OREGON STATE LIBRARY 0 THE 3

c.2

OFFICIAL

ynopsis of Oregon Fishing Laws

Effective May 28, 1925

JLLECTION RATES FOR ANGLING AND HUNTING LICENSES:

Resident Angler's License Resident Combination Angler's and Hunter's License County Angler's license for persons between the ages of 14 and 18 years, to angle in resident's county only 1.50 County Hunter's License for persons between the ages of 14 and 18 years, to hunt in resident's county only

1.50 Hunting and angling licenses may be procured from any county clerk by applying in person or by application signed by two freeholders on regular blank, which may be obtained from county clerk, or from any regularly appointed agent of the state game commission.

Civil war veterans, Indian war veterans, or a pioneer who became a resident of Oregon prior to the year 1870, Spanish-American war veterans who are residents of the Oregon State Soldiers' Home and disabled American veterans of the World war, may obtain a license to hunt and angle free by applying to

war, may obtain a neems to much and angle tree by applying to the state game commission or to any county clerk. It is unlawful for an unnaturalized person to hunt or angle, trap, kill or take any of the wild animals, birds or fish of the State of Oregon, without first having obtained a \$25 gun license and both hunting and angling licenses.

OPEN ANGLING SEASONS

Bag Limits and Seasons Affecting Angling Are Uniform Throughout the State

Trout over six inches-Open season from April 15 to November 10. Bag limit, 30 fish or 20 pounds and one fish in any one day, and 60 fish or 40 pounds and one fish in any seven consecutive days. Unlawful to have in possession more than 60 fish or 40 pounds and one fish at any time.

Trout over ten inches—Open season in the waters of the Pacific

Ocean and all bays, inlets and the tidewater thereof during the months of December, January, February, March and April of

each year.

Crappies, Catfish, Perch and Sunfish over six inches—Open season from April 15 to December 31. Bag limit, 30 fish or 20

pounds in any one day.

Bass over six inches-Open season from June 15 to December Bag limit, 30 fish or 20 pounds and one fish in any one day, and 60 fish or 40 pounds and one fish in any seven consecutive days.

Salmon over fifteen inches-Open season all year with hook

and line.

WILLAMETTE RIVER

Unlawful to catch more than three salmon with hook and line in one day; night angling prohibited; or to sell or offer for sale salmon taken with hook and line; or to have more angling outfits in use in any one boat than there are occupants of the same boat.

SANDY AND CLACKAMAS RIVERS

Unlawful to catch more than three salmon with hook and line in one day; night angling for salmon and game fish prohibited. Unlawful to sell salmon taken with angler's license.

OSWEGO LAKE

Oswego lake and all tributaries thereof closed to fishing between January 1 and June 15. Unlawful to use any salmon or trout eggs or spawn as a bait lure at any time. Bag limit, six trout, salmon or bass in any one day. Unlawful to fish in the canal leading into Oswego lake above the lower wagon bridge across said canal, or in Spring brook, or above the lower wagon bridge at Waluga.

NAVIGABLE STREAMS

Navigable rivers, sloughs or streams between the lines of ordinary high water thereof, of the State of Oregon, and all rivers, sloughs and streams flowing through any public lands of the state, are public highways for the purpose of angling thereon.

PENALTIES

Persons violating any of the angling laws of Oregon shall be subject to a fine of not less than \$25 nor more than \$500, and costs of action, or imprisonment for not less than 30 days nor more than six months, or by both such fine and imprisonment. Besides fines, any one violating any of the fishing laws of

Oregon shall forfeit his angling license and all boats and fishing apparatus used in violation of the laws.

STREAMS AND LAKES CLOSED TO ANGLING

The following streams and lakes in Oregon have been closed to angling by order of the State Game Commission:

Baker County—Black lake, Anthony lake, Grande Ronde lake, Crawfish lake, Rock Creek lake, Mud lake, Van Patten lake and all tributaries of these lakes are closed to June 16 of each year.

Benton County—The Alsea river for a distance of 1500 feet below the dam across said river at the Alsea fish hatchery.

Clackamas County—North fork of the Molalla river and all tributaries. Gauley creek, Trout creek, Pine creek and all tributaries. Closed.

Clatsop County—Beerman creek, Volmers creek, Klootchie creek, Johnson creek, Muddy creek, Mail creek and the North and South forks of the Necanicum river, from a point one mile above their junction to their source.

Deschutes County—Paulina creek, beginning at Big Paulina falls, thence easterly one-half mile to the approximate source of said creek in Paulina lake. That portion of Elk lake lying north of a line extending across said lake from Elk Point, being 750 feet northeast from quarter section corner of sections 31 and 32, township 18, range 8 east, Willamette meridian; thence due east 1,500 feet to the east shore of said lake. Elk lake is also closed entirely from September 15 to the following April 15 of each year. Two Twin lakes and Big Lava lake closed from September 15 to the following April 15 of each year. That portion of East lake lying west of a line beginning at a point on the north shore of said lake, 20 chains south of the ½ corner between sections 19 and 20, township 21 south, range 13 east, Willamette meridian, thence running south 26 degrees, west across and lake to a point on the south shore of said lake, 7½ chains north of the ½ corner between sections 30 and 31, township 21 south, range 13 east, Willamette meridian, closed. Deschutes river from Crane prairie impounding dam to the mouth of Snow creek,

Douglas County—Lake creek for a distance of 800 yards below a point where said creek emerges from Diamond lake, Cow creek and all tributaries thereof above a point on said creek known as Laymond falls near the town of Azalea. Smith river for a distance of 800 feet below the falls known as Smith river falls located approximately 8 miles above Jack Daily place. That part of Diamond lake lying northwest of a line beginning at a point on the northeast shore, 800 feet northwest of the mouth of Bear creek, thence diagonally across said lake to a point on the west shore of said lake, 7,450 feet north of the mouth of Silent creek.

Grant County—Olive lake, Lake Creek reservoir, and Lake creek, from the head thereof to a point 1 mile down the course of said Lake creek below said Olive lake, all closed during the months of May and June of each year. Canyon creek and tributaries which flow through or border lands owned by William Byram, closed. Strawbery lake closed from April 15 to June 15.

Hood River County—Lost Lake creek, beginning in the northeast quarter of section 16, T. 1, R. 8 E., W. M., for a distance of three-fourths mile to head of said creek; also beginning at the forks of the North and East tributaries of Lost Lake creek and running up said North fork to the head of said North fork, closed. East fork of Hood river above its junction with West fork, Middle fork of Hood river above its junction with the East fork, West fork of Hood river above its junction with the East fork, together with all tributary streams of the above streams, until June 1 of each year.

Jackson County—Carberry, Four Bit and Squaw creeks closed. Rogue river for a distance of 400 feet below Gold Ray dam closed.

Jefferson County-Lake creek closed.

Josephine County-Rogue river closed for a distance of 400 feet below Savage Rapids dam.

Klamath County—Seven Mile creek closed from its confluence with Weed canal to a point on said creek where Short creek flows into same. Spencer creek closed from Buck lake to the mouth of said creek. Woods river closed to June 15 of each year, also tributaries of said Woods river. Klamath river closed for a distance of 4,000 feet below and 2,000 feet above the mouth of Spencer creek to June 15 of each year. Link river closed for a distance of 200 feet below dam owned by the California-Oregon Power Company.

Lake County-Campbell lake, closed.

Lane County—Ritchie, Johnson, Trout, Driftwood, Granite, Indian, Gate, Martin, Deer, Ennis and Quartz creeks, and Smith river, closed. Winberry creek and Gold lake closed. Tributaries of Horse creek, closed. Frank Brice creek, Layng creek, Rat creek, Wilson creek and Cedar creek, closed.

Lincoln County—From dam at Elk Creek hatchery to junction of Elk creek and Yaquina river, closed.

Linn County—Hackleman creek and tributaries, closed permanently. South Santiam and tributaries from a point where bridge spans said river opposite U. S. Ranger Station to source of said river, closed to July 1, 1925.

Tillamook County—Trask river closed for a distance of 800 feet below dam near state fish hatchery.

Umatilla County—Umatilla river for a distance of 300 feet below Three Mile falls diversion dam.

Union County—Ladd creek, closed from July 15 to April 15 of each year. Beaver and Five Point creeks, closed.

Wallowa County—Swamp, Francis, Upper and John Henry lase closed. Aneroid lake closed to June 16 of each year. Wallowa river and all its branches from the confluence of said river with Wallowa lake to the falls of said river, approximately one mile above the lake, closed during all months except July, August and September.

Wasco County—Badger creek for three-fourths mile below

junction with Badger lake, closed.

Washington County-All tributaries of Gales creek, closed.

Yambilli County—Baker creek from dam owned by city of McMinnville to source of all tributaries, and Deer creek from dam owned by Ryan Lumber Company and all tributaries to source, closed.

IT IS ALWAYS UNLAWFUL

To angle at night between one hour after sunset and one hour before sunrise.

To fish by any means other than with hook and line, com-

monly called angling.

To use more than one line or line and rod held in the hand,

to catch any of the fish of the State of Oregon.

To sell or offer for sale, barter or exchange, any of the fish of the State of Oregon taken with hook and line. To angle with hook and line without having a license on person.

To refuse to show license on demand of proper officer.

To angle within 200 feet of any fishway.

To wantonly waste game fish.
To angle on lands without permission from the owner.

To net, trap, spear, gaff hook or snag fish.

To resist game warden or other officer charged with en-forcement of the game laws.

To take trout under six inches in length.

To transport or ship game fish without written permit.

To cast or allow sawdust or other lumber waste, dye, chemical, decaying substance, or to use dynamite, powder or poisonous substance in any of the waters of the State of Oregon.

For unnaturalized person to angle without having in possession an alien gun license in addition to an angler's license.

For a woman to fish without angling license.

NOTICE

It will be greatly appreciated if violations of the laws are reported to A. E. Burghduff, state game warden, Portland, Oregon, or to any game warden. All communications of this nature will be treated confidentially. Copies of the game laws will be furnished free upon application to the state game commission, county clerks, or to any game warden.

PREVENT FOREST FIRES

The national and state forests include millions of acres in the state of Oregon. This land lies along the Cascades, Coast Range and Blue mountains and contains a large share of the mountain scenery of the state. These forests protect the head-waters of the important fishing streams and furnish shelter and feeding grounds for the wild game of the state. Thus, much of the best hunting and fishing and camping in Oregon is found inside the national forests, and sportsmen are especially interested in keeping out forest fires and preserving the forests for their use.

Experienced hunters and fishermen are careful with their own campfires, and render valuable service by putting out any small fires they discover before same have had a chance to spread, and report larger fires to the forest rangers.

Matches, burning tobacco, cigars and cigarettes are a menace to the forest and should be carefully extinguished when thrown away.