sign” with the recommended speed.
Escape ramps are located at Milepost 221 and 
Milepost 220.

Reminders for a safe descent
• Make sure your brakes are properly 

adjusted and check them before 
entering the downgrade.
•  Be aware of the safe recommended 

speed for your vehicle.
• Descend the hill in proper gear.
• Control your speed! Posted 

speeds are maximums in 
good weather. Bad weather 
demands lower speeds.
• Fog, snow, and black ice are 
common between October 
and April.  Be prepared.

• Oregon law requires that you 
carry and use tire chains 
when conditions warrant 
and/or signs posted. 

• Be sure you have emergency 
warning devices (triangles) 
and use them if you are 
stopped.
• Be sure all your lights are       

working.
• Don’t drive if you are 

fatigued!

For Oregon road conditions, call 1-800-977-6368 
or go to the web site at http://www.tripcheck.com/Pages/
RCMap.asp?curRegion=0&mainNav=RoadConditions 

Published by the Oregon Department of Transportation. Funds for this 
publication provided by the Motor Carrier Safety Assistance Program

RESPECT THE HILL! trucker warning

Form 735-9825a (9-07) STK #320849

Emigrant Hill, commonly called “Cabbage Hill” is 
one of the most hazardous stretches of road along 
westbound Interstate 84.
Th is seven-mile downgrade, 35 miles 
west of La Grande, Oregon, has 
some of the most changeable 
and severe weather conditions in 
the Northwest.  Th ese conditions 
may impair visibility and cause icy 
road surfaces.
You’ll lose about 2,000 feet of elevation 
in six miles and twist through a double hair 
pin turn at a 6-percent downgrade.
On an average 78 percent of the  
Cabbage Hill crashes involve 
out-of-state motor carriers!

Extreme caution urged
Drivers traveling west on I-84 
are urged to be prepared before 
descending the hill, and to 
use extreme caution and 
defensive driving techniques 
as you maneuver through the 
downgrade, which begins at 
Milepost 227 and continues 
through Milepost 217.
On average 59 percent of 
brake problems contribute 
to accidents on the Hill, 
drivers should check 
their brakes before the 
downgrade.  A brake 
check area is located at 
the weigh station at 
Milepost 227.

respect the

EmigrantEmigrant
HILLHILL



Reckless Driving violation 325%

Improper Turns violation 105%

Improper or Erratic Lane Change conviction 100%

Failure to Yield Right of Way conviction 97%

Improper Turn conviction 94%

Failure to Keep in Proper Lane conviction 91%

Improper Lane Change violation 78%

Failure to Yield Right of Way violation 70%

Driving Too Fast for Conditions conviction 62%

Any conviction 56%

Speeding More Than 15 Miles over Speed 
Limit conviction

56%

Reckless / Careless / Inattentive / Negligent 
Driving conviction

53%

Following too closely conviction 50%

Improper Lane / Location conviction 47%

Any moving violation 41%

Following Too Close violation 40%

Speeding violation 35%

Failure to Obey Traffic Control Device 
violation

30%

Failure to Obey Traffic Signal / Light 
conviction

29%

Speeding 1 to 15 Miles over Speed Limit 
conviction

26%

Failure to Obey Traffic Sign conviction 24%

Size and Weight violation 21%

Any OOS violation 16%

If a Commercial Vehicle driver had a….

their future 
crash likelihood 

increases

A recent research study 
conducted by the American 
Transportation Research Institute 
concluded the following: 

CVSA is an international not-for-profit organization 
comprised of  local, state, provincial, territorial and 
federal motor carrier safety officials and industry 
representatives from the United States, Canada, and 
Mexico. Our mission is to promote commercial motor 
vehicle safety and security by providing leadership to 
enforcement, industry and policy makers. In addition, 
CVSA has several hundred associate members who 
are committed to helping the Alliance achieve its 
goals; uniformity, compatibility and reciprocity of  
commercial vehicle inspections, and enforcement 
activities throughout North America by individuals 
dedicated to highway safety and security. For more 
on CVSA visit www.cvsa.org.

Operation Safe Driver, a new safety initiative of  
Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance (CVSA) and 
the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration 
(FMCSA), focuses on increasing commercial and 
non-commercial vehicle driver performance through 
enforcement and education.

FMCSA’s 2006 Large Truck Crash Causation Study 
found that driver actions or inactions by BOTH large 
truck and automobile drivers accounted for 88 
percent of  the critical reasons for the crashes. Only 
12 percent were found to be the result of  vehicle, 
road or weather factors. The study also concluded 
that in multi-vehicle crashes between large trucks 
and cars that 56 percent of  the time the car driver 
was assigned the critical reason for the crash, and 
the large truck driver was assigned the critical reason 
for the other 44 percent of  the time.

Promoting Commercial Motor Vehicle 
Safety and Security

Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance
1101 17th Street, NW, Suite 803
Washington DC 20036
Tel:  (202) 775-1623
Fax: (202) 775-1624 
E-mail: cvsahq@cvsa.org



Most car drivers 
think that it’s the 
truck and bus drivers who are the ones 
who are most often at fault in crashes, 
while truck and bus drivers believe it’s 
the car drivers. But on the highways 
throughout North America, clearly 
research has shown that both parties 
are at fault because, pardon the pun, it 
takes two to tango.  

And to the law 
enforcement 
officer that just 
pulled you over, both 
cars and trucks are 
to blame equally 
and both will be 
ticketed for driving 
aggressively.

It’s the typical
he said / she said
finger-pointing scenario

Coincide, Don’t Collide
We all have to share the road. You’ve heard 
that one before. The fact of the matter is 
our roads are only going to get busier. So, 
do one thing fast:

LEARN the proper way to drive 
in a cooperative manner and 
the safer we ALL will be.

WHAT
CAR DRIVERS NEED TO KNOW 
ABOUT TRUCKS AND BUSSES

WHAT
TRUCK DRIVERS NEED TO KNOW 
ABOUT CAR DRIVERS

Truck and bus drivers will tell you many stories 
about being cut-off  or passed by a car and the 
car driver proceeds to put on their brakes or 
dash to the next exit. You never hear of  the near 
misses, accidents that ALMOST happened, on 
the local or national news – yet EVERYONE has 
their own story about this. And it’s not what you 
drive around big trucks and busses that matters, 
it’s HOW you drive.

If  we could put every member of  the public in a 
truck or bus for a day, there would be a lot more 
awareness and a lot less crashes. But since we 
can’t do that, get familiar with the following eight 
keys to keeping safe around big rigs. One or all of  
these could save your life.

As a professional driver you face a lot of  stress 
and pressure each day just trying to do your job. 
Maneuvering through congested highways with 
aggressive car drivers darting around you and 
everyone is in a rush to get where they are going 
because time is money. 

It may make you want to gamble a bit by 
taking unnecessary risks. But your risk goes up 
exponentially for each violation you receive. The 
seriousness of  violations is more than monetary, 
unless you’re willing to pay with your life. And 
we’re not just talking about your life. When you 
gamble, you are also gambling your family’s future 
and the future of  many innocent others. Don’t 
take that gamble, it’s just not worth the risk.

1. Never cut in front of a truck. A fully loaded truck can take 
400 feet (more than the length of a football field) to stop and 
the odds are that you or someone driving next to you could 
be killed as a result of your driving.

2. Keep a safety cushion around trucks. Try to leave a 10-car 
length gap when in front of a truck and 20-25 car lengths 
when behind a truck. An average passenger car traveling at 
55 miles per hour takes about 130 to 140 feet to stop.

3. Never linger alongside a truck. Cars can momentarily 
“disappear” from view due to blind spots.

4. Pass trucks quickly to increase visibility and reduce dangers 
associated with lingering beside a truck.

5. Only change lanes when you can see both of the truck’s 
headlights in your rearview mirror.

6. If possible, pass a truck on the left, not on the right, 
because the truck’s blind spot on the right runs the length of 
the trailer and extends out three lanes. 

7. Check a truck’s mirrors. If you are following a truck and you 
cannot see the driver’s face in the truck’s side mirrors, the 
truck driver cannot see you.

8. Allow trucks adequate space to maneuver. Trucks make 
wide turns at intersections and require additional lanes to 
turn.

1.	Pre-inspect the condition of your vehicle before and check for 
load securement. Maximize the vision around your truck with 
properly adjusted mirrors; be sure your mirrors are properly set 
and clean.

2. Get in a safe mindset!  

3. Buckle up! It is your last line of defense!

4. Obey speed limits and traffic signs. Excessive speed reduces 
your ability to avoid a crash, extends your vehicle’s stopping 
distance, and increases the severity of a crash when it occurs. 
Slow down in bad weather and at construction zones.

5.	Maintain a safe following distance. Follow other vehicles at a 
safe distance (3-5 second rule).

6. Make only safe and necessary lane changes. Pick a lane and 
stay in it for as long as possible. Lane changes increase one’s 
risk of an accident.

7. Focus on your driving not the distractions! Avoid or minimize in-
truck distractions such as cell phone use, changing CDs, eating, 
or other activities that can remove your attention from the road. 

8. Never drive under the influence! Watch out for other motorists 
whose driving behavior suggests they may have been drinking.

9. Get enough sleep. Sleep deprivation and fatigue can cause 
lapses in attention, slowed awareness and impaired judgment. 

Don’t forget that speeding and aggressive driving kills. The facts are clear, and don’t be one 

of the 43,000 people that lose their lives each year on our roadways.



Green Light Weigh Stations
Site            

Interstate 5

Woodburn Port of Entry, Southbound

Woodburn Weigh Station, Northbound

Ashland Port of Entry, Northbound

Ashland Weigh Station, Southbound

Booth Ranch Weigh Station, Northbound

Interstate 82

Umatilla Port of Entry, Southbound

Interstate 84

Farewell Bend Port of Entry, Westbound

Olds Ferry Weigh Station, Eastbound

La Grande Weigh Station, Eastbound

Emigrant Hill Weigh Station, Westbound

Cascade Locks Port of Entry, Eastbound

Wyeth Weigh Station, Westbound

US Highway 97

Juniper Butte Weigh Station, Northbound

Juniper Butte Weigh Station, Southbound

Bend Weigh Station, Northbound

Klamath Falls Port of Entry, Northbound

Klamath Falls Weigh Station, Southbound

OR Highway 58

Lowell Weigh Station, Westbound

US Highway 26

Brightwood Weigh Station, Westbound

Brightwood Weigh Station, Eastbound

US Highway 30

Rocky Point Weigh Station, Westbound

Green Light 
Weigh Station 
Preclearance

Weigh station preclearance 

activity sets record in 2009

Truckers traveling in Oregon saved an estimated 

125,300 hours of travel time and $14.7 million in 

fuel, wear and tear, and other operating costs as they 

got the go ahead to bypass weigh stations 1,504,040 

times in 2009. That sets a new record for preclearance 

activity in a 12-month period.

Oregon started keeping track of green lights 

in January 1999 when it had four weigh stations 

preclearing an average of 51 trucks a day. In 2009, 

the 21 stations with Green Light precleared an 

average of 4,120 trucks a day.

Green Light uses weigh-in-motion scales and 

transponder readers to screen trucks as they approach 

a weigh station. It increases a station’s capacity 

without physically expanding the facility, providing 

effi ciencies for state regulators. 

But the trucking industry enjoys real benefi ts 

because operating a heavy truck is estimated to cost 

$1.96 per minute and stopping at a weigh station 

can take fi ve minutes. On that basis, truckers saved 

1 million hours of travel time and $117.6 million in 

operating costs in the past ten years as they cleared 

Oregon weigh stations 12 million times.

Besides those savings, emission testing by Oregon 

DEQ confi rms that trucks are far less polluting and 

far more fuel effi cient when they use Green Light to 

avoid stopping at weigh stations. Tests found a 36% 

to 67% reduction in pollutants – particulate matter, 

carbon dioxide, nitrogen oxides, carbon monoxide, 

and hydrocarbons – when trucks stayed at highway 

speed past a weigh station. Trucks that avoided 

decelerating to enter a station and then accelerating 

to exit also experienced a 57% improvement in fuel 

economy.

Green Light uses the same technology used in 

weigh station preclearance systems all around the 

country. Green Light transponders can be used in any 

other state. Truckers just need to enroll with the state 

and agree to the terms and conditions of its system.

A total of 4,500 trucking companies now 

participate in Green Light and they have transponders 

in 38,000 trucks. 

The Oregon DOT is distributing transponders at 

no cost to companies with trucks that regularly stop 

at Green Light weigh stations. For more information, 

contact the Motor Carrier Division at 503-378-6054.

January 2010

Visit the Green Light Web site:  www.oregon.gov/ODOT/MCT/GREEN.shtml



Green Light
streamlines
trucking:

•  Get weighed as
you approach
a weigh station at
highway speed.

•  Pass an instantaneous computer check
and get a green light signal on your
transponder if you’re good to go.

•  Save time — about five minutes for
every weigh station stop avoided.

•  Save fuel wasted going into the
station and then getting back
up to speed on the highway.

•  Save truck wear and tear.

•  Pay no extra charges.
It costs nothing to preclear an
Oregon Green Light weigh station.

•  Make weigh station stops
a thing of the past!

Green Light transponders
work at 21 Oregon
weigh stations and

in every other
North American

preclearance system.

Sign Up Today, It’s Free!
Complete the application inside and get a
free transponder for every truck that stops
at Oregon weigh stations. Call ODOT’s
Motor Carrier Transportation Division at
503-378-6054 for more information.
Contact other states to enroll in their
preclearance systems.

Green Light
Transponder
Application

Stop
stopping at

weigh stations!

Oregon Department of Transportation
Motor Carrier Transportation Division
550 Capitol Street NE
Salem OR 97301-2530
503-378-6054

Green Light transponders
work at all six Oregon
Ports of Entry and
15 other weigh stations
around the State.

Oregon Department of Transportation
Motor Carrier Transportation Division
550 Capitol Street NE
Salem OR 97301-2530
503-378-6054
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Green Light transponder application
Tired of stopping at weigh stations? Complete this application, mail or fax it to the ODOT Motor Carrier
Division, and get a free transponder for each truck that qualifies. Then start getting weighed in motion as
you approach 21 Oregon weigh stations around the state and save time and money for every green light
signal you get to keep on truckin’ past the stations!

CUSTOMER   INFORMATION

Carrier Name DBA Name

Carrier Physical Location City State Zip Code

Carrier Mailing Address City State Zip Code

Contact Person Phone Number Fax Number

U.S. DOT # Federal EIN Oregon File # IFTA Jurisdiction and #

VEHICLE   PLATE   INFORMATION

Vehicle   Base   Base State       Registration Expires     Year/Make  Unit No.            Registered                     Complete VIN
  State   Plate No.             Month/Day/Year GVW

     1

     2

     3

     4

Attach a separate sheet with information about additional vehicles, if necessary.

Please indicate if you want enrollment to include:

NORPASS

Terms and Conditions of Green Light Weigh Station Preclearance Program
1. Transponders are to be installed only on designated vehicles and in accordance

with ODOT policies.
2. Carrier will report any changes in vehicles added or removed from fleet operations

to ODOT.
3. Carrier will report any changes in the transponder application information to

ODOT at the number listed below.
4. Carrier agrees to allow its registration base state to provide information regarding

IFTA and IRP accounts to ODOT for the purpose of providing preclearance bypass
to its vehicles.

5. Carrier may bypass an open port or weigh station only when the transponder
indicates a green light or in accordance with ORS 818.400(2). Exception: Carriers
whose vehicles are operating under, or should be operating under, a variance
permit other than an Extended Weight Permit must report to the scale even if they
receive a green light.

Motor Carrier Self Certification Statement
I agree to comply with the applicable state and federal motor carrier rules and
regulations as administered by ODOT, through which I am applying for preclearance.
I agree to maintain and/or keep current my IFTA and/or IRP account(s) as appropriate.
I also agree to comply with the terms and conditions of ODOT for the installation and
use of the transponder.

Signature Title Date

Send application to:
Green Light Program, 550 Capitol Street NE, Salem OR 97301-2530

Or fax to 503-373-1833
For more information, call 503-378-6054




