This archival document was derived from http://oregon.gov/CCB/home_inspectors.shtml on May 16, 2007

Oregon Construction Contractors Board

Home Inspectors

General Information
Certification Application
Application and Test FAOs
Continuing Education
Publications
Consumer Tips

General Information

What is a home inspector?

A home inspector is a person who inspects more than one structural component, (exterior, roofing, plumbing, electrical, heating, central air conditioning, interiors, insulation and ventilation, built-in kitchen appliances, site) for a fee and provides a written report of findings.

In Oregon, home inspection businesses are required to have a CCB license and inspectors must be certified* (see OAR 812, Division 8). *Click here* (http://oregon.gov/CCB/Laws_Rules.shtml) for the Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR).

Who needs to be certified?

Any person who advertises, bids, or performs home inspections of more than one component needs to be certified. For example, a roof, heating system, foundation, and plumbing are four components of a home inspection.

There are certain exemptions to those who need to be certified:

- Anyone licensed with the CCB as a GENERAL contractor from 1991 to 1997 (must have been active in each of those seven years).
- Those who do only pest and dry rot or wood destroying organism (WDO) inspections.*
- People who do just one component of a home inspection (for example, a roof inspection, or a mold inspection).
- Those who inspect for code compliance for government jurisdictions, lead-paint inspectors and cross connection inspectors.

^{*}A CCB license is required if the inspection involves a real estate transaction. Additionally, some lending institutions may not accept inspection reports as part of a real estate transaction unless the inspector has a pesticide applicator's license from the Oregon Dept of Agriculture (ODA).



Certification Application

Application Process

Download the Home Inspector Test Application Packet (http://ccbed.ccb.state.or.us/WebPDF/CCB/Publications/HI-AP-P.pdf). Or you can call the CCB Customer Service Unit (CSU) at 503-378-4621 to have a packet mailed to you.

Step 1: Complete the Home Inspector Test Application.

- Be sure to fill out the Eligibility Verification Form and attach proof of 20 eligibility points.
- Send \$50 application fee.
- Step 2: Once you are qualified you will be mailed a study guide.
- Step 3: Send a request to take the test, the \$50 test fee and choose a test site.
- Step 4: Take the test and pass all five sections (75% passing score in each section).
- Step 5: You will automatically recieve your certificate and pocket card by mail.

Step 6: Once certified, you must also either be the owner or an employee of a CCB-licensed business to practice home inspections in Oregon [OAR 812-008-0030 (1)]. Click here (http://oregon.gov/CCB/Licensing_I.shtml) for a CCB licensing information or call 503-378-4621 to talk with CCB staff.

CCB licensing includes:

- 16-hours of training on Oregon laws and business practices (see CCB application for more information)
- State test on 16-hours of training
- Surety bond
- Liability insurance
- Application (you can select any category except Limited or Licensed Developer).
- Fee
- Corporation, LLC or DBA filed

Other Important Information:

Renewal: Your certification will expire two years from the date on which it was first issued. The cost to renew your certification is \$150 (\$75 per year). This does not renew your CCB license. It only renews your home inspector certification.

Continuing education: All certified home inspectors must complete 30 hours of continuing education every two years in order to renew their certification. You will be sent detailed information about continuing education when you become certified. Click here (http://ccbed.ccb.state.or.us/WebPDF/CCB/Publications/hi-ceu.pdf) for more information about the continuing education requirement.



Application and Test FAQs

Common Questions About the Application and Testing Process

What are the qualifications to take the test? You must qualify to take the test by documenting at least 20 eligibility points. Points are earned by previous training, education or experience in home inspections and other construction related fields.

How can I find which certified home inspectors will do ride-alongs or give recommendations for me to earn eligibility points? It is your responsibility to find these. The CCB does not keep a list or provide this information. You might check with your local home inspector association.

How long before I know if I'm eligible to sit for a test? After your test application is received in our office, within two weeks you will receive either (1) a study guide and test information or (2) a letter requesting more documentation of eligibility.

What are the qualifications to become certified? In order to become certified, you must pass a test containing 200 questions divided into five sections. The passing score is 75% on each section.

What if I hold a license or certification in another state? Oregon does not have reciprocity agreements with other states.

Is there a charge for the test? Yes. The test fee is \$50.

How many tests are there? How long does it take? There is one test with five sections and each section has 40 questions. You are allowed a maximum of four hours to complete the test.

What should I study for the test? See the study guide and suggested reading reference list (http://www.buildingtechbooks.com/pdf/homeinspect.pdf) in the application packet. These items summarize the subjects covered on the test. The questions on the Standards of Practice test come from the 2005 Oregon Revised Statutes (http://oregon.gov/CCB/Laws_Rules.shtml) and the Oregon Administrative Rules (http://oregon.gov/CCB/Laws_Rules.shtml) (OARs).

What are some schools where I can take training courses? Can professional associations help? The CCB does not recommend specific home inspection schools or courses. A complete list of approved schools is in the application packet. You may also want to contact one of the national or state home inspector associations. These are also listed in the application packet.

Can I get a sample test or previous tests to study? No, but sample questions are included in the study guide.

How will I find out the results? You will be notified of your score(s) by mail within approximately 10 business days after the test was taken (this varies, depending on when the CCB gets tests returned from test sites throughout the state). Test results cannot be faxed or given over the phone.

After I pass the test, what are my fees? There are presently no fees for the initial certification which lasts two years. After that there is a \$75 annual certification fee. Applicants will be certified for two-year periods (\$150).

Once I pass all five sections of the test, can I start working? No. Passing the test is the first step. You must become certified before you perform home inspections and also be either the owner or employee of a business licensed with the CCB as a General, Specialty Contractor or Inspector.

What if I change my mind and decide not to take the test or what if I do not pass the test—are the fees refunded? No. CCB staff has spent time processing the application and tests, therefore fees cannot be returned.

If I fail, can I take the test again? Applicants who attempt and fail the test must wait 30 days before

taking the test again. If you have not passed all five sections within a year, you must re-apply and take and pass all five sections of the test.

What if I pass some of the test sections, but not all of them? You may retake any sections of the test you did not pass 30 days after your previous attempt.

Is there a fee to retake the tests? There is a \$25 retake fee (each sitting) no matter how many sections of the test you need to retake.

Can I review the results or see the test I failed? No.

Can veterans get reimbursed for the CCB test fee? Many veterans can get reimbursed for the cost of any CCB tests. Contact www.gibill.va.gov (http://www.gibill.va.gov/), 1-888-442-4551 (US Dept. of Veterans Affairs) or 1-800-827-1000 (Oregon Dept. of Veterans Affairs) for more information. You must pay the CCB and take the test before applying for reimbursement with the Dept. of Veterans Affairs.



Continuing Education

All certified home inspectors must complete 30 hours of continuing education every two years in order to renew their certification. *Click here* (http://ccbed.ccb.state.or.us/WebPDF/CCB/Publications/hi-ceu.pdf) for a list of courses and activities that qualify for continuing education credits, and answers to common questions about continuing education.

For additional information, call 503-378-4621.



Publications

Home Inspector Test Application Packet (http://ccbed.ccb.state.or.us/WebPDF/CCB/Publications/HI-AP-P.pdf)

(Includes application form, eligibility requirements and eligibility form.)

What Oregon Certified Home Inspectors Need to Know

(http://ccbed.ccb.state.or.us/WebPDF/CCB/Publications/hi-needk.pdf)

(A summary of laws, rules and other important information for certified home inspectors.)

Home Inspector Continuing Education Update (http://ccbed.ccb.state.or.us/WebPDF/CCB/Publications/hiceu.pdf)

Home Inspector Summary/Standards of Practice (http://ccbed.ccb.state.or.us/WebPDF/CCB/Publications/his-sop.pdf) (6 pages)

Home Inspector Summary (http://ccbed.ccb.state.or.us/WebPDF/CCB/Publications/hi-sum.pdf) (1 page)

Inspector Regulation in Oregon (http://ccbed.ccb.state.or.us/WebPDF/CCB/Publications/insp-reg.pdf) (Other agencies that regulate inspectors.)

Study Guide (http://ccbed.ccb.state.or.us/webpdf/ccb/publications/Study_Guide_OCHI_Test.pdf) (sample test questions, laws & rules, etc.)

For an application to become an education provider for home inspection, *click here* (http://ccbed.ccb.state.or.us/WebPDF/CCB/Publications/HI Ed Provider Appl.pdf).



Consumer Tips

A home inspection is a general, visual inspection of a house and its appurtenances. An inspection report should cover the major systems of the house: structural, plumbing, electric, heating and cooling, general interior, insulation, ventilation, siding, windows, doors, roofs and attached garages. A wood destroying organism (WDO) report (sometimes called a pest and dry rot) is sometimes included. Usually not included are septic systems, wells, underground piping, swimming pools and other items that are not considered part of the main structure. Check your contract to determine if there are any areas that will not be inspected.

When you get an inspection, you are purchasing an educated opinion, not a guarantee.

For more information, click on one of the links below.

Looking for a Home Inspector? (http://ccbed.ccb.state.or.us/WebPDF/CCB/Publications/lookinghi.pdf) (Information on home inspections and finding a certified home inspector.)

Home Inspector Summary/Standards of Practice (http://ccbed.ccb.state.or.us/WebPDF/CCB/Publications/his-sop.pdf)

(A summary of consumer rights and what a home inspection does and does not include.)

Inspector Regulation in Oregon (http://ccbed.ccb.state.or.us/WebPDF/CCB/Publications/insp-reg.pdf) (Agencies that regulate inspectors in Oregon.)

